DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A (rigid storage container), species D (liquid propellants) and species J (non-androgynous coupling) in the reply filed on 03/10/2026 is acknowledged.
With regard to species I and J, upon further review of Applicant’s disclosure, the requirement for restriction between species I (androgynous coupling) and species J (non-androgynous coupling) is withdrawn since they share a substantial overlap in their technical features.
While applicant states that all claims are generic to each of the species, claims 70, 79, and 89 recite a boom, which is specific to non-elected species C (flexible container) as discussed in paragraphs [0057] and [0058] of the Applicant’s disclosure. Therefore, claims 70, 79, and 89 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected species.
Claims 65 – 69, 71 – 78, 80 – 88, and 90 – 94 are pending and will be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 65 – 69, 71 – 78, 80, 81, and 83 – 88, and 90 – 94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “International Docking System Standard (IDSS) Interface Definition Document (IDD)”, Revision E (hereinafter referred to as “IDSS”).
Regarding claim 65, IDSS discloses a coupling system (Fig. 3.2-1) for transferring material between objects (two spacecraft) in space, the coupling system comprising: a first coupling structure (IDSS docking interface, 3-1) configured to couple with a second coupling structure (docking interface of an active docking vehicle, 3-1) in space; a support structure (a transfer tunnel, 3-1) carrying the first coupling structure, wherein the support structure extends from one of the objects (the passive docking vehicle, 3-1); one or more mechanical docking connectors (HCS guide pins and HCS guide pin receptacles, Fig. 3.2-1) carried by the first coupling structure; and one or more fluid transfer connectors (APAS fluid connectors, Fig. 3.4-1) carried by the first coupling structure, wherein: the one or more fluid transfer connectors are positioned in a circular arrangement distributed around a center of the first coupling structure (the APAS fluid connectors in Fig. 3.4-1 are positioned in a circular arrangement); the one or more mechanical docking connectors are positioned in a circular arrangement distributed around a center of the first coupling structure (the HCS guide pins and HCS guide pin receptacles in Fig. 3.2-1 are also positioned in a circular arrangement); and/or the coupling system further comprises a plurality of electrical connectors (APAS electrical X-connectors, Fig. 3.4-1) positioned in a circular arrangement distributed around a center of the first coupling structure.
Regarding claim 66, IDSS discloses (a) one or more lights carried by the first coupling structure, and/or one or more reflectors carried by the first coupling structure; and (b) a camera (3-62).
Regarding claim 67, IDSS discloses a laser range finder and/or a radar sensor carried by the first coupling structure (3-62, 3-90).
Regarding claim 68, IDSS discloses that the one or more fluid transfer connectors comprises two or more fluid transfer connectors (Fig. 3.4-1 shows two fluid connectors on either side of the line of androgyny; a total of four fluid connectors around the interface), wherein a first fluid transfer connector of the two or more fluid transfer connectors is a male fluid transfer connector and a second fluid transfer connector of the two or more fluid transfer connectors is a female fluid transfer connector having a configuration that is complementary to the male fluid transfer connector; and/or the one or more mechanical docking connectors comprises two or more mechanical docking connectors (Fig. 3.2-1 shows two HCS guide pins and two HCS guide pin receptacles), wherein a first mechanical docking connector of the two or more mechanical docking connectors is a male mechanical docking connector and a second mechanical docking connector of the two or more mechanical docking connectors is a female mechanical docking connector having a configuration that is complementary to the male mechanical docking connector (IDSS shows in Fig. 3.2-1 two male docking connectors, HCS guide pin 1 and HCS guide pin 2, and two female docking connectors, HCS guide pin receptacle 1 and HCS guide pin receptacle 2).
Regarding claim 69, IDSS discloses that the one or more mechanical docking connectors comprise a first plurality of mechanical docking connectors and the one or more fluid transfer connectors comprise a first plurality of fluid transfer connectors, the coupling system further comprising the second coupling structure, wherein the second coupling structure comprises a second plurality of mechanical docking connectors positionable to engage the first plurality of mechanical docking connectors, and a second plurality of fluid transfer connectors positionable to engage the first plurality of fluid transfer connectors (3-1, 3-2, and Figs. 3.2-1, 3.4-1).
Regarding claim 71, IDSS discloses a coupling system (Fig. 3.2-1) for transferring material between objects (two spacecraft) in space, the coupling system comprising: a first coupling structure (IDSS docking interface, 3-1) configured to couple with a second coupling structure (docking interface of an active docking vehicle) in space; a plurality of mechanical docking connectors (HCS guide pins and HCS guide pin receptacles, Fig. 3.2-1) carried by the first coupling structure; and one or more fluid transfer connectors (APAS fluid connectors, Fig. 3.4-1) carried by the first coupling structure; wherein: the plurality of mechanical docking connectors are positioned in a circular arrangement distributed around a center of the first coupling structure (the HCS guide pins and HCS guide receptacles in Fig. 3.2-1 are positioned in a circular arrangement).
Regarding claim 72, IDSS discloses that the one or more fluid transfer connectors are positioned in a circular arrangement distributed around a center of the first coupling structure (the APAS fluid connectors in Fig. 3.4-1 are positioned in a circular arrangement).
Regarding claim 73, IDSS discloses that the coupling system further comprises a plurality of electrical connectors (APAS electrical X-connectors, Fig. 3.4-1 are positioned in a circular arrangement) positioned in a circular arrangement distributed around a center of the first coupling structure.
Regarding claim 74, IDSS discloses (a) one or more lights carried by the first coupling structure, and/or one or more reflectors carried by the first coupling structure; and (b) a camera (3-62).
Regarding claim 75, IDSS discloses a laser range finder and/or a radar sensor carried by the first coupling structure (3-62, 3-90).
Regarding claim 76, IDSS discloses at least one of: (a) the one or more fluid transfer connectors comprises two or more fluid transfer connectors, wherein a first fluid transfer connector of the two or more fluid transfer connectors is a male fluid transfer connector and a second fluid transfer connector of the two or more fluid transfer connectors is a female fluid transfer connector having a configuration that is complementary to the male fluid transfer connector; or (b) a first mechanical docking connector of the plurality of mechanical docking connectors is a male mechanical docking connector and a second mechanical docking connector of the plurality of mechanical docking connectors is a female mechanical docking connector having a configuration that is complementary to the male mechanical docking connector (IDSS shows in Fig. 3.2-1 two male docking connectors, HCS guide pin 1 and HCS guide pin 2, and two female docking connectors, HCS guide pin receptacle 1 and HCS guide pin receptacle 2).
Regarding claim 77, IDSS discloses that the plurality of mechanical docking connectors comprises a first plurality of mechanical docking connectors and the one or more fluid transfer connectors comprise a first plurality of fluid transfer connectors, the coupling system further comprising the second coupling structure, wherein the second coupling structure comprises a second plurality of mechanical docking connectors positionable to engage the first plurality of mechanical docking connectors, and a second plurality of fluid transfer connectors positionable to engage the first plurality of fluid transfer connectors (3-1, 3-2, and Figs. 3.2-1, 3.4-1).
Regarding claim 78, IDSS discloses a support structure (a transfer tunnel, 3-1) carrying the first coupling structure, wherein the support structure extends from one of the objects.
Regarding claim 80, IDSS discloses a coupling system (Fig. 3.2-1) for transferring material between objects (two spacecraft) in space, the coupling system comprising: a first coupling structure (IDSS docking interface, 3-1) configured to couple with a second coupling structure (docking interface of an active docking vehicle) in space to form a structural connection between the objects, wherein the first coupling structure is configured to selectively hold and selectively release the second coupling structure (using the mechanical connectors disclosed in IDSS); a plurality of active mechanical docking connectors (HCS guide pins and HCS guide pin receptacles, Fig. 3.2-1; mechanical latches, Fig. 3.2.2-2) carried by the first coupling structure, wherein the active mechanical docking connectors are equidistant from a center point of the first coupling structure in a symmetric pattern around the center point (Fig. 3.2-1); a plurality of first fluid transfer connectors (APAS fluid connectors, Fig. 3.4-1) carried by the first coupling structure, wherein each of the first fluid transfer connectors is spaced apart from each of the active mechanical docking connectors (Fig. 3.4-1, Fig. 3.2.2-2); a plurality of second fluid transfer connectors carried by the second coupling structure (fluid connectors of the active docking vehicle) for connecting with the first fluid transfer connectors; a plurality of first alignment features carried by the first coupling structure, wherein each of the first alignment features is spaced apart from each of the first fluid transfer connectors and each of the active mechanical docking connectors; and a plurality of second alignment features carried by the second coupling structure (both the active and passive docking vehicles each comprise a docking interface with alignment features shown in Fig. 3.2-1: guide petals); wherein the first alignment features and the second alignment features comprise at least one projection (projecting upward and toward the center, Figs. 3.1.1.1-3 and 3.2-1) and at least one alignment feature capable of receiving the at least one projection.
Regarding claim 81, IDSS discloses that the first coupling structure comprises a mounting plate (the base of the docking ring serves as a mounting plate), the mounting plate carrying each mechanical docking connector and each fluid transfer connector.
Regarding claim 83, IDSS discloses a plurality of electrical connectors positioned in a circular arrangement distributed around the center point of the first coupling structure or a center point of the second coupling structure (APAS electrical X-connectors in Fig. 3.4-1 are positioned in a circular arrangement).
Regarding claim 84, IDSS discloses one or more lights and/or one or more reflectors carried by the first coupling structure or the second coupling structure (3-62).
Regarding claim 85, IDSS discloses a camera carried by the first coupling structure or the second coupling structure (3-62).
Regarding claim 86, IDSS discloses a laser range finder and/or a radar sensor carried by the first coupling structure (3-62, 3-90).
Regarding claim 87, IDSS discloses that the plurality of active mechanical docking connectors comprises one or more latches (mechanical latches, Fig. 3.2.2-1).
Regarding claim 88, IDSS discloses one or more controllers (F.2.4) programmed with instructions that, when executed, orient the first coupling structure to align with the second coupling structure and cause the first coupling structure to couple with the second coupling structure via the active mechanical docking connectors.
Regarding claim 90, IDSS discloses a coupling system (Fig. 3.2-1) for transferring material between objects (two spacecraft) in space, the coupling system comprising: a first coupling structure (IDSS docking interface, 3-1) configured to couple with a second coupling structure (docking interface of an active docking vehicle, 3-1) to connect the objects, wherein the first coupling structure is configured to selectively hold and selectively release the second coupling structure via a plurality of active mechanical docking connectors (HCS guide pins, HCS guide pin receptacle, Fig. 3.2-1; mechanical latches, Fig. 3.2.2-2) carried by the first coupling structure; and a plurality of fluid transfer connectors (APAS fluid connectors, Fig. 3.4-1) carried by the first coupling structure, wherein each of the fluid transfer connectors is spaced apart from each of the active mechanical docking connectors (Fig. 3.4-1); wherein the active mechanical docking connectors are spaced apart from a center point of the first coupling structure in a symmetric pattern (arranged in a circular arrangement); and wherein the active mechanical docking connectors comprise one or more hooks or one or more latches (mechanical latches, Fig. 3.2.2-2).
Regarding claim 91, IDSS discloses that the fluid transfer connectors are first fluid transfer connectors; the system further comprises the second coupling structure; and the second coupling structure carries a plurality of second fluid transfer connectors for connecting with the first fluid transfer connectors (fluid connectors are positioned on the interfaces of both the active and the passive docking vehicle).
Regarding claim 92, IDSS discloses a plurality of alignment features (guide petals, Fig. 3.2-1) carried by the first coupling structure, wherein each of the first alignment features is spaced apart from each of the fluid transfer connectors and each of the active mechanical docking connectors.
Regarding claim 93, IDSS discloses the second coupling structure, wherein: the alignment features are first alignment features; the second coupling structure carries a plurality of second alignment features; and the first alignment features and the second alignment features comprise at least one projection and at least one alignment feature capable of receiving the at least one projection (guide petals projecting upward and toward the center, Figs. 3.1.1.1-3 and 3.2-1).
Regarding claim 94, IDSS discloses a controller (F.2.4) programmed with instructions that, when executed, cause the first coupling structure to hold or release the second coupling structure via the active mechanical docking connectors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDSS.
Regarding claim 82, IDSS teaches that the fluid transfer connectors are positioned in a first circular arrangement distributed around the center point of the first coupling structure (Fig. 3.4-1) but fails to show one or more additional fluid connectors positioned in a second circular arrangement, the second circular arrangement being concentric with the first circular arrangement. IDSS, does however, teach the concentric placement of various other components (electrical, mechanical connectors, and alignment features). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, with reasonable expectation of success, to provide one or more additional fluid connectors positioned in a concentric arrangement in order to accommodate high-volume fluid transfers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9302793 – Ghofranian et al. – Spacecraft docking system
US 9231323 – Jaeger – Spacecraft docking connector
US 8245370 – Ritter et al. – Docking system
US 8006937 – Romano et al. – Spacecraft docking interface mechanism
US 7857261 – Tchoryk Jr. et al. – Docking system
US 7543779 – Lewis et al. – Low-impact mating system
US 4858857 – Lange et al. – Docking mechanism for spacecraft
US 20230365275 – Guadagnoli et al. – Spacecraft servicing pod
US 20210284363 – Licciardello – Fluid transfer interface
US 11560243 – Johnson – Spacecraft multifunction connecting mechanisms
US 11128082 – Wise et al. – Androgynous connection device
/VALENTINA XAVIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642