DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the amendment filed on 02/23/2026, in which, claim(s) 1-12 are pending. No claim(s) are cancelled or newly added.
Response to Arguments
Double Patenting Rejection:
Applicant submitted an eTD on 02/23/2026 to overcome DP rejection of Patent 12,058,177. The eTD has been approved. The DP rejection of Patent 12,058,177 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s remarks regarding double patenting rejection of Patent 11,750,659 and Patent 11,025,674 have been acknowledged and are persuasive. Therefore, the double patenting rejection Patent 11,750,659 and Patent 11,025,674 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicants’ arguments, see pages 9-13, filed 02/23/2026, regarding the U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections of claims 1-12 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that “neither Crosby alone nor in combination with Wang teaches or suggests "a graph of an organization" with "nodes representing entities associated with the organization and edges representing relationships between these entities."”,
Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Crosby teaches a graph of an organization with nodes and edges ([0034], “generating a graph of nodes and edges…data object in an enterprise system”, see also Figs. 3 & 4, [0050-0051]).
Applicants argue that “neither Crosby alone nor in combination with Wang teaches or suggests "applying the results of the reconnaissance search to the graph to create a profile of the organization”,
Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Crosby teaches “forward the search results to user system 108 for display… to generate and update search graph” ([0029], [0016], “records of an enterprise can be effectively searched and ranked”).
Applicants argue that “Wang does not teach or suggest "assigning a score to each node within the graph, indicating the importance of the entity represented by that node"”,
Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang teaches risk score with each user (i.e., node) ([0062], “Risks associated with user behavior changes may be determined through analysis of past behavior compared to current behavior. For example, for a particular user, all domains, port numbers, IP addresses, destination countries, etc., that the user accessed during a certain period of time are stored and the behavior of traffic of that user to any new domain, IP address, destination countries that the user has never been before is monitored. Based on this data, a user-behavior based risk score may be generated”, [0099-0102]).
Applicants argue that “Wang does not disclose "determine an effectiveness score for the network based on the graph and the risk value"”,
Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang teaches determine an effectiveness score for the network” ([0099], “Using the domain corpus, the centralized controller 240 may run graph analytics modeling such as belief propagation or page rank to assign a risk score to each domain in the domain corpus, which is periodically and repeatedly updated as new data is collected. The data analysis engine 220 can query the centralized controller 240 for the domain risk score and/or access a local cache of the global intelligence stored on the data analysis engine for the domain risk score.”).
Besides, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jed Crosby (US 20160350442 A1) in view of Jisheng Wang (US 2015/0373039 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 7 and 10, Crosby discloses
creating a graph of an organization using information about the organization, the graph comprising nodes representing entities associated with the organization and edges representing relationships between these entities ([0034], “an arrangement of log nodes and log node pairs for generating a graph of nodes and edges… Each log line may be generated when a user interacts or “clicks” on a data object in an enterprise system”);
performing a reconnaissance search using the graph ([0029], “The search query may be processed by enterprise server 104, which sends a request to search graph database 120”);
applying the results of the reconnaissance search to the graph to create a profile of the organization ([0029], “Upon receiving search results from search graph database 120, enterprise server 104 may forward the search results to user system 108 for display on a display device of user system 108. Independently, enterprise server 104 may retrieve and process data from log database 112 and CRM database 116 over an extended time to generate and update search graph data stored in search graph database 120”);
Crosby does not explicitly teach but Wang teaches
using the graph and the reconnaissance search results to:
assign a score to each node within the graph, indicating the importance of the entity represented by that node ([0099], “where the probability threat score information is received from the centralized controller 240”, [0102], “generates a threat score for domain 1 at operation 745”);
identify risks associated with each node to which a score was assigned ([0062], “The entity risk modeling engine 340 models and monitors the risk of threats for each individual user of the customer for a certain duration of time”);
identify an anomalous event based on analysis of the graph and the reconnaissance search results ([0005], “techniques for profiling the behavior of an individual entity (e.g., user, machine, service, etc.) and monitoring that entity for anomalous behavior”, [0043], “The flow records 282 allow the data analysis engine 220 (or network sensor engine 200.sub.1 itself) to formulate a threat exposure mapping (e.g., display of communication paths undertaken by network devices within the enterprise network 140), which may be used to detect anomalous communication patterns through deviations in normal communications by one or more of the network devices, such as an endpoint device”);
assign a risk value to the identified anomalous event, determined based on the score of the associated node ([0062], “a user-behavior based risk score may be generated”, [0099], “run graph analytics modeling such as belief propagation or page rank to assign a risk score to each domain in the domain corpus”); and
determine an effectiveness score for the network based on the graph and the risk value ([0099], “run graph analytics modeling such as belief propagation or page rank to assign a risk score to each domain in the domain corpus…The data analysis engine 220 can query the centralized controller 240 for the domain risk score and/or access a local cache of the global intelligence stored on the data analysis engine for the domain risk score”).
Crosby and Wang are analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of information security. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the disclosure of Crosby. The motivation/suggestion would have been to use Pathfinder algorithm to monitoring that entity for anomalous behavior (Wang, [0104]).
Regarding Claims 2, 5, 8 and 11, the combined teaching of Crosby and Wang teaches
wherein the information about the organization further comprises information about processes within the organization (Crosby, [0029], “Upon receiving search results from search graph database 120, enterprise server 104 may forward the search results to user system 108 for display on a display device of user system 108. Independently, enterprise server 104 may retrieve and process data from log database 112 and CRM database 116 over an extended time to generate and update search graph data stored in search graph database 120”).
Regarding Claims 3, 6, 9 and 12, the combined teaching of Crosby and Wang teaches
wherein the information about the organization further comprises historical information for the organization (Crosby, [0031], “Each log may be structured to include a “history” or sequential list of log lines for each user action recorded in the log”),
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG-FENG HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497