DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. US 18/792507 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 are being anticipated by claims 1-20 of copending Application No. US 18/792507.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim s 8 and 18 recite the limitation "the other vehicle". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goto et al. (US 2021/0155267 A1).
As to claims 1 and 12, Goto discloses a vehicle control device/method, comprising: a sensing information receiver receiving sensing information from a sensor (Fig. 1) configured in a vehicle; a driving path estimator estimating a driving path for each preconfigured driving path estimation algorithm according to each driving path estimation algorithm using the sensing information (para. 0005); a driving path evaluator evaluating a reliability of the driving path for each driving path estimation algorithm (para. 0005); a driving path fuser producing a fused driving path based on the driving path for each driving path estimation algorithm and the reliability information (para. 0005); and a control signal outputter outputting a control signal for controlling a behavior of the vehicle according to the fused driving path (para. 0005).
As to claims 2 and 13, Goto further discloses wherein the driving path estimator generates a location point for the driving path produced for each driving path estimation algorithm, and estimates the location point as a driving path of the vehicle (para. 0030).
As to claims 7 and 17, Goto further discloses wherein the driving path evaluator evaluates a reliability of the driving path for each driving path estimation algorithm based on an evaluation of a reliability evaluation factor preset for each driving path estimation algorithm (para. 0032, 0044-0048).
As to claims 8 and 18, Goto further discloses wherein the reliability evaluation factor is set to at least one of distance information between the vehicle and a location point for the driving path produced for each driving path estimation algorithm, distance information between the vehicle and the other vehicle used to produce the driving path, state information about the sensor (para. 0032), or behavior.
As to claims 9 and 19, Goto further discloses wherein the driving path fuser produces the fused driving path using a location point (para. 0030) generated based on the driving path for each driving path estimation algorithm, the reliability information (para. 0032-0033), and preset weight information (para. 0033, 0071).
As to claim 11, Goto further discloses wherein the control signal outputter outputs the control signal to allow the vehicle to drive according to a location point produced by the fused driving path (para. 0033-0034).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto in view of Ishimaru et al. (JP 2018-045500 A, IDS).
As to claims 3 and 14, Goto does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of claims 3 and 14. However, Ishimaru teaches each preconfigured driving path estimation algorithm includes at least two of an other vehicle-based driving path estimation algorithm that estimates a driving path of the vehicle using other vehicle information detected based on the sensing information (para. 0022-0024), a lane-based driving path estimation algorithm that estimates the driving path of the vehicle based on lane information detected based on the sensing information, an environment information-based driving path estimation algorithm that estimates the driving path of the vehicle using a road structure detected based on the sensing information (para. 0025-0026), and a map data-based driving path estimation algorithm that estimates the driving path of the vehicle based on location information about the vehicle and precise map data information (para. 0020). Therefore, given the teaching of Ishimaru, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying device/method of Goto, by employing the well-known or conventional features of using at least two driving path estimation algorithms, to estimate a plurality of driving paths of the vehicle.
As to claims 4 and 15, Ishimaru further teaches wherein the other vehicle-based driving path estimation algorithm estimates the driving path of the vehicle based on a driving trajectory of the other vehicle by selecting the other vehicle located within a preset transverse distance from the vehicle and within a preset longitudinal time gap with the vehicle (para. 0022-0024).
As to claims 5 and 16, Ishimaru further teaches wherein the other vehicle-based driving path estimation algorithm estimates a future driving trajectory in a preset time interval based on a past driving trajectory in a preset time interval of the selected other vehicle and speed information about the other vehicle, and estimates the past driving trajectory and the future driving trajectory as the driving path of the vehicle according to location information about the other vehicle (para. 0024).
As to claim 6, Ishimaru further teaches wherein the lane-based driving path estimation algorithm estimates the driving path so that the vehicle drives while following a lane based on the lane information, wherein the environment information-based driving path estimation algorithm generates a virtual lane based on the environment information and estimates the driving path to drive while following the virtual lane, and wherein the map data-based driving path estimation algorithm maps location information about the vehicle to the precise map data information to estimate the driving path so that the vehicle drives while following the lane according to the precise map data information (para. 0020-0021, 0026).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto in view of Ferguson (US 2014/0088855 A1).
As to claims 10 and 20, Goto further discloses adjusts a roughness of the fused driving path using the preset weight information (para. 0033, 0041, 0067-0069), but does not explicitly disclose the driving path fuser fuses the driving path for each driving path estimation algorithm based on the location point and the reliability information using a smoothing spline algorithm. However, Ferguson teaches the driving path fuser fuses the driving path for each driving path estimation algorithm based on the location point and the reliability information using a smoothing spline algorithm (para. 0101, 0119-0122). Therefore, given the teaching of Ferguson, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying device/method of Goto, by employing the well-known or conventional features of smoothing spline algorithm, to produce a smooth fused driving path from plurality of driving paths.
Conclusion
CE LI . LI
Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661