DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11, 13, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN 114636261 A (herein “Wang”) (provided by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1. Wang discloses a heat exchanger (Figs. 1, 10, and 18), comprising:
a first collecting pipe (20 in Fig. 2; 41 in Fig. 18), the first collecting pipe defining a first collecting cavity; and
a distributor (Fig. 10; 10, 20, and 52), the distributor being at least partially located in the first collecting cavity;
wherein the distributor comprises a first distribution pipe (10), a second distribution pipe (20 in Fig. 2) and a connecting component (30), the first distribution pipe and the second distribution pipe are disposed side by side and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 10, spaced by 52), and the connecting component is located at least partially between the first distribution pipe and the second distribution pipe (shown in Fig. 10);
the first distribution pipe defines a plurality of first distribution holes (Fig. 6; 11), the second distribution pipe defines a plurality of second distribution holes (Fig. 6; 21), and the first distribution holes and the second distribution holes are in communication with the first collecting cavity (shown in Fig. 6), respectively;
the first distribution pipe has a first mating surface (the surface of 10 that is touching 52), the second distribution pipe has a second mating surface (the surface of 20 touching 52), the connecting component has a third mating surface (the surface of 52 touching 10) and a fourth mating surface (the surface of 52 touching 20), the first mating surface is mated with the third mating surface, and the second mating surface is mated with the fourth mating surface (shown in Fig. 10);
the first distribution pipe defines a first distribution chamber (inside of 10), the second distribution pipe defines a second distribution chamber (inside of 20), the connecting component defines a connection channel, the connection channel is located between the first mating surface and the second mating surface, and the connection channel communicates with the first distribution chamber and the second distribution chamber (shown in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 2. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 1, wherein the first distribution pipe comprises a first circumferential wall which surrounds the first distribution chamber, and the second distribution pipe comprises a second circumferential wall which surrounds the second distribution chamber (shown in Fig. 10);
an outer wall surface of the first circumferential wall comprises the first mating surface, and an outer wall surface of the second circumferential wall comprises the second mating surface (shown in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 3. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 1, wherein the third mating surface is in contact with the first mating surface (surface of 10 touch surface of 52), the fourth mating surface is in contact with the second mating surface (surface of 20 touching 52), the connecting component is retained between the first distribution pipe and the second distribution pipe (shown in Fig. 10), and the connection channel extends through the third mating surface and the fourth mating surface (shown in Fig. 10 extending from interior of 10 through 52 and to the interior of 20).
Regarding claim 5. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 2, wherein the first distribution pipe comprises a first communication hole which extends through the first mating surface (hole between inside of 10 and 52), the second distribution pipe comprises a second communication hole which extends through the second mating surface (hole between inside of 20 and 52), one end of the connection channel is in communication with the first communication hole, and another end is in communication with the second communication hole (shown in Fig. 10); the first communication hole is at least partially directed to the connection channel, and the second communication hole is at least partially directed to the connection channel (shown in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 6. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 1, wherein the third mating surface and the fourth mating surface are both concave arc surfaces, and concave directions of the third mating surface and the fourth mating surface are opposite (Fig. 10; surfaces of 52 touching 10 and 20 are concave and opposite); the first mating surface and the second mating surface are both convex arc surfaces, and convex directions of the first mating surface and the second mating surface are opposite (Fig. 10; surfaces of 10 and 20 touching 52 are convex and opposite); along a length direction of the first collecting pipe, a length of the connecting component is smaller than a length of the first distribution pipe, and the length of the connecting component is smaller than a length of the second distribution pipe (shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 6, wherein the connecting component comprises a first surface (Fig. 10; top of 52) and a second surface (bottom of 52) which are located on different sides of the connecting component, the first surface is connected between the third mating surface and the fourth mating surface (Fig. 10; the top surface extends between the concave surfaces), the second surface is connected between the third mating surface and the fourth mating surface (Fig. 10; the bottom surface extends between the concave surfaces), both the first surface and the second surface are planar, and the first surface and the second plane are in parallel (shown in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 11. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 1, wherein the heat exchanger comprises a plurality of heat exchange tubes which are connected to the first collecting pipe, inner cavities of the heat exchange tubes are in communication with the first collecting cavity, and the plurality of heat exchange tubes are disposed along a length direction of the first collecting pipe (shown in Figs. 6 and 10); a sum of the number of the first distribution holes and the number of the second distribution holes is N1, the number of the heat exchange tubes is N2, where N1/N2 is 0.1 to 10 (Fig. 6 shows a section of the evenly spaced holes and tubes, four holes are provided along a length that has five heat exchange tubes, N1/N2 falls within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 13. Wang discloses a heat exchanger (Figs. 1, 10, and 18), comprising:
a collecting component (20 in Fig. 2; 41 in Fig. 18), the collecting component defining a collecting cavity, the collecting component having a first end and a second end which are located at two ends of the collecting component, respectively, along a length direction of the collecting component (left and right ends shown in Fig. 1); and
a distribution pipe (10, 20, and 52), the distribution pipe extending through the first end and is connected with the first end (shown at left side of Fig. 1), the distribution pipe having an open end (13, left end of 10) and a closed end (22 at left end of 20), the closed end being located in the collecting component (shown at left side in Fig. 1), the open end being located outside the collecting component (shown at left side in Fig. 1);
wherein the distribution pipe comprises a first pipe body portion (10) and a second pipe body portion (20), the first pipe body portion is at least partially disposed side by side with the second pipe body portion (Fig. 10); the first pipe body portion comprises a first connecting end (Fig. 1; right end of 10) and the open end, the second pipe body portion comprises a second connecting end (Fig. 1; right end of 20) and the closed end, along the length direction of the collecting component, the first connecting end and the second connecting end are both disposed adjacent to the second end relative to the closed end, the first connecting end is connected to the second connecting end (Fig. 10; ends connected by 52);
the first pipe body portion defines a first distribution hole and a first distribution chamber, the first distribution hole communicates with the first distribution chamber and the collecting cavity (shown in Fig. 10); the second pipe body portion defines a second distribution hole and a second distribution chamber, the second distribution hole communicates with the second distribution chamber and the collecting cavity (shown in Fig. 10);
the first connecting end defines a first communication hole which communicates with the first distribution chamber and the second distribution chamber, along a length direction of the first pipe body portion (shown in Fig. 10), the first communication hole is disposed adjacent to the second end relative to the first distribution hole (shown in Fig. 1); except for the first communication hole and the first distribution hole, the first pipe body portion has no other holes capable of communicating the first distribution chamber with the second distribution chamber (shown in Fig. 1);
the second connecting end defines a second communication hole which communicates with the first distribution chamber and the second distribution chamber, along a length direction of the second pipe body portion (shown in Fig. 10), the second communication hole is disposed adjacent to the second end relative to the second distribution hole (shown in Fig. 1); except for the second communication hole and the second distribution hole, the second pipe body portion has no other holes capable of communicating the first distribution chamber with the second distribution chamber (shown in Fig. 1);
the distribution pipe has a path for one-way flow of fluid, and the path comprises the first distribution chamber, the first communication hole, the second communication hole and the second distribution chamber (shown in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 16. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 13, wherein the heat exchanger comprises a connecting component (52) which is at least partially located between the first connecting end and the second connecting end (shown in Fig. 10);
the first connecting end has a first mating surface through which the first communication hole extends (surface of 10 touching 52), the second connecting end has a second mating surface through which the second communication hole extends (surface of 20 touching 52), the connecting component comprises a third mating surface and a fourth mating surface, the first mating surface is mated with the third mating surface, and the second mating surface is mated with the third mating surface (surfaces of 52 touching the first surface and the second surface of 10 and 20);
the connecting component defines a connection channel, the connection channel extends through the connecting component, the connection channel extends through the third mating surface and the fourth mating surface, and the connection channel communicates with the first communication hole and the second communication hole (shown in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 17. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 16, wherein the connecting component defines a groove formed inwardly from a surface of the connecting component (Fig. 10; inwardly grooved sides of 52 facing 10 and 20);
the groove comprises a first groove (touching 10) and a second groove (touching 20), the third mating surface is located on a periphery of the first groove, the first mating surface is at least partially located in the first groove, and the first mating surface is hermetically connected to the third mating surface (shown in Fig. 10);
the fourth mating surface is located on a periphery of the second groove, the second mating surface is at least partially located in the second groove, and the second mating surface is hermetically connected to the third mating surface (shown in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 19. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 13, wherein the heat exchanger comprises a plurality of heat exchange tubes which are connected to the collecting component (Fig. 18; 43), inner cavities of the heat exchange tubes are in communication with the collecting cavity, and the plurality of heat exchange tubes are disposed along the length direction of the collecting component; a sum of the number of the first distribution holes and the number of the second distribution holes is N1, the number of the heat exchange tubes is N2, where N1/N2 is 0.1 to 10 (Fig. 6 shows a section of the evenly spaced holes and tubes, four holes are provided along a length that has five heat exchange tubes, N1/N2 falls within the claimed range).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of official notice.
Regarding claim 4. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 3, wherein the first mating surface, the second mating surface, the third mating surface and the fourth mating surface are all curved surfaces (shown in Fig. 10).
Wang does not explicitly disclose that the connecting component is connected to the first distribution pipe and the second distribution pipe, respectively, by brazing. However, the examiner takes official notice that the use of brazing to join portions of a heat exchanger is extremely old and well known in the art and is commonly used due to a combination of simplicity, cost effectiveness, and the ability to reliably seal the many openings of a heat exchanger. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize brazing in the assembly of Wang’s heat exchanger.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of WO 2021258980 A1 (herein “Jin”).
Regarding claim 9. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 1, wherein the first distribution pipe comprises a first pipe portion located in the first collecting pipe and a second pipe portion located outside the first collecting pipe (shown in Fig. 1; part of 10 extends outside of the first collecting pipe); the heat exchanger comprises a second collecting pipe (Fig. 18; 42) and a heat exchange tube (43), the second collecting pipe defines a second collecting cavity, the heat exchange tube connects the first collecting pipe and the second collecting pipe (shown in Fig. 18), the heat exchange tube communicates with the first collecting pipe and the second collecting pipe.
Wang does not disclose that the second pipe portion is in a shape of an elbow and is bent in a direction adjacent to the second collecting pipe.
Jin discloses a heat exchanger (Figs. 1-2 and 13-14) having a distribution pipe (7) extending out of the collecting pipe (8), wherein the pipe has an elbow shape that is bent to be parallel with the heat exchange tubes and in a direction toward a second collecting pipe. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heat exchanger of Wang with the teachings of Jin in order to position the pipes to accommodate positioning of other elements in or around the system, and/or to reduce the overall footprint and packaging size of the heat exchanger.
Claims 10-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of US 10,048,025 B2 (herein “Trane”).
Regarding claim 10. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 2, wherein the first collecting pipe defines a first collecting cavity;
the first distribution holes face the first circumferential wall, the second distribution holes face the second circumferential wall (shown in Fig. 6), but does not teach the remaining limitations of claim 10.
Trane discloses a heat exchanger (Fig. 6A) having distribution pipes located within a collecting pipe, wherein the number of the first distribution holes and the number of the second distribution holes are equal (shown in Fig. 6A), and the first distribution holes and the second distribution holes are evenly disposed along a length direction of the first collecting pipe (shown in Fig. 6A), respectively;
the first distribution holes and the second distribution holes are staggered along the length direction of the first collecting pipe (shown in Fig. 6A), the plurality of the first distribution holes are disposed in a first straight line, the plurality of the second distribution holes are disposed in a second straight line, and a plane defined by the first straight line and the second straight line is parallel to an end surface of one end of the heat exchange tube in a length direction of the heat exchange tube (shown in Fig. 6A, each of the lines of holes is parallel to the ends of the heat exchange tubes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heat exchanger of Wang with the teachings of Trane in order to help facilitate an even distribution of refrigerant from the distribution pipes to the many heat exchange tubes connected to the collecting pipe.
Regarding claim 11. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 1, wherein the heat exchanger comprises a plurality of heat exchange tubes which are connected to the first collecting pipe, inner cavities of the heat exchange tubes are in communication with the first collecting cavity, and the plurality of heat exchange tubes are disposed along a length direction of the first collecting pipe (shown in Figs. 6 and 18).
Trane discloses that a sum of the number of the first distribution holes and the number of the second distribution holes is N1, the number of the heat exchange tubes is N2, where N1/N2 is 0.1 to 10 (twelve holes and twelve tubes which falls within the claimed range). Note – In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 18. The combined teachings of Wang and Trane disclose the heat exchanger according to claim 13, wherein an angle between an extension direction of the first distribution hole and a direction of gravity is α, where -90°≤α≤90° (Wang: the orientation of the heat exchanger can be changed in all directions such that the distribution hole direction is inherently capable of falling within the claimed range); along the length direction of the collecting component, the first distribution hole and the second distribution hole are staggered (Trane: Fig. 6A).
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of US 2021/0285733 A1 (herein “Qi”).
Regarding claim 12. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 1, wherein a flow area of the first distribution pipe is 0.5 to 5 times a flow area of the second distribution pipe ([0053] D2=qD1 wherein 0.5<q<1); the first distribution pipe is a round pipe (Fig. 10); the second distribution pipe is a round pipe (Fig. 10); and an angle between an extension direction of the first distribution holes and a direction of gravity is α, where -90°≤α≤90° (the orientation of the heat exchanger can be changed in all directions such that the distribution hole direction is inherently capable of falling within the claimed range).
Wang does not disclose that a hole diameter of the first distribution hole is 0.1 mm to 5 mm, and a hole diameter of the second distribution hole is 0.1 mm to 5 mm.
Qi discloses a heat exchanger having a distribution pipe in a collecting pipe, wherein the distribution pipe has a plurality of holes for distributing refrigerant to the heat exchange tubes, and wherein the distribution holes have a diameter between 1 mm and 3 mm ([0042]). Note – In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 20. Wang discloses the heat exchanger according to claim 13, wherein a flow area of the first distribution pipe is 0.5 to 5 times a flow area of the second distribution pipe; the first distribution pipe is a round pipe; and the second distribution pipe is a round pipe.
Wang does not disclose that a hole diameter of the first distribution hole is 0.1 mm to 5 mm, and a hole diameter of the second distribution hole is 0.1 mm to 5 mm.
Qi discloses a heat exchanger having a distribution pipe in a collecting pipe, wherein the distribution pipe has a plurality of holes for distributing refrigerant to the heat exchange tubes, and wherein the distribution holes have a diameter between 1 mm and 3 mm ([0042]). Note – In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 I.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763