DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 8/7/2024.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CHINA 202410551185.9, filed on 05/06/2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: More specifically, the specification describes “two wings” but does not provide a reference numeral for the “two wings” to be identified in the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of cables in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 11 – 12, recite “a pull ring pivotally connected to the base body for a user hooking the pull ring to move the connector”. The wording of the claim does not clearly express the functional relationship between the pull ring and the movement of the connector. Applicant is suggested to amend the phrase to read “a pull ring pivotally connected to the base body and configured to be hooked by a user to move the connector” to more clearly define the intended function of the pull ring.
Claim 10, lines 14 – 15, recite “and the second bending portion extend are respectively accommodated in the two wings”. It should be amended to “and the second bending portion .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang (US 20220399669).
Regarding claim 10, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13) a cable-end connector (see figure 1) configured to be mated with a board-end connector, comprising: a base body (1) comprising two wings (132, 142; see figure 13, wings are part of walls 13, 14), a docking portion (portion between both 101 in figure 3) configured for being inserted into the board-end connector, and at least one engaging component (16) disposed on the docking portion (see figure 11) configured for being engaged with the board-end connector, the two wings (132, 142; see figure 13, wings are part of walls 13, 14) laterally connected to two sides of the base body (1); a conductive part (2) accommodated in the base body (1), the conductive part comprising a first conductive part (2) and a second conductive part (2; see figure 2, there are two structures 2) separated from the first conductive part (both 2 are separate structures), wherein the first conductive part comprises a first main body (22) and a first bending portion bent (see bent portion of 22 in figure 2; 221) from the first main body (22), and the second conductive part (2; see figure 2, there are two structures 2) comprises a second main body (there is another main body 22 corresponding to the second connection member 2 in figure 2) and a second bending portion (see second bending portion in figure 12; 221) bent from the second main body, wherein the first main body (22) and the second main body (there is another main body 22 corresponding to the second connection member 2 in figure 2) are extended in parallel and respectively accommodated in the docking portion (see figure 12), and the first bending portion (221) and the second bending portion (second 221) extend are respectively accommodated in the two wings (132, 142; see figure 13, wings are part of walls 13, 14); and a plurality of cables (S) connected to the conductive part (2) through the two wings (132, 142; see figure 13, wings are part of walls 13, 14).
Regarding claim 11, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13) the cable-end connector of claim 10, further comprising a cap body (3) engaged with the base body (1) and covering the conductive part (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13) the cable-end connector of claim 10, wherein the base body (1) further comprises a partition plate (17) located between the first conductive part and the second conductive part (see figure 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 13, 14, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 20220399669) in view of Kuo (US 20090117776).
Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13, annotation) a connector, comprising:
a base body (1) comprising a docking portion (portion between both 101 in figure 3), and the docking portion having a plurality of openings (A1, A2; 101);
a conductive part (2) accommodated in the base body, the conductive part (2) comprising a first conductive part (2) and a second conductive part (2; see figure 2, there are two structures 2) separated from the first conductive part (both 2 are separate structures), wherein each of the first conductive part and the second conductive part (2) has at least one through hole (see annotation) corresponded to the plurality of openings (A1, A2; 101);
a plurality of conductive terminals (see multiple 21 in figure 2) disposed in the at least one through hole of the first conductive part and the second conductive part (see annotation).
But Tang does not explicitly disclose a pull ring pivotally connected to the base body for a user hooking the pull ring to move the connector.
Kuo teaches (figures 1 – 4) a connector comprising a pull ring (30) pivotally connected to the base body (10) for a user hooking the pull ring to move the connector.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang with the connector as disclosed by Kuo to provide a pull ring pivotally connected to the base body for a user hooking the pull ring to move the connector, to provide a graspable member that can be pivoted to facilitate pulling and removal of the connector (¶0009 in Kuo).
~ Please see annotation below of figure 2 in the Tang reference, where the at least one through hole can be seen.
Regarding claim 2, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13) the connector of claim 1, wherein the base body (1) further comprises a partition plate (17) located between the first conductive part and the second conductive part (see figure 13).
Regarding claim 5, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13) the connector of claim 1, further comprising a cap body (3) engaged with the base body (1) and covering the conductive part (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13) the connector of claim 5, wherein the base body (1) has two wings (132, 142; see figure 13, wings are part of walls 13, 14) laterally extending from two sides the docking portion (portion between both 101 in figure 3), and each of the first conductive part (2) and the second conductive part (2; see figure 2, there are two structures 2) has a bending portion (see figure 13; 221) respectively accommodated in the two wings (132, 142; see figure 13, wings are part of walls 13, 14).
Regarding claim 13, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13, annotation) the cable-end connector of claim 10.
But Tang does not explicitly disclose a pull ring pivotally connected to the base body.
Kuo teaches (figures 1 – 4) a connector a pull ring (30) pivotally connected to the base body (10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang with the connector as disclosed by Kuo to provide a pull ring pivotally connected to the base body for a user hooking the pull ring to move the connector, to provide a graspable member that can be pivoted to facilitate pulling and removal of the connector (¶0009 in Kuo).
Regarding claim 14, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13) the cable-end connector of claim 13.
But Tang does not explicitly disclose wherein the base body has a blocking portion, and the pull ring has a pivot shaft pivotally connected to the blocking portion and a ring body connected to the pivot shaft.
Kuo teaches (figures 1 – 4) a connector wherein the base body (10) has a blocking portion (12), and the pull ring (30) has a pivot shaft (33) pivotally connected to the blocking portion (connected to 12 via 13) and a ring body (32) connected to the pivot shaft (33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang with the connector as disclosed by Kuo to provide wherein the base body has a blocking portion, and the pull ring has a pivot shaft pivotally connected to the blocking portion and a ring body connected to the pivot shaft, to provide a graspable member that can be pivoted to facilitate pulling and removal of the connector (¶0009 in Kuo).
Regarding claim 18, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13, annotation) the cable-end connector of claim 10, wherein the docking portion (portion between both 101 in figure 3) has a plurality of limiting slots (i.e. see annotation) on an outer surface thereof.
~ Please see annotation of figure 11 in the Tang reference, where the limiting slots can be seen.
Regarding claim 20, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13) the cable-end connector of claim 10, further comprising a plurality of conductive terminals (211) disposed in the first conductive part (2) and the second conductive part (2; see figure 2, there are two structures 2).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 20220399669) in view of Kuo (US 20090117776) and further in view of Moore (US 7351090).
Regarding claim 7, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13) the connector of claim 6, wherein the cap body (3) further comprises: a top plate (top plate of 3); and a side wall (see sidewall of 3 in figure 11) bent from the top plate (top plate of 3).
But Tang and Kuo do not explicitly disclose a positioning portion disposed on the top plate and configured to be engaged with the pull ring.
Moore teaches (figures 1A – 2B) a connector comprising a positioning portion (146) disposed on the top plate (per the combination of Tang) and configured to be engaged with the pull ring (engaged to 302 via 304).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang and Kuo with the connector as disclosed by Moore to provide a positioning portion disposed on the top plate and configured to be engaged with the pull ring, as Moore teaches cooperating protrusion and recess structures between a pivotable bail and a housing to releasably secure the bail in the selected position (column 5, line 62 – column 6, line 5 in Moore).
Regarding claim 8, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13) the connector of claim 7, wherein the side wall (see sidewall of 3 in figure 11) has at least one aperture and the base body (1) further comprises a bump configured to be engaged with the at least one aperture (see figure 1).
Although Tang teaches that the sidewall of the top plate has a bump and the base body has the at least one aperture for engagement with the bump, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to reverse the locations of the bump and aperture as taught by Tang, such that the aperture is disposed on the side wall of the top plate and the bump is disposed in the base body, as claimed. Tang teaches using the cooperating bump and aperture to secure the top plate to the base body. Reversing the locations of these complementary features would have been a predictable rearrangement of parts, as the bump would continue to engage the aperture to secure the top plate to the base body, without changing the function of the cooperating features or their intended result
Regarding claim 15, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13) the cable-end connector of claim 14, further comprising a cap body (3) engaged with the base body (1) and covering the conductive part (see figure 1), wherein the cap body further comprises: a top plate (top plate of 3); and a side wall (see sidewall of 3 in figure 11)bent from the top plate (top plate of 3).
But Tang and Kuo do not explicitly disclose a positioning portion disposed on the top plate and configured to be engaged with the pull ring.
Moore teaches (figures 1A – 2B) a connector comprising a positioning portion (146) disposed on the top plate (per the combination of Tang) and configured to be engaged with the pull ring (engaged to 302 via 304).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang and Kuo with the connector as disclosed by Moore to provide a positioning portion disposed on the top plate and configured to be engaged with the pull ring, as Moore teaches cooperating protrusion and recess structures between a pivotable bail and a housing to releasably secure the bail in the selected position (column 5, line 62 – column 6, line 5 in Moore).
Regarding claim 16, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13, annotation) the cable-end connector of claim 15, wherein the side wall (see sidewall of 3 in figure 11) has at least one aperture and the base body (1) further comprises a bump configured to be engaged with the at least one aperture (see figure 1).
Although Tang teaches that the sidewall of the top plate has a bump and the base body has the at least one aperture for engagement with the bump, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to reverse the locations of the bump and aperture as taught by Tang, such that the aperture is disposed on the side wall of the top plate and the bump is disposed in the base body, as claimed. Tang teaches using the cooperating bump and aperture to secure the top plate to the base body. Reversing the locations of these complementary features would have been a predictable rearrangement of parts, as the bump would continue to engage the aperture to secure the top plate to the base body, without changing the function of the cooperating features or their intended result.
Claim(s) 9, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 20220399669) in view of Kuo (US 20090117776) and further in view of Chien (US 7393234).
Regarding claim 9, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13, annotation) the connector of claim 1.
But Tang and Kuo do not explicitly disclose wherein the base body further comprises an engaging component disposed on the base body, and the engaging component comprises: a pressing portion located on a side of the engaging component; an elastic arm connected to the pressing portion and located on the other side of the engaging component; and a hook connected to the elastic arm and located on an end of the elastic arm away from the pressing portion.
Chien teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the base body (10) further comprises an engaging component (30) disposed on the base body (10), and the engaging component comprises: a pressing portion (33) located on a side of the engaging component; an elastic arm (35) connected to the pressing portion and located on the other side of the engaging component (see figure 4); and a hook (32) connected to the elastic arm and located on an end of the elastic arm away from the pressing portion (see figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang and Kuo with the connector as disclosed by Chien to provide wherein the base body further comprises an engaging component disposed on the base body, and the engaging component comprises: a pressing portion located on a side of the engaging component; an elastic arm connected to the pressing portion and located on the other side of the engaging component; and a hook connected to the elastic arm and located on an end of the elastic arm away from the pressing portion, as Chien teaches that such arrangement permits the hook to disengage from the mating connector through elastic deformation of the arm, thereby facilitating connector detachment.
Regarding claim 17, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13, annotation) the cable-end connector of claim 10.
But Tang and Kuo do not explicitly disclose wherein the engaging component comprises: a pressing portion located on a side of the engaging component; an elastic arm connected to the pressing portion and located on the other side of the engaging component; and a hook connected to the elastic arm and located on an end of the elastic arm away from the pressing portion.
Chien teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the engaging component (30) comprises: a pressing portion (33) located on a side of the engaging component (30; an elastic arm (35) connected to the pressing portion and located on the other side of the engaging component (see figure 4); and a hook (32) connected to the elastic arm and located on an end of the elastic arm away from the pressing portion (see figure 4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang and Kuo with the connector as disclosed by Chien to provide wherein the engaging component comprises: a pressing portion located on a side of the engaging component; an elastic arm connected to the pressing portion and located on the other side of the engaging component; and a hook connected to the elastic arm and located on an end of the elastic arm away from the pressing portion, as Chien teaches that such arrangement permits the hook to disengage from the mating connector through elastic deformation of the arm, thereby facilitating connector detachment.
Regarding claim 19, Tang teaches (figures 1 – 13, annotation) the cable-end connector of claim 10.
But Tang and Kuo do not explicitly disclose wherein the base body has two engaging components connected to another two sides of the base body.
Chien teaches (figures 3 – 4) a connector wherein the base body (10) has two engaging components (see figure 3) connected to another two sides of the base body (see figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang and Kuo with the connector as disclosed by Chien to provide wherein the base body has two engaging components connected to another two sides of the base body, as Chien teaches that such arrangement permits the hook to disengage from the mating connector through elastic deformation of the arm, thereby facilitating connector detachment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fails to teach wherein the base body has a blocking portion disposed on the partition plate to be pivotally connected to the pull ring in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Claim 4 depends on claim 3, which contains allowable subject matter, therefore claim 4 is also allowed.
Conclusion
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834