DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 07, 2024 follows the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 7 recites “the second surface” but does not clearly identify which surface to which it is referring. This lacks antecedent basis. Similarly, the “first opening” appears to identify itself with an opening on the first substate. The examiner recommends changing “the first opening” to --a first opening-- for clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iketani (US 20080003141) in view of Chan et al. (US20040002063; hereinafter “Chan”).
Iketani teaches a blood test device 1 for measuring the presence or concentration of a specific substance in blood based on a color reaction that occurs in a dry reagent phase impregnated with a reagent by bringing plasma separated from the blood into contact with the dry reagent phase (see abstract and Figs 1-3 and 10), comprising:
a first substrate 12 with the first opening 15 where the blood is to be added (see para [0070] et seq.);
a second substrate 11 arranged opposite the first substrate, with a second opening 16 to observe the color reaction (see Fig. 1-3);
the dry reagent phase 17 laminated on the second surface between the first substrate 12 and the second substrate 11 so that a part of the dry reagent phase is exposed from the second opening (see para [0072] et seq.);
a plasma separation part 13a, 13b formed by a porous sheet material and laminated on the dry reagent phase (filter layers 13a and 13b above reagent layer 17, Figure 10 and paras [0070]-[0083]); and
a diffusion layer (spreading layer 18) formed by a sheet of hydrophilic fibers and arranged on the plasma separation part so that a part of the diffusion layer is exposed from the first opening (corresponds to spreading layer 18, for which lketani teaches as an example rayon, above filters 13a/13b and exposed through opening 15, see Fig. 10 and para [0083] et seq.)
Iketani does not disclose an area of a surface of the plasma separation part on (facing) the dry reagent phase side, the area being outside a section in contact with the dry reagent phase, being bonded to the second substrate (interpreted by the examiner to mean the plasma separator reagent facing surface is bonded to the second substate outside the portion containing the dry reagent phase).
Chan is directed to support and fluid transport in blood-separation testing devices. Chan teaches a blood separation zone 100 having a first end whole blood (see para [0055]) carrier 103 affixed to its lower surface. The carrier provides mechanical support and reduces seepage during transport of the separated fluid toward reaction zone 5. Chan expressly permits direct or indirect attachment using adhesive (see Fig. 5, para [0056], [0094]). Additionally, Chan teaches maintaining fluid transferring contact between separate end 102 and reaction zone 5, see para [0055] et seq.)
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Chan's adhesive attachment of the blood separator to an underlying support to Iketani's filter layer 13 and substrate 11. The attachment would be located on the reagent facing surface of filter layer of Iketani, in a peripheral area extending beyond reagent layer 17, with adhesive spanning the separation from substrate. This placement would secure the separator while leaving the separator to reagent contact region unobstructed for plasma transfer. The reason for the modification is Chan's stated benefit of supporting the blood separator and reducing seepage, while preserving the fluid transfer required by Iketani's assay. Iketani independently permits adhesive assembly of its layered components (para [0076]). A person of ordinary skill would therefore have reasonably expected an adhesive attachment outside the active reagent-contact region to secure the separator without blocking its operative plasma-transfer interface.
Regarding claim 2, Iketani teaches a ratio of the volume of the plasma separation part to the volume of the dry reagent phase between 1.6 and 3.7 times, inclusive. Specifically, Iketani teaches the reagent layer 17 having dimensions of 5-7 mm X 5-7 mm X 0.1-0.2 mm, filter 13a dimensions are preferably 5-7 mm X 5-7 mm X 0.2-0.3 mm and filter 13b are preferably 5-7 mm X 5-7 mm X 0.3-0.4 mm.
The calculated nominal separator volume includes both filters, not the spreading layer substrate, adhesive or spacer:
V13a = 6.5 x 6.5 x 0.2 = 8.450 mm3;
V13b = 6.5 x 6.5 x 0.3 = 12.675 mm3;
Vseparator = 8.450 + 12.675 = 21.125 mm3.
Vreagent = 6 x 6 x 0.2 = 7.2 mm3 . Therefore,
Therefore Iketani teaches the ratio of Vseparator / Vreagent = 21.125 / 7.200 = 2.9, and 1.6 <2.9 < 3.7. This calculation establishes that this configuration falls within claim 2.
The proposed reason for selecting these dimensions is to provide a compact reagent area beneath a slightly larger separator, using the preferred dimensional options and retaining a peripheral attachment margin. A centered 6 mm reagent pad under a 6.5 mm separator leaves (6.5 - 6) /2 = 0.25 mm on each side. Chan's support and seepage rationale applies to attachment in that margin. The expected success is mechanical retention with an unobstructed active fluid-transfer region.
Regarding claim 4, the dimensional selection and rationale applied with respect to claim 2 above applies to a ratio between 2.0 and 3.1 times. The reasoning discussed in claim 2 for the dimensional selection are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 6, Iketani’s device includes spacer with a predetermined height arranged between the first substrate and the second substrate forming a space therebetween, wherein the dry reagent phase, the plasma separation part, and the diffusion layer are arranged in the space, and the height of the spacer is less than the sum of the thickness of the diffusion layer, the thickness of the plasma separation part, and the thickness of the dry reagent phase, in the state before assembly of the blood test device. Specifically, Iketani teaches a spacer 14, first substrate 12, second substrate 11, reagent phase 17, filters 13a/13b, and spreading layer 18 and the spacer thinner than the pre-compressed reagent and filter stack and compresses spreading layer 18 in that stack (see Figs. 6-11 and para [0082] et seq.)
Regarding claim 7, Iketani teaches the spacer layer 14 has a rectangular planar shape, its dimensions are in the range of, for example, 3 to 10 mm long by 3 to 10 mm wide by 0.5 to 1.2 mm thick, preferably 4 to 8 mm long by 4 to 8 mm wide by 0.6 to 1.0 mm thick, and more preferably 5 to 7 mm long by 5 to 7 mm wide by 0.7 to 0.9 mm thick, although the spacer is not limited to these dimensions (see para [0074] et seq.) The reason for the spacer arrangement is to maintain the compressed layered assembly while the added peripheral attachment of Chan supports the separator outside the active transfer region. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the desired thickness , since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, see MPEP 2144.04 (V) (D).
Regarding claim 8, Iketani teaches the plasma separation part includes a polysulfone membrane (see para [0080] et seq.)
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iketani and Chan as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Tanaka et al., (US 20090145840; hereinafter “Tanaka”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Iketani and Chan teaches that the ratio of the volume of the plasma separation part to the sum of the volumes of the dry reagent phases is between 1.6 times and 3.7 times. Iketani teaches the impregnated and dried reagent material (see para [0095] and Fig. 9). However the combination does not explicitly disclose a plurality of the second openings and dry reagent phases are provided in the device (interpreted as the same device).
In the art of blood separating/testing devices, Tanaka discloses a supporter 97 with three through holes corresponding to reagent layers 851, 852, and 853 on common blood separation membrane 86. Tanaka recognizes the benefit of analysis of multiple test items, see para [0092] and [0095]. The modification would replace Iketani's single reagent pad 17 with separate dry reagent pads and to provide a respective measurement opening 16 in substrate 11 for each pad, following Tanaka's teaching of pad and opening arrangement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the combination of Iketani and Chan a plurality of reagent pad and respective openings in order to analyze more than one blood constituent in a single device as recognized in Tanaka (see para [0095] et seq.) A skilled person would have expected plasma from the common separator to contact respective reagent pads and their color reactions to remain observable through corresponding openings.
Regarding claim 5, Iketani teaches the volume ratio of plasma separation part to the dry reagent phase, as set forth above. Tanaka teaches a multi-item analysis device with a plurality of dry reagent areas and observation openings. It would have been obvious to modify the combination of Iketani and Chan with the teachings of Tanaka for the reasons delineated above with respect to claim 3.
Citations to art
In the above citations to documents in the art, an effort has been made to specifically cite representative passages, however rejections are in reference to the entirety of each document relied upon. Other passages, not specifically cited, may apply as well.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art is hereby made of record. Although the prior art is relied upon, the examiner considers the listed prior art relevant to the applicant’s invention and may be relied upon in a future prior art rejection or as general background information related to applicant’s field of endeavor.
i. Wilson et al., (US 2017/0241977) teach a blood test device including a second surface 56 of the separation membrane 42 may contact the adhesive member 44. In some embodiments, the adhesive member 44 may prevent leakage of blood cells around the perimeter of the separation membrane 42 (see at least para [0043] et seq.)
ii. Anaokar et al., (US 20050003523) teach a blood test device including a blood separation layer 40, multiple assay stacks 42, and corresponding reading openings 34 (see Figs. 2-5).
Conclusion
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/P. Kathryn Wright/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798