Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Huai et al. (US 2022/0092462 A) hereinafter referred to as Huai.
Regarding Claim 1, Huai teaches a quantum chip (fig. 3, quantum chip 30), comprising a first substrate and a second substrate (fig. 3, bottom sheet 10 and topsheet 20) arranged oppositely, wherein a reading cavity (figure 3, reading cavity 11) is formed on a side surface of the first substrate facing the second substrate, a quantum bit (fig. 3, qubit array 21) corresponding to the reading cavity is disposed on a side surface of the second substrate facing the first substrate, and the reading cavity and the quantum bit are mutually coupled by forming a capacitor therebetween ([0047], lines 1-4.)
Regarding Claim 2, Huai teaches the quantum chip according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of quantum bits (fig. 3, qubit array 21) are disposed on a surface of the second substrate, the plurality of quantum bits are distributed in an array, and a coupler ([0046], lines 11-14) is disposed between adjacent two of the quantum bits.
(Huai et al. Page 3, figure 3, quantum chip 30.)
Regarding Claim 3, Huai teaches the quantum chip according to claim 2, wherein the coupler and the quantum bits are both disposed on the side surface of the second substrate facing the first substrate ([0046], lines 11-14.)
Regarding Claim 6, Huai teaches the quantum chip according to claim 1, further comprising a quantum bit driving line (fig. 3, bit control line 12.), wherein the quantum bit driving line and the reading cavity are both disposed on the side surface of the first substrate facing the second substrate (fig. 3, quantum chip 30.) ; and the quantum bit driving line is coupled to an input terminal corresponding to the quantum bit (fig. 3, bit control line 12.)
Regarding Claim 7, Huai teaches the quantum chip according to claim 6, wherein the quantum bit driving line is a driving line that simultaneously transmits a direct current signal and a microwave signal ([0057], lines 1-13).
Regarding Claim 8, Huai teaches the quantum chip according to claim 1, wherein the first substrate (fig. 3, backsheet 10.) is bonded to the second substrate (fig. 3, topsheet 20.), and a gap ([0066], lines 1-3). is formed between the reading cavity and the quantum bit.
Regarding Claim 10, Huai teaches A quantum computing device, comprising the quantum chip according to claim 1 ([0004], line 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huai in view of Neill et al. (CA 3090429 A1) hereinafter referred to as Neill.
Regarding Claim 4, as best understood, Huai does not explicitly teach a coupler driving line, wherein the coupler driving line and the reading cavity are both disposed on the side surface of the first substrate facing the second substrate; and the coupler driving line is coupled to the corresponding coupler.
Neil teaches a coupler driving line (fig. 4B, coupler control line 432), wherein the coupler driving line and the reading cavity (fig. 4B, capacitive coupling elements 448) are both disposed on the side surface of the first substrate (fig. 4B, second substrate 422) facing the second substrate (fig. 4B, first substrate 402); and the coupler driving line is coupled to the corresponding coupler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Huai such that the coupler driving line and the reading cavity are both disposed on the side surface of the first substrate facing the second substrate; and the coupler driving line is coupled to the corresponding coupler, as described in Neill. Doing so allows for improved levels of performance, e.g., improved algorithm execution speed and reduced loss, and perform quantum computations with increased accuracy and reliability (page 3, lines 16-20.)
Regarding Claim 5, Huai as modified by Neill discloses the device of claim 4 as discussed above. Huai further teaches the coupler is a capacitive coupler ([0047], lines 1-4) or an inductive coupler ([0058], lines 5-7; [0070], lines 1-4).
(fig. 4B)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huai in view of Shaw et al. (WO 2018169579 A1) hereinafter referred to as Shaw.
Regarding Claim 9, as best understood, Huai does not explicitly teach the quantum bit is an Xmon quantum bit, and a transverse edge of the Xmon quantum bit overlaps with at least part of a waveguide line predisposed in the reading cavity.
Shaw teaches the quantum chip according to claim 1, wherein the quantum bit is an Xmon quantum bit (figure 2, superconducting qubit 206; [0047], lines 1-4.), and a transverse edge of the Xmon quantum bit overlaps with at least part of a waveguide line ([0049], line 1, readout resonators; fig. 2, readout device 208) predisposed in the reading cavity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Huai such that the quantum chip according to claim 1, wherein the quantum bit is an Xmon quantum bit, and a transverse edge of the Xmon quantum bit overlaps with at least part of a waveguide line predisposed in the reading cavity, as described in Shaw. Doing so allows for accommodating wiring elements on a separate chip ([0046], lines 1-2) as to accommodate for the decreased wiring space due to the increased number of qubits ([0045], lines 5-6).
Conclusion
/T.C.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2897 09/21/2026
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897