DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Invention I (claims 1-10 and 16-20) in reply to the Restriction/Election Requirement Filed on 06 November 2025 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election with traverse of and Species A (Fig. 1) in reply to the internet communication on 08 December 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the search of all of the Applicant’s embodiments would prove no undue burden on the Examiner and since claims 1, 11, and 16 are generic, the Election of Species Requirement should be overcome and withdrawn.
The Examiner disagrees. Regarding the Restriction Requirement, the claims are directed to two different inventions: a product and a method of using a product. These are in two different classification areas and require two different searches. For example, Invention II would require words such as, “restroom”, “opening”, and “closing”, which are not found in Invention I. Regarding the Election Requirement, there are 3 patentably distinct species with different and diverse structures in the instant application. This is not found persuasive because the device of Species A (Fig. 1) is drawn to an embodiment with a bathing suit with snap fasteners at the upper crotch, the device of Species B (Fig. 2) is drawn to an embodiment with a bathing suit with hook and loop material at the lower crotch, and Species C (Fig. 3) is drawn to an embodiment with a bathing suit with a diagonal zipper opening at the lower waist. These are three separate classification areas, as noted in the original Election/Restriction Requirement, and while fasteners may be interchangeable, the location of the openings on the garment are not. And while some of the classification areas of Search could potentially overlap, each species would require a different total Search, and thus would pose a serious search burden upon the Examiner.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Thus, the Examiner finds that the Election/Restriction Requirement stands and claims 11-15 will be withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending in this application, with an action on the merits to follow regarding claims 1-10 and 16-20.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “elastic band” of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“fastening mechanism” in claims 3 & 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 8, 10, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 & 20 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “the closeable panel includes reinforced material around its edges”. It is unclear if “its” refers to the closable panel or the reinforced material. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “the closeable panel includes reinforced material around [[its]] edges of the closable panel,”.
Claim 10 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “quick-drying fabric”. It is unclear how one of ordinary skill would determine what a “quick-drying fabric” is. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “quick-drying fabric” is any fabric suitable to make bathing suit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Finn US 2857600.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Finn discloses a bathing suit (Figs. 1-5 #10) comprising: an upper portion (Figs. 1-5 #2/4); a lower portion (Figs. 1-5 #6/8/24); and a closeable panel in the lower portion (Figs. 1-5 #18).
Regarding Claim 2, Finn discloses the bathing suit of claim 1, wherein the closeable panel is at, near, or above the crotch area of the lower portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Finn discloses the bathing suit of claim 1, wherein the closeable panel uses a fastening mechanism (Applicant's “fastening mechanism” has been interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Applicant' s “fastening mechanism” appears to be a button snap fastener [per Applicant Drawings Fig. 1 and Spec ¶0041, but is also noted to be any of “button snaps…, hook and loop fasteners…, or a zipper” in ¶0046]; Finn has both snaps #34 and a zipper #22, which are the same as the Applicant' s “fastening mechanism”; see Figs. 1-5 #34/22).
Regarding Claim 4, Finn discloses the bathing suit of claim 3, wherein the fastening mechanism is selected from the group consisting of hook and loop fasteners, snaps, zippers, and buttons (Figs. 1-5 show snaps #34/36 and zipper #22; Col. 2:10-38 notes, “button holes, snaps, hooks… slide fastener… buttons, snaps, eyes”).
Regarding Claim 5, Finn discloses the bathing suit of claim 1, wherein the closeable panel is discreetly integrated into the design of the bathing suit (Fig. 2 shows the panel under the skirt #8).
Regarding Claim 6, Finn discloses the bathing suit of claim 1, wherein the bathing suit is a one-piece suit (Figs. 1-5).
Regarding Claim 7, Finn discloses the bathing suit of claim 1, wherein the bathing suit is a tankini (Figs. 1-5).
Regarding Claim 8, Finn discloses the bathing suit of claim 1, wherein the closeable panel includes reinforced material around its edges (Figs. 3 & 4 show the edging of the garment; Col. 2:10-52 notes, “formed of two lateral pieces 14 and 16 joined along a central seam to afford maximum comfort and flexibility with attendant strength”).
Regarding Claim 9, Finn discloses the bathing suit of claim 1, wherein the closeable panel includes an elastic band (Col. 2:22-52 notes, “elastic fabric” which is in band form #18 in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Finn discloses the bathing suit of claim 1, wherein the bathing suit is made from quick-drying fabric (Col. 2:47-52).
Regarding Independent Claim 16, Finn discloses a bathing suit system (Figs. 1-5 #10) comprising: an upper portion (Figs. 1-5 #2/4); a lower portion (Figs. 1-5 #6/8/24); and a closeable panel in the lower portion (Figs. 1-5 #18), and a fastening mechanism (Applicant's “fastening mechanism” has been interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Applicant' s “fastening mechanism” appears to be a button snap fastener [per Applicant Drawings Fig. 1 and Spec ¶0041, but is also noted to be any of “button snaps…, hook and loop fasteners…, or a zipper” in ¶0046]; Finn has both snaps #34 and a zipper #22, which are the same as the Applicant' s “fastening mechanism”; see Figs. 1-5 #34/22) on the closeable panel (Figs. 1-5).
Regarding Claim 17, Finn discloses the bathing suit system of claim 16, wherein the closeable panel is at, near, or above the crotch area of the lower portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 18, Finn discloses the bathing suit system of claim 16, wherein the fastening mechanism is selected from the group comprising hook and loop fasteners, snaps, zippers, and buttons (Figs. 1-5 show snaps #34/36 and zipper #22; Col. 2:10-38 notes, “button holes, snaps, hooks… slide fastener… buttons, snaps, eyes”).
Regarding Claim 19, Finn discloses the bathing suit system of claim 16, wherein the closeable panel is discreetly integrated into the design of the bathing suit (Fig. 2 shows the panel under the skirt #8).
Regarding Claim 20, Finn discloses the bathing suit system of claim 16, wherein the closeable panel includes reinforced material around its edges (Figs. 3 & 4 show the edging of the garment; Col. 2:10-52 notes, “formed of two lateral pieces 14 and 16 joined along a central seam to afford maximum comfort and flexibility with attendant strength”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeffrey US 3036574 teaches a bathing suit
Kuehner US 50583316 teaches a garment structure
Scozzafava US 20120272427 teaches a bathing suit
/RAQUEL M. WEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/HEATHER MANGINE, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732