DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/17/2025 and 08/07/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 08/07/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202310988873.7 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “circuitry of an image acquiring module, circuitry of an image recognition module, circuitry of a first obtaining module, circuitry of a selectable detection region calculation module, and circuitry of a target detection region determination module” in claim 13.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 13 claims “A device for determining a target detection region of an ionization chamber, used in a system for determining a target detection region of an ionization chamber”. It is unclear, if claimed “a target detection region” and “an ionization chamber” used twice are the same limitations or different ones. Claims 14-17 are objected by virtue of their dependence. Appropriate correction is required respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tu et al. (US PAP 2023/0157660 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With respect to claim 1, Yu et al. teaches a method for determining a target detection region of an ionization chamber, comprising (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382):
obtaining an image comprising a target region of a to-be-scanned object acquired by an image collector (see paragraph 0121); identifying the target region based on the image (see paragraph 0137); obtaining a first position of the ionization chamber (see paragraph 0318 and reference number (1640) in Fig. 16B); obtaining a selectable detection region of the ionization chamber based on the first position (see paragraph 0318 and reference number (1640) in Fig. 16B); and determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to the target region and the selectable detection region so that the target detection region of the ionization chamber is within the target region (see paragraphs 0320 and 0328; reference numbers (1650 and 1660) in Fig. 16B).
With respect to claim 2, Yu et al. teaches the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), wherein identifying the target region based on the image comprises: identifying a plurality of human body feature points based on the image, and obtaining second positions of the plurality of human body feature points in the spatial coordinate system; and determining the target region according to the plurality of human body feature points and the second positions (see paragraphs 0214 and 0318; Fig. 11A).
With respect to claim 3, Yu et al. teaches the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 2 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), wherein determining the target region according to the plurality of human body feature points and the second positions includes: determining target human body feature points corresponding to a target human-body part according to the plurality of human body feature points; taking a center of the second positions corresponding to the target human feature points as a center point, and determining a region within a preset distance from the center point as the target region (see paragraphs 0214 and 0318; Fig. 11A).
With respect to claim 4, Yu et al. teaches the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), wherein determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to the target region and the selectable detection region comprises: when the target region is outside the selectable detection region, obtaining a target position of the ionization chamber (see paragraph 0327), and controlling a driving device of the ionization chamber to move the ionization chamber to enable the target position to coincide with the first position; wherein when the ionization chamber is located at the target position, the selectable detection region of the ionization chamber at least partially overlaps the target region; and when the target region is within the selectable detection region (see paragraph 0327), selecting and determining the target detection region from the selectable detection region, a minimum distance between a boundary of the target detection region and a boundary of the target region being within a preset boundary distance (see paragraph 0327).
With respect to claim 5, Yu et al. teaches the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), further comprising: controlling a display screen to display the target region, the selectable detection region, or the target detection region (see paragraphs 0370 and 0382).
With respect to claim 6, Yu et al. teaches the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 4 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), further comprising: controlling a display screen to display the target region and the target detection region; wherein the target detection region is moved on the display screen to make the first position of the ionization chamber coincide with the target position (see paragraphs 0370 and 0382).
With respect to claim 7, Yu et al. teaches the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 2 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), further comprising: outputting the plurality of human body feature points and the target detection region (see paragraph 0228); taking a human body feature point selected by a user as a target feature point; and recalculating the target region according to the position of the target feature point and redetermining the target detection region, and outputting the target feature point and the redetermined target detection region (see paragraph 0228).
With respect to claim 8, Yu et al. teaches the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), further comprising: controlling a projection device to project at least one of a center identification of the target detection region and a boundary identification of the target detection region onto a surface of the to-be-scanned object (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382).
With respect to claim 9, Yu et al. teaches the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), wherein: the ionization chamber comprises one or more dose receiving units; the selectable detection region of the ionization chamber comprises all of the one or more dose receiving units of the ionization chamber; and the target detection region of the ionization chamber comprises only dose receiving units in a working state (see paragraph 0307).
With respect to claim 10, Yu et al. teaches the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 9 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), wherein the ionization chamber is a dose-receiving-unit array consisting of multiple dose receiving units (see paragraph 0307).
With respect to claim 11, Yu et al. teaches the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 2 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), wherein, identifying the plurality of human body feature points based on the image, and obtaining the second positions of the plurality of human body feature points in the spatial coordinate system, comprise: identifying the plurality of human body feature points in an image (see paragraphs 0214 and 0318; Fig. 11A); constructing a human body model in the spatial coordinate system; and determining positions of the plurality of human body feature points in a three-dimensional spatial coordinate system based on positions of the plurality of human body feature points in the human body model, wherein the positions of the plurality of human body feature points in the three-dimensional spatial coordinate system are the second positions (see paragraphs 0214 and 0318; Fig. 11A).
With respect to claim 12, Yu et al. teaches the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 11 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), wherein identifying the plurality of human body feature points in the image, comprises: inputting sample images marked with human body feature points into a neural network model to train a recognition model for the human body feature points; inputting the image comprising the target region of the to-be-scanned object acquired by the image collector into the trained recognition model to identify the plurality of human body feature points (see paragraph 0244).
With respect to claim 13, Yu et al. teaches (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382) a device for determining a target detection region of an ionization chamber, used in a system for determining a target detection region of an ionization chamber, wherein: the system comprises a scanning device, and the scanning device comprises the ionization chamber;
the ionization chamber is arranged between a to-be-scanned object and the scanning device, and the scanning device is provided with an image collector (see paragraph 0121); the device for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber comprises (see paragraphs 0121, 0137, 0318) circuitry of an image acquiring module, circuitry of an image recognizing module, circuitry of a first position obtaining module, circuitry of a selectable detection region calculating module (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), and circuitry of a target detection region determining module; wherein an input of the circuitry of the image acquiring module is connected to the image collector, and an output of the circuitry of the image acquiring module is connected to an input of the circuitry of the image recognizing module (see paragraphs 0121, 0137, 0318); an input of the circuitry of the first position obtaining module is connected to the ionization chamber, and an output of the circuitry of the first position obtaining module is connected to an input of the circuitry of the selectable detection region calculating module; an input of the circuitry of the target detection region determining module is connected to an output of the circuitry of the selectable detection region calculating module, and another input of the circuitry of the target detection region determining module is connected to an output of the circuitry of the image recognizing module (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382); the circuitry of the image acquiring module is configured to obtain an image comprising a target region of the to-be-scanned object acquired by the image collector; the circuitry of the image recognizing module is configured to identify the target region based on the image (see paragraphs 0121, 0137, 0318); the circuitry of the first position obtaining module is configured to obtain a first position of the ionization chamber in a spatial coordinate system (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382); the circuitry of the selectable detection region calculating module is configured to obtain a selectable detection region of the ionization chamber based on the first position; and the circuitry of the target detection region determining module is configured to determine a target detection region of the ionization chamber according to the target region and the selectable detection region so that the target detection region of the ionization chamber is within the target region (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382).
With respect to claim 14, Yu et al. teaches the device for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 13 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), wherein the circuitry of the image recognizing module comprises: circuitry of a feature point recognizing unit, configured to identify a plurality of human body feature points based on the image, and obtain second positions of the plurality of human body feature points in the spatial coordinate system; and circuitry of a target region determining unit, configured to determine the target region according to the plurality of human body feature points and the second positions (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382).
With respect to claim 15, Yu et al. teaches the device for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 13 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), wherein: the system for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber further comprises a terminal, and the terminal comprises a display screen; and the device for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber further comprises circuitry of a display module configured to control the display screen to display the target region and the target detection region (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382).
With respect to claim 16, Yu et al. teaches the device for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 13 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), wherein the system for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber further comprises a projection device; the device for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber further comprises circuitry of a projection module configured to control the projection device to project at least one of a center identification of the target detection region and a boundary identification of the target detection region onto a surface of the to-be-scanned object (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382).
With respect to claim 17, Yu et al. teaches the device for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 14 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382), wherein the system for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber further comprises a terminal, and the terminal comprises a display screen; the device for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber further comprises: circuitry of an output module configured to output the plurality of the human body feature points and the target detection region via the display screen; circuitry of a selection module configured to take a human body feature point selected by a user as a target feature point; and circuitry of a target detection region redetermining module configured to recalculate the target region and readjust the target detection region according to the position of the target feature point, and output the target feature point and the redetermined target detection region (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382).
With respect to claim 18, Yu et al. teaches an electronic device comprising a memory (360) and a processor (210), wherein the memory (360) stores a computer program (see paragraphs 0071 and 0415-0417), executable on the processor (210), wherein the processor (210), when executing the computer program (see paragraphs 0071 and 0415-0417), performs the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382).
With respect to claim 19, Yu et al. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (390), having a computer program (see paragraphs 0071 and 0415-0417) stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when being executed by a processor (210), performs the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382).
With respect to claim 20, Yu et al. teaches a program product, comprising program codes (see paragraphs 0071 and, 0415-0417), wherein when the program product is run on a terminal, the program codes cause the terminal to perform the method for determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 11A and 16B; paragraphs 0065, 0066, 0121, 0122, 0124, 0135, 0137, 0214, 0228, 0244, 0260, 0307, 0313, 0318, 0320, 0336, 0370 and 0382).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (US PAP 2022/0265238 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Watanabe et al. teaches a method for determining a target detection region of an ionization chamber such as an X-ray detector (100), comprising (see abstract; Figs. 1-9; paragraphs 0023-0038): obtaining an image comprising a target region of a to-be-scanned object acquired by an image collector; identifying the target region based on the image (see abstract; Figs. 1-9; paragraphs 0023-0038); obtaining a first position of the ionization chamber; obtaining a selectable detection region of the ionization chamber based on the first position (see abstract; Figs. 1-9; paragraphs 0023-0038);
and determining the target detection region of the ionization chamber according to the target region and the selectable detection region so that the target detection region of the ionization chamber is within the target region (see abstract; Figs. 1-9; paragraphs 0023-0038).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to IRAKLI KIKNADZE whose telephone number is (571)272-6494. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Irakli Kiknadze
/IRAKLI KIKNADZE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/I.K./ February 19, 2026