Response to an Amendment
This office action is a response to a communication made on 05/04/2026.
Claims 1, 6, 8, 10 and 12-15 are currently amended.
Claims 5 and 11 are canceled.
Claims 1-4, 6-10 and 12-15 are pending for this application.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 05/04/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 18/586654 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Double Patenting
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 9, filed 05/04/2026, with respect to claims 1, 5-8 and 11-15 have been fully considered and are persuasive due to filing a terminal disclaimer. The double patenting rejection of claims 1, 5-8 and 11-15 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 9, filed 05/04/2026, with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 1 and 14 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 9, filed 05/04/2026, with respect to claims 1-15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 11-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 10-11, filed 05/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 102(a)(1) have been considered and regarding the amended feature of “determine whether a connection between a communication device and a controller provided in an edge device is permitted based on first unique information that is unique to the communication device and second unique information that is unique to the controller, at a timing when the communication device is connected to the controller via a connection interface” are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ding et al. (US 2019/0089693), hereinafter “Ding” in view of JP 6028635 B2, Communication System, Server Device, Registration Method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (US 2019/0089693), hereinafter “Ding” in view of JP 6028635 B2, Communication System, Server Device, Registration Method, And Program, hereinafter “JP”.
With respect to claims 1 and 14, Ding discloses a communication system comprising a server device and a terminal device connected to the server device via a network (see Fig. 1, terminal devices and management server device connected via network), a method executed by a communication system comprising a server device and a terminal device connected to the server device via a network (see Fig. 1, terminal devices and management server device connected via network), the method comprising:
wherein the server device (i.e. fig. 1, management server 30) comprises a first processor (Fig. 2, processor 114) configured to:
provide the terminal device (i.e. Fig. 2, terminal 20) with device function information on a function provided by a communication device when the terminal device discovers the communication device after the connection is permitted (¶0010, teaches a processor configured to execute the set of instructions to perform an authentication method for a first device connected with a second device via a communication network, ¶0019-¶0020, teaches a terminal can access, monitor, and/or control a target device (i.e. communication device), the terminal needs to be paired with the target device, provision authentication information that can be used for authenticating the communication between the terminal device and the target device after the pairing … a first terminal may include a management agent configured to generate authentication information directly or via a management server, ¶0044, teaches a media control access (MAC) address (i.e. device function information on a function) associated with target device 10, to terminal 20, ¶0067, teaches terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information on a function provided by a communication device ), and
the terminal device comprises a second processor configured to request the communication device to execute the function, based on the provided device function information (¶0011, teaches one or more processors (i.e. second processors) to perform an authentication method for a first device (i.e. terminal device), ¶0019-¶0020, teaches a terminal can access, monitor, and/or control a target device (i.e. communication device), the terminal needs to be paired with the target device… a first terminal may include a management agent configured to generate authentication information directly or via a management server, ¶0029, teaches management server 30 may receive a request from terminal 20 and generate the authentication pin or token based on the request, ¶0058, teaches terminal 20 may transmit, via a secured network (e.g., secured network 90), to management server 30 a request for generating a trusted token. The request may include the identification information of target device 10 (e.g., the MAC address (i.e. device function information) associated with target device 10), the identification information of terminal 20 (e.g., the unique ID of management agent 218), and/or the random pin for identifying the pairing between target device 10 and terminal 20).
Ding, see Fig. 2, communication interface 212 and communication interface 112 connecting with management server. However, Ding remain silent on determine whether a connection between a communication device and a controller provided in an edge device is permitted based on first unique information that is unique to the communication device and second unique information that is unique to the controller, at a timing when the communication device is connected to the controller via a connection interface.
JP teaches determine whether a connection between a communication device and a controller provided in an edge device is permitted based on first unique information that is unique to the communication device and second unique information that is unique to the controller, at a timing when the communication device is connected to the controller via a connection interface (¶0009, teaches a communication unit for communicating with the server device, an input unit for receiving input of information, and a part that is a part of the unique identification information of the information processing apparatus input via the input unit via the communication unit A second unique identification information transmission unit for transmitting unique identification information to the server device, the communication unit performing communication between the communication device and the information processing device in the server device, and the unique identification information received by the communication unit And a partial unique identification information, and if the partial unique identification information matches a part of the unique identification information, a registration processing unit for registering the communication device and the information processing device as a pair is provided, ¶0046-¶0047, teaches the control unit 110 includes a connection request unit 114 and a first unique identification information transmission unit 115. When an operation input signal is output from the operation unit 113 described later, the connection request unit 114 generates connection request information for the server device 7, and transmits the connection request information to the server device 7 via the communication unit 111. When the connection request unit 114 transmits the connection request information and the connection between the information processing device 3 and the server device 7 is established, the first unique identification information transmission unit 115 communicates the MAC address 3 d that is the unique identification information of itself. It transmits to the server device 7 via the unit 111… the operation unit 113 outputs an operation input signal corresponding to the operation input based on the operation input by the user. The operation unit 113 includes a light source unit (i.e. edge device) (not shown) that performs blinking, lighting, and extinguishing operations based on an operation input by the user and an instruction from the control unit.).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ding’s store information regarding pairing relationships between target devices and terminals with determine whether a connection between a communication device and a controller provided in an edge device is permitted based on first unique information that is unique to the communication device and second unique information that is unique to the controller, at a timing when the communication device is connected to the controller via a connection interface of JP, in order to reduce the risk of unauthorized devices accessing the controller or edge devices and ensure that only authorized device controller pairs can establish connection (JP).
With respect to claim 2, Ding in view of JP discloses the communication system of claim 1, wherein
the second processor is further configured to inquire the function provided by the discovered communication device (Ding, ¶0069, teaches terminal 22 may also send an inquiry to target device (i.e. communication device) 10 to obtain the MAC address of target device 10), and
the first processor is further configured to provide the terminal device with the device function information in response to the inquiry (Ding, ¶0070, teaches in response to the request for authentication information, management server 30 may retrieve, from database 40, the authentication pin or token associated with the MAC address, and return the retrieved authentication pin or token to terminal 22 via secured network 90).
With respect to claim 3, Ding in view of JP discloses the communication system of claim 2, wherein
the server device further comprises a storage configured to store user information indicative of a user capable of executing the function provided by the communication device (Ding, ¶0035, teaches Memory module 116 may include any appropriate type of mass storage provided to store any type of information (i.e. user information) that processor 114 may need to operate, ¶0050, teaches while process 410 is initiated, a user may also activate management agent 218 of terminal 12, to initiate process 450. For example, in some embodiments, management agent 218 may be implemented as a mobile application installed on terminal 20. As such, a user may initiate process 450 by opening the mobile application, ¶0068, teaches when a user turns on target device (i.e. communication device) 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol), and
the first processor (Fig. 2, processor 114) is further configured to determine whether the user using the terminal device is the user capable of executing the function provided by the discovered communication device, based on the user information stored in the storage (Ding, ¶0050, teaches while process 410 is initiated, a user may also activate management agent 218 of terminal 12, to initiate process 450. For example, in some embodiments, management agent 218 may be implemented as a mobile application installed on terminal 20. As such, a user may initiate process 450 by opening the mobile application, ¶0067-¶0068, teaches when a user turns on target device (i.e. communication device) 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol… terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information on a function provided by a communication device), and permit or reject providing the device function information based on the determination result, when the inquiry is made (Ding, ¶0069, teaches After receiving and recognizing the information broadcasted by target device 10 in step 711, terminal 22 may also send an inquiry to target device 10 to obtain the MAC address of target device (i.e. device function information) 10, ¶0073, teaches after receiving the pairing-authorization (i.e. permit) response, terminal 22 may recognize that it has been successfully paired with target device 10 (step 757).
With respect to claim 4, Ding in view of JP discloses the communication system of claim 1, wherein
the device function information includes information used to execute the function provided by the communication device or an application programming interface (API) (Ding, ¶0048-¶0049, teaches target device (i.e. communication device) 20 may write device information (i.e. device function information) such as device type, MAC address, IP address, into one or more multicast packets. Other devices including terminal 20 may scan a plurality of multicast channels to detect the multicast packets…target device 10 may broadcast, via a speaker, an acoustic wave encoding the connection token, or emit, via one or more LED lights, a light pattern encoding the connection token. Devices surrounding target device 10 may receive the sound wave and/or light pattern (i.e. executing the function), and decode the connection token, ¶0055, teaches terminal 20 may perform an optional step 461 to update management server 30 with the authentication pin, a timestamp when the authentication pin is generated, the identification information of target device 10 (e.g., the MAC address associated with target device 10), and the identification information of terminal 20 (e.g., the unique ID of management agent 218)).
With respect to claims 12 and 15, Ding in view of JP discloses a server device connected to a terminal device via a network, the server device comprising a processor configured to:
accept an inquiry to a function provided by a communication device when the terminal device discovers the communication device after the connection is permitted (¶0019-¶0020, teaches a terminal can access, monitor, and/or control a target device (i.e. communication device), the terminal needs to be paired with the target device, provision authentication information that can be used for authenticating the communication between the terminal device and the target device after the pairing … a first terminal may include a management agent configured to generate authentication information directly or via a management server, ¶0044, teaches a media control access (MAC) address (i.e. device function information on a function) associated with target device 10, to terminal 20,, ¶0057, teaches target device 10 may then accept the pairing request and return an identification of target device 10, for example, a MAC address associated with target device 10, to terminal 20, ¶0069, teaches terminal 22 may also send an inquiry to target device 10 to obtain the MAC address of target device 10, ¶0067, teaches terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information on a function provided by a communication device); and
provide the terminal device with device function information on the function in response to the accepted inquiry (¶0010, teaches a processor configured to execute the set of instructions to perform an authentication method for a first device connected with a second device via a communication network, ¶0019-¶0020, teaches a terminal can access, monitor, and/or control a target device (i.e. communication device), the terminal needs to be paired with the target device… a first terminal may include a management agent configured to generate authentication information directly or via a management server, ¶0044, teaches a media control access (MAC) address (i.e. device function information on a function) associated with target device 10, to terminal 20, ¶0057, teaches target device 10 may then accept the pairing request and return an identification of target device 10, for example, a MAC address associated with target device 10, to terminal 20, ¶0067, teaches terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information on a function provided by a communication device), wherein
the terminal device is configured to request the communication device to execute the function based on the provided device function information (¶0019-¶0020, teaches a terminal can access, monitor, and/or control a target device (i.e. communication device), the terminal needs to be paired with the target device… a first terminal may include a management agent configured to generate authentication information directly or via a management server, ¶0029, teaches management server 30 may receive a request from terminal 20 and generate the authentication pin or token based on the request, ¶0058, teaches terminal 20 may transmit, via a secured network (e.g., secured network 90), to management server 30 a request for generating a trusted token. The request may include the identification information of target device 10 (e.g., the MAC address (i.e. device function information) associated with target device 10), the identification information of terminal 20 (e.g., the unique ID of management agent 218), and/or the random pin for identifying the pairing between target device 10 and terminal 20).
Ding, see Fig. 2, communication interface 212 and communication interface 112 connecting with management server. However, Ding remain silent on determine whether a connection between a communication device and a controller provided in an edge device is permitted based on first unique information that is unique to the communication device and second unique information that is unique to the controller, at a timing when the communication device is connected to the controller via a connection interface;
JP teaches determine whether a connection between a communication device and a controller provided in an edge device is permitted based on first unique information that is unique to the communication device and second unique information that is unique to the controller, at a timing when the communication device is connected to the controller via a connection interface (¶0009, teaches a communication unit for communicating with the server device, an input unit for receiving input of information, and a part that is a part of the unique identification information of the information processing apparatus input via the input unit via the communication unit A second unique identification information transmission unit for transmitting unique identification information to the server device, the communication unit performing communication between the communication device and the information processing device in the server device, and the unique identification information received by the communication unit And a partial unique identification information, and if the partial unique identification information matches a part of the unique identification information, a registration processing unit for registering the communication device and the information processing device as a pair is provided, ¶0046-¶0047, teaches the control unit 110 includes a connection request unit 114 and a first unique identification information transmission unit 115. When an operation input signal is output from the operation unit 113 described later, the connection request unit 114 generates connection request information for the server device 7, and transmits the connection request information to the server device 7 via the communication unit 111. When the connection request unit 114 transmits the connection request information and the connection between the information processing device 3 and the server device 7 is established, the first unique identification information transmission unit 115 communicates the MAC address 3 d that is the unique identification information of itself. It transmits to the server device 7 via the unit 111… the operation unit 113 outputs an operation input signal corresponding to the operation input based on the operation input by the user. The operation unit 113 includes a light source unit (i.e. edge device) (not shown) that performs blinking, lighting, and extinguishing operations based on an operation input by the user and an instruction from the control unit.).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ding’s store information regarding pairing relationships between target devices and terminals with determine whether a connection between a communication device and a controller provided in an edge device is permitted based on first unique information that is unique to the communication device and second unique information that is unique to the controller, at a timing when the communication device is connected to the controller via a connection interface of JP, in order to reduce the risk of unauthorized devices accessing the controller or edge devices and ensure that only authorized device controller pairs can establish connection (JP).
With respect to claim 13, Ding in view of JP discloses a terminal device connected to a server device via a network, the terminal device comprising a processor configured to:
make an inquiry to a function provided by a communication device when discovering the communication device connected to a controller provided in an edge device (¶0057, teaches target device (i.e. communication device) 10 may then accept the pairing request and return an identification of target device 10, for example, a MAC address associated with target device 10, to terminal 20, ¶0069, teaches terminal 22 may also send an inquiry to target device 10 to obtain the MAC address of target device 10, ¶0067, teaches terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information on a function provided by a communication device);
receive device function information on the function provided by the server device in response to the inquiry (¶0019-¶0020, teaches a terminal can access, monitor, and/or control a target device, the terminal needs to be paired with the target device… a first terminal may include a management agent configured to generate authentication information directly or via a management server, ¶0044, teaches a media control access (MAC) address (i.e. device function information on a function) associated with target device 10 (i.e. communication device), to terminal 20, ¶0057, teaches target device 10 may then accept (i.e. receive) the pairing request and return an identification of target device 10, for example, a MAC address associated with target device 10, to terminal 20, ¶0067, teaches terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information on a function provided by a communication device); and
request the communication device to execute a function provided by the communication device, based on the received device function information (¶0019-¶0020, teaches a terminal can access, monitor, and/or control a target device, the terminal needs to be paired with the target device… a first terminal may include a management agent configured to generate authentication information directly or via a management server, ¶0029, teaches management server 30 may receive a request from terminal 20 and generate the authentication pin or token based on the request, ¶0058, teaches terminal 20 may transmit, via a secured network (e.g., secured network 90), to management server 30 a request for generating a trusted token. The request may include the identification information of target device (i.e. communication device) 10 (e.g., the MAC address (i.e. device function information) associated with target device 10), the identification information of terminal 20 (e.g., the unique ID of management agent 218), and/or the random pin for identifying the pairing between target device 10 and terminal 20).
Ding, see Fig. 2, communication interface 212 and communication interface 112 connecting with management server. However, Ding remain silent on wherein the server device is configured to determine whether a connection between a communication device and the controller is permitted based on first unique information that is unique to the communication device and second unique information that is unique to the controller, at a timing when the communication device is connected to the controller via a connection interface.
JP teaches wherein the server device is configured to determine whether a connection between a communication device and the controller is permitted based on first unique information that is unique to the communication device and second unique information that is unique to the controller, at a timing when the communication device is connected to the controller via a connection interface (¶0009, teaches a communication unit for communicating with the server device, an input unit for receiving input of information, and a part that is a part of the unique identification information of the information processing apparatus input via the input unit via the communication unit A second unique identification information transmission unit for transmitting unique identification information to the server device, the communication unit performing communication between the communication device and the information processing device in the server device, and the unique identification information received by the communication unit And a partial unique identification information, and if the partial unique identification information matches a part of the unique identification information, a registration processing unit for registering the communication device and the information processing device as a pair is provided, ¶0046-¶0047, teaches the control unit 110 includes a connection request unit 114 and a first unique identification information transmission unit 115. When an operation input signal is output from the operation unit 113 described later, the connection request unit 114 generates connection request information for the server device 7, and transmits the connection request information to the server device 7 via the communication unit 111. When the connection request unit 114 transmits the connection request information and the connection between the information processing device 3 and the server device 7 is established, the first unique identification information transmission unit 115 communicates the MAC address 3 d that is the unique identification information of itself. It transmits to the server device 7 via the unit 111… the operation unit 113 outputs an operation input signal corresponding to the operation input based on the operation input by the user. The operation unit 113 includes a light source unit (i.e. edge device) (not shown) that performs blinking, lighting, and extinguishing operations based on an operation input by the user and an instruction from the control unit.).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ding’s store information regarding pairing relationships between target devices and terminals with wherein the server device is configured to determine whether a connection between a communication device and the controller is permitted based on first unique information that is unique to the communication device and second unique information that is unique to the controller, at a timing when the communication device is connected to the controller via a connection interface of JP, in order to reduce the risk of unauthorized devices accessing the controller or edge devices and ensure that only authorized device controller pairs can establish connection (JP).
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding in view of JP, and further in view of Hatch et al. (US 10708769 B2), hereinafter “Hatch”.
With respect to claim 6, Ding in view of JP discloses the communication system of claim 1,
However, Ding in view of JP remain silent on wherein the controller is configured to: reject the connection of the communication device, based on the received connection availability information.
Hatch discloses wherein the controller is configured to: reject the connection of the communication device, when the connection is not permitted (Col-7, II. 46-51, teaches the new accessory may receive a request (block 330) to pair and/or establish a communication link, and may confirm whether the request includes a valid key (block 340). If there is no valid key, the new accessory (i.e. communication device) may deny the request (block 350) (e.g., by sending an explicit denial or by taking no action)).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ding’s connection token as connection availability information in view of JP’s systerm with reject the connection of the communication device, based on the received connection availability information of Hatch, in order to ensure fair and secure use of network resources and maintains quality of service (Hatch, Col-4, II. 7-12).
With respect to claim 7, Ding in view of JP, and further in view of Hatch discloses the communication system of claim 6, wherein
the controller is further configured to:
supply power to the communication device (Ding, ¶0027, teaches if target device (i.e. communication device) 10 is a lamp, terminal 20 may remotely turn on or off the lamp); and
stop supplying power to the communication device when the connection of the communication device is rejected (Hatch, Col-7, II. 46-51, teaches the new accessory may receive a request (block 330) to pair and/or establish a communication link, and may confirm whether the request includes a valid key (block 340). If there is no valid key, the new accessory (i.e. communication device) may deny the request (block 350) (e.g., by sending an explicit denial or by taking no action), which explicitly teaches stop supplying power to the communication device).
With respect to claim 8, Ding in view of JP, and further in view of Hatch discloses the communication system of claim 7, wherein
the first processor is further configured to notify the communication device of information to be set in the communication device when the connection is permitted (Ding, ¶0010, teaches a processor configured to execute the set of instructions to perform an authentication method for a first device connected with a second device via a communication network, Hatch, Col-4, 50-56, teaches the query 220 requests that the remote server 150 notify the controller 110 whether the new accessory 1(i.e. communication device) 30 is associated with a user account, such as a user account with which the controller 110 is associated, or another user account, or not associated with any user account).
With respect to claim 9, Ding in view of JP, and further in view of Hatch discloses the communication system of claim 8, wherein
the communication device (Fig. 2, Target device 10) is configured to make advertisement to the terminal device, based on the notified information, when the terminal device discovers the communication device (Ding, ¶0047, teaches target device 10 may broadcast the connection token via Bluetooth® advertisement. Specifically, target device 10 may generate advertising packets enclosing the connection token and transmit the advertising packets through one or more predetermined advertising channels, ¶0069, teaches terminal 22 may scan a plurality of multicast channels and discover the service of target device 10. After receiving and recognizing the information broadcasted by target device 10 in step 711).
With respect to claim 10, Ding in view of JP, and further in view of Hatch discloses the communication system of claim 9, wherein
the first processor is further configured to provide the terminal device with the device function information in response to an inquiry from the terminal device, which is made based on the advertisement (Ding, ¶0047, teaches target device 10 may broadcast the connection token via Bluetooth® advertisement. Specifically, target device 10 may generate advertising packets enclosing the connection token and transmit the advertising packets through one or more predetermined advertising channels, ¶0067, teaches terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information, ¶0069, teaches terminal 22 may also send an inquiry to target device 10 to obtain the MAC address of target device 10).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458