DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed 08/07/2024, wherein claims 1-15 are pending and ready for an examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2024 and 03/06/2025 were filed before the mailing date of the non-final action on 01/27/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-8 and 11-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 8-9 and 10-12 of co-pending application # 18586654.
Instant Application # 18796405
Co-Pending Application # 18586654
1, 12, 13, 14 and 15 A communication system comprising, A server device connected to a terminal device via a network, the server device comprising a processor configured to:, A server device connected to a terminal device via a network, the server device comprising a processor configured to:, A method executed by a communication system comprising a server device and a terminal device connected to the server device via a network, the method comprising:, A method executed by a server device connected to a terminal device via a network, the method comprising:
a server device and a terminal device connected to the server device via a network, wherein
the server device comprises a first processor configured to provide the terminal device with device function information on a function provided by a communication device when the terminal device discovers the communication device connected to a controller provided in an edge device, and
the terminal device comprises a second processor configured to request the communication device to execute a function provided by the communication device, based on the provided device function information.
5. The communication system of claim 1, wherein
the first processor is further configured to:
receive first unique information that is unique to the communication device and second unique information that is unique to the controller when the controller is connected to the communication device; and
determine whether the communication device is connectible to the controller, based on the received first and second unique information,
the first unique information includes the device function information, and
the first processor is further configured to provide the terminal device with the device function information included in the first unique information when it is determined that the communication device is connectible to the controller.
6. The communication system of claim 5, wherein
the controller is configured to:
receive connection availability information including the determination result from the server device via the communication device; and
reject the connection of the communication device, based on the received connection availability information.
1, 10, 11 and 12, A communication system, comprising:, A controller provided in an edge device and connected to a communication device, the controller comprising a processor configured to:, A server device connected, via a network, to a communication device connected to a controller provided in an edge device, the server device comprising a processor configured to:, A method executed by a communication system comprising a controller provided in an edge device, and a server device connected, via a network, to a communication device connected to the controller, the method comprising:
a controller provided in an edge device; and
a server device connected, via a network, to a communication device connected to the controller, wherein
the server device includes a first processor configured to:
receive first information unique to the controller and second information unique to the communication device; and
determine whether the communication device is connectible to the controller, based on the received first and second information, and
the controller includes a second processor configured to:
receive connection availability information including a result of the determination from the server device via the communication device; and
reject connection of the communication device, based on the received connection availability information.
7. The communication system of claim 6, wherein
the controller is further configured to:
supply power to the communication device; and
stop supplying power to the communication device when the connection of the communication device is rejected.
2. The communication system of claim 1, wherein the second processor is configured to:
supply power to the communication device when the communication device is connected to the controller, and
when rejecting the connection of the communication device, stop supplying power to the communication device.
8. The communication system of claim 7, wherein
the first processor is further configured to notify the communication device of information to be set in the communication device when it is determined that the communication device is connectible to the controller.
8. The communication system of claim 1, wherein the server device further includes a storage storing determination information including a condition of a controller capable of connecting the communication device in association with unique information, and
when the first information meets a condition included in the determination information in association with the second information, the first processor is configured to determine that the communication device is connectible to the controller.
11. The communication system of claim 1, wherein the communication device is configured to be connected to the controller via a connection interface provided in the edge device.
9. The communication system of claim 1, wherein the communication device is connected to the controller via a connection interface provided in the edge device.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claim language “wherein the server device comprises a first processor configured to provide the terminal device with device function information on a function provided by a communication device when the terminal device discovers the communication device connected to a controller provided in an edge device” is a run on sentence. The absence of commas and/or semicolons after the “communication device” obscures the grammatical structure of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 12-15 in lines 12, 13, 8, 10-11, and 13 recites the limitation “a second processor configured to request the communication device to execute a function provided by the communication device” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether “a function” is new function or “the existing function”.
Regarding all the dependent claims 2-11 are additionally rejected under the grounds listed above because they inherit the claim language through their dependency claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (US 2019/0089693), hereinafter “Ding”.
With respect to claims 1 and 14, Ding discloses a communication system comprising a server device and a terminal device connected to the server device via a network (see Fig. 1, terminal devices and management server device connected via network), a method executed by a communication system comprising a server device and a terminal device connected to the server device via a network (see Fig. 1, terminal devices and management server device connected via network), the method comprising:
wherein the server device (i.e. fig. 1, management server 30) comprises a first processor (Fig. 2, processor 114) configured to provide the terminal device (i.e. Fig. 2, terminal 20) with device function information on a function provided by a communication device when the terminal device discovers the communication device connected to a controller provided in an edge device (¶0010, teaches a processor configured to execute the set of instructions to perform an authentication method for a first device connected with a second device via a communication network, ¶0019-¶0020, teaches a terminal can access, monitor, and/or control a target device (i.e. communication device), the terminal needs to be paired with the target device… a first terminal may include a management agent configured to generate authentication information directly or via a management server, ¶0044, teaches a media control access (MAC) address (i.e. device function information on a function) associated with target device 10, to terminal 20, ¶0067, teaches terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information on a function provided by a communication device ), and
the terminal device comprises a second processor configured to request the communication device to execute a function provided by the communication device, based on the provided device function information (¶0011, teaches one or more processors (i.e. second processors) to perform an authentication method for a first device (i.e. terminal device), ¶0019-¶0020, teaches a terminal can access, monitor, and/or control a target device (i.e. communication device), the terminal needs to be paired with the target device… a first terminal may include a management agent configured to generate authentication information directly or via a management server, ¶0029, teaches management server 30 may receive a request from terminal 20 and generate the authentication pin or token based on the request, ¶0058, teaches terminal 20 may transmit, via a secured network (e.g., secured network 90), to management server 30 a request for generating a trusted token. The request may include the identification information of target device 10 (e.g., the MAC address (i.e. device function information) associated with target device 10), the identification information of terminal 20 (e.g., the unique ID of management agent 218), and/or the random pin for identifying the pairing between target device 10 and terminal 20).
With respect to claim 2, Ding discloses the communication system of claim 1, wherein
the second processor is further configured to inquire the function provided by the discovered communication device (Ding, ¶0069, teaches terminal 22 may also send an inquiry to target device (i.e. communication device) 10 to obtain the MAC address of target device 10), and
the first processor is further configured to provide the terminal device with the device function information in response to the inquiry (Ding, ¶0070, teaches in response to the request for authentication information, management server 30 may retrieve, from database 40, the authentication pin or token associated with the MAC address, and return the retrieved authentication pin or token to terminal 22 via secured network 90).
With respect to claim 3, Ding discloses the communication system of claim 2, wherein
the server device further comprises a storage configured to store user information indicative of a user capable of executing the function provided by the communication device (Ding, ¶0035, teaches Memory module 116 may include any appropriate type of mass storage provided to store any type of information (i.e. user information) that processor 114 may need to operate, ¶0050, teaches while process 410 is initiated, a user may also activate management agent 218 of terminal 12, to initiate process 450. For example, in some embodiments, management agent 218 may be implemented as a mobile application installed on terminal 20. As such, a user may initiate process 450 by opening the mobile application, ¶0068, teaches when a user turns on target device (i.e. communication device) 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol), and
the first processor (Fig. 2, processor 114) is further configured to determine whether the user using the terminal device is the user capable of executing the function provided by the discovered communication device, based on the user information stored in the storage (Ding, ¶0050, teaches while process 410 is initiated, a user may also activate management agent 218 of terminal 12, to initiate process 450. For example, in some embodiments, management agent 218 may be implemented as a mobile application installed on terminal 20. As such, a user may initiate process 450 by opening the mobile application, ¶0067-¶0068, teaches when a user turns on target device (i.e. communication device) 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol… terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information on a function provided by a communication device), and permit or reject providing the device function information based on the determination result, when the inquiry is made (Ding, ¶0069, teaches After receiving and recognizing the information broadcasted by target device 10 in step 711, terminal 22 may also send an inquiry to target device 10 to obtain the MAC address of target device (i.e. device function information) 10, ¶0073, teaches after receiving the pairing-authorization (i.e. permit) response, terminal 22 may recognize that it has been successfully paired with target device 10 (step 757).
With respect to claim 4, Ding discloses the communication system of claim 1, wherein
the device function information includes information used to execute the function provided by the communication device or an application programming interface (API) (Ding, ¶0048-¶0049, teaches target device (i.e. communication device) 20 may write device information (i.e. device function information) such as device type, MAC address, IP address, into one or more multicast packets. Other devices including terminal 20 may scan a plurality of multicast channels to detect the multicast packets…target device 10 may broadcast, via a speaker, an acoustic wave encoding the connection token, or emit, via one or more LED lights, a light pattern encoding the connection token. Devices surrounding target device 10 may receive the sound wave and/or light pattern (i.e. executing the function), and decode the connection token, ¶0055, teaches terminal 20 may perform an optional step 461 to update management server 30 with the authentication pin, a timestamp when the authentication pin is generated, the identification information of target device 10 (e.g., the MAC address associated with target device 10), and the identification information of terminal 20 (e.g., the unique ID of management agent 218)).
With respect to claim 5, Ding discloses the communication system of claim 1, wherein
the first processor is further configured to:
receive first unique information that is unique to the communication device (Ding, ¶0050, teaches the identification information of terminal 20 may be a unique ID (i.e. first unique information) associated with the management agent 218, ¶0058, teaches the identification information of terminal 20 (e.g., the unique ID of management agent 218), and/or the random pin for identifying the pairing between target device (i.e. communication device) 10 and terminal 20) and second unique information that is unique to the controller when the controller is connected to the communication device (¶0040, teaches Database 40 ((i.e. controller) may also store information regarding pairing relationships between target devices (i.e. communication device) and terminals, e.g., the pairing between target device 10 and terminal 20. Database 40 (i.e. controller) may be hosted by management server 30 or a separate computer. Database 40 may be constantly updated by management server 30 to reflect the change of the authentication information and the pairing relationships, ¶0058-¶0059, teaches the identification information of target device 10 and terminal 20 in a database, e.g., database 40. In step 511, management server 30 may transmit the trusted token to terminal 20…identification information (e.g., uniform resource locator (URL) as second unique information) of management server 30 to target device 10.; and
determine whether the communication device is connectible to the controller, based on the received first and second unique information (Ding, ¶0040, teaches Database 40 ((i.e. controller) may also store information regarding pairing relationships between target devices and terminals, e.g., the pairing between target device 10 and terminal 20, ¶0050, teaches the identification information of terminal 20 may be a unique ID (i.e. first unique information) associated with the management agent 218, ¶0059, teaches identification information (e.g., uniform resource locator (URL) as second unique information) of management server 30 to target device (i.e. communication device) 10),
the first unique information includes the device function information (Ding, ¶0048, teaches target device (i.e. communication device) 20 may write device information (i.e. device function information) such as device type, MAC address, IP address, into one or more multicast packets, ¶0050, teaches the identification information of terminal 20 may be a unique ID (i.e. first unique information) associated with the management agent 218) and
the first processor (Fig. 2, processor 114) is further configured to provide the terminal device with the device function information included in the first unique information when it is determined that the communication device is connectible to the controller (Ding, Ding, ¶0050, teaches the identification information of terminal 20 may be a unique ID (i.e. first unique information) associated with the management agent (i.e. communication device) 218, ¶0040, teaches Database 40 ((i.e. controller) may also store information regarding pairing relationships between target devices and terminals, e.g., the pairing between target device 10 and terminal 20. Database 40 (i.e. controller) may be hosted by management server 30 or a separate computer. Database 40 may be constantly updated by management server 30 to reflect the change of the authentication information and the pairing relationships).
With respect to claim 11, Ding discloses the communication system of claim 1, wherein
the communication device (Fig. 2, i.e. Target device 10) is configured to be connected to the controller (Fig. 2, i.e. management server 30) via a connection interface provided in the edge device (Ding, see Fig. 2, communication interface 212 and communication interface 112 connecting with management server).
With respect to claims 12 and 15, Ding discloses a server device connected to a terminal device via a network, the server device comprising a processor configured to, a method executed by a server device connected to a terminal device via a network, the method comprising:
accept an inquiry to a function provided by a communication device when the terminal device discovers the communication device connected to a controller provided in an edge device (¶0057, teaches target device 10 may then accept the pairing request and return an identification of target device 10, for example, a MAC address associated with target device 10, to terminal 20, ¶0069, teaches terminal 22 may also send an inquiry to target device 10 to obtain the MAC address of target device 10, ¶0067, teaches terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information on a function provided by a communication device); and
provide the terminal device with device function information on the function provided by the communication device in response to the accepted inquiry (¶0010, teaches a processor configured to execute the set of instructions to perform an authentication method for a first device connected with a second device via a communication network, ¶0019-¶0020, teaches a terminal can access, monitor, and/or control a target device (i.e. communication device), the terminal needs to be paired with the target device… a first terminal may include a management agent configured to generate authentication information directly or via a management server, ¶0044, teaches a media control access (MAC) address (i.e. device function information on a function) associated with target device 10, to terminal 20, ¶0057, teaches target device 10 may then accept the pairing request and return an identification of target device 10, for example, a MAC address associated with target device 10, to terminal 20, ¶0067, teaches terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information on a function provided by a communication device), wherein
the terminal device is configured to request the communication device to execute a function provided by the communication device, based on the provided device function information (¶0019-¶0020, teaches a terminal can access, monitor, and/or control a target device (i.e. communication device), the terminal needs to be paired with the target device… a first terminal may include a management agent configured to generate authentication information directly or via a management server, ¶0029, teaches management server 30 may receive a request from terminal 20 and generate the authentication pin or token based on the request, ¶0058, teaches terminal 20 may transmit, via a secured network (e.g., secured network 90), to management server 30 a request for generating a trusted token. The request may include the identification information of target device 10 (e.g., the MAC address (i.e. device function information) associated with target device 10), the identification information of terminal 20 (e.g., the unique ID of management agent 218), and/or the random pin for identifying the pairing between target device 10 and terminal 20).
With respect to claim 13, Ding discloses a server device connected to a terminal device via a network, the server device comprising a processor configured to:
make an inquiry to a function provided by a communication device when discovering the communication device connected to a controller provided in an edge device (¶0057, teaches target device (i.e. communication device) 10 may then accept the pairing request and return an identification of target device 10, for example, a MAC address associated with target device 10, to terminal 20, ¶0069, teaches terminal 22 may also send an inquiry to target device 10 to obtain the MAC address of target device 10, ¶0067, teaches terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information on a function provided by a communication device);
receive device function information on a function provided by the communication device provided by the server device in response to the inquiry (¶0019-¶0020, teaches a terminal can access, monitor, and/or control a target device, the terminal needs to be paired with the target device… a first terminal may include a management agent configured to generate authentication information directly or via a management server, ¶0044, teaches a media control access (MAC) address (i.e. device function information on a function) associated with target device 10 (i.e. communication device), to terminal 20, ¶0057, teaches target device 10 may then accept (i.e. receive) the pairing request and return an identification of target device 10, for example, a MAC address associated with target device 10, to terminal 20, ¶0067, teaches terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information on a function provided by a communication device); and
request the communication device to execute a function provided by the communication device, based on the received device function information (¶0019-¶0020, teaches a terminal can access, monitor, and/or control a target device, the terminal needs to be paired with the target device… a first terminal may include a management agent configured to generate authentication information directly or via a management server, ¶0029, teaches management server 30 may receive a request from terminal 20 and generate the authentication pin or token based on the request, ¶0058, teaches terminal 20 may transmit, via a secured network (e.g., secured network 90), to management server 30 a request for generating a trusted token. The request may include the identification information of target device (i.e. communication device) 10 (e.g., the MAC address (i.e. device function information) associated with target device 10), the identification information of terminal 20 (e.g., the unique ID of management agent 218), and/or the random pin for identifying the pairing between target device 10 and terminal 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding in view of Hatch et al. (US 10708769 B2), hereinafter “Hatch”.
With respect to claim 6, Ding discloses the communication system of claim 5, wherein
the controller is configured to:
receive connection availability information including the determination result from the server device via the communication device (Ding, ¶0025, teaches target device(i.e. communication device) 10 may be any device that is connected to an IoT and thus can be remotely managed (e.g., accessed, monitored, and/or controlled) by terminals 20 and/or management server 30, ¶0044, teaches target device 10 may broadcast an initial connection token (i.e. connection availability information) via a local network, such as network 70. In step 303, upon receiving and recognizing the initial connection token, terminal 20 may connect to target device 10).
However, Ding remain silent on reject the connection of the communication device, based on the received connection availability information.
Hatch discloses reject the connection of the communication device, based on the received connection availability information (Col-7, II. 46-51, teaches the new accessory may receive a request (block 330) to pair and/or establish a communication link, and may confirm whether the request includes a valid key (block 340). If there is no valid key, the new accessory (i.e. communication device) may deny the request (block 350) (e.g., by sending an explicit denial or by taking no action)).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ding’s connection token as connection availability information with reject the connection of the communication device, based on the received connection availability information of Hatch, in order to ensure fair and secure use of network resources and maintains quality of service (Hatch, Col-4, II. 7-12).
With respect to claim 7, Ding in view of Hatch discloses the communication system of claim 6, wherein
the controller is further configured to:
supply power to the communication device (Ding, ¶0027, teaches if target device (i.e. communication device) 10 is a lamp, terminal 20 may remotely turn on or off the lamp); and
stop supplying power to the communication device when the connection of the communication device is rejected (Hatch, Col-7, II. 46-51, teaches the new accessory may receive a request (block 330) to pair and/or establish a communication link, and may confirm whether the request includes a valid key (block 340). If there is no valid key, the new accessory (i.e. communication device) may deny the request (block 350) (e.g., by sending an explicit denial or by taking no action), which explicitly teaches stop supplying power to the communication device).
With respect to claim 8, Ding in view of Hatch discloses the communication system of claim 7, wherein
the first processor is further configured to notify the communication device of information to be set in the communication device when it is determined that the communication device is connectible to the controller (Ding, ¶0010, teaches a processor configured to execute the set of instructions to perform an authentication method for a first device connected with a second device via a communication network, Hatch, Col-4, 50-56, teaches the query 220 requests that the remote server 150 notify the controller 110 whether the new accessory 1(i.e. communication device) 30 is associated with a user account, such as a user account with which the controller 110 is associated, or another user account, or not associated with any user account).
With respect to claim 9, Ding in view of Hatch discloses the communication system of claim 8, wherein
the communication device (Fig. 2, Target device 10) is configured to make advertisement to the terminal device, based on the notified information, when the terminal device discovers the communication device (Ding, ¶0047, teaches target device 10 may broadcast the connection token via Bluetooth® advertisement. Specifically, target device 10 may generate advertising packets enclosing the connection token and transmit the advertising packets through one or more predetermined advertising channels, ¶0069, teaches terminal 22 may scan a plurality of multicast channels and discover the service of target device 10. After receiving and recognizing the information broadcasted by target device 10 in step 711).
With respect to claim 10, Ding discloses the communication system of claim 9, wherein
the first processor is further configured to provide the terminal device with the device function information in response to the inquiry from the terminal device, which is made based on the advertisement (Ding, ¶0047, teaches target device 10 may broadcast the connection token via Bluetooth® advertisement. Specifically, target device 10 may generate advertising packets enclosing the connection token and transmit the advertising packets through one or more predetermined advertising channels, ¶0067, teaches terminal 22 to discover and manage target device 10, based on the authentication information associated with target device 10….when a user turns on target device 10 or press a designated button on target device, target device 10 may start to broadcast information, such as its MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address, using the mDNS protocol, wherein MAC address, SSID, device type information, and/or IP address are device function information, ¶0069, teaches terminal 22 may also send an inquiry to target device 10 to obtain the MAC address of target device 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20120166011 A1 teaches a power-supplied device is connected to a power supply line relaying supply of power. The communication unit receives consumer authentication information including consumer identification information for identifying a consumer from a communication device when it is detected that the power-supplied device is connected to the power supply line, transmits the consumer authentication information to a first server, receives power-supply-availability determination information representing whether supply of power to the power-supplied device is possible or not, from the first server, and transmits power measurement information representing power supplied to the power-supplied device through the power supply line and the consumer identification information to a second server. The control unit supplies power to the power-supplied device when the power-supply-availability determination information represents that supply of power is possible.
WO2015098247A1 teaches In a communication system (1) including a plurality of communication terminals (A, B, C) wirelessly communicating with one another through a predetermined communication protocol and a server (50) connected to the plurality of communication terminals via a predetermined communication line, each of the plurality of communication terminal receives identification information of another communication terminal transmitted from the other communication terminal and transmits the received identification information to the server via the predetermined communication line, and the server receives the identification information transmitted from the communication terminal and identifies, on the basis of the received identification information, which of the plurality of communication terminals has identification information that has not been received.
/GOLAM MAHMUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2458