DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “ground engaging units configured to be driven according to a commanded advance speed” and “work implement movable to define a height relative to a ground surface” in claim 11.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Specifically, ground engaging units may be multiple wheels (see at least [0027] from Applicant’s specification as filed) and work implement may be multiple cutting decks (see at least [0025]-[0026] from Applicant’s specification as filed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 recites the limitation "an advance speed" in line 6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is a prior mention of an advanced speed in line 4 of the claim therefore it is unclear whether the advance speed in line 6 of the claim is the same as that mentioned in line 4 of the claim. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets that the advance speed in line 6 of the claim is the same as that mentioned in line 4 of the claim.
Regarding claim 2-10, Claims 2-10 are also rejected as they are dependent claims of claim 1 and therefore inherit its deficiencies.
Regarding claim 10, Claim 10 recites the limitation "a current type of work vehicle operation " in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is a prior mention of a current type of work vehicle operation in line 8 of claim 9 therefore it is unclear whether the current type of work vehicle operation in line 4 of claim 10 is the same as that mentioned in line 8 of claim 9. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets that current type of work vehicle operation in line 4 of claim 10 is the same as that mentioned in line 8 of claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 is rejected on similar grounds as that detailed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 12-20, Claims 12-20 are also rejected as they are dependent claims of claim 11 and therefore inherit its deficiencies.
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20 is rejected on similar grounds as that detailed above with respect to claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa et al. (US2022/0287218A1) in view of Kuriyagawa et al. (US2017/0265382A1), hereinafter Yuasa and Kuriyagawa respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Yuasa teaches a computer-implemented method of adaptive cruise control for a work vehicle, the method comprising: monitoring one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least an orientation and an advance speed of the work vehicle (see at least [0099] “The positioning device 120 in the present preferred embodiment further includes an IMU 125. The IMU 125 includes a 3-axis accelerometer and a 3-axis gyroscope. The IMU 125 may include a direction sensor such as a 3-axis geomagnetic sensor. The IMU 125 functions as a motion sensor which can output signals representing parameters such as acceleration, velocity, displacement, and attitude of the work vehicle 100.”); and wherein at least a maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle (see at least [0165] “the controller 180 may enforce a speed restriction in accordance with the curvature only while conducting automatic speed control via auto-cruise control.” and [0169] “During travel of the work vehicle 100, the controller 180 may repetitively calculate the curvature of the turning path, and vary the speed limit in accordance with the change rate of curvature over time. Calculating the curvature is synonymous with calculating the radius of curvature, and varying the speed limit in accordance with the change rate of curvature is synonymous with varying the speed limit in accordance with the change rate of radius of curvature.” also see at least [0170]).
Examiner interprets that operating values corresponding to at least an orientation is encompassed at least by acceleration, velocity, displacement, and attitude of the work vehicle and/or change rate of curvature over time, advance speed is encompassed at least by velocity, and maximum value for the second speed setting is encompassed at least by speed limit.
Yuasa suggests while a cruise control operating mode is enabled, further wherein a sensed steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle, commanding an advance speed for the work vehicle to a first speed setting (see at least [0174] “The controller 180 may perform the aforementioned speed control in accordance with the path curvature only while the cruise control function is enabled.” and [0165] “FIG. 17 is a flowchart showing a first example of an operation of restricting the speed of the work vehicle 100 in accordance with the radius of curvature. It is assumed that the work vehicle 100 is traveling via automatic steering, and that the speed is adjusted by the user, or maintained at a constant speed via auto-cruise control. The controller 180 performs the operation shown in FIG. 17 when the work vehicle 100 turns along a turning path, or travels along a main path that includes a curve.”): and upon determining that the sensed steering angle exceeds a specified sensitivity value, commanding the advance speed for the work vehicle to a second speed setting (see at least If the vehicle speed exceeds the speed limit, the controller 180 calculates the radius of curvature of the target path (i.e., a turning path or a main path) (step S202). By the aforementioned method, the controller 180 calculates the radius of curvature at the position of the reference point of the work vehicle 100 at that moment, or at a position which is a predetermined distance (e.g. 1 meter) ahead of the reference point on the target path. Next, the controller 180 determines whether or not the calculated radius of curvature is smaller than a reference value (step S203). Note that determining whether the radius of curvature is smaller than the reference value or not is equivalent to determining whether the curvature exceeds the reference value or not. The reference value for the radius of curvature or the curvature is previously determined in accordance with the turning performance of the work vehicle 100, and recorded in the storage device 170. When the radius of curvature is equal to or greater than the reference value (i.e., when the curvature is equal to or smaller than the reference value), control returns to step S201. If the radius of curvature is smaller than the reference value (i.e., when the curvature exceeds the reference value), the controller 180 restricts the speed of the work vehicle 100 to the speed limit or below (step S204)”).
Examiner interprets that wherein a sensed steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle is suggested at least by turns along a turning path or travels along a main path that includes a curve, first speed setting is suggested at least by maintained at a constant speed, sensed steering angle exceeds a specified sensitivity value is suggested at least by reference value, and a second speed setting is suggested at least by the speed limit.
Kuriyagawa more explicitly teaches a computer-implemented method of adaptive cruise control for a work vehicle, the method comprising: monitoring one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least an orientation (see at least [0015] “the lawn mower further comprises a steering angle sensor”) and an advance speed of the work vehicle (see at least [0038] “The detection unit 40 further includes a speed sensor (which may consist of a wheel speed sensor) for detecting the traveling speed of the lawn mower 10.”); and upon determining that the sensed steering angle exceeds a specified sensitivity value, commanding the advance speed for the work vehicle to a second speed setting (see at least [0109] “Also, upon detecting that the steering angle has exceeded the threshold value S2 at tc7...the traveling speed of the lawn mower 10 is automatically reduced from Vc3 to Vc2 (D in FIG. 8) by setting a steering speed reduction flag to "1" at time tc7.”). Kuriyagawa suggests further wherein a sensed steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle, commanding an advance speed for the work vehicle to a first speed setting (see at least [0071] “The detection unit 40 detects the traveling speed of the lawnmower 10, and the central control unit 50 maintains the traveling speed of the lawn mower 10 at Vb1 which is greater than zero.”).
Examiner interprets that one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least an orientation is encompassed at least by steering angle, advance speed of the work vehicle is encompassed at least by traveling speed, specified sensitivity value is encompassed at least by threshold value S2, second speed setting is encompassed at least by Vc2, first speed setting is encompassed at least by Vb1, and a sensed steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle is suggested by detects the traveling speed of the lawnmower.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Yuasa of a computer-implemented method of adaptive cruise control for a work vehicle, the method comprising: monitoring one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least an orientation and an advance speed of the work vehicle; and wherein at least a maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle and the suggested teachings of Yuasa of while a cruise control operating mode is enabled, further wherein a sensed steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle, commanding an advance speed for the work vehicle to a first speed setting; and upon determining that the sensed steering angle exceeds a specified sensitivity value, commanding the advance speed for the work vehicle to a second speed setting with the teachings of Kuriyagawa of a computer-implemented method of adaptive cruise control for a work vehicle, the method comprising: monitoring one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least an orientation; and upon determining that the sensed steering angle exceeds a specified sensitivity value, commanding the advance speed for the work vehicle to a second speed setting and the suggested teaching of further wherein a sensed steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle, commanding an advance speed for the work vehicle to a first speed setting found in Kuriyagawa. One could combine the teachings in order to have a computer-implemented method of adaptive cruise control for a work vehicle, the method comprising: monitoring one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least an orientation and an advance speed of the work vehicle; while a cruise control operating mode is enabled, further wherein a sensed steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle, commanding an advance speed for the work vehicle to a first speed setting; and upon determining that the sensed steering angle exceeds a specified sensitivity value, commanding the advance speed for the work vehicle to a second speed setting, wherein at least a maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the precision of a vehicle turning maneuver (see at least Kuriyagawa, [0018]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yuasa and Kuriyagawa teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yuasa suggests wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle (see at least [0165] “the controller 180 may enforce a speed restriction in accordance with the curvature only while conducting automatic speed control via auto-cruise control.” and [0169] “During travel of the work vehicle 100, the controller 180 may repetitively calculate the curvature of the turning path, and vary the speed limit in accordance with the change rate of curvature over time. Calculating the curvature is synonymous with calculating the radius of curvature, and varying the speed limit in accordance with the change rate of curvature is synonymous with varying the speed limit in accordance with the change rate of radius of curvature.” also see at least [0170]).
Examiner interprets that operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle is encompassed at least by curvature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suggested teaching of Yuasa of wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle in order to have a method wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase vehicle operation efficiency (see at least Kuriyagawa, [0033]) and in order to increase smoothness of the control of a work vehicle (see at least Yuasa, [0135]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yuasa and Kuriyagawa teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yuasa does not explicitly teach wherein the work vehicle comprises a cutting deck having a cut height, and wherein the cut height is automatically adjusted from a first height setting to a second height setting upon determining that the sensed steering angle exceeds the specified sensitivity value.
Kuriyagawa more explicitly teaches wherein the work vehicle comprises a cutting deck having a cut height, and wherein the cut height is automatically adjusted from a first height setting to a second height setting upon determining that the sensed steering angle exceeds the specified sensitivity value (see at least [0108] “when a large steering angle (exceeding S2) is detected, the central control unit 50 raises the height of the cutting blade 70 from H2 to H3”).
Examiner interprets that first height setting is encompassed at least by H2, second height setting is encompassed at least by H3, and sensitivity value is encompassed at least by threshold value S2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuasa with the teaching of wherein the work vehicle comprises a cutting deck having a cut height, and wherein the cut height is automatically adjusted from a first height setting to a second height setting upon determining that the sensed steering angle exceeds the specified sensitivity value found in Kuriyagawa. One could combine the teaching in order to have a method wherein the work vehicle comprises a cutting deck having a cut height, and wherein the cut height is automatically adjusted from a first height setting to a second height setting upon determining that the sensed steering angle exceeds the specified sensitivity value with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to better adapt to changing ground conditions and/or contours during operation.
Regarding claim 11, Yuasa teaches a work vehicle (see at least [0085] FIG. 1 is a perspective view showing an exemplary appearance of the work vehicle 100 according to the present preferred embodiment.”), comprising: a plurality of ground engaging units configured to be driven according to a commanded advance speed (see at least [0087]"The work vehicle 100 is a four-wheel drive vehicle including four wheels 104 as driving wheels, or a two-wheel drive vehicle including a pair of front wheels 104F or a pair of rear wheels 104R as driving wheels.”); a work implement movable to define a height relative to a ground surface (see at least [0094] “Although the implement 300 shown in FIG. 2 is a rotary tiller, the implement 300 is not limited to a rotary tiller. For example, any arbitrary implement such as a mower, a seeder, a spreader, a rake implement, a baler, a harvester, a sprayer, or a harrow, may be connected to the work vehicle 100 for use.”); one or more sensors configured to generate output signals corresponding to at least a steering angle (see at least [0096] In addition to the positioning device 120, the obstacle sensor 130, and the operational terminal 200, the work vehicle 100 in the example of FIG. 3 includes...an angle-of-turn sensor 152,”) , an orientation, and an advance speed of the work vehicle (see at least [0099] “The positioning device 120 in the present preferred embodiment further includes an IMU 125. The IMU 125 includes a 3-axis accelerometer and a 3-axis gyroscope. The IMU 125 may include a direction sensor such as a 3-axis geomagnetic sensor. The IMU 125 functions as a motion sensor which can output signals representing parameters such as acceleration, velocity, displacement, and attitude of the work vehicle 100.”); and a controller (see at least [0096] "the work vehicle 100 in the example of FIG. 3 includes...a control system 160...The control system 160 includes a storage device 170 and a controller 180.”) configured, wherein at least a maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle (see at least [0165] “the controller 180 may enforce a speed restriction in accordance with the curvature only while conducting automatic speed control via auto-cruise control.” and [0169] “During travel of the work vehicle 100, the controller 180 may repetitively calculate the curvature of the turning path, and vary the speed limit in accordance with the change rate of curvature over time. Calculating the curvature is synonymous with calculating the radius of curvature, and varying the speed limit in accordance with the change rate of curvature is synonymous with varying the speed limit in accordance with the change rate of radius of curvature.” also see at least [0170]).
Examiner interprets that a steering angle is encompassed at least by angle-of-turn, an orientation is encompassed at least by acceleration, velocity, displacement, and attitude of the work vehicle and/or change rate of curvature over time, advance speed is encompassed at least by velocity, and maximum value for the second speed setting is encompassed at least by speed limit.
Yuasa suggests at least while a cruise control operating mode is enabled: upon determining the steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle, to command an advance speed for the work vehicle to a first speed setting (see at least [0174] “The controller 180 may perform the aforementioned speed control in accordance with the path curvature only while the cruise control function is enabled.” and [0165] “FIG. 17 is a flowchart showing a first example of an operation of restricting the speed of the work vehicle 100 in accordance with the radius of curvature. It is assumed that the work vehicle 100 is traveling via automatic steering, and that the speed is adjusted by the user, or maintained at a constant speed via auto-cruise control. The controller 180 performs the operation shown in FIG. 17 when the work vehicle 100 turns along a turning path, or travels along a main path that includes a curve.”); and upon determining that the steering angle exceeds a specified sensitivity value, to command the advance speed for the work vehicle to a second speed setting (see at least If the vehicle speed exceeds the speed limit, the controller 180 calculates the radius of curvature of the target path (i.e., a turning path or a main path) (step S202). By the aforementioned method, the controller 180 calculates the radius of curvature at the position of the reference point of the work vehicle 100 at that moment, or at a position which is a predetermined distance (e.g. 1 meter) ahead of the reference point on the target path. Next, the controller 180 determines whether or not the calculated radius of curvature is smaller than a reference value (step S203). Note that determining whether the radius of curvature is smaller than the reference value or not is equivalent to determining whether the curvature exceeds the reference value or not. The reference value for the radius of curvature or the curvature is previously determined in accordance with the turning performance of the work vehicle 100, and recorded in the storage device 170. When the radius of curvature is equal to or greater than the reference value (i.e., when the curvature is equal to or smaller than the reference value), control returns to step S201. If the radius of curvature is smaller than the reference value (i.e., when the curvature exceeds the reference value), the controller 180 restricts the speed of the work vehicle 100 to the speed limit or below (step S204)”).
Examiner interprets that wherein a sensed steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle is suggested at least by turns along a turning path or travels along a main path that includes a curve, first speed setting is suggested at least by maintained at a constant speed, sensed steering angle exceeds a specified sensitivity value is suggested at least by reference value, and a second speed setting is suggested at least by the speed limit.
Kuriyagawa more explicitly teaches a work vehicle (see at least [0033] “Referring to FIG. 1, a ride-on lawn mower 10”), comprising: a plurality of ground engaging units configured to be driven according to a commanded advance speed (see at least [0033] “the engine 100 is required to power not only the propelling device consisting of driven wheels”); a work implement movable to define a height relative to a ground surface (see at least [0007] “a cutting blade (70) rotatably supported by the lawn mower main body via a cutter deck (75)...a height adjustment mechanism (90) provided on the cutter deck for adjusting a height of the cutting blade”); one or more sensors configured to generate output signals corresponding to at least a steering angle (see at least [0015] “the lawn mower further comprises a steering angle sensor”), an orientation (see at least [0038] “The detection unit 40 further includes a speed sensor (which may consist of a wheel speed sensor) for detecting the traveling speed of the lawn mower 10.”), and an advance speed of the work vehicle (see at least [0038] “The detection unit 40 further includes a speed sensor (which may consist of a wheel speed sensor) for detecting the traveling speed of the lawn mower 10.”); and a controller configured (see at least [0007] “a central control unit (50)”), and upon determining that the steering angle exceeds a specified sensitivity value, to command the advance speed for the work vehicle to a second speed setting (see at least [0109] “Also, upon detecting that the steering angle has exceeded the threshold value S2 at tc7...the traveling speed of the lawn mower 10 is automatically reduced from Vc3 to Vc2 (D in FIG. 8) by setting a steering speed reduction flag to "1" at time tc7.”). Kuriyagawa suggests upon determining the steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle, to command an advance speed for the work vehicle to a first speed setting (see at least [0071] “The detection unit 40 detects the traveling speed of the lawnmower 10, and the central control unit 50 maintains the traveling speed of the lawn mower 10 at Vb1 which is greater than zero.”).
Examiner interprets that an orientation is encompassed at least by steering angle, advance speed of the work vehicle is encompassed at least by traveling speed, specified sensitivity value is encompassed at least by threshold value S2, second speed setting is encompassed at least by Vc2, first speed setting is encompassed at least by Vb1, and a sensed steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle is suggested by detects the traveling speed of the lawnmower.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Yuasa of a work vehicle, comprising: a plurality of ground engaging units configured to be driven according to a commanded advance speed; a work implement movable to define a height relative to a ground surface; one or more sensors configured to generate output signals corresponding to at least a steering angle, an orientation, and an advance speed of the work vehicle; and a controller configured, wherein at least a maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle and the suggested teaching of Yuasa of at least while a cruise control operating mode is enabled: upon determining the steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle, to command an advance speed for the work vehicle to a first speed setting; and upon determining that the steering angle exceeds a specified sensitivity value, to command the advance speed for the work vehicle to a second speed setting with the teaching of a work vehicle, comprising: a plurality of ground engaging units configured to be driven according to a commanded advance speed; one or more sensors configured to generate output signals corresponding to at least a steering angle, an orientation, and an advance speed of the work vehicle; and a controller configured, and upon determining that the steering angle exceeds a specified sensitivity value, to command the advance speed for the work vehicle to a second speed setting of Kuriyagawa and the suggested teaching of upon determining the steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle, to command an advance speed for the work vehicle to a first speed setting found in Kuriyagawa. One could combine the teachings in order to have a work vehicle, comprising: a plurality of ground engaging units configured to be driven according to a commanded advance speed; a work implement movable to define a height relative to a ground surface; one or more sensors configured to generate output signals corresponding to at least a steering angle, an orientation, and an advance speed of the work vehicle; and a controller configured, at least while a cruise control operating mode is enabled: upon determining the steering angle corresponds to forward advance by the work vehicle, to command an advance speed for the work vehicle to a first speed setting; and upon determining that the steering angle exceeds a specified sensitivity value, to command the advance speed for the work vehicle to a second speed setting, wherein at least a maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the precision of a vehicle turning maneuver (see at least Kuriyagawa, [0018]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yuasa and Kuriyagawa teaches the work vehicle of claim 11 as detailed above.
Yuasa suggests wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle (see at least [0165] “the controller 180 may enforce a speed restriction in accordance with the curvature only while conducting automatic speed control via auto-cruise control.” and [0169] “During travel of the work vehicle 100, the controller 180 may repetitively calculate the curvature of the turning path, and vary the speed limit in accordance with the change rate of curvature over time. Calculating the curvature is synonymous with calculating the radius of curvature, and varying the speed limit in accordance with the change rate of curvature is synonymous with varying the speed limit in accordance with the change rate of radius of curvature.” also see at least [0170]).
Examiner interprets that operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle is encompassed at least by curvature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suggested teaching of Yuasa of wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle in order to have a work vehicle wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase vehicle operation efficiency (see at least Kuriyagawa, [0033]) and in order to increase smoothness of the control of a work vehicle (see at least Yuasa, [0135]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yuasa and Kuriyagawa teaches the work vehicle of claim 11 as detailed above.
Yuasa does not explicitly teach wherein the work implement comprises a cutting deck having a cut height, and wherein the cut height is automatically adjusted from a first height setting to a second height setting upon determining that a sensed steering angle exceeds the specified sensitivity value.
Kuriyagawa more explicitly teaches wherein the work implement comprises a cutting deck having a cut height, and wherein the cut height is automatically adjusted from a first height setting to a second height setting upon determining that a sensed steering angle exceeds the specified sensitivity value (see at least [0108] “when a large steering angle (exceeding S2) is detected, the central control unit 50 raises the height of the cutting blade 70 from H2 to H3”).
Examiner interprets that first height setting is encompassed at least by H2, second height setting is encompassed at least by H3, and sensitivity value is encompassed at least by threshold value S2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuasa with the teaching of wherein the work implement comprises a cutting deck having a cut height, and wherein the cut height is automatically adjusted from a first height setting to a second height setting upon determining that a sensed steering angle exceeds the specified sensitivity value found in Kuriyagawa. One could combine the teaching in order to have a work vehicle wherein the work implement comprises a cutting deck having a cut height, and wherein the cut height is automatically adjusted from a first height setting to a second height setting upon determining that a sensed steering angle exceeds the specified sensitivity value with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to better adapt to changing ground conditions and/or contours during operation.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa et al. (US2022/0287218A1) in view of Kuriyagawa et al. (US2017/0265382A1) in further view of Matthews (US2014/0039761A1), hereinafter Yuasa, Kuriyagawa, and Matthews respectively.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yuasa and Kuriyagawa teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yuasa suggests wherein at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified by user input received via a user interface (see at least [0105] “The controller 180 also has the function of causing the work vehicle 100 to automatically travel at a reference speed that is set by the user.” and [0108] “The operational terminal 200 is a terminal for the user to perform a manipulation related to the traveling of the work vehicle 100 and the operation of the implement 300, and may also be referred to as a virtual terminal (VT). The operational terminal 200 may include a display device such as a touch screen panel, and/or one or more buttons. By manipulating the operational terminal 200, the user can perform various manipulations, such as switching ON/OFF the automatic steering mode, switching ON/OFF the cruise control, setting an initial position of the work vehicle 100, setting a target path, recording or editing a map, switching between 2WD/4WD, switching ON/OFF the locking differential, and switching ON/OFF the implement 300. At least some of these manipulations can also be realized by manipulating the operation switches 210. Displaying on the operational terminal 200 is controlled by the ECU 185.”).
Examiner interprets that user interface is encompassed at least by operational terminal 200.
Kuriyagawa teaches the first speed setting (see at least [0071] “The detection unit 40 detects the traveling speed of the lawnmower 10, and the central control unit 50 maintains the traveling speed of the lawn mower 10 at Vb1 which is greater than zero.”), the second speed setting (see at least [0109] “Vc3 to Vc2 (D in FIG. 8) by setting a steering speed reduction flag to "1" at time tc7.”) , and the sensitivity value are specified (see at least [0109] “Also, upon detecting that the steering angle has exceeded the threshold value S2 at tc7”).
Examiner interprets that first speed setting is encompassed at least by Vb1, the second speed setting is encompassed at least by Vc2, and the sensitivity value is encompassed at least by threshold value S2.
Matthews more explicitly teaches wherein at least initial values the sensitivity value are specified by user input received via a user interface (see at least [0007] “operators of some vehicle guidance systems may adjust a user-configurable steering parameter such as steering gain or sensitivity to accommodate for varying vehicle architectures, attachments, and ground conditions.” and [0037] “The display 30 may be integrated with the user interface 34, such as in embodiments where the display 30 is a touch-screen display to enable the user to interact with it by touching or pointing at display areas to provide information to the guidance system 10.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suggested teaching of Yuasa of wherein at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified by user input received via a user interface with the teaching of the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified found in Kuriyagawa and the teaching of wherein at least initial values the sensitivity value are specified by user input received via a user interface found in Matthews. One could combine the teachings in order to have a method wherein at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified by user input received via a user interface with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase vehicle operation efficiency (see at least Kuriyagawa, [0033]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yuasa and Kuriyagawa teaches the work vehicle of claim 11 as detailed above.
Yuasa suggests wherein at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified by user input received via a user interface (see at least [0105] “The controller 180 also has the function of causing the work vehicle 100 to automatically travel at a reference speed that is set by the user.” and [0108] “The operational terminal 200 is a terminal for the user to perform a manipulation related to the traveling of the work vehicle 100 and the operation of the implement 300, and may also be referred to as a virtual terminal (VT). The operational terminal 200 may include a display device such as a touch screen panel, and/or one or more buttons. By manipulating the operational terminal 200, the user can perform various manipulations, such as switching ON/OFF the automatic steering mode, switching ON/OFF the cruise control, setting an initial position of the work vehicle 100, setting a target path, recording or editing a map, switching between 2WD/4WD, switching ON/OFF the locking differential, and switching ON/OFF the implement 300. At least some of these manipulations can also be realized by manipulating the operation switches 210. Displaying on the operational terminal 200 is controlled by the ECU 185.”).
Examiner interprets that user interface is encompassed at least by operational terminal 200.
Kuriyagawa teaches the first speed setting (see at least [0071] “The detection unit 40 detects the traveling speed of the lawnmower 10, and the central control unit 50 maintains the traveling speed of the lawn mower 10 at Vb1 which is greater than zero.”), the second speed setting (see at least [0109] “Vc3 to Vc2 (D in FIG. 8) by setting a steering speed reduction flag to "1" at time tc7.”) , and the sensitivity value are specified (see at least [0109] “Also, upon detecting that the steering angle has exceeded the threshold value S2 at tc7”).
Examiner interprets that first speed setting is encompassed at least by Vb1, the second speed setting is encompassed at least by Vc2, and the sensitivity value is encompassed at least by threshold value S2.
Matthews more explicitly teaches wherein at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified by user input received via a user interface (see at least [0007] “operators of some vehicle guidance systems may adjust a user-configurable steering parameter such as steering gain or sensitivity to accommodate for varying vehicle architectures, attachments, and ground conditions.” and [0037] “The display 30 may be integrated with the user interface 34, such as in embodiments where the display 30 is a touch-screen display to enable the user to interact with it by touching or pointing at display areas to provide information to the guidance system 10.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suggested teaching of Yuasa of wherein at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified by user input received via a user interface with the teaching of the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified found in Kuriyagawa and the teaching of wherein at least initial values the sensitivity value are specified by user input received via a user interface found in Matthews. One could combine the teachings in order to have a work vehicle wherein at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified by user input received via a user interface with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase vehicle operation efficiency (see at least Kuriyagawa, [0033]).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa et al. (US2022/0287218A1) in view of Kuriyagawa et al. (US2017/0265382A1) in view of Matthews (US2014/0039761A1) in further view of Ura et al. (US6112826A), hereinafter Yuasa, Kuriyagawa, Matthews, and Ura respectively.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yuasa, Kuriyagawa, and Matthews teaches the method of claim 2 as detailed above.
Yuasa suggests further comprising validating or automatically adjusting the initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value according to a specified type of work vehicle operation (see at least [0180] “In the example of FIG. 23, furthermore, a pop-up notification 94 is also displayed in the lower left corner of the screen, which prompts the user to check settings concerning automatic headland turn, auto-cruise control at a headland, and HMS trigger (hereinafter, these functions may be referred to as the "semi-self-driving functions"). The HMS trigger function is a function of executing a sequence of operations in accordance with a previously-recorded operation sequence when turning in a headland.”).
Examiner interprets that the claim is written in the alternative and therefore only one of the limitations needs to be addressed.
Ura suggests further comprising validating or automatically adjusting the initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value according to a specified type of work vehicle operation (see at least Col.2 lines 42-48 “the agricultural tractor preferably comprises a reference speed setting device operable, in response to a mode switching operation of the operating mode selecting device, for automatically selecting one of a first reference speed corresponding to the rotary cultivating mode and a second reference speed corresponding to the draft control mode,” and Col.1 lines 59-65 “As one characterizing feature of this invention, for example, a reference angle setting device may be provided which is operable, in response to a mode switching operation of the operating mode selecting device, for automatically selecting a first reference angle corresponding to the rotary cultivating mode or a second reference angle corresponding to the draft control mode.” also see at least Col.6 lines 39-53).
Examiner interprets that the claim is written in the alternative and therefore only one of the limitations needs to be addressed. Examiner also interprets that first speed setting is encompassed at least by first reference speed, the second speed setting is encompassed at least by second reference speed, sensitivity value is encompassed at least by reference angle, and specified type of work vehicle operation is encompassed at least by rotary cultivating mode and draft control mode.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suggested teaching of Yuasa of further comprising validating or automatically adjusting the initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value according to a specified type of work vehicle operation with the suggested teaching of the same found in Ura. One could combine the teachings in order to have a method further comprising validating or automatically adjusting the initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value according to a specified type of work vehicle operation with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase smoothness of the control of a work vehicle (see at least Yuasa, [0135]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yuasa, Kuriyagawa, and Matthews teaches the work vehicle of claim 12 as detailed above.
Yuasa suggests wherein the controller is configured to validate or automatically adjust the initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value according to a specified type of work vehicle operation (see at least [0180] “In the example of FIG. 23, furthermore, a pop-up notification 94 is also displayed in the lower left corner of the screen, which prompts the user to check settings concerning automatic headland turn, auto-cruise control at a headland, and HMS trigger (hereinafter, these functions may be referred to as the "semi-self-driving functions"). The HMS trigger function is a function of executing a sequence of operations in accordance with a previously-recorded operation sequence when turning in a headland.”).
Examiner interprets that the claim is written in the alternative and therefore only one of the limitations needs to be addressed.
Ura suggests wherein the controller is configured to validate or automatically adjust the initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value according to a specified type of work vehicle operation (see at least Col.2 lines 42-48 “the agricultural tractor preferably comprises a reference speed setting device operable, in response to a mode switching operation of the operating mode selecting device, for automatically selecting one of a first reference speed corresponding to the rotary cultivating mode and a second reference speed corresponding to the draft control mode,” and Col.1 lines 59-65 “As one characterizing feature of this invention, for example, a reference angle setting device may be provided which is operable, in response to a mode switching operation of the operating mode selecting device, for automatically selecting a first reference angle corresponding to the rotary cultivating mode or a second reference angle corresponding to the draft control mode.” also see at least Col.6 lines 39-53).
Examiner interprets that the claim is written in the alternative and therefore only one of the limitations needs to be addressed. Examiner also interprets that first speed setting is encompassed at least by first reference speed, the second speed setting is encompassed at least by second reference speed, sensitivity value is encompassed at least by reference angle, and specified type of work vehicle operation is encompassed at least by rotary cultivating mode and draft control mode.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suggested teaching of Yuasa of wherein the controller is configured to validate or automatically adjust the initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value according to a specified type of work vehicle operation with the suggested teaching of the same found in Ura. One could combine the teachings in order to have a work vehicle wherein the controller is configured to validate or automatically adjust the initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value according to a specified type of work vehicle operation with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase smoothness of the control of a work vehicle (see at least Yuasa, [0135]).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa et al. (US2022/0287218A1) in view of Kuriyagawa et al. (US2017/0265382A1) in further view of Ura et al. (US6112826A), hereinafter Yuasa, Kuriyagawa, and Ura respectively.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yuasa and Kuriyagawa teaches the method of claim 5 as detailed above.
Yuasa does not explicitly teach wherein a maximum value for the second height setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle.
Kuriyagawa suggests wherein a maximum value for the second height setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle (see at least [0108] “when a large steering angle (exceeding S2) is detected, the central control unit 50 raises the height of the cutting blade 70 from H2 to H3”).
Examiner interprets that maximum value for the second height setting is encompassed at least by H3, and one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle is encompassed at least by steering angle.
However, Ura more explicitly teaches wherein a maximum value for the second height setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle (see at least Col.7 lines 26-30 “The above embodiment may be modified such that the auto up control, which automatically raises the working implement to the predetermined height above the operating level based on a determination that the steering angle 8 is equal to or larger than the reference angle 80,”).
Examiner interprets that maximum value for the second height setting is encompassed at least by predetermined height and one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle is encompassed at least by steering angle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuasa with the suggested teaching of wherein a maximum value for the second height setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle found in Kuriyagawa and the more explicit teaching of wherein a maximum value for the second height setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle found in Ura. One could combine the teachings in order to have a method wherein a maximum value for the second height setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to better adapt to changing ground conditions and/or contours during operation.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yuasa and Kuriyagawa teaches the work vehicle of claim 15 as detailed above.
Yuasa does not explicitly teach wherein a maximum value for the second height setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle.
Kuriyagawa suggests wherein a maximum value for the second height setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle (see at least [0108] “when a large steering angle (exceeding S2) is detected, the central control unit 50 raises the height of the cutting blade 70 from H2 to H3”).
Examiner interprets that maximum value for the second height setting is encompassed at least by H3, and one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle is encompassed at least by steering angle.
However, Ura more explicitly teaches wherein a maximum value for the second height setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle (see at least Col.7 lines 26-30 “The above embodiment may be modified such that the auto up control, which automatically raises the working implement to the predetermined height above the operating level based on a determination that the steering angle 8 is equal to or larger than the reference angle 80,”).
Examiner interprets that maximum value for the second height setting is encompassed at least by predetermined height and one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle is encompassed at least by steering angle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuasa with the suggested teaching of wherein a maximum value for the second height setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle found in Kuriyagawa and the more explicit teaching of wherein a maximum value for the second height setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle found in Ura. One could combine the teachings in order to have a work vehicle wherein a maximum value for the second height setting is automatically determined based on at least the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to the orientation of the work vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to better adapt to changing ground conditions and/or contours during operation.
Claims 7, 8, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa et al. (US2022/0287218A1) in view of Kuriyagawa et al. (US2017/0265382A1) in further view of Woodley et al. (US2019/0382010A1), hereinafter Yuasa, Kuriyagawa, and Woodley respectively.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yuasa and Kuriyagawa teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yuasa does not explicitly teach comprising calculating a value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed, and wherein the maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined further based on the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle.
Woodley teaches comprising calculating a value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed (see at least [0010] “The processing means may be configured to determine the value of traction from the second signals. In this embodiment, the determination of the value of traction is carried out at the processing means rather than receiving a pre-determined value of traction from another element.” and [0093] “A metric, the 'value of traction' of the vehicle is a measure of the amount of traction available at the driven wheels of the vehicle, and is derived from the coefficient of friction, p, between the respective tyres of the driven wheels and the surface on which they are in contact (the 'ground').” also see at least [0121] and [0124]), and wherein the maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined further based on the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle (see at least [0007] “determine a maximum speed value for the vehicle in dependence on the value of traction of the vehicle...The value of traction of the vehicle is classified into discrete levels, and the maximum speed value is set at corresponding discrete levels in dependence on the level to which the value of traction is classified.”).
Examiner interprets that maximum value for the second speed setting is encompassed at least by maximum speed value is set at corresponding discrete levels.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuasa with the teaching of comprising calculating a value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed, and wherein the maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined further based on the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle found in Woodley. One could combine the teachings in order to have a method comprising calculating a value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed, and wherein the maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined further based on the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure the vehicle is kept under safe operating conditions (see at least Woodley, [0016]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yuasa, Kuriyagawa, and Woodley teaches the method of claim 7 as detailed above.
Yuasa does not explicitly teach wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle.
Woodley teaches wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle (see at least [0007]-[0008] “determine a maximum speed value for the vehicle in dependence on the value of traction of the vehicle...The value of traction of the vehicle is classified into discrete levels, and the maximum speed value is set at corresponding discrete levels in dependence on the level to which the value of traction is classified...the maximum speed at which the vehicle can be operated in the remote control drive mode can be limited in dependence on the traction available to the vehicle” and [0022] “the user may be prevented from operating the vehicle in a remote control mode until the conditions have changed-for example by having moved the vehicle (in manual mode)”).
Examiner interprets that automatically is encompassed at least by remote control mode and maximum value for the first speed setting is encompassed at least by maximum speed value is set at corresponding discrete levels.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuasa with the teaching of wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle found in Woodley. One could combine the teaching in order to have a method wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure the vehicle is kept under safe operating conditions (see at least Woodley, [0016]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Yuasa and Kuriyagawa teaches the work vehicle of claim 11 as detailed above.
Yuasa does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to calculate a value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed, and wherein the maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined further based on the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle.
Woodley teaches wherein the controller is configured to calculate a value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed (see at least [0010] “The processing means may be configured to determine the value of traction from the second signals. In this embodiment, the determination of the value of traction is carried out at the processing means rather than receiving a pre-determined value of traction from another element.” and [0093] “A metric, the 'value of traction' of the vehicle is a measure of the amount of traction available at the driven wheels of the vehicle, and is derived from the coefficient of friction, p, between the respective tyres of the driven wheels and the surface on which they are in contact (the 'ground').” also see at least [0121] and [0124]), and wherein the maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined further based on the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle (see at least [0007] “determine a maximum speed value for the vehicle in dependence on the value of traction of the vehicle...The value of traction of the vehicle is classified into discrete levels, and the maximum speed value is set at corresponding discrete levels in dependence on the level to which the value of traction is classified.”).
Examiner interprets that maximum value for the second speed setting is encompassed at least by maximum speed value is set at corresponding discrete levels.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuasa with the teaching of wherein the controller is configured to calculate a value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed, and wherein the maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined further based on the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle found in Woodley. One could combine the teachings in order to have a work vehicle wherein the controller is configured to calculate a value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed, and wherein the maximum value for the second speed setting is automatically determined further based on the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure the vehicle is kept under safe operating conditions (see at least Woodley, [0016]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Yuasa, Kuriyagawa, and Woodley teaches the work vehicle of claim 17 as detailed above.
Yuasa does not explicitly teach wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle.
Woodley teaches wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle (see at least [0007]-[0008] “determine a maximum speed value for the vehicle in dependence on the value of traction of the vehicle...The value of traction of the vehicle is classified into discrete levels, and the maximum speed value is set at corresponding discrete levels in dependence on the level to which the value of traction is classified...the maximum speed at which the vehicle can be operated in the remote control drive mode can be limited in dependence on the traction available to the vehicle” and [0022] “the user may be prevented from operating the vehicle in a remote control mode until the conditions have changed-for example by having moved the vehicle (in manual mode)”).
Examiner interprets that automatically is encompassed at least by remote control mode and maximum value for the first speed setting is encompassed at least by maximum speed value is set at corresponding discrete levels.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuasa with the teaching of wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle found in Woodley. One could combine the teaching in order to have a work vehicle of wherein a maximum value for the first speed setting is automatically determined based on at least the value corresponding to traction of the work vehicle. with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure the vehicle is kept under safe operating conditions (see at least Woodley, [0016]).
Claims 9, 10, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa et al. (US2022/0287218A1) in view of Kuriyagawa et al. (US2017/0265382A1) in further view of Wanta (US2025/0295059A1), hereinafter Yuasa, Kuriyagawa, and Wanta respectively.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yuasa and Kuriyagawa teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yuasa suggests further comprising: receiving and storing historical input data sets comprising the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least the orientation and the advance speed of the work vehicle, and the sensed steering angle (see at least [0099] “The positioning device 120 in the present preferred embodiment further includes an IMU 125. The IMU 125 includes a 3-axis accelerometer and a 3-axis gyroscope. The IMU 125 may include a direction sensor such as a 3-axis geomagnetic sensor. The IMU 125 functions as a motion sensor which can output signals representing parameters such as acceleration, velocity, displacement, and attitude of the work vehicle 100...the positioning device 120 can estimate the position and orientation of the work vehicle 100 with a higher accuracy.” and [0103] “The storage device 170 includes one or more storage media such as a flash memory or a magnetic disc. The storage device 170 stores various data that is generated by the sensors and the controller 180.”); and wherein values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value for a current work vehicle operation are specified automatically by reference to the trained model (see at least [0180] “ The HMS trigger function is a function of executing a sequence of operations in accordance with a previously-recorded operation sequence when turning in a headland.”).
Yuasa does not explicitly teach training a model correlating the input data sets to observed outcomes relating to orientation or traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed.
Kuriyagawa teaches the first speed setting (see at least [0071] “The detection unit 40 detects the traveling speed of the lawnmower 10, and the central control unit 50 maintains the traveling speed of the lawn mower 10 at Vb1 which is greater than zero.”), the second speed setting (see at least [0109] “Vc3 to Vc2 (D in FIG. 8) by setting a steering speed reduction flag to "1" at time tc7.”) , and the sensitivity value are specified (see at least [0109] “Also, upon detecting that the steering angle has exceeded the threshold value S2 at tc7”).
Examiner interprets that first speed setting is encompassed at least by Vb1, the second speed setting is encompassed at least by Vc2, and the sensitivity value is encompassed at least by threshold value S2.
Wanta suggests further comprising: receiving and storing historical input data sets comprising the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least the orientation and the advance speed of the work vehicle, and the sensed steering angle; and training a model correlating the input data sets to observed outcomes relating to orientation or traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed; wherein values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value for a current work vehicle operation are specified automatically by reference to the trained model (see at least [0054] “In one example, the user trains a portion of the map 400 including a fairway 404. Prior to beginning the mowing operation, the user sets the cutting height of the mower deck 80 to correspond to the desired length of the grass within the fairway 404. The user navigates the vehicle 10 to the fairway 404. The user may manually initiate a training period, or the vehicle controller 100 may initiate the training period automatically. The user then manually operates the vehicle 10 to cut the grass as desired and concludes the training period. Throughout the training period, the vehicle controller 100 may monitor and record data from the sensors 90 and commands sent to the components of the vehicle 10.” also see at least [0053]).
Examiner interprets that the claim is written in the alternative and therefore only one of the limitations needs to be addressed with respect to “training a model correlating the input data sets to observed outcomes relating to orientation or traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the suggested teaching of Yuasa of further comprising: receiving and storing historical input data sets comprising the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least the orientation and the advance speed of the work vehicle, and the sensed steering angle; and wherein values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value for a current work vehicle operation are specified automatically by reference to the trained model with the teaching of the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified found in Kuriyagawa and the suggested teaching of further comprising: receiving and storing historical input data sets comprising the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least the orientation and the advance speed of the work vehicle, and the sensed steering angle; and training a model correlating the input data sets to observed outcomes relating to orientation or traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed; wherein values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value for a current work vehicle operation are specified automatically by reference to the trained model found in Wanta. One could combine the teachings in order to have a method further comprising: receiving and storing historical input data sets comprising the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least the orientation and the advance speed of the work vehicle, and the sensed steering angle; and training a model correlating the input data sets to observed outcomes relating to orientation or traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed; wherein values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value for a current work vehicle operation are specified automatically by reference to the trained model with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to replicate of imitate a user desired operation in the future (see at least Wanta, [0053]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yuasa, Kuriyagawa, and Wanta teaches the method of claim 9 as detailed above.
Yuasa suggests wherein the received and stored input data sets further relate to a respective type of work vehicle operation, and the at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation (see at least [0180] “In the example of FIG. 23, furthermore, a pop-up notification 94 is also displayed in the lower left corner of the screen, which prompts the user to check settings concerning automatic headland turn, auto-cruise control at a headland, and HMS trigger (hereinafter, these functions may be referred to as the "semi-self-driving functions"). The HMS trigger function is a function of executing a sequence of operations in accordance with a previously-recorded operation sequence when turning in a headland.”).
Examiner interprets that type of work vehicle operation is encompassed at least by when turning in a headland and at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation is suggested at least by The HMS trigger function is a function of executing a sequence of operations in accordance with a previously-recorded operation sequence when turning in a headland.
Kuriyagawa teaches the first speed setting (see at least [0071] “The detection unit 40 detects the traveling speed of the lawnmower 10, and the central control unit 50 maintains the traveling speed of the lawn mower 10 at Vb1 which is greater than zero.”), the second speed setting (see at least [0109] “Vc3 to Vc2 (D in FIG. 8) by setting a steering speed reduction flag to "1" at time tc7.”) , and the sensitivity value are specified (see at least [0109] “Also, upon detecting that the steering angle has exceeded the threshold value S2 at tc7”).
Examiner interprets that first speed setting is encompassed at least by Vb1, the second speed setting is encompassed at least by Vc2, and the sensitivity value is encompassed at least by threshold value S2.
Wanta suggests wherein the received and stored input data sets further relate to a respective type of work vehicle operation, and the at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation (see at least [0053] “In some embodiments, the map 400 is generated based on data collected during operation of a vehicle 10 (e.g., a sample mowing operation is performed to train the map 400). By way of example, a user may manually operate the vehicle 10 to perform a mowing operation within the operating area. This mowing operation may represent a model mowing operation that a user desires to replicate or imitate in the future. While the mowing operation is performed, the vehicle controller 100 may record the data provided by the sensors 90 and the commands sent to components of the vehicle 10. This recorded data may be correlated and used to generate the map data.”).
Examiner interprets that type of work vehicle operation is encompassed at least by mowing operation and the at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation is suggested by This mowing operation may represent a model mowing operation that a user desires to replicate or imitate in the future.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suggested teaching of Yuasa of wherein the received and stored input data sets further relate to a respective type of work vehicle operation, and the at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation with the teaching of the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified found in Kuriyagawa and the suggested teaching of wherein the received and stored input data sets further relate to a respective type of work vehicle operation, and the at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation found in Wanta. One could combine the teachings in order to have a method wherein the received and stored input data sets further relate to a respective type of work vehicle operation, and the at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to replicate of imitate a user desired operation in the future (see at least Wanta, [0053]).
Regarding claim 19, a system for adaptive cruise control of the work vehicle of claim 11 as detailed above taught by the combination of Yuasa and Kuriyagawa.
Yuasa teaches a system comprising one or more processors configured to (see at least [0096] “The control system 160 includes a storage device 170 and a controller 180. The controller 180 includes a plurality of electronic control units (ECU) 181 to 186. [0106] “The controller 180 may include ECUs other than the ECUs 181 to 186...Each ECU includes a control circuit including one or more processors.”).
Yuasa suggests receive and store historical input data sets comprising the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least the orientation and the advance speed of the work vehicle, and the sensed steering angle (see at least [0099] “The positioning device 120 in the present preferred embodiment further includes an IMU 125. The IMU 125 includes a 3-axis accelerometer and a 3-axis gyroscope. The IMU 125 may include a direction sensor such as a 3-axis geomagnetic sensor. The IMU 125 functions as a motion sensor which can output signals representing parameters such as acceleration, velocity, displacement, and attitude of the work vehicle 100...the positioning device 120 can estimate the position and orientation of the work vehicle 100 with a higher accuracy.” and [0103] “The storage device 170 includes one or more storage media such as a flash memory or a magnetic disc. The storage device 170 stores various data that is generated by the sensors and the controller 180.”); and transmit the trained model to the work vehicle (see at least [0107] “The external computer may be a server computer in a farming support system which centralizes management of information concerning fields by using a cloud, and assists in agriculture by utilizing the data on the cloud, for example.”), wherein values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value for a current work vehicle operation are specified automatically by the controller with reference to the trained model (see at least [0180] “ The HMS trigger function is a function of executing a sequence of operations in accordance with a previously-recorded operation sequence when turning in a headland.”).
Yuasa does not explicitly teach train a model correlating the input data sets to observed outcomes relating to traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed.
Kuriyagawa teaches the first speed setting (see at least [0071] “The detection unit 40 detects the traveling speed of the lawnmower 10, and the central control unit 50 maintains the traveling speed of the lawn mower 10 at Vb1 which is greater than zero.”), the second speed setting (see at least [0109] “Vc3 to Vc2 (D in FIG. 8) by setting a steering speed reduction flag to "1" at time tc7.”) , and the sensitivity value are specified (see at least [0109] “Also, upon detecting that the steering angle has exceeded the threshold value S2 at tc7”).
Examiner interprets that first speed setting is encompassed at least by Vb1, the second speed setting is encompassed at least by Vc2, and the sensitivity value is encompassed at least by threshold value S2.
Wanta suggests comprising one or more processors configured to: receive and store historical input data sets comprising the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least the orientation and the advance speed of the work vehicle, and the sensed steering angle; train a model correlating the input data sets to observed outcomes relating to traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed; and wherein values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value for a current work vehicle operation are specified automatically by the controller with reference to the trained model (see at least [0054] “In one example, the user trains a portion of the map 400 including a fairway 404. Prior to beginning the mowing operation, the user sets the cutting height of the mower deck 80 to correspond to the desired length of the grass within the fairway 404. The user navigates the vehicle 10 to the fairway 404. The user may manually initiate a training period, or the vehicle controller 100 may initiate the training period automatically. The user then manually operates the vehicle 10 to cut the grass as desired and concludes the training period. Throughout the training period, the vehicle controller 100 may monitor and record data from the sensors 90 and commands sent to the components of the vehicle 10.” also see at least [0053]); and transmit the trained model to the work vehicle (see at least [0037] “According to an exemplary embodiment, the remote systems 240 (e.g., the off-site server 250 and/or the on-site system 260) are configured to communicate with the user portal 230 via the communications network 210. By way of example, the user portal 230 may facilitate (a) accessing the remote systems 240 to access data regarding the vehicles 10 and/or the operators thereof and/or (b) configuring or setting operating parameters for the vehicles 10 (e.g., geofences, speed limits, times of use, permitted operators, etc.). Such operating parameters may be propagated to the vehicles 10 by the remote systems 240 (e.g., as updates to settings) and/or used for real time control of the vehicles 10 by the remote systems 240.”).
Examiner interprets that the claim is written in the alternative and therefore only one of the limitations needs to be addressed with respect to “training a model correlating the input data sets to observed outcomes relating to orientation or traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Yuasa of a system comprising one or more processors and the suggested teaching of Yuasa of receive and store historical input data sets comprising the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least the orientation and the advance speed of the work vehicle, and the sensed steering angle; and transmit the trained model to the work vehicle, wherein values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value for a current work vehicle operation are specified automatically by the controller with reference to the trained model with the teaching of the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified found in Kuriyagawa and the suggested teaching of comprising one or more processors configured to: receive and store historical input data sets comprising the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least the orientation and the advance speed of the work vehicle, and the sensed steering angle; train a model correlating the input data sets to observed outcomes relating to traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed; and transmit the trained model to the work vehicle, wherein values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value for a current work vehicle operation are specified automatically by the controller with reference to the trained model found in Wanta. One could combine the teachings in order to have a system for adaptive cruise control of the work vehicle comprising one or more processors configured to: receive and store historical input data sets comprising the one or more work vehicle operating values corresponding to at least the orientation and the advance speed of the work vehicle, and the sensed steering angle; train a model correlating the input data sets to observed outcomes relating to traction of the work vehicle with respect to a ground surface being traversed; and transmit the trained model to the work vehicle, wherein values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value for a current work vehicle operation are specified automatically by the controller with reference to the trained model with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to replicate of imitate a user desired operation in the future (see at least Wanta, [0053]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Yuasa, Kuriyagawa, and Wanta teaches the system of claim 19 as detailed above.
Yuasa suggests wherein the received and stored input data sets further relate to a respective type of work vehicle operation, and the at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation (see at least [0180] “In the example of FIG. 23, furthermore, a pop-up notification 94 is also displayed in the lower left corner of the screen, which prompts the user to check settings concerning automatic headland turn, auto-cruise control at a headland, and HMS trigger (hereinafter, these functions may be referred to as the "semi-self-driving functions"). The HMS trigger function is a function of executing a sequence of operations in accordance with a previously-recorded operation sequence when turning in a headland.”).
Examiner interprets that type of work vehicle operation is encompassed at least by when turning in a headland and at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation is suggested at least by The HMS trigger function is a function of executing a sequence of operations in accordance with a previously-recorded operation sequence when turning in a headland.
Kuriyagawa teaches the first speed setting (see at least [0071] “The detection unit 40 detects the traveling speed of the lawnmower 10, and the central control unit 50 maintains the traveling speed of the lawn mower 10 at Vb1 which is greater than zero.”), the second speed setting (see at least [0109] “Vc3 to Vc2 (D in FIG. 8) by setting a steering speed reduction flag to "1" at time tc7.”) , and the sensitivity value are specified (see at least [0109] “Also, upon detecting that the steering angle has exceeded the threshold value S2 at tc7”).
Examiner interprets that first speed setting is encompassed at least by Vb1, the second speed setting is encompassed at least by Vc2, and the sensitivity value is encompassed at least by threshold value S2.
Wanta suggests wherein the received and stored input data sets further relate to a respective type of work vehicle operation, and the at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation (see at least [0053] “In some embodiments, the map 400 is generated based on data collected during operation of a vehicle 10 (e.g., a sample mowing operation is performed to train the map 400). By way of example, a user may manually operate the vehicle 10 to perform a mowing operation within the operating area. This mowing operation may represent a model mowing operation that a user desires to replicate or imitate in the future. While the mowing operation is performed, the vehicle controller 100 may record the data provided by the sensors 90 and the commands sent to components of the vehicle 10. This recorded data may be correlated and used to generate the map data.”).
Examiner interprets that type of work vehicle operation is encompassed at least by mowing operation and the at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation is suggested by This mowing operation may represent a model mowing operation that a user desires to replicate or imitate in the future.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suggested teaching of Yuasa of wherein the received and stored input data sets further relate to a respective type of work vehicle operation, and the at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation with the teaching of the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified found in Kuriyagawa and the suggested teaching of wherein the received and stored input data sets further relate to a respective type of work vehicle operation, and the at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation found in Wanta. One could combine the teachings in order to have a system wherein the received and stored input data sets further relate to a respective type of work vehicle operation, and the at least initial values for the first speed setting, the second speed setting, and the sensitivity value are specified automatically by reference to the developed model and a current type of work vehicle operation with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to replicate of imitate a user desired operation in the future (see at least Wanta, [0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Foster et al. (US2014/0100743A1) Discloses a travel speed control system for a work vehicle including a control device configured to control travel speed of a work vehicle operable in a first travel mode and in a second travel mode. The work vehicle is movable between a first travel direction and an opposed second travel direction in each of the first travel mode and the second travel mode.
Nishiyama et al. (US2026/0000002A1) Discloses a travel control system for a work vehicle with an implement linked thereto including a positioning device to output position data of the work vehicle, sensor(s) to detect a state of the work vehicle and/or the implement and output sensor data, and a controller. In a recording mode, while the work vehicle is traveling, the controller is configured or programmed to record to storage waypoint information including first information concerning a position of the work vehicle and second information concerning a state of the work vehicle and/or the implement based on position data and sensor data. In a reproducing mode, the controller is configured or programmed to control operation of the work vehicle and/or the implement while causing the work vehicle to travel via self-driving based on the waypoint information recorded in the recording mode. The second information includes information concerning a position relationship between the work vehicle and implement.
Yuki et al. (US2022/0097729A1) Discloses an autonomous travel system for a work vehicle is provided with an autonomous travel control unit. The autonomous travel control unit is capable of using a positioning system to cause a work vehicle to travel autonomously along a travel path including a turning path and a work path in which work is performed by a work unit. The work vehicle is provided with a vehicle speed control unit for controlling the vehicle speed and a vehicle speed operation unit for manipulating the vehicle speed. The vehicle speed control unit is capable of executing vehicle speed maintenance control in which even when operating force applied to the vehicle speed operation unit is released, the vehicle speed of the work vehicle corresponding to the operating position of the vehicle speed operation unit prior to release is maintained. The autonomous travel control unit allows vehicle speed maintenance control by the vehicle speed control unit when the work vehicle is being made to travel autonomously along the work path and prohibits vehicle speed maintenance control by the vehicle speed control unit when the work vehicle is being made to travel autonomously along the turning path.
/A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662