DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species I in the reply filed on 8/3/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the invention does not simply treat DCI-scheduled PDSCH and SPS PDSCH as two unrelated inventions. Rather, it is directed to the protection of how to determine candidate PDSCH reception occasions and the HARQ-ACK codebook. For example, Supplement 14, 15, 19, and 20 of the specification involve scenarios with different DCI scheduling, cases where some are DCI-scheduled and some are SPS PDSCH, and situations where a candidate PDSCH reception occasion is associated with both SPS PDSCH and DCI-scheduled PDSCH.. This is not found persuasive because the independent claims do not states a candidate PDSCH reception occasion is associated with both SPS PDSCH and DCI-scheduled PDSCH. In reply, the examiner disagrees with applicant because the independent claims 1, 19-20 are generic of claims of the independent claims states which is divided into two branches such as SPS PDSCH which corresponds to claims 14-15 which has no relationship with DCI-scheduled PDSCH, such as SPS-PDSCH is received after or before the scheduled PDSCH and HARQ ID of SPS are not same HARQ ID, and DCI-scheduled PDSCH. Therefore, the species are distinct because Species I requires consideration of dynamic scheduling parameters and species II requires SPS-specific parameters and procedures. These features are mutually exclusive in the dependent claims because they are not require together to implement the independent claim 1 and 19-20. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other and it will create a serious burden for examiner to exam both species at the same time because the examiner must apply a different search etc... Upon the allowance of generic claim, the non-election species can be rejoined.
The requirement is still deemed proper because the species require different search, prior arts and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4-6 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As claim 2, “the fourth processing unit” is vague and indefinite because the claims do not recite first, second, third processing unit and do not refer to any previous element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipate by Oteri [US 2024/0032030].
As claim 1, Oteri [US 2024/0032030] discloses an information feedback apparatus, applicable to a terminal equipment, the information feedback apparatus comprising: processor circuitry configured to: determine a candidate PDSCH reception occasion set [Fig 10 [Fig 10-12, Ref 1010, 1110, 1210-12, Ref 1004, 1104, 1204 discloses determining a candidate PDSCH reception occasion set], and determine bits of HARQ-ACK information in an HARQ-ACK codebook according to the number of scheduled PDSCHs and[Fig 10-12, 1008, 1106, 1206 and Par. 0024, 0038, 0044, 0070 discloses bits of HARQ-ACK information in an HARQ-ACK codebook according to the number of scheduled PDSCHs and assuming a number of valid scheduled equal zero]; and a transmitter configured to transmit the codebook, the codebook including HARQ-ACK information to which the candidate PDSCH reception occasion set corresponds [Fig 10-12, 1010, 1108, 1208 discloses transmitting codebook].
As claim 2, Oteri [US 2024/0032030] discloses for a candidate PDSCH reception occasion in the candidate PDSCH reception occasion set, the fourth processing unit determines bits of HARQ-ACK information to which the candidate PDSCH reception occasion corresponds according to the number of PDSCHs scheduled by a single DCI associated with the candidate PDSCH reception occasion and[Fig 10-12, 1008, 1106, 1206 and Par. 0024, 0038, 0044, 0070 discloses bits of HARQ-ACK information in an HARQ-ACK codebook according to the number of scheduled PDSCHs and assuming a number of valid scheduled equal zero].
As claim 5, Oteri [US 2024/0032030] discloses a PDSCH [Par. 0038 discloses PDSCHs with same occasion is scheduled by single DCI].
As claim 6, Oteri [US 2024/0032030] discloses more than one PDSCH [Par. 0066 and Fig 9 discloses more than one PDSCH with the same candidate PDSCH reception occasion is associated are scheduled by different DCI].
As claim 16, Oteri [US 2024/0032030] discloses a receiver configured to receive one or more DCIs scheduling a PDSCH and[Par. 0027 discloses DCI is scheduled for PDSCH].
As claim 18, Oteri [US 2024/0032030] discloses determines the candidate PDSCH reception occasion set according to whether time domain bundling is configured and/or whether multi-PDSCH scheduling is configured and/or a subcarrier spacing of a downlink BWP and/or whether it is capable of receiving more than one PDSCH per slot [Par. 0024-0025 determines the candidate PDSCH reception occasion set according to whether multi-PDSCH scheduling is configured, Par. 0038, bundling, 044 spacing].
As claim 19, Oteri [US 2024/0032030] discloses a network device comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit PDSCHs [Fig 9, PDSCHs]; and a receiver configured to receive an HARQ-ACK codebook including HARQ-ACK information to which a candidate PDSCH reception occasion set corresponds, bits of the HARQ-ACK information in the HARQ-ACK codebook is according to the number of scheduled PDSCHs [Fig 9 discloses receiving PUCCH includes codebook that includes bits of harq-ACK of scheduled pdschs and Fig 10-12, 1008, 1106, 1206 and Par. 0024, 0038, 0044, 0070 discloses bits of HARQ-ACK information in an HARQ-ACK codebook according to the number of scheduled PDSCHs];
As claim 20, Oteri [US 2024/0032030] discloses an information feedback apparatus, applicable to a terminal equipment, the information feedback apparatus comprising: processor circuitry configured to: determine a candidate PDSCH reception occasion set according to whether time domain bundling is configured and/or whether multi-PDSCH scheduling is configured and/or a subcarrier spacing of a downlink BWP and/or whether it is capable of receiving more than one PDSCH per slot [Fig 10-12, Ref 1010, 1110, 1210-12, Ref 1004, 1104, 1204 and Par. 0024-0025 determines the candidate PDSCH reception occasion set according to whether multi-PDSCH scheduling is configured, Par. 0038, bundling, 044 spacing ], and a transmitter configured to transmit an HARQ-ACK codebook, the codebook including HARQ-ACK information to which the candidate PDSCH reception occasion set corresponds [Fig 10-12, 1010, 1108, 1208 discloses transmitting codebook].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oteri [US 2024/0032030] in view of Wang [US 2025/0168848].
As claim 3, Oteri [US 2024/0032030] fails to fully disclose what Wang [US 2025/0168848] discloses when the number of PDSCHs scheduled by a single DCI associated with the candidate PDSCH reception occasion is greater than 1 and the number of valid PDSCHs scheduled by the single DCI associated with the candidate PDSCH reception occasion is 1, the bits of the HARQ-ACK information to which the candidate PDSCH reception occasion corresponds are equal to the bits of HARQ-ACK information to which the associated valid PDSCH corresponds[Par. 0029-0030, 0127, 0167 discloses when the number of PDSCHs scheduled by a single DCI associated with the candidate PDSCH reception occasion is greater than 1 the bits of the HARQ-ACK information to which the candidate PDSCH reception occasion corresponds are equal to the bits of HARQ-ACK information].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising when the number of PDSCHs scheduled by a single DCI associated with the candidate PDSCH reception occasion is greater than 1 and the number of valid PDSCHs scheduled by the single DCI associated with the candidate PDSCH reception occasion is 1, the bits of the HARQ-ACK information to which the candidate PDSCH reception occasion corresponds are equal to the bits of HARQ-ACK information to which the associated valid PDSCH corresponds as disclosed as disclosed by Wang into the teaching of Oteri. The motivation would have been to reduce overhead.
As claim 4, Oteri [US 2024/0032030] fails to fully disclose what Wang [US 2025/0168848] discloses when the number of PDSCHs scheduled by the single DCI associated with the candidate PDSCH reception occasion and the number of valid PDSCHs scheduled by the single DCI associated with the candidate PDSCH reception occasion areHARQ-ACK information to which the associated valid PDSCHs correspond [Par. 0029-0030, 0127, 0167 discloses when the number of PDSCHs scheduled by a single DCI associated with the candidate PDSCH reception occasion is greater than 1 the bits of the HARQ-ACK information to which the candidate PDSCH reception occasion corresponds are equal to the bits of HARQ-ACK information, Par. 0350-0351].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising when the number of PDSCHs scheduled by the single DCI associated with the candidate PDSCH reception occasion and the number of valid PDSCHs scheduled by the single DCI associated with the candidate PDSCH reception occasion are.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li [US 2024/0008038] discloses HARQ ACK feedback method and apparatus, a terminal, and a storage medium are provided. The HARQ ACK feedback method in embodiments of this application includes: determining, by a terminal, a candidate physical downlink shared channel PDSCH reception occasion set based on a slot timing set corresponding to an actual HARQ ACK feedback unit, where in the slot timing set, each element corresponds to one first slot set and each element corresponds to a different first slot set, where the first slot set comprises at least two consecutive slot units; and determining, by a terminal, a HARQ ACK feedback codebook based on the candidate PDSCH reception occasion set.
Wang [US 2024/0357592] discloses a method for sending and a method for receiving a HARQ codebook, an apparatus, and a storage medium. The method for sending a HARQ codebook comprises: determining the total quantity of candidate PDSCH receiving occasions on the basis of HARQ feedback time sets of a plurality of candidate services, and determining a codebook sequence corresponding to a candidate PDSCH receiving occasion in each time unit; determining the value of each bit in the HARQ codebook according to whether downlink data is correctly received at a receiving occasion of each candidate PDSCH; and sending the HARQ codebook. According to the method for sending and method for receiving a HARQ codebook, the apparatus, and the storage medium provided in the embodiments of the present disclosure, the total quantity of candidate PDSCH receiving occasions is determined on the basis of HARQ feedback time sets of a plurality of candidate services, so that the length of a generated HARQ codebook is shortened, thus improving resource utilization.
Hu [US 2022/0407633] discloses first receiver receives a first signaling, the first signaling being used to determine a target serving cell and a first time unit, where the target serving cell is either a first serving cell or a second serving cell; a first transmitter determines a first HARQ-ACK codebook and transmits a first signal in the first time unit on the target serving cell, the first signal carrying the first HARQ-ACK codebook; herein, a first time is a boundary time for an active UL BWP change on the first serving cell, a start time for the first time unit being no earlier than the first time; the target serving cell is used to determine whether the first HARQ-ACK codebook comprises a HARQ-ACK information bit for the second time unit on the first serving cell.
Lei [US 2022/0209901] discloses method for semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook determination includes: receiving downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a data transmission in a set of candidate data transmission occasions; transmitting a HARQ-ACK codebook for the set of candidate data transmission occasions; receiving another DCI scheduling another data transmission in another set of candidate data transmission occasions; and transmitting another HARQ-ACK codebook for the abovementioned another set of candidate data transmission occasions.
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414