DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: please update the status of US patent application No. 17/417,043 in paragraph [0001].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sachs et al. (2019/0118252).
Regarding claims 1, 3, Sachs et al. discloses a 3D x-y-z printing apparatus 100, comprising a nozzle 302, a nozzle bore 304, a heating system 306, and a build material drive system 308, a build material 310 from a source 312 along a feed path (indicated by an arrow 314) toward an opening 316 of the nozzle 302 for deposition on a build plate 114, 318, a heating system 106 to heat the build material 102, a heating system 306 on the nozzle 302 to liquefy the build material 310 as it being extruded through the nozzle opening 316, where the material is extruded and flattened by the tip of the nozzle – see Fig. 3, 316, 372, in order to mitigate nozzle clogging and also to identify incipient and developed clogs, and thus to facilitate extrusion of metallic build materials to a highly continuous degree and to clear existing clogs or otherwise address evolving clogs [0105].
Regarding claim 2, wherein the nozzle 302 is flexed/pivotable about point 311 by a load cell 328 and about point 314 by a second load cell 329, [0080].
Regarding claims 4-5, wherein the apparatus further comprises a roller drive system 308 to mechanically engage the build material 310 in solid form and advance the build material 310 from the source 312 into the nozzle bore 304 with sufficient force to extrude the build material 310.
Regarding claims 6-15 and 17-18, Sach et al. further comprises a control computer [0184] and a control system 118 to control different operations including the drive system 308 and the nozzle 302, [0069], [0075]; regarding to the increase or decrease of the flexure, which can be a load cell (current specification 0037), Sach et al. further discloses that the drive system 308 is mounted between the controllable print head and the liquefier that allows a distance between the controllable print head and the liquefier to vary, which would inherently change the stiffness – as disclosed in the current specification “by adjusting the distance (B), the stiffness of the flexure is adjusted” [0045] – when a resistance is encountered at a print nozzle tip, Sachs et al. further discloses in Figure 3 and in paragraph [0080] that:
A sensor, such as a load cell 328, or a torque sensor 309, may be coupled to the drive system 308, to sense the load on the drive system. This can be useful, for instance, to determine whether any blockages or other impediments to driving the build material may be occurring. In one embodiment, the drive assembly 306 is allowed to pivot about point 311 and the load cell 328 provides the reaction force. Additionally, a sensor 329 can be provided that measures the force exerted by build material 310 within and exiting the nozzle outlet 316 upon the nozzle 302. For instance, a load cell 329 can measure the force of the build material pushing on the entire nozzle 302. In one embodiment, the nozzle assembly is allowed to pivot about point 313 and the load cell 329 provides the reaction force.
Thus, the load cell 329 is the same with the claimed liquefier nozzle flexure that is mounted between the print head 302 and the liquifier 308 [0084] that is capable to vary or flex when a resistance is encountered at a print nozzle tip 316 – the load cell 328, 329 provides the reaction force [0080].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachs et al. (2019/0118252) in view of Katon et al. (2019/0217538).
Sachs et al. fails to disclose a piezoelectric actuator for moving the nozzle.
Katon et al. discloses a 3D printing apparatus [0031] with a piezoelectric actuator for providing an agitator/vibratory atomization characteristic 312 to a deposition nozzle system to provide both an atomization characteristic as well as flow control by allowing the mechanical element of actuation to constrict material flow [0047] and to provide a smooth surface finish [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to Sachs et al. by providing a piezoelectric actuator for providing an agitator/vibratory atomization characteristic to a deposition nozzle system as taught by Katon et al. in order to provide a smooth surface finish on the forming product.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,076,921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are essentially overlapping.
/Thu Khanh T. Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743