DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seyboth US 2021/0291098 (hereafter Seyboth).
Regarding claim 1, Seyboth teaches a filter (100) for a spray coating system (where the filter is fully capable of being used for a spray coating system in accordance with MPEP 2114, 2115, 2173.05(g); ¶77, ¶204), comprising:
a housing (110) with an inlet opening (112) and an outlet opening (clean gas side opening of ¶119); and
a flat filter medium (12) folded in a zigzag-shaped manner received in the housing (as shown in Fig 6),
wherein the filter medium is spaced apart from the inlet opening for flow homogenization (as shown in Fig 6), with at least one collecting volume (volume of 47) being formed.
Regarding claim 2, Seyboth teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Seyboth further teaches wherein the filter medium is held in the housing in a form-fitting and/or force-fitting manner (as shown in Fig 6).
Regarding claim 3, Seyboth teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Seyboth further teaches wherein support elements are arranged in the housing, and wherein the filter medium abuts against the support elements at least in sections (as shown in Figs 2-10).
Regarding claim 4, Seyboth teaches all the limitations of claim 3. Seyboth further teaches wherein first support elements (46, 47) of the support elements are assigned to the collecting volume.
Regarding claim 5, Seyboth teaches all the limitations of claim 4. Seyboth further teaches wherein shoulders (50) on which the filter medium is supported are formed from the first support elements.
Regarding claim 6, Seyboth teaches all the limitations of claim 3. Seyboth further teaches wherein second support elements (72) of the support elements are assigned to the outlet opening.
Regarding claim 7, Seyboth teaches all the limitations of claim 6. Seyboth further teaches wherein the filter medium interlocks in sections with the second support elements (as shown in Fig 6, where elements 72 interlocks with layer 14).
Regarding claim 8, Seyboth teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Seyboth further teaches wherein edges of the filter medium that are assigned to the outlet opening are formed such that undercuts (30 of 14) are produced on a side of the edges which faces the inlet opening.
Regarding claim 9, Seyboth teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Seyboth further teaches wherein the edges (¶161).
Regarding claim 10, Seyboth teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Seyboth further teaches wherein the filter medium comprises at least one layer of non woven material (¶27-28, ¶146, ¶173).
Regarding claim 11, Seyboth teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Seyboth further teaches wherein the housing and/or the support elements are formed from cardboard (¶17, ¶72-76).
Regarding claim 13, Seyboth teaches the filter according to claim 1.
Seyboth further teaches a filter arrangement for a spray coating system (¶77, ¶204), comprising a first filter stage (200) facing a spray mist and a second filter stage (100; see claim 1 rejection above) downstream of the first filter stage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seyboth as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, Seyboth teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Seyboth does not teach wherein the at least one collecting volume extends over at least ¼ of the depth and the folded filter medium over at most ¾ of the depth of the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one collecting volume (volume in 47) of Seyboth such that wherein the at least one collecting volume extends over at least ¼ of the depth and the folded filter medium over at most ¾ of the depth of the housing as a matter of obvious change in size/proportion (MPEP 2144.04 IV A) and in order to provide deep corrugations to increase the filter surface area and to provide a sufficiently deep outflow surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allen et al. US 2,936,855 (hereafter Allen).
Regarding claim 1, Allen teaches a filter (Figs 1-3) for a spray coating system (where the filter is fully capable of being used for a spray coating system in accordance with MPEP 2114, 2115, 2173.05(g)), comprising:
a housing (12, 14 at top and bottom of filter as shown in Figs 1, 3) with an inlet opening (left side in Fig 2 with feature 18) and an outlet opening (right side in Fig 2 with feature 16); and
a flat filter medium (20) folded in a zigzag-shaped manner received in the housing (as shown in Fig 2),
wherein the filter medium is spaced apart from the inlet opening for flow homogenization (as shown in Figs 1-2), with at least one collecting volume (volume in 18) being formed.
Regarding claim 2, Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Allen further teaches wherein the filter medium is held in the housing in a form-fitting and/or force-fitting manner (as shown in Figs 1-3).
Regarding claims 3-6, Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Allen further teaches wherein wherein support elements (labeled below; elements between folds of filter 20) are arranged in the housing, and wherein the filter medium abuts against the support elements at least in sections (as shown in Fig 2); wherein first support elements (labeled below; elements between folds of filter 20 on the inlet side) of the support elements are assigned to the collecting volume; wherein shoulders (labeled below; section of first support elements which constrict to accommodate bumps 50) on which the filter medium is supported are formed from the first support elements; wherein second support elements of the support elements are assigned to the outlet opening.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Shoulders)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second support elements)][AltContent: textbox (First support elements)]
Regarding claim 7, Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 6. Allen further teaches wherein the filter medium interlocks in sections with the second support elements (interlock with dimples 52).
Regarding claim 8, Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Allen further teaches wherein edges of the filter medium that are assigned to the outlet opening are formed such that undercuts (52, 48) are produced on a side of the edges which faces the inlet opening.
Regarding claim 9, Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 8. Allen further teaches wherein the edges assigned to the outlet opening are rounded (52, 48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakayama et al. US 5,674,302 (hereafter Nakayama).
Regarding claim 10, Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Allen further teaches wherein the filter medium comprises at least one layer of suitable filter material (col 1 lines 65-72).
Allen does not teach wherein the filter medium comprises at least one layer of non woven material.
Nakayama teaches a filter medium comprising at least one layer of non woven material in order to filter the gas and allow for multilayered, variable density construction (col 3 line 54 – col 4 line 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suitable filter material (col 1 lines 65-72) of Allen by using the filter medium comprising at least one layer of non woven material (col 3 line 54 – col 4 line 9) of Nakayama as an matter of obvious selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP 2144.07) and in order to filter the gas and allow for multilayered, variable density construction (col 3 line 54 – col 4 line 9).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Seyboth US 2021/0291098 (hereafter Seyboth).
Regarding claim 11, Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 3.
Allen does not teach wherein the housing and/or the support elements are formed from cardboard.
Seyboth teaches a filter structure (abstract) wherein the housing and/or the support elements are formed from cardboard in order to be low cost and available worldwide requiring small amounts of raw material and suitable for filtering gas (¶17, ¶72-76).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing (12, 14) and/or the support elements (labeled above) of Allen to be formed of cardboard (¶17, ¶72-76) of Seyboth in order to be low cost and available worldwide requiring small amounts of raw material and suitable for filtering gas (¶17, ¶72-76).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Allen does not teach wherein the at least one collecting volume extends over at least ¼ of the depth and the folded filter medium over at most ¾ of the depth of the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one collecting volume (volume in 18) of Allen such that wherein the at least one collecting volume extends over at least ¼ of the depth and the folded filter medium over at most ¾ of the depth of the housing as a matter of obvious change in size/proportion (MPEP 2144.04 IV A) and in order to provide a ridged screen and/or reduce pressure loss through the filter material.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seyboth US 2021/0291098 (hereafter Seyboth).
Regarding claim 13, Allen teaches the filter according to claim 1.
Allen does not teach a filter arrangement for a spray coating system, comprising a first filter stage facing a spray mist and a second filter stage downstream of the first filter stage, wherein the second filter stage is the filter according to claim 1.
Seyboth teaches a filter arrangement for a spray coating system (¶77, ¶204), comprising a first filter stage (200) facing a spray mist and a second filter stage (100) downstream of the first filter stage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first filter stage (Figs 1-3) of Allen by using the first stage as the first stage (100) in the a filter arrangement for a spray coating system (¶77, ¶204) of Seyboth in order to separate spray (¶77, ¶204).
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776