DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a2] as being anticipated by Jin [US 2025/0031109].
As claim 1, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more configuration parameters comprising a timing advance parameter configured to enable a timing advance measurement, by the wireless device, of a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) candidate cell [Fig 6A, Ref 660 discloses UE receiving parameter that indicates enabling TA measurement for the candidate cells]; receiving an LTM cell switch command comprising an indication that no valid timing adjustment is available for a timing advance group of the LTM candidate cell [Fig 6B, Ref 685 discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available and need RACH-less switching to cell 2, Par. 0011-0014, 0130, 0134, 0148-0149, Fig 7, Ref 720, 725, 730, Par. 0169]; and based on the one or more configuration parameters comprising the timing advance parameter configured to enable the timing advance measurement, by the wireless device, of the LTM candidate cell, skipping a random access procedure for an LTM cell switch [Fig 6 discloses based on enabling of TA measurement, skipping RACH when switch to cell 2].
As claim 2, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses switching to the LTM candidate cell, wherein the LTM cell switch command indicates that the wireless device is to switch from a serving cell to the LTM candidate cell [Fig 6B, Ref 685 discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available and RACH-less switching to cell 2].
As claim 3, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses the LTM cell switch command comprises a timing advance command value, and wherein the timing advance command value indicates, by being set to a predefined value, that no valid timing adjustment is available for the timing advance group of the LTM candidate cell [Par. 0170 disclose predefined value for NO TA is zero].
As claim 5, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses the receiving the LTM cell switch command comprises receiving an LTM cell switch command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) [Fig 6B, Ref 685].
As claim 6, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses performing the LTM cell switch and applying a timing advance value that is based on one or more measurements by the wireless device [Par. 0169-0170 disclosed UE obtains and applies TA].
As claim 7, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses the skipping the random access procedure for the LTM cell switch is further based on the LTM cell switch command comprising the indication that no value timing adjustment is available for the timing advance group of the LTM candidate cell [Par. 0169-0170, TA is set to zero and RACH-less is set to true].
As claim 8, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more configuration parameters comprising a timing advance parameter configured to enable a timing advance measurement, by the wireless device, of a candidate cell [Fig 6A, Ref 660 disclose UE receiving parameter that indicates enabling TA measurement for the candidate cells]; receiving a cell switch command comprising an indication that no valid timing adjustment is available for a timing advance group of the candidate cell [Fig 6B, Ref 685 discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available and need RACH-less switching to cell 2, Par. 0011-0014, 0130, 0134, 0148-0149, Fig 7, Ref 720, 725, 730, Par. 0169]; skipping a random access procedure for a cell switch associated with the cell switch command, wherein the skipping is based on: the indication that no valid timing adjustment is available for a timing advance group of the candidate cell [Fig 6B, Ref 685 discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available and need RACH-less switching to cell 2, Par. 0011-0014, 0130, 0134, 0148-0149, Fig 7, Ref 720, 725, 730, Par. 0169]; and the timing advance parameter being configured to enable the timing advance measurement, by the wireless device, of the candidate cell [Fig 6 discloses based on enabling of TA measurement, skipping RACH when switch to cell 2].
As claim 9, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses the candidate cell comprises a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) candidate cell, and wherein the cell switch command comprises an LTM cell switch command [Par. 0011-0014 discloses cells are LTM and LTM cell switch command].
As claim 10, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses the cell switch command indicates that the wireless device is to switch from a serving cell to the candidate cell [Fig 6B, Ref 685].
As claim 11, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses the cell switch command comprises a timing advance command value, and wherein the timing advance command value indicates, by being set to a predefined value, that no valid timing adjustment is available for the timing advance group of the candidate cell [Par. 0170 disclose predefined value for NO TA is zero].
As claim 12, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses the receiving the cell switch command comprises receiving a cell switch command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) [Fig 6B, Ref 685 discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available and RACH-less switching to cell 2].
As claim 13, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses performing the cell switch by applying a timing advance value that is based on one or more measurements by the wireless device [Par. 0169-0170 disclosed UE obtains and applies TA].
As claim 14, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses the skipping the random access procedure for the cell switch is further based on the cell switch command comprising the indication that no value timing adjustment is available for the timing advance group of the candidate cell [Par. 0169-0170, TA is set to zero and RACH-less is set to true].
As claim 15, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more configuration parameters comprising a timing advance parameter configured to enable a timing advance measurement, by the wireless device, of a candidate cell [Fig 6A, Ref 660 disclose UE receiving parameter that indicates enabling TA measurement for the candidate cells]; receiving a cell switch command comprising an indication that no valid timing adjustment is available for a timing advance group of the candidate cell [Fig 6B, Ref 685 discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available and need RACH-less switching to cell 2, Par. 0011-0014, 0130, 0134, 0148-0149, Fig 7, Ref 720, 725, 730, Par. 0169]; switching from a serving cell of the wireless device to the candidate cell without performing a random access procedure, wherein the switching without performing the random access procedure is based on: the indication that no valid timing adjustment is available for a timing advance group of the candidate cell[Fig 6B, Ref 685 discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available and need RACH-less switching to cell 2, Par. 0011-0014, 0130, 0134, 0148-0149, Fig 7, Ref 720, 725, 730, Par. 0169]; and the timing advance parameter being configured to enable the timing advance measurement, by the wireless device, of the candidate cell [Fig 6 discloses based on enabling of TA measurement, skipping RACH when switch to cell 2].
As claim 16, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses the candidate cell comprises a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) candidate cell, and wherein the cell switch command comprises an LTM cell switch command [Fig 6B, Ref 685 discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available and RACH-less switching to cell 2].
As claim 17, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses the switching without performing the random access procedure comprises at least one of: refraining from initiating the random access procedure; or refraining from transmitting a random access preamble associated with the random access procedure [Fig 6B, Ref 695].
As claim 18, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses the cell switch command comprises a timing advance command value, and wherein the timing advance command value indicates, by being set to a predefined value, that no valid timing adjustment is available for the timing advance group of the candidate cell [Par. 0170 disclose predefined value for NO TA is zero].
As claim 20, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses performing the cell switch by applying a timing advance value that is based on one or more measurements by the wireless device [Par. 0169-0170 disclosed UE obtains and applies TA].
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a2] as being anticipated by Prasad [US 2025/0234257].
As claim 1, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more configuration parameters comprising a timing advance parameter configured to enable a timing advance measurement, by the wireless device, of a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) candidate cell [Fig 21, 22, Ref config of discloses UE receiving parameter that indicates enabling TA measurement for the candidate cells]; receiving an LTM cell switch command comprising an indication that no valid timing adjustment is available for a timing advance group of the LTM candidate cell [Fig 21, 22, MAC CE discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available]; and based on the one or more configuration parameters comprising the timing advance parameter configured to enable the timing advance measurement, by the wireless device, of the LTM candidate cell, skipping a random access procedure for an LTM cell switch [Fig 21, 22 discloses based on enabling of TA measurement, skipping RACH when switch to cell 1 from cell 0, LTM completion].
As claim 2, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses switching to the LTM candidate cell, wherein the LTM cell switch command indicates that the wireless device is to switch from a serving cell to the LTM candidate cell [Fig 21, 22 discloses the cell switch command indicates UE to switch from cell 0 to cell 1].
As claim 3, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses the LTM cell switch command comprises a timing advance command value, and wherein the timing advance command value indicates, by being set to a predefined value, that no valid timing adjustment is available for the timing advance group of the LTM candidate cell [Fig 21, 22 discloses predefined value for NO TA is zero].
As claim 5, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses the receiving the LTM cell switch command comprises receiving an LTM cell switch command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) [Fig 21-22, MAC-CE is LTM].
As claim 6, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses performing the LTM cell switch and applying a timing advance value that is based on one or more measurements by the wireless device [Fig 21-22 disclosed UE obtains and applies TA when send LTM completion].
As claim 7, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses the skipping the random access procedure for the LTM cell switch is further based on the LTM cell switch command comprising the indication that no value timing adjustment is available for the timing advance group of the LTM candidate cell [Fig 21, 22, MAC CE discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available].
As claim 8, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more configuration parameters comprising a timing advance parameter configured to enable a timing advance measurement, by the wireless device, of a candidate cell [Fig 21, 22, Ref config of discloses UE receiving parameter that indicates enabling TA measurement for the candidate cells]; receiving a cell switch command comprising an indication that no valid timing adjustment is available for a timing advance group of the candidate cell [Fig 21, 22, MAC CE discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available]; skipping a random access procedure for a cell switch associated with the cell switch command, wherein the skipping is based on: the indication that no valid timing adjustment is available for a timing advance group of the candidate cell [Fig 21, 22, MAC CE discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available, skipping RACH when switch to cell 1 from cell 0, LTM completion]; and the timing advance parameter being configured to enable the timing advance measurement, by the wireless device, of the candidate cell [Fig 21, 22 discloses based on enabling of TA measurement, skipping RACH when switch to cell 1 from cell 0, LTM completion].
As claim 9, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses the candidate cell comprises a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) candidate cell, and wherein the cell switch command comprises an LTM cell switch command [Fig 21-22 discloses MAC-CE is LTM].
As claim 10, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses the cell switch command indicates that the wireless device is to switch from a serving cell to the candidate cell [Fig 21, 22 discloses the cell switch command indicates UE to switch from cell 0 to cell 1].
As claim 11, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses the cell switch command comprises a timing advance command value, and wherein the timing advance command value indicates, by being set to a predefined value, that no valid timing adjustment is available for the timing advance group of the candidate cell [Fig 21-22, MAC-CE discloses predefined value for NO TA is zero].
As claim 12, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses the receiving the cell switch command comprises receiving a cell switch command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) [Fig 21-22, MAC-CE discloses NO TA].
As claim 13, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses performing the cell switch by applying a timing advance value that is based on one or more measurements by the wireless device [Fig 21-22 disclosed UE obtains and applies TA when send LTM completion].
As claim 14, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses the skipping the random access procedure for the cell switch is further based on the cell switch command comprising the indication that no value timing adjustment is available for the timing advance group of the candidate cell [Fig 21-22, MAC-CE discloses NO TA, switch from cell 0 to cell 1 and send complete LTM, RACH-LESS].
As claim 15, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more configuration parameters comprising a timing advance parameter configured to enable a timing advance measurement, by the wireless device, of a candidate cell [Fig 21, 22, Ref config of discloses UE receiving parameter that indicates enabling TA measurement for the candidate cells]; receiving a cell switch command comprising an indication that no valid timing adjustment is available for a timing advance group of the candidate cell [Fig 21-22discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available]; switching from a serving cell of the wireless device to the candidate cell without performing a random access procedure, wherein the switching without performing the random access procedure is based on: the indication that no valid timing adjustment is available for a timing advance group of the candidate cell [Fig 21-22 discloses the cell switch command indicates No TA available, the UE switch from cell 0 to cell without RACH]; and the timing advance parameter being configured to enable the timing advance measurement, by the wireless device, of the candidate cell [Fig 21-22 discloses based on enabling of TA measurement, skipping RACH when switch to cell 1 from cell 0, LTM completion].
As claim 16, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses the candidate cell comprises a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) candidate cell, and wherein the cell switch command comprises an LTM cell switch command [Fig 21-22, MAC-CE command].
As claim 17, Prasad [US 2025/0234257] discloses the switching without performing the random access procedure comprises at least one of: refraining from initiating the random access procedure; or refraining from transmitting a random access preamble associated with the random access procedure [Fig 21-22, UE switches from cell 0 to cell 1 without rach LTM completion].
As claim 18, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses the cell switch command comprises a timing advance command value, and wherein the timing advance command value indicates, by being set to a predefined value, that no valid timing adjustment is available for the timing advance group of the candidate cell [Fig 21-22, MAC-CE discloses predefined value for NO TA is zero].
As claim 20, Jin [US 2025/0031109] discloses performing the cell switch by applying a timing advance value that is based on one or more measurements by the wireless device [Fig 21-22 disclosed UE obtains and applies TA for sending LTM].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin [US 2025/0031109] or Prasad [US 2025/0234257] in view of Lai [US 2025/0048384].
As claims 4 and 19, Jin [US 2025/0031109] fails to disclose what Lai [US 2025/0048384] discloses the predefined value is a hexa-decimal value corresponding to FFF [Par. 0243-0249].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising a predefined value is FFF as disclosed by Lai into the teaching of Karabulut or Prasad. The motivation would have been to reduce processing time.
Conclusion
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414