DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 3/17/2026, which are in response to USPTO Office Action mailed 1/07/2026. Applicant’s arguments have been considered with the results that follow: THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2 and 13-17 are currently pending in the present application. Claims 3-12 and 18-20 are currently cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day et al. (US PGPUB No. 2005/0081210; Pub. Date: Apr. 14, 2005) in view of Bradbury et al. (US PGPUB No.: 2015/0277908; Pub. Date: Oct. 1, 2015).
Regarding independent claim 1,
Day discloses a computing device of a plurality of computing devices of a store and compute storage cluster of a database system compris[ing]: a3nd a second node of the plurality of nodes operates in accordance with a database operating system (OS), See FIG. 1 & Paragraph [0029], (Disclosing a system for dynamically adjusting resource allocation in a computer system during execution of a database query. Computer 10 of FIG. 1 operates under the control of operating system OS 26 which incorporates a resource manager 32 for managing allocation of resources in computer 10, i.e. and a second node of the plurality of nodes operates in accordance with a database OS (e.g. OS 26 executes various software applications for executing queries via DBMS 28 and facilitating resource allocation for executing said queries).)
wherein the second node includes a second set of processing core resources and a second set of memory devices, and wherein a memory device of the second set of memory devices stores a segment of data of a dataset; See FIG. 1, FIG. 4 & Paragraph [0058], (Computer 10 of FIG. 1 comprises memory 14 which includes DBMS 28 and OS 26 which further comprises resource manager 32 for managing memory allocation requests as illustrated in FIG. 4. FIG. 4 illustrates the method of processing an incoming allocation request at step 100 which comprises managing a number of threads of a memory pool, i.e. wherein the second node includes a second set of processing core resources and a second set of memory devices) See Paragraph [0026], (FIG. 1 illustrates computer 10 comprising memory 14 which includes mass storage 16 comprising a database 30. Note [0034] wherein database engine 44 executes query plans against information in database 30, i.e. wherein a memory device of the second set of memory devices stores a segment of data of a dataset;)
and a main memory that is divided into a computing device memory section and a database memory section, See FIG. 1, (FIG. 1 illustrates computer 10 comprising memory 14 which includes DBMS 28 and operating system (OS) 26, i.e. a main memory that is divided into a computing device memory section and a database memory section)
wherein, when the second node receives an operation of a query for execution regarding at least a portion of the segment of data, the computing device is operable to: determine an amount of memory of the database memory section to allocate to the second node based on at least a portion of a query plan regarding the operation of the query; See FIG. 3, (FIG. 3 illustrates a query execution method comprising step 60 of processing an incoming query including generating a number "N" potential access plans at step 62. At step 90, query optimizer 42 formulates an allocation request necessary to execute a query access plan that specifies an amount of memory necessary to execute the query execution plan.) See FIG. 4 & Paragraph [0035], (FIG. 4 illustrates a resource allocation process executed in response to allocation request 54 from query optimizer 42. Allocation requests are passed to resource manager 32 which handles the granting or denial of each allocation request, i.e. wherein, when the second node receives an operation of a query for execution regarding at least a portion of the segment of data (e.g. computer 10 receives a query for execution at step 60 of FIG. 3), the computing device is operable to: determine an amount of memory of the database memory section to allocate to the second node based on at least a portion of a query plan regarding the operation of the query (e.g. a resource allocation request is made as part of query execution. A resource manager may approve an allocation request which provides execution resources for executing the query.);)
and allocate the amount of memory to the second node to support the execution of the operation of the query. See FIG. 4 & Paragraphs [0059]-[0060, (FIG. 4 illustrates the method comprising step 106 of granting an allocation request and allocating the required memory from the one or more memory pools to a current pool for the duration of the query, i.e. allocate the amount of memory to the second node to support the execution of the operation of the query.)
Day does not disclose the step wherein a first node of the plurality of nodes operates in accordance with a computing device operating system (OS);
wherein the first node includes a first set of processing core resources and a first set of memory devices, wherein the computing device memory section is only accessed in accordance with the computing device OS, and the database memory section is only accessed in accordance with the database OS,
Bradbury discloses the step wherein a first node of the plurality of nodes operates in accordance with a computing device operating system (OS); See FIG. 1 & Paragraph [0041], (Disclosing a system relating to multithreading in a computer. FIG. 1 illustrates a computing environment 100 comprising hypervisor 108 which allows the system to manage multiple operating systems in isolation from one another.) See Paragraph [0032], (Processor complex 102 may include one or more logical partitions LP1-LPn, one or more physical cores 106 and a level-0 hypervisor 108 acting as a logical partition manager. FIG. 1 illustrates logical partitions as having an associated operating system 110, i.e. wherein a first node of the plurality of nodes operates in accordance with a computing device operation system (OS);)
wherein the first node includes a first set of processing core resources and a first set of memory devices, See Paragraphs [0032]-[0033] & [0035], (FIG. 1 illustrates processor complex 102 including one or more logical partitions LP1-LPn 104, one or more physical cores 106 and a logical partition manager 108, i.e. wherein the first node includes a first set of processing core resources and a first set of memory devices.)
wherein the computing device memory section is only accessed in accordance with the computing device OS, and the database memory section is only accessed in accordance with the database OS, See FIG. 1 & Paragraph [0041], (Disclosing a system relating to multithreading in a computer. FIG. 1 illustrates a computing environment 100 comprising hypervisor 108 which allows the system to manage multiple operating systems in isolation from one another.) See Paragraphs [0032]-[0033] & [0035], (FIG. 1 illustrates processor complex 102 including one or more logical partitions LP1-LPn 104, one or more physical cores 106 and a logical partition manager 108. Logical partitions 104 and hypervisor 108 comprise programs residing in respective portions of memory associated with physical cores 106. Each operating system may only access the portion of memory allocated to it, i.e. wherein the computing device memory section is only accessed in accordance with the computing device OS, and the database memory section is only accessed in accordance with the database OS.)
Day and Bradbury are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, memory architectures. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Day to include the method of partitioning a memory for a plurality of isolated operating systems as disclosed by Bradbury. Paragraph [0033] of Bradbury discloses that the method of isolating partitions allows for several partitions to operate on a single or multiple physical cores 106 in a time-sliced manner such that the logical partitions do not interfere with each other.
Regarding dependent claim 2,
As discussed above with claim 1, Day-Bradbury discloses all of the limitations.
Day further the computing device comprising disk memory. See Paragraph [0028], (Computer 10 includes one or more mass storage devices 16 which may be embodied as at least: a floppy or other removable disk drive, a hard disk drive, a direct access storage device (DASD), an optical drive (e.g., a CD drive, a DVD drive, etc.), and/or a tape drive, i.e. the computing device comprising disk memory (e.g. such as a hard disk drive).)
Regarding dependent claim 13,
As discussed above with claim 2, Day-Bradbury discloses all of the limitations.
Day further discloses the step wherein the disk memory comprises one or more of: solid state memory; disk drive memory; and non-volatile flash memory. See Paragraph [0028], (Computer 10 includes one or more mass storage devices 16 which may be embodied as at least: a floppy or other removable disk drive, a hard disk drive, a direct access storage device (DASD), an optical drive (e.g., a CD drive, a DVD drive, etc.), and/or a tape drive, i.e. wherein the disk memory comprises one or more of: disk drive memory (e.g. such as a hard disk drive).)
Regarding dependent claim 14,
As discussed above with claim 1, Day-Bradbury discloses all of the limitations.
Day further discloses the step wherein a processing core resource of one of the first set of processing core resources or the second sets of processing core resources includes a network interface module. See Paragraph [0028], (Computer 10 may include an interface 24 for communicating with one or more networks 22 to permit the communication of information with other computers and electronic device, i.e. wherein a processing core resource of one of the first set of processing core resources or the second sets of processing core resources includes a network interface module (e.g. computer 10 includes processor resources, memory, storage, etc. including a network interface).)
Regarding dependent claim 15,
As discussed above with claim 1, Day-Bradbury discloses all of the limitations.
Day further discloses the step wherein a processing core resource of one of the first set of processing core resources or the second sets of processing core resources includes a memory interface module. See Paragraph [0024], (The system may adjust allocation of a number of types of resources of a computer system such as: memory resources, processor resources, I/O resources and storage resources accessible to a computer. The process of allocating resources includes allocating memory from one or more memory pools used to execute queries, i.e. wherein a processing core resource of one of the first set of processing core resources or the second sets of processing core resources includes a memory interface module.)
Regarding dependent claim 16,
As discussed above with claim 1, Day-Bradbury discloses all of the limitations.
Day further discloses the step wherein a processing core resource of one of the first set of processing core resources or the second sets of processing core resources includes a processing module. See Paragraph [0024], (The system may adjust allocation of a number of types of resources of a computer system such as: memory resources, processor resources, I/O resources and storage resources accessible to a computer, i.e. wherein a processing core resource of one of the first set of processing core resources or the second sets of processing core resources includes a processing module (e.g. the system may adjust allocation of processing resources such as a thread of a memory pool as described in [0058]).)
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day in view of Bradbury as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Frank et al. (US PGPUB No. 2016/0210238; Pub. Date: Jul. 21, 2016).
Regarding dependent claim 13,
As discussed above with claim 1, Day-Bradbury discloses all of the limitations.
Day-Bradbury does not disclose the step wherein a processing core resource of one of the first set of processing core resources or the second sets of processing core resources includes a cache memory.
Frank discloses the step wherein a processing core resource of one of the first set of processing core resources or the second sets of processing core resources includes a cache memory. See FIG. 3 & Paragraph [0077], (FIG. 3 illustrates system 300 comprising a processing unit 304 having a plurality of sub-processing units 332, 334 comprising processing cores and caches, i.e. wherein a processing core resource of one of the first set of processing core resources or the second sets of processing core resources includes a cache memory.)
Day, Bradbury and Frank are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage and retrieval. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Day-Bradbury to include the processing units comprising caches as disclosed by Frank. Paragraph [0129] of Frank discloses that the use of distributed indices and caching enable a significant reduction in bandwidth requirements.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day in view of Bradbury as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ford et al. (US PGPUB No. 2017/0041296; Pub. Date: Feb. 9, 2017).
Regarding dependent claim 13,
As discussed above with claim 1, Day-Bradbury discloses all of the limitations.
Day-Bradbury does not disclose the step wherein the application comprises a bulk load application.
Ford discloses the step wherein the application comprises a bulk load application. See Paragraph [0516], (Disclosing a system for improving secure exchanges of data for a federated search facility. A search facility or search service may be provided wherein the search process may be performed by a data node. A data node may provide bulk load and archiving facilities that enable exporting and importing data.)
Day, Bradbury and Ford are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage and retrieval. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Day-Bradbury to include the bulk load processes that may be performed by data nods as disclosed by Ford. Paragraph [0516] of Ford discloses that that the bulk load and archive processing enables exporting and importing data such that a complete set of data may be reconstituted in its entirety including historical information.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendments have modified the scope of the claimed invention and therefore necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office Action.
Applicant’s cancellation of claims 18-20 is acknowledged. The corresponding rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FMMV/Examiner, Art Unit 2159 /ALBERT M PHILLIPS, III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159