DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norquist et al. (US 2020/0298388) in view of Weigand (US Patent No. 4,842,249).
Claim 1:
Norquist teaches a crimping head (at least figures 1 and 7A-C) coupled to a hydraulic power unit (100), the crimping head comprising: a clevis (108) having a first arm (602) and a second arm (604) defining a gap therebetween in which a workpiece to be crimped is positioned, a nest (700) having a first end (702) pivotably coupled to the first arm with a first pin (706) and an opposite, second end (704) selectively coupled to the second arm (604) with a second pin (708) to rigidly affix the nest to the clevis, a first bore in the first arm (para. [0080]; figures 7), the first pin being received within the first bore for relative rotation therewith (para. [0080]; figures 7), and a second bore in the second arm (para. [0081]; figures 7), the second pin being selectively received within the second bore (paras. [0081]-[0090]; figures 7).
Norquist does not explicitly teach a first sleeve received within a first bore in the first arm, the first pin being received within the first sleeve for relative rotation therewith, and a second sleeve received within a second bore in the second arm, the second pin being selectively received within the second sleeve, wherein a hardness of the first and second sleeves is greater than a hardness of the clevis.
Weigand teaches inserting sleeves (60, 80) within the bores of a clamping tool (20) (see figures 1-7) which sleeves receive respective pins (66, 102), wherein a hardness of the sleeve is greater than a hardness of the tool arm (24) (sleeves 60, 80 made of hardened steel; arm 24 made of aluminum alloy).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated sleeves formed of material harder than the bore for receiving the pins, as taught by Weigand, in the crimping head of Norquist in order to provide sufficient strength and hardness to the bore to provide the necessary crimping force while enabling the body of the tool to be formed of a more ductile and resilient material to promote greater tool life.
Claim 2:
Norquist teaches that the first pin (706) includes a first end (top, figure 7B) and an opposite, second end (bottom), wherein the first pin includes a radially outward extending flange at the first end engaged with the first arm (figure 7B), wherein the first pin includes a circumferential groove at the second end (bottom figure 7B) in which a retaining clip (figure 1 shows a clip on the fixed pin, 124) is received, and wherein the flange and retaining clip, collectively, axially retain the first pin within the first bore (figures 1 and 7).
Claim 3:
Norquist teaches a quick-release latch (726) selectively locking the second pin within the second bore.
Claim 4:
Norquist teaches that the quick-release latch is movable between a locked position, in which the second pin is axially retained within the second bore, and a release position, in which the second pin is removable from the second bore to permit the nest to pivot about the first pin away from the clevis (paras. [0082]-[0090]).
Claim 5:
Norquist teaches that the quick-release latch is pivotable between the locked position and the release position, and wherein the quick-release latch is biased towards the locked position (paras. [0082]-[0090]).
Claim 6:
Norquist teaches a spring biasing the second pin out of the second bore to facilitate removal of the second pin from the second bore when the quick-release latch is in the release position (paras. [0082]-[0090]).
Claim 7:
Norquist, as modified by Weigand, teaches that each of the first and second sleeves is made from steel, and wherein the clevis is made from Aluminum (Weigand; sleeves 60, 80 made of hardened steel; arm 24 made of aluminum alloy).
Claim 8:
Weigand teaches that the pins (66) are made from steel (c. 2, l. 61-64). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the hardened steel pins of Weigand as the material for the pins in the device of Norquist since Norquist is silent as to the material of the pins and Weigand teaches that hardened steel is suitable in the context of clamping and compression tools with pinned connections.
Claim 9:
Norquist teaches a hydraulic power tool (figures 1 and 7A-C) comprising: a hydraulic power unit (100); and a crimping head coupled to the hydraulic power unit, the crimping head including a clevis (108) having a first arm (602) and a second arm (604) defining a gap therebetween in which a workpiece to be crimped is positioned, a nest (700) having a first end (702) pivotably coupled to the first arm with a first pin (706) and an opposite, second end (704) selectively coupled to the second arm (604) with a second pin (708) to rigidly affix the nest to the clevis, a first bore in the first arm (para. [0080]; figures 7), the first pin being received within the first bore for relative rotation therewith (para. [0080]; figures 7), and a second bore in the second arm (para. [0081]; figures 7), the second pin being selectively received within the second bore (paras. [0081]-[0090]; figures 7)..
Norquist does not explicitly teach a first sleeve received within a first bore in the first arm, the first pin being received within the first sleeve for relative rotation therewith, and a second sleeve received within a second bore in the second arm, the second pin being selectively received within the second sleeve, wherein a hardness of the first and second sleeves is greater than a hardness of the clevis.
Weigand teaches inserting sleeves (60, 80) within the bores of a clamping tool (20) (see figures 1-7) which sleeves receive respective pins (66, 102), wherein a hardness of the sleeve is greater than a hardness of the tool arm (24) (sleeves 60, 80 made of hardened steel; arm 24 made of aluminum alloy).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated sleeves formed of material harder than the bore for receiving the pins, as taught by Weigand, in the crimping head of Norquist in order to provide sufficient strength and hardness to the bore to provide the necessary crimping force while enabling the body of the tool to be formed of a more ductile and resilient material to promote greater tool life.
Claim 10:
Norquist teaches that the first pin (706) includes a first end (top, figure 7B) and an opposite, second end (bottom), wherein the first pin includes a radially outward extending flange at the first end engaged with the first arm (figure 7B), wherein the first pin includes a circumferential groove at the second end (bottom figure 7B) in which a retaining clip (figure 1 shows a clip on the fixed pin, 124) is received, and wherein the flange and retaining clip, collectively, axially retain the first pin within the first bore (figures 1 and 7).
Claim 11:
Norquist teaches a quick-release latch (726) selectively locking the second pin within the second bore.
Claim 12:
Norquist teaches that the quick-release latch is movable between a locked position, in which the second pin is axially retained within the second bore, and a release position, in which the second pin is removable from the second bore to permit the nest to pivot about the first pin away from the clevis (paras. [0082]-[0090]).
Claim 13:
Norquist teaches that the quick-release latch is pivotable between the locked position and the release position, and wherein the quick-release latch is biased towards the locked position (paras. [0082]-[0090]).
Claim 14:
Norquist teaches that the crimping head further comprises a spring biasing the second pin out of the second bore to facilitate removal of the second pin from the second bore when the quick-release latch is in the release position (paras. [0082]-[0090]).
Claim 15:
Norquist, as modified by Weigand, teaches that each of the first and second sleeves is made from steel, and wherein the clevis is made from Aluminum (Weigand; sleeves 60, 80 made of hardened steel; arm 24 made of aluminum alloy).
Claim 16:
Weigand teaches that the pins (66) are made from steel (c. 2, l. 61-64). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the hardened steel pins of Weigand as the material for the pins in the device of Norquist since Norquist is silent as to the material of the pins and Weigand teaches that hardened steel is suitable in the context of clamping and compression tools with pinned connections.
Claim 17:
Weigand teaches that the first sleeve is removably coupled to the first bore and the second sleeve is removably coupled to the second bore (figures 1-7).
Claim 18:
Norquist teaches a hydraulic power tool (figures 1 and 7A-C) comprising: a hydraulic power unit (100); and a crimping head coupled to the hydraulic power unit, the crimping head including a clevis (108) having a first arm (602) and a second arm (604) defining a gap therebetween in which a workpiece to be crimped is positioned, a nest (700) having a first end (702) pivotably coupled to the first arm with a first pin (706) and an opposite, second end (704) selectively coupled to the second arm (604) with a second pin (708) to rigidly affix the nest to the clevis, a first bore in the first arm (para. [0080]; figures 7), the first pin being received within the first bore for relative rotation therewith (para. [0080]; figures 7), and a second bore in the second arm (para. [0081]; figures 7), the second pin being selectively received within the second bore (paras. [0081]-[0090]; figures 7).
Norquist does not explicitly teach a first sleeve received within a first bore in the first arm, a second sleeve received within a second bore in the second arm, a third sleeve received within the first bore opposite the first sleeve, and a fourth sleeve received within the second bore opposite the second sleeve, wherein the first pin is received within both the first sleeve and the third sleeve for relative rotation therewith, wherein the second pin is slidably received within both the second sleeve and the fourth sleeve, and wherein a hardness of the first, second, third, and fourth sleeves is greater than a hardness of the clevis.
Weigand teaches inserting sleeves (60, 80) within the bores of a clamping tool (20) (see figures 1-7) which sleeves receive respective pins (66, 102), wherein a hardness of the sleeve is greater than a hardness of the tool arm (24) (sleeves 60, 80 made of hardened steel; arm 24 made of aluminum alloy).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated sleeves formed of material harder than the bore for receiving the pins, as taught by Weigand, in the crimping head of Norquist in order to provide sufficient strength and hardness to the bore to provide the necessary crimping force while enabling the body of the tool to be formed of a more ductile and resilient material to promote greater tool life.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide each of the bores with either a single sleeve, as explicitly shown in Weigand, or a pair of sleeves since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements, and/or mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179; St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Here, the provision of pairs of sleeves would allow the sleeves to be inserted from opposite sides of the bore thereby significantly reducing the distance that the sleeves would need to be pressed in order to be fully inserted.
Claim 19:
Norquist, as modified by Weigand, teaches that each of the sleeves is made from steel, and wherein the clevis is made from Aluminum (Weigand; sleeves 60, 80 made of hardened steel; arm 24 made of aluminum alloy). Weigand further teaches that the pins (66) are made from steel (c. 2, l. 61-64). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the hardened steel pins of Weigand as the material for the pins in the device of Norquist since Norquist is silent as to the material of the pins and Weigand teaches that hardened steel is suitable in the context of clamping and compression tools with pinned connections.
Claim 20:
Norquist teaches that the crimping head further comprises a quick-release latch (726) selectively locking the second pin within the second bore, wherein the first pin (706) includes a first end (top, figure 7B) and an opposite, second end (bottom), wherein the first pin includes a radially outward extending flange at the first end engaged with the first arm (figure 7B), wherein the first pin includes a circumferential groove at the second end (bottom figure 7B) in which a retaining clip (figure 1 shows a clip on the fixed pin, 124) is received, and wherein the flange and retaining clip, collectively, axially retain the first pin within the first bore (figures 1 and 7).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834