DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The Specification states at [0154] that preparative examples 2 – 17 are prepared by varying the diameter and quantity of silica particles added to the charge transport layer “according to Table 1”, and by varying the temperature at which the coating film is dried. However, Table 1 (page 31) reflects no values for the diameter of silica particles, amount of silica particles added to the charge transport layer, or the temperature at which the coating film is dried. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kigoshi et al (US PGP 2020/0012205).
Kigoshi teaches an electrophotographic photoreceptor comprising at least a conductive substrate, a charge generating layer, a charge transport layer, and an inorganic protective layer (Abstract). Kigoshi teaches that the charge transport layer contains a charge transport material, a binder resin, and silica particles, which read on inorganic oxide particles ([0113]). The silica particles function as a reinforcing material for the charge transport layer ([0122]). Kigoshi teaches that the silica particle may make up 30 – 70% by mass of the entire charge transport layer ([0123]). The volume-average diameter of the silica particles may be in the range of 20 – 200 nm ([0129]). The silica particles may be hydrophobized by surface-treatment with HMDS ([0131] – [0134]). Kigoshi describes a method of forming the charge transport layer, which includes forming a coating film from a solution of the components of the charge transport layer in a solvent and heating the film to dry it ([0155]).
In a preparative example, Kigoshi describes preparation of a film-formation solution by mixing hydrophobized silica particles, a charge transport compound, and a binder resin in tetrahydrofuran (THF), such that the silica particles make up 65% by mass of the charge transport layer components ([0287]). The film-formation solution is applied to a charge generating layer and dried at 135°C for 40 minutes, resulting in a charge transport layer having a thickness of 30 µm ([0288]).
The charge transport layer of instant preparative example 1 is prepared by a substantially similar method (Specification, [0150]), wherein silica particles make up 65% by mass of the charge transport layer components in the film-forming solution. That preparative example possesses values for A and B (the cross-section surface area of the silica particles in the surface level and the inner level, respectively) such that A is greater than B.
Where the charge transport layer of Kigoshi’s preparative example photoreceptor is prepared from substantially similar materials by a substantially similar method to the instant example mentioned above, such a photoreceptor would necessarily possess similar values for A and B. Therefore, in preparing the photoreceptor of Kigoshi, one of ordinary skill in the art would have necessarily prepared a charge transport layer possessing values for A and B such that A is greater than B, satisfying Claim 1.
Instant preparative example 1 possesses a value for the difference A – B of 16%. Where the charge transport layer of Kigoshi’s preparative example photoreceptor is prepared from substantially similar materials by a substantially similar method to instant preparative example 1, the photoreceptor of Kigoshi would necessarily possess a roughly similar value for the difference A – B, satisfying Claim 2.
Kigoshi teaches a variety of solvents which may be used to prepare the film-forming solution ([0156]). In preparing the photoreceptor of Kigoshi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the silica particles content of the charge transport layer (discussed above) and the solvent used for the film-forming solution, as taught by Kigoshi. In the course of routine experimentation, one of ordinary skill in the art also would have varied the time and temperature in the step of drying the charge transport film. This would result in variation of the values of A, B, and the difference A – B, such that the photoreceptor of Kigoshi possessed values satisfying Claim 3, Claim 4, and Claim 5.
Instant preparative example 1 possesses a value for the optical transmittance of the charge transport layer of 86%. Where the charge transport layer of Kigoshi’s preparative example photoreceptor is prepared from substantially similar materials by a substantially similar method to instant preparative example 1, the photoreceptor of Kigoshi would necessarily possess a roughly similar value for the optical transmittance of the charge transport layer, satisfying Claim 6.
Instant preparative example 1 possesses a value for the Young’s modulus of the charge transport layer of 18. Where the charge transport layer of Kigoshi’s preparative example photoreceptor is prepared from substantially similar materials by a substantially similar method to instant preparative example 1, the photoreceptor of Kigoshi would necessarily possess a roughly similar value for the Young’s modulus of the charge transport layer, satisfying Claim 7.
As discussed above, Kigoshi teaches inclusion of silica particles in the charge transport layer, satisfying Claim 8.
Kigoshi teaches that the inorganic protective layer is preferably formed of gallium oxide ([0176] – [0179]), satisfying Claim 9 and Claim 10.
Kigoshi teaches a process cartridge which is detachably attached to an image forming apparatus, and which comprises the electrophotographic photoreceptor described above ([0256]), satisfying Claims 11 – 19.
Kigoshi teaches an image forming apparatus comprising the electrophotographic photoreceptor described above; a charging unit; an image forming unit; a developing unit; and a transfer unit ([0252]), satisfying Claim 20.
Conclusion
/GRANT STEVEN SEILER/Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 09/09/2026