DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 2, “disposed on the at least one” should read “disposed on at least one”.
Claim 3, line 3, “connection portion and the at least one” should read “connection portion and at least one”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1—4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Honda, et al. (JP 2022/124376 A).
Regarding claim 1, Honda, et al. teach a battery (paragraph 002) comprising an electrode laminated body (paragraph 0051—0052 and 0057), wherein: end-surface current collectors (item—11, 12, and 111, figure 11, paragraph 0066 and 0069; examiner notes in paragraph 0066 Honda, et al. teach a main surface/end surface [item—11 and 12] are facing away from each other and parallel to each other and in paragraph 0069 Honda, et al. teach a negative current collector [item—111] are aligned along the direction normal to the main surface) are disposed on both surfaces of the electrode laminated body in a lamination direction (figure 11, paragraph 0057 and 0066; examiner notes in paragraph 0057 Honda, et al. teach the lamination direction coincides with the direction normal to the main surface of the current collect and the active material layer and in paragraph 0069 Honda, et al. teach the direction perpendicular to the main surface [item—11 and 12] is the main surface normal direction); an internal current collector is laminated in an interior of the electrode laminated body (figure 11); the internal current collector includes a connection portion (item—123 and 113) that is drawn out from a side surface of the electrode laminated body (figure 11, paragraph 0068—0069; examiner notes in paragraph 0068 Honda, et al. the protrusions/connection portion [item—123] of the multiple positive current collectors [item—121] are aligned along the direction normal to the main surface and in paragraph 0069 Honda, et al. teach the protrusions/connection portion [item—113] of the multiple negative electrode current collectors [item—111] are aligned along the direction normal to the main surface); and the connection portion extends along the side surface of the electrode laminated body in the lamination direction, and is disposed on an identical surface to a surface on which at least one of the end-surface current collectors is disposed (figure 11).
Modified Figure 11 from Honda, et al.
Regarding claim 2, Honda, et al. further teach a plurality of the internal current collectors is laminated in the interior of the electrode laminated body (figure 11); and connection portions that are drawn out from the plurality of the internal current collectors are disposed at such positions that the connection portions do not overlap with each other in lamination-directional view (paragraph 0185, figure 13).
Modified Figure 13 from Honda, et al.
Regarding claim 3, Honda, et al. further teach the connection portion is disposed on at least one of the end-surface current collectors such that an end-surface insulation layer is interposed (item—21 and 22, figure 11, paragraph 0063, 0068, 0167); and the connection portion and at least one of the end-surface current collectors are insulated by the end-surface insulation layer (figure 11).
Modified Figure 11 from Honda, et al.
Regarding claim 4, Honda, et al. further teach a side-surface insulation layer is disposed on at least one of an extension portion and the side surface of the electrode laminated body (figure 11), the extension portion being a portion that is of the connection portion and that extends along the side surface of the electrode laminated body in the lamination direction (figure 11); and the connection portion and the side surface of the electrode laminated body are insulated by the side-surface insulation layer (figure 11).
Modified Figure 11 from Honda, et al.
Conclusion
/K.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783