DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s amendment of cancelation of claim(s) 1-22; and addition of claim(s) 23-43 in Applicant’s Response to Official Action dated 09/17/2026 (“Response”). Claims 23-43 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Based upon Applicant’s cancellation of Claims 1-22, the Examiner’s prior rejections of those claims is rendered moot.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “34” has been used to designate both the space between spirals on the roller (Fig. 5) and cracks in the stalks (Fig. 11). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 60’ (Fig. 5); 60” (Fig. 5); and 62’ (Fig. 5); 62” (Fig. 5). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-30, 32-36, 40 and 42-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 11,219,164 to Ehle (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 08/07/2024) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 5,282,352 to Schoolman (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 08/07/2024).
Regarding claim 23, Ehle discloses a snapping assembly for a corn harvester head (Abstract; Figs. 1, 6), the snapping assembly comprising:
a pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) mounted in side-by-side relation (see, e.g., Figs. 24-27),
each snapping roller (stalk roll 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) having longitudinal protrusions (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) adapted to grab plant stalks and to pull the plant stalks downwardly during a corn ear separating movement,
the longitudinal protrusions (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) being toothed or serrated and opposed to one another such that the longitudinal protrusions (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) of the each snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) approach each other and make contact with the plant stalks from opposite sides thereof (see Figs. 24-27) as said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) pull the stalk downwardly (see Figs. 24-27),
wherein the longitudinal protrusions (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) of said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) have respective tangential speeds that are equal (Abstract; Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; col. 7, lines 48-56).
However, Ehle does not expressly disclose that the pair of snapping rollers align against one another across a diameter of the stalk so as to pull the stalk downwardly.
Nevertheless, Schoolman teaches a snapping assembly wherein the pair of snapping rollers (snapping rolls 6) (Fig. 3; Col. 3, lines 10-20) align against one another (Fig. 3; Col. 3, lines 56-62) across a diameter of the stalk (see Fig. 3; Col. 3, lines 56-62; col. 4, lines 4-13) so as to pull the stalk downwardly. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the snapping assembly disclosed in Ehle with the aligned snapping rollers taught in Schoolman with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide “a superior result than the mere bending action on the stalk . . . because a crushed stalk will decompose more quickly over the winter months as is desired for no till farming,” (Col. 4, lines 8-13), and “[f]urther, the direct opposition of flutes on the two rollers causes a positive grip on the stalk, unlike the alternate engagement in the known prior art . . . [that] increases the opposing forces on the ear and stalk and strips the ear more cleanly from the stalk . . . [such that as] a result there is less trash or residue accompanying the ear in further processing,” as taught in Schoolman (Col. 4, lines 8-20). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the snapping assembly disclosed in Ehle with the aligned snapping rollers taught in Schoolman with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 24, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 23 (see above). Furthermore, Ehle discloses a snapping assembly wherein each snapping roller (stalk roll 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) has a longitudinal displacement relative to each other that is equal to one-half of a width of a tooth of the longitudinal protrusion such that the teeth of one roller (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) meshes with teeth (Abstract; Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 3, lines 49-50; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 8, line 29 to col. 9, line 2) of another roller (stalk roll 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48).
Regarding claim 25, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 23 (see above). However, neither Ehle nor Schoolman expressly discloses or teaches said pair of snapping rollers that is from one millimeter to three millimeters as measured parallel to a common axis of said pair of snapping rollers. Nevertheless, in cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. See MPEP 2144.05(III)(A). As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 26, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 24 (see above). However, neither Ehle nor Schoolman expressly discloses or teaches that distances between consecutive longitudinal protrusions are unequal. Nevertheless, in cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. See MPEP 2144.05(III)(A). As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 27, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 26 (see above). Furthermore, Ehle discloses a snapping assembly wherein the longitudinal projections (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) are paired to form pairs of projections (teeth on flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) on each snapping roller (stalk roll 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48), wherein the longitudinal protrusions (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) on one snapping roller (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) are separated by a distance less than the distance between different pairs of longitudinal projections (teeth on flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) on the snapping roller (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48).
Regarding claim 28, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 23 (see above). Furthermore, Ehle discloses a snapping assembly wherein said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) have flutes or blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) equidistant from each other (see Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35).
Regarding claim 29, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 23 (see above). Furthermore, Ehle discloses a snapping assembly comprising a plurality of consecutive toothed flutes or blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) on said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48), wherein the distances between consecutive toothed flutes or blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) of each roller (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) is such that the toothed blade (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) that has grabbed the stalk does not lose contact with said stalk before a tooth in next toothed blade (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) grabs and firmly pierces the stalk.
Regarding claim 30, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 23 (see above). Furthermore, Ehle discloses a snapping assembly wherein said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) have equal diameters (see Figs. 7-8, 24-27).
Regarding claim 32, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 23 (see above). Furthermore, Ehle discloses a snapping assembly wherein the longitudinal protrusions (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) have blades or flutes (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) with beveled and sharp edges (see Figs. 7-8, 10-27, 33-35).
Regarding claim 33, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 32 (see above). Furthermore, Ehle discloses a snapping assembly wherein the flutes or blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) are serrated and pointed (see Figs. 7-8, 10-27, 33-35).
Regarding claim 34, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 33 (see above). Furthermore, Ehle discloses a snapping assembly wherein the flutes or blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) have a succession of triangular teeth (see Figs. 7-8, 10-27, 33-35).
Regarding claim 35, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 27 (see above). Furthermore, Ehle discloses a snapping assembly wherein each snapping roller (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) has a cylindrical traction zone (elongated substantial cylindrical body 204, 304) (Fig. 7; Col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 9) which has a generally conical tip (frusto-conical nose 202, 302) (Fig. 7; Col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 9) at a front end of the snapping roller (stalk roll 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48), at least some portion of the flutes or blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) have smooth spiral helical projections (helical flights 206, 208, 306, 308) (Abstract; Fig. 7; Col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 9) without teeth (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 36, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 27 (see above). Furthermore, Ehle discloses a snapping assembly wherein the smooth spiral helical projections (helical flights 206, 208, 306, 308) (Abstract; Fig. 7; Col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 9) extend in proximity of a joint of the tip of the cylindrical traction zone (elongated substantial cylindrical body 204, 304) (Fig. 7; Col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 9) but without reaching the joint, the longitudinal protrusions (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) changing direction and continue longitudinally straight in a backward direction collinear with a first protrusion (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) of the pair of protrusions (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) of the cylindrical traction zone (elongated substantial cylindrical body 204, 304) (Fig. 7; Col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 9).
Regarding claim 40, Ehle discloses a corn harvester head (Abstract; Figs. 1, 6) having a plurality of row-units (Figs. 3-7) in which each row-unit has gathering chains (gathering chains 32, 34) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 1, line 55 to col. 2, line 2) mounted on top of a pair of deck plates (stripper plates 40, 42) (Figs. 5-6; Col. 1, line 55 to col. 2, line 2) having a passageway therebetween (see Fig. 6), wherein each row-unit of the plurality of row-units (Figs. 3-7) comprises:
a pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) mounted in side-by-side relation (see, e.g., Figs. 24-27) mounted respectively below the said pair of deck plates (stripper plates 40, 42) (Figs. 5-6; Col. 1, line 55 to col. 2, line 2),
wherein each snapping roller (stalk roll 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) having longitudinal protrusions (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) adapted to grab plant stalks and to pull the plant stalks downwardly during a corn ear separating movement (see Figs. 24-27),
the longitudinal protrusions (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) being toothed or serrated and opposed to one another such that the longitudinal protrusions (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) of the each snapping rollers of said pair of snapping rollers approach each other and make contact with the plant stalks from opposite sides thereof,
wherein the longitudinal protrusions (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) of said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) have respective tangential speeds that are equal (Abstract; Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; col. 7, lines 48-56).
However, Ehle does not expressly disclose that the pair of snapping rollers align against one another across a diameter of the stalk so as to pull the stalk downwardly.
Nevertheless, Schoolman teaches a snapping assembly wherein the pair of snapping rollers (snapping rolls 6) (Fig. 3; Col. 3, lines 10-20) align against one another (Fig. 3; Col. 3, lines 56-62) across a diameter of the stalk (see Fig. 3; Col. 3, lines 56-62; col. 4, lines 4-13) so as to pull the stalk downwardly. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the snapping assembly disclosed in Ehle with the aligned snapping rollers taught in Schoolman with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide “a superior result than the mere bending action on the stalk . . . because a crushed stalk will decompose more quickly over the winter months as is desired for no till farming,” (Col. 4, lines 8-13), and “[f]urther, the direct opposition of flutes on the two rollers causes a positive grip on the stalk, unlike the alternate engagement in the known prior art . . . [that] increases the opposing forces on the ear and stalk and strips the ear more cleanly from the stalk . . . [such that as] a result there is less trash or residue accompanying the ear in further processing,” as taught in Schoolman (Col. 4, lines 8-20). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the snapping assembly disclosed in Ehle with the aligned snapping rollers taught in Schoolman with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 42, Ehle discloses a method for cutting an ear from a corn plant during a harvest, the method comprising:
delivering the corn plant to a pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48),
each snapping roller (stalk roll 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of said pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) having longitudinal toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) that grab a plant stalk and pull the plant stalk downwardly during a corn ear separating movement,
wherein the longitudinal toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) having a pair of first toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) on each snapping roller (stalk roll 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of the pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) and a pair of second toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) on each snapping roller (stalk roll 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of the pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) and a pair of third toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) on each snapping roller (stalk roll 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of the pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48),
wherein the tooth blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) of the pair of first toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) and the pair of second toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) and the pair of third toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) are opposed to one another such that the longitudinal toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) of each snapping roller (stalk roll 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of the pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) approach each other and make contact with the plant stalk from opposite sides thereof,
wherein distances between consecutive toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) of each snapping roller (stalk roll 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) of the pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) are such that a toothed blade (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) that has grabbed the plant stalk does not lose contact with the plant stalk before a tooth in a subsequent toothed blade (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) grabs and pierces the plant stalk,
wherein tangential rotation speeds of opposed toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) are equal (Abstract; Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; col. 7, lines 48-56);
rotating the pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) with opposite rotational directions so as to move the pair of first toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) facing each other with a downwardly tangential velocity so as to contact and tighten the plant stalk and to sink the teeth into the plant stalk in order to pull the plant stalk downwardly; continually rotating the pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) so as to cause the pair of second toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) that face each other so as to sink the teeth into the plant stalk at a height greater than teeth of the pair of first toothed blades before the pair of first toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) lose contact and traction on the plant stalk so as to keep the plant stalk in a downward motion without losing continuity or fluidity in the downward motion such that if the plant stalk is cut at a height of contact with the pair of first toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15), then the pair of second toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) continue to pull downwardly on the plant stalk in a location above the cut; and
continuing to rotate the pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) so as to cause the pair of third toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) facing each other in the pair of snapping rollers (stalk rolls 200, 300) (Figs. 7-35; Col. 4, line 35 to col. 5, line 9; col. 5, lines 26-40; col. 6, lines 9-58; col. 7, lines 24-37; col. 10, lines 39-48) to sink the teeth into the plank stalk at a height greater than the teeth of the pair of second toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) before the pair of second toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) lose contact and traction on the plant stalk so as to maintain the continuity or fluidity of the downward movement of the plant stalk without losing traction thereon until the ear is snapped from the corn plant.
However, Ehle does not expressly disclose that the pair of snapping rollers align against one another across a diameter of the stalk so as to pull the stalk downwardly.
Nevertheless, Schoolman teaches a method wherein the pair of snapping rollers (snapping rolls 6) (Fig. 3; Col. 3, lines 10-20) align against one another (Fig. 3; Col. 3, lines 56-62) across a diameter of the stalk (see Fig. 3; Col. 3, lines 56-62; col. 4, lines 4-13) so as to pull the stalk downwardly. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the snapping assembly disclosed in Ehle with the aligned snapping rollers taught in Schoolman with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide “a superior result than the mere bending action on the stalk . . . because a crushed stalk will decompose more quickly over the winter months as is desired for no till farming,” (Col. 4, lines 8-13), and “[f]urther, the direct opposition of flutes on the two rollers causes a positive grip on the stalk, unlike the alternate engagement in the known prior art . . . [that] increases the opposing forces on the ear and stalk and strips the ear more cleanly from the stalk . . . [such that as] a result there is less trash or residue accompanying the ear in further processing,” as taught in Schoolman (Col. 4, lines 8-20). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the snapping assembly disclosed in Ehle with the aligned snapping rollers taught in Schoolman with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 43, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the method of claim 42 (see above). Furthermore, Ehle discloses a method wherein the contact of the pair of second blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) against the plant stalk is closer to the contact of the pair of first toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) than the contact of the pair of third toothed blades (flutes 210, 310) (Figs. 7-8, 10-11, 13-18, 21-35; Col. 5, lines 10 to col. 7, line 3; col. 8, line 9 to col. 10, line 15) with the plant stalk.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehle in view of U.S. Pat. No. 10,874,052 to Gramm et al. (hereinafter Gramm) (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 08/07/2024).
Regarding claim 31, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 23 (see above). However, Ehle does not expressly disclose that said longitudinal protrusions are comprised of flutes with blunt edges. Nevertheless, Gramm teaches longitudinal protrusions comprised of flutes with blunt edges (see Figs. 7-9, 11, 19-21). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the snapping assembly disclosed in Ehle with the equal diameter rollers taught in Gramm with a reasonable expectation of success in order to affect the aggressiveness of the treatment of the stalks and stubble, as taught in Gramm (Col. 7, lines 1-24; col. 11, lines 47-65; col. 14, lines 38-57; col. 18, lines 1-19). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the snapping assembly disclosed in Ehle with the equal diameter rollers taught in Gramm with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim(s) 37-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehle in view of Schoolman, as applied to Claim 35 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 10,874,052 to Gramm et al. (hereinafter Gramm) (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 08/07/2024).
Regarding claim 37, Ehle in view of Schoolman teaches the snapping assembly of claim 35 (see above). However, neither Ehle nor Schoolman discloses or teaches that the cylindrical traction zone of each snapping roller of said pair of snapping rollers has a squared shaft with flat longitudinal faces and a plurality of plates supported on the flat longitudinal faces so as to project a serrated longitudinal edge so as to form toothed blades. Nevertheless, Gramm teaches a snapping assembly wherein the cylindrical traction zone of each snapping roller of said pair of snapping rollers has a squared shaft (blocks 260) (Figs. 25-36; Col. 10, lines 36-59) with flat longitudinal faces (see Figs. 25-36) and a plurality of plates (modular body segments 270) (Figs. 25-36; Col. 10, lines 36-59) supported on the flat longitudinal faces (see Figs. 25-36) so as to project a serrated longitudinal edge so as to form toothed blades (see Figs. 25-36).
Regarding claim 38, Ehle in view of Schoolman and further in view of Gramm teaches the snapping assembly of claim 37 (see above). Furthermore, Gramm teaches a snapping assembly wherein the square shaft (blocks 260) (Figs. 25-36; Col. 10, lines 36-59) has a squared cross-section (see Figs. 25-36), wherein each snapping roller of said pair of snapping rollers has eight toothed blades forming four pairs, each pair of the four pairs has two consecutive blades perpendicular to each other, wherein consecutive blades of consecutive pairs of toothed blades are parallel to each other (see Figs. 25-36).
Regarding claim 39, Ehle in view of Schoolman and further in view of Gramm teaches the snapping assembly of claim 37 (see above). Furthermore, Gramm teaches a snapping assembly wherein the blades are bolted (Figs. 25-26; Col. 10, lines 43-46) to the flat longitudinal faces of the squared shaft (blocks 260) (Figs. 25-36; Col. 10, lines 36-59).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 41 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671