DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant Amendments and Remarks filed on 02/02/2026 in response to the Non-Final office action mailed on 10/31/2025 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows:
Regarding the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103: With respect to the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant has amended the independent claims and these amendments have changed the scope of the original application. Therefore, the Office has supplied new grounds of rejection attached below in the FINAL office action and therefore the prior arguments are considered moot.
FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Claim Interpretation
During examination, claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and limitations in the specification are not read into the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2111.01; In re Yamamoto et al., 222 USPQ 934 116 10 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP 2111.01 (I). It is further noted it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, i.e., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See MPEP 2111.01 (II).
An exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the Applicant for patent has provided a lexicographic definition for the term. See MPEP §2111.01 (IV). To act as their own lexicographer, the applicant must clearly set forth a special definition of a claim term in the specification that differs from the plain and ordinary meaning it would otherwise possess. CCS Fitness, Inc. v. Brunswick Corp., 288 F.3d 1359, 1366, 62 USPQ2d 1658, 1662 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
Following a review of the claims in view of the specification herein, the Office has found that Applicant has provided lexicographic definitions, either expressly or implicitly, for any claim terms or phrases with any reasonable clarity, deliberateness and precision. Accordingly, the Office concludes that Applicant has acted as his/her own lexicographer.
The limitation “suitable for entry” in claims 1, 8, and 16 is defined by Applicant as “there is enough space between vehicles” (Specification, para. [0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajab et al. (US 2019/0329777 A1, hereinafter “Rajab”) in view of Im et al. (US 2019/0004529 A1, hereinafter “Im”).
Regarding claim 1, Rajab discloses a computer-implemented method for controlling an autonomous vehicle, the computer-implemented method comprising:
determining, using a path planning module, based on a first set of perception data using a path planning time horizon, to plan a lane change (Rajab at para. [0075]: “the method includes receiving proximate vehicle data associated with proximate vehicles, wherein the proximate vehicle data includes vehicle identifiers and current kinematic data”; para. [0095]: “if the lane changing vehicle 506 is attempting to merge from an on-ramp or to an off-ramp that lane change would be considered a forced lane change since the merging lane ends or the lane changing vehicle 506 is attempting to exit the highway. Likewise, an obstacle in a lane may force a lane changing vehicle 506 to change lanes if there is no passable way for the lane changing vehicle 506 to remain in the first lane 502”);
(Rajab at para. [0077]: “the method includes predicting future kinematic data for the proximate vehicle based on the proximate vehicle data”; para. [0078]: “the method includes determining whether a gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time based on the future kinematic data. Whether a gap is available is determined based on the predicted future kinetic data”; para. [0088]: “the method includes comparing the proximate vehicle data of proximate vehicles in the set of proximate vehicles to a prediction model to calculate a predictive increment of kinematic data”; para. [0089]: “the method includes determining the predictive increment of kinematic data corresponds to a future time; The predictive increment of kinematic data is based on the proximate vehicle data at the current time and the prediction model at the future time, and thus the time horizon is longer for the future kinematic data (i.e., “a second set of perception data using a gap planning time horizon”) than the current kinematic data (i.e., “a first set of perception data using a path planning time horizon”));
generating, using the gap planning module, one or more planning constraints based on the identified gap (Rajab at para. [0079]: “the method includes initiating a lane change maneuver for the host vehicle in response to determining that the gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time. Initiating the lane change maneuver may include adjusting a kinematic parameter of the host vehicle. Suppose the host vehicle is changing lanes, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the lane changing vehicle laterally in-line with the potential lane change location 508”);
generating, using the path planning module, a path for the autonomous vehicle based on the first set of perception data, the path planning time horizon, and the one or more planning constraints (Rajab at para. [0079]: “kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the host vehicle within the lane changing distance 524 of the potential lane change location 508. Alternatively, suppose that the host vehicle is the following vehicle 510, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to maintain or increase the first gap 516 at the potential lane change location 508”; para. [0080]: “The kinematic parameter may be adjusted by the lane change module 120. In some embodiments, the lane change module 120 may adjust the kinematic parameter with an advanced driver-assistance system or autonomous driving system (not shown). In another embodiment, the lane change module 120 may employ vehicle systems 122 such as the anti-lock brake system, the brake assist system, the automatic brake prefill system, the low speed follow system, or the cruise control system to adjust the kinetic parameter”); and
controlling the autonomous vehicle based on the generated path (Rajab at para. [0079]: “the method includes initiating a lane change maneuver for the host vehicle in response to determining that the gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time”; para. [0080]: “the lane change module 120 may adjust the kinematic parameter with an advanced driver-assistance system or autonomous driving system (not shown)”).
However, Rajab does not explicitly state:
in response to determining to plan the lane change.
In the same field of endeavor, Im teaches:
in response to determining to plan the lane change (Im at para. [0033]: “The main control logic 220 may be configured to generate a command for lane change to activate the lane change region determiner 230. The lane change region determiner 230 may be configured to determine a lane changeable region under control of the main control logic 220 and correct the lane changeable region to select an optimum lane changeable region”; para. [0037]: “type of the command for lane change may be classified into, for example, a general command for lane change, a congested area command for lane change, a necessary command for lane change 1, and a necessary command for lane change 2”; para. [0039]: “The necessary command for lane change 1 may refer to a command for lane change that is generated in a situation (third scenario) in which lane change is required but relative temporal and spatial allowance is present”; The lane change region determiner is activated upon determining that lane change is necessary).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Rajab by adding the determining of Im with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Rajab in view of Im is to provide appropriate lane change.
Regarding claim 3, Rajab in view of Im teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 1.
Rajab further discloses further comprising controlling the autonomous vehicle to follow the generated path (Rajab at para. [0072]: “the lane change module 120 may trigger an autonomous driving system or an assisted driver-assistance system to cause the lane changing vehicle 506 to operate or maneuver accordingly”).
Regarding claim 4, Rajab in view of Im teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 1.
Rajab further discloses wherein the second set of perception data includes at least the first set of perception data (Rajab at para. [0077]: “The future kinematic data includes information about the proximate vehicles individually as well as information about the proximate vehicles relative to one another”).
Regarding claim 5, Rajab in view of Im teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 1.
Rajab further discloses wherein the one or more planning constraints define an area relative to the autonomous vehicle (Rajab at para. [0079]: “the method includes initiating a lane change maneuver for the host vehicle in response to determining that the gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time. Initiating the lane change maneuver may include adjusting a kinematic parameter of the host vehicle. Suppose the host vehicle is changing lanes, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the lane changing vehicle laterally in-line with the potential lane change location 508”).
Regarding claim 6, Rajab in view of Im teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 5.
Rajab further discloses wherein the path generated by the path planning module leads into the area defined by the one or more planning constraints (Rajab at para. [0079]: “the method includes initiating a lane change maneuver for the host vehicle in response to determining that the gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time. Initiating the lane change maneuver may include adjusting a kinematic parameter of the host vehicle. Suppose the host vehicle is changing lanes, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the lane changing vehicle laterally in-line with the potential lane change location 508”).
Regarding claim 8, Rajab discloses an autonomy system for an autonomous vehicle, the autonomy system comprising:
a gap planning module, the gap planning module configured to:
identify, based on a first set of perception data using a gap planning time horizon, a gap in an adjacent lane to a lane of travel of the autonomous vehicle, the adjacent lane suitable for entry by the autonomous vehicle (Rajab at para. [0077]: “the method includes predicting future kinematic data for the proximate vehicle based on the proximate vehicle data”; para. [0078]: “the method includes determining whether a gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time based on the future kinematic data. Whether a gap is available is determined based on the predicted future kinetic data”); and
generate one or more planning constraints based on the identified gap (Rajab at para. [0079]: “the method includes initiating a lane change maneuver for the host vehicle in response to determining that the gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time. Initiating the lane change maneuver may include adjusting a kinematic parameter of the host vehicle. Suppose the host vehicle is changing lanes, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the lane changing vehicle laterally in-line with the potential lane change location 508”); and
a path planning module configured to:
determine, based on a second set of perception data using a path planning time horizon, to plan a lane change (Rajab at para. [0075]: “the method includes receiving proximate vehicle data associated with proximate vehicles, wherein the proximate vehicle data includes vehicle identifiers and current kinematic data”; para. [0095]: “if the lane changing vehicle 506 is attempting to merge from an on-ramp or to an off-ramp that lane change would be considered a forced lane change since the merging lane ends or the lane changing vehicle 506 is attempting to exit the highway. Likewise, an obstacle in a lane may force a lane changing vehicle 506 to change lanes if there is no passable way for the lane changing vehicle 506 to remain in the first lane 502”), (Rajab at para. [0077]: “the method includes predicting future kinematic data for the proximate vehicle based on the proximate vehicle data”; para. [0078]: “the method includes determining whether a gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time based on the future kinematic data. Whether a gap is available is determined based on the predicted future kinetic data”; para. [0088]: “the method includes comparing the proximate vehicle data of proximate vehicles in the set of proximate vehicles to a prediction model to calculate a predictive increment of kinematic data”; para. [0089]: “the method includes determining the predictive increment of kinematic data corresponds to a future time; The predictive increment of kinematic data is based on the proximate vehicle data at the current time and the prediction model at the future time, and thus the time horizon is longer for the future kinematic data (i.e., “a first set of perception data using a gap planning time horizon”) than the current kinematic data (i.e., “a second set of perception data using a path planning time horizon”)); and
generate a path for the autonomous vehicle based on the second set of perception data, the path planning time horizon, and the one or more planning constraints, wherein the autonomous vehicle is controlled based on the generated path (Rajab at para. [0079]: “the method includes initiating a lane change maneuver for the host vehicle in response to determining that the gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time. Initiating the lane change maneuver may include adjusting a kinematic parameter of the host vehicle. Suppose the host vehicle is changing lanes, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the lane changing vehicle laterally in-line with the potential lane change location 508” “kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the host vehicle within the lane changing distance 524 of the potential lane change location 508. Alternatively, suppose that the host vehicle is the following vehicle 510, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to maintain or increase the first gap 516 at the potential lane change location 508”; para. [0080]: “The kinematic parameter may be adjusted by the lane change module 120. In some embodiments, the lane change module 120 may adjust the kinematic parameter with an advanced driver-assistance system or autonomous driving system (not shown). In another embodiment, the lane change module 120 may employ vehicle systems 122 such as the anti-lock brake system, the brake assist system, the automatic brake prefill system, the low speed follow system, or the cruise control system to adjust the kinetic parameter”).
However, Rajab does not explicitly state:
wherein the gap planning module identifies the gap in response to the determination by the path planning module to plan the lane change.
In the same field of endeavor, Im teaches:
wherein the gap planning module identifies the gap in response to the determination by the path planning module to plan the lane change (Im at para. [0033]: “The main control logic 220 may be configured to generate a command for lane change to activate the lane change region determiner 230. The lane change region determiner 230 may be configured to determine a lane changeable region under control of the main control logic 220 and correct the lane changeable region to select an optimum lane changeable region”; para. [0037]: “type of the command for lane change may be classified into, for example, a general command for lane change, a congested area command for lane change, a necessary command for lane change 1, and a necessary command for lane change 2”; para. [0039]: “The necessary command for lane change 1 may refer to a command for lane change that is generated in a situation (third scenario) in which lane change is required but relative temporal and spatial allowance is present”; The lane change region determiner is activated upon determining that lane change is necessary).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rajab by adding the determination of Im with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Rajab in view of Im is to provide appropriate lane change.
Regarding claim 10, Rajab in view of Im teaches the autonomy system of Claim 8.
Rajab further discloses further comprising a controller configured to control the autonomous vehicle to follow the generated path (Rajab at para. [0072]: “the lane change module 120 may trigger an autonomous driving system or an assisted driver-assistance system to cause the lane changing vehicle 506 to operate or maneuver accordingly”).
Regarding claim 11, Rajab in view of Im teaches the autonomy system of Claim 8.
Rajab further discloses wherein the second set of perception data includes at least the first set of perception data (Rajab at para. [0077]: “The future kinematic data includes information about the proximate vehicles individually as well as information about the proximate vehicles relative to one another”).
Regarding claim 12, Rajab in view of Im teaches the autonomy system of Claim 8.
Rajab further discloses wherein the one or more planning constraints define an area relative to the autonomous vehicle (Rajab at para. [0079]: “the method includes initiating a lane change maneuver for the host vehicle in response to determining that the gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time. Initiating the lane change maneuver may include adjusting a kinematic parameter of the host vehicle. Suppose the host vehicle is changing lanes, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the lane changing vehicle laterally in-line with the potential lane change location 508”).
Regarding claim 13, Rajab in view of Im teaches the autonomy system of Claim 12.
Rajab further discloses wherein the path generated by the path planning module leads into the area defined by the one or more planning constraints (Rajab at para. [0079]: “the method includes initiating a lane change maneuver for the host vehicle in response to determining that the gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time. Initiating the lane change maneuver may include adjusting a kinematic parameter of the host vehicle. Suppose the host vehicle is changing lanes, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the lane changing vehicle laterally in-line with the potential lane change location 508”).
Regarding claim 15, Rajab in view of Im teaches the autonomy system of Claim 8.
Rajab further discloses further comprising a control module configured to control the autonomous vehicle based on the generated path (Rajab at para. [0072]: “the lane change module 120 may trigger an autonomous driving system or an assisted driver-assistance system to cause the lane changing vehicle 506 to operate or maneuver accordingly”).
Regarding claim 16, Rajab discloses an autonomous vehicle comprising:
a perception system configured to generate perception data (Rajab at para. [0033]: “The vehicle sensors 134 can include, but are not limited to, host vehicle sensors 136 associated with the vehicle systems 122, other vehicle sensors associated with the example host vehicle 300, and/or proximate vehicle sensors 138 that collect data regarding proximate vehicles that are proximate to the example host vehicle 300”); and
an autonomy system (Rajab at para. [0072]: “the lane change module 120 may trigger an autonomous driving system or an assisted driver-assistance system to cause the lane changing vehicle 506 to operate or maneuver accordingly”) comprising:
a gap planning module, the gap planning module configured to:
identify, based on a first set of perception data using a gap planning time horizon, a gap in an adjacent lane to a lane of travel of the autonomous vehicle, the adjacent lane suitable for entry by the autonomous vehicle (Rajab at para. [0077]: “the method includes predicting future kinematic data for the proximate vehicle based on the proximate vehicle data”; para. [0078]: “the method includes determining whether a gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time based on the future kinematic data. Whether a gap is available is determined based on the predicted future kinetic data”); and
generate one or more planning constraints based on the identified gap (Rajab at para. [0079]: “the method includes initiating a lane change maneuver for the host vehicle in response to determining that the gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time. Initiating the lane change maneuver may include adjusting a kinematic parameter of the host vehicle. Suppose the host vehicle is changing lanes, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the lane changing vehicle laterally in-line with the potential lane change location 508”); and
a path planning module configured to:
determine, based on a second set of perception data using a path planning time horizon, to plan a lane change (Rajab at para. [0075]: “the method includes receiving proximate vehicle data associated with proximate vehicles, wherein the proximate vehicle data includes vehicle identifiers and current kinematic data”; para. [0095]: “if the lane changing vehicle 506 is attempting to merge from an on-ramp or to an off-ramp that lane change would be considered a forced lane change since the merging lane ends or the lane changing vehicle 506 is attempting to exit the highway. Likewise, an obstacle in a lane may force a lane changing vehicle 506 to change lanes if there is no passable way for the lane changing vehicle 506 to remain in the first lane 502”), time horizon longer than the path planning time horizon (Rajab at para. [0077]: “the method includes predicting future kinematic data for the proximate vehicle based on the proximate vehicle data”; para. [0078]: “the method includes determining whether a gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time based on the future kinematic data. Whether a gap is available is determined based on the predicted future kinetic data”; para. [0088]: “the method includes comparing the proximate vehicle data of proximate vehicles in the set of proximate vehicles to a prediction model to calculate a predictive increment of kinematic data”; para. [0089]: “the method includes determining the predictive increment of kinematic data corresponds to a future time; The predictive increment of kinematic data is based on the proximate vehicle data at the current time and the prediction model at the future time, and thus the time horizon is longer for the future kinematic data (i.e., “a first set of perception data using a gap planning time horizon”) than the current kinematic data (i.e., “a second set of perception data using a path planning time horizon”)); and
generate a path for the autonomous vehicle based on the second set of perception data, the path planning time horizon, and the one or more planning constraints, wherein the autonomous vehicle is controlled based on the generated path (Rajab at para. [0079]: “the method includes initiating a lane change maneuver for the host vehicle in response to determining that the gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time. Initiating the lane change maneuver may include adjusting a kinematic parameter of the host vehicle. Suppose the host vehicle is changing lanes, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the lane changing vehicle laterally in-line with the potential lane change location 508” “kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the host vehicle within the lane changing distance 524 of the potential lane change location 508. Alternatively, suppose that the host vehicle is the following vehicle 510, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to maintain or increase the first gap 516 at the potential lane change location 508”; para. [0080]: “The kinematic parameter may be adjusted by the lane change module 120. In some embodiments, the lane change module 120 may adjust the kinematic parameter with an advanced driver-assistance system or autonomous driving system (not shown). In another embodiment, the lane change module 120 may employ vehicle systems 122 such as the anti-lock brake system, the brake assist system, the automatic brake prefill system, the low speed follow system, or the cruise control system to adjust the kinetic parameter”).
However, Rajab does not explicitly state:
wherein the gap planning module identifies the gap in response to the determination by the path planning module to plan the lane change.
In the same field of endeavor, Im teaches:
wherein the gap planning module identifies the gap in response to the determination by the path planning module to plan the lane change (Im at para. [0033]: “The main control logic 220 may be configured to generate a command for lane change to activate the lane change region determiner 230. The lane change region determiner 230 may be configured to determine a lane changeable region under control of the main control logic 220 and correct the lane changeable region to select an optimum lane changeable region”; para. [0037]: “type of the command for lane change may be classified into, for example, a general command for lane change, a congested area command for lane change, a necessary command for lane change 1, and a necessary command for lane change 2”; para. [0039]: “The necessary command for lane change 1 may refer to a command for lane change that is generated in a situation (third scenario) in which lane change is required but relative temporal and spatial allowance is present”; The lane change region determiner is activated upon determining that lane change is necessary).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Rajab by adding the determination of Im with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Rajab in view of Im is to provide appropriate lane change.
Regarding claim 18, Rajab in view of Im teaches the autonomous vehicle of Claim 16.
Rajab further discloses wherein the second set of perception data includes at least the first set of perception data (Rajab at para. [0077]: “The future kinematic data includes information about the proximate vehicles individually as well as information about the proximate vehicles relative to one another”).
Regarding claim 19, Rajab in view of Im teaches the autonomous vehicle of Claim 16.
Rajab further discloses wherein the one or more planning constraints define an area relative to the autonomous vehicle (Rajab at para. [0079]: “the method includes initiating a lane change maneuver for the host vehicle in response to determining that the gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time. Initiating the lane change maneuver may include adjusting a kinematic parameter of the host vehicle. Suppose the host vehicle is changing lanes, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the lane changing vehicle laterally in-line with the potential lane change location 508”).
Regarding claim 20, Rajab in view of Im teaches the autonomous vehicle of Claim 19.
Rajab further discloses wherein the path generated by the path planning module leads into the area defined by the one or more planning constraints (Rajab at para. [0079]: “the method includes initiating a lane change maneuver for the host vehicle in response to determining that the gap will be available at the potential lane change location at the future time. Initiating the lane change maneuver may include adjusting a kinematic parameter of the host vehicle. Suppose the host vehicle is changing lanes, the kinematic parameter may be adjusted to bring the lane changing vehicle laterally in-line with the potential lane change location 508”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JISUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666