DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23, 25-27, 29, 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUO et al PG PUB 2018/0054804 in view of BAGHZL et al PG PUB 2016/0286374.
Re Claims 21, 27, LUO et al teaches a remote UE (comprising circuitry) receiving information (an indication) from a relay (a first relay) indicating the relay is undergoing an RLF [0155]; figure 12, S1302 teaches the remote UE searching for a relay (a second relay WTRU) by transmitting a discovery signal (relay reselection) ; based on the discovery signal, at least one relay (one or more candidate relay WTRUs) within a vicinity of the remote UE transmits a discovery response message [0100] for a discovery procedure.
LUO et al fails to explicitly teach “based on measurements associated with the discovery message, selecting one or the one or more candidate relay WTRUs as the second relay WTRU.”.
However, BAGHZL et al teaches UE performs relay UE selection based on respective measurements of each relay UE candidates and selecting the relay UE with the best radio link quality [0055 0056].
By combining the teachings, the remote UE in LUO et al can measure the candidate relay UEs to select the relay UE with best channel quality. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have selected relay UE with the best channel quality for connection reliability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Re Claims 23, 29, LUO et al teaches the relay transmit data to a base station via a Uu Interface/link wherein relay undergoing RLF comprise a RLF of the Uu link [0112].
Re Claims 25, 31, BAGHZL et al teaches UE performs relay UE selection based on respective measurements (a link quality) of each relay UE candidates and selecting the relay UE with the best radio link quality [0055 0056].
Re Claims 26, 32, LUO et al teaches receiving a connection reestablishment message/RRC via the selected relay (the second relay WTRU) [0155].
Re Claims 33, 34, LUO et al teaches releasing a connection with the failed relay [0153] and initiate RRC procedure to initiate re-establishment with selected relay UE.
Claims 22, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUO et al PG PUB 2018/0054804 in view of BAGHZL et al PG PUB 2016/0286374 as applied to Claims 21, 27 above and further in view of SOMASUNDARAM et al PG PUB 2013/0223324.
Re Claims 22, 28, LUO et al in view of BAGHZI et al teaches selecting the best relay UE based on the channel quality but fails to explicitly teach “having measurements exceeding a configure threshold.”. However, SOMASUNDARAM et al teaches selecting a relay associated with a threshold quality to minimize interference with other relays [0037]. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have associated the selected relay with the threshold quality to minimize interference with other relays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Claims 24, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUO et al PG PUB 2018/0054804 in view of BAGHZL et al PG PUB 2016/0286374 as applied to Claims 23, 29 above and further in view of AGIWAL et al PG PUB 2017/0208636.
Re Claims 24, 30, LUO et al in view of BAGHZL et al teaches the relay undergoing RLF comprises a RLF on the Uu link but fails to explicitly teach “where the indication of the RLF is received based on a quality associated with the Uu link failing below a configured threshold.”. However, AGIWAL et al in figure 2, 201-203, determining a Uu link quality threshold failing below the configured threshold [0040]. By combining the teachings, the Uu link in LUO et al can be monitored to enable discover UE-to-Network Relay. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have measured the Uu link quality threshold to enable RLF recovery between the BS and relay UE. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
/ANDREW LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475