DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 6-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 2, 4-17 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,085,000. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 3 and 2, 4-17 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,085,000 discloses all the limitations of the present Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 15, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pei et al. (CN-102989520 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Pei et al. reference discloses a housing for a selective catalyst reactor for processing exhaust gas from a combustion engine of a combined heat and power system, the housing comprising an annular shaped plate structure forming an elongate accommodation wall defining an inner accommodation volume for containing a catalyst to be flown through by the exhaust gas, wherein the annular shaped plate structure includes a set of plate elements having the same geometry and dimensions (Figure 1, numerals 1- catalyst framework, 2 – catalyst monomer, 3 – side plate having same geometry and dimensions);
wherein the set of plate elements form corner elements of the annular shaped plate structure (Figure 1, numeral 3 – side plate; 1 side of the catalyst frame has 4 side plates) and wherein the corner elements are provided, along their circumferential contour, with an upstanding flange contacting a corresponding flange of an adjacent corner element (Figure 1, numeral 3 – side plate and the flange to connect the adjacent corner element).
Regarding Claim 3, Pei et al. reference discloses the housing for a selective catalyst reactor according to claim 1, wherein the annular shaped plate structure includes an additional set of plate elements having the same geometry and dimensions, and wherein the additional set of plate elements form intermediate plate elements located between adjacent corner elements (Figure 1, numeral 3 – side plate; 1 side of the catalyst frame has 4 side plates).
Regarding Claim 6, Pei et al. reference discloses the housing for a selective catalyst reactor according to claim 1, wherein the corner elements are arranged and mounted next to each other in a circumferential direction for forming the annular shaped plate structure (Figure 1, numeral 3 – side plate).
Regarding Claim 15, Pei et al. reference discloses the method for constructing the housing for a selective catalyst reactor according to claim 1, comprising a step of providing a kit of parts for constructing the housing for a selective catalyst reactor, the kit of parts comprising the set of plate elements having the same geometry and dimensions for being arranged and mounted in a circumferential direction for forming the annular shaped plate structure of the housing, the set of plate elements configured to form corner elements for the annular shaped plate structure, and a step of arranging and mounting the corner elements next to each other in a circumferential direction for forming the annular shaped plate structure of the housing (Figure 1 and Abstract).
Regarding Claim 17, Pei et al. reference discloses the housing for a selective catalyst reactor according to claim 3, wherein the intermediate elements are generally rectangular (Figure 1, numeral 3 – side plate).
Regarding Claim 19, Pei et al. reference discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the kit of parts includes intermediate plate elements to be located between adjacent corner elements in the annular shaped plate structure, and wherein the method further comprises a step of arranging and mounting the intermediate elements in the circumferential direction for forming the annular shaped plate structure of the housing (Figure 1 and Paragraph [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7-14, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei et al. (CN-102989520 A) in view of LV et al. (CN-104018923 A).
Regarding Claim 4, Pei et al. reference discloses the housing for a selective catalyst reactor according to claim 1 except for the annular shaped plate structure includes at least one window module provided with a movable window element. LV et al. discloses at least one of the plate element defines a window module having a movable window (Figure 2, numerals 13, 13.1, 14, and 15) which allows catalysts and other parts to be loaded into the inner volume of the housing (Figure 2, numeral 9.1, 9.2, and 9.3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a movable window as taught by LV et al., since LV et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would prevent the solid granule deposited urea crystal and engine exhaust.
Regarding Claim 7, Pei et al. reference discloses the housing for a selective catalyst reactor according to claim 1 except for a multiple number of annular shaped plate structures arranged in series aligned along a common longitudinal axis so as to form the elongate accommodation wall, wherein at least two annular shaped plate structures each includes the set of plate elements having the same geometry and dimensions, wherein the at least two annular shaped plate structures have the same dimensions in a longitudinal direction. LV et al. reference discloses a marine compact SCR catalyst muffler comprising a multiple number of annular shaped plate structures arranged in series aligned along a common longitudinal axis so as to form the elongate accommodation wall, wherein at least two annular shaped plate structures each includes the set of plate elements having the same geometry and dimensions, wherein the at least two annular shaped plate structures have the same dimensions in the longitudinal direction (Figures 1 and 2, numeral 2 – two sets of annular shaped plate structures). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catalyst structure of Pei et al. with a multiple number of annular shaped plate structures arranged in series as taught by LV et al., since LV et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would prevent the solid granule deposited urea crystal and engine exhaust.
Regarding Claims 8-14, Pei et al. reference discloses the claimed housing for a selective catalyst reactor except for the at least two annular shaped plate structures have a rectangular geometry, in cross sectional view, the structures having a width dimension and a height dimension, the width dimension and the height dimension, respectively, of the at least two annular shaped plate structures are the same and a stiffening intermediate plate including a frame having the same dimensions as the at least two annular shaped plate structures, in cross sectional view, the stiffening intermediate plate further including stiffening elements forming flow openings, the stiffening intermediate plate is arranged between the two annular shaped plate structures, aligned along the common longitudinal axis, a gas inlet section formed as truncated cone having a proximal end with a relatively small entry opening for connection with an exhaust tube of the combustion engine, and a distal end with a relatively large exit opening for connection with an annular shaped plate structure or stiffening intermediate plate, wherein the relatively small entry opening of the truncated cone is eccentric relative to the relatively large exit opening of the truncated cone, the kit of parts comprising the set of plate elements having the same geometry and dimensions for being arranged and mounted in a circumferential direction for forming the annular shaped plate structure of the housing, the set of plate elements form corner elements for the annular shaped plate structure, the kit of parts including intermediate plate elements to be located between adjacent corner elements in the annular shaped plate structure (Figures 1-2, numeral 2 – two sets of annular shaped plate structures, 13 – plate elements are the same for both sets, 9.1, 9.2, 9.3 – stiffening intermediate plate, and 1, 3 – gas inlet and outlet, 4 and 5 – truncated cone).
Regarding Claim 18, Pei et al. reference discloses the kit of parts according to claim 14 except for at least one window module provided with a movable window element. LV et al. discloses at least one of the plate element defines a window module having a movable window (Figure 2, numerals 13, 13.1, 14, and 15) which allows catalysts and other parts to be loaded into the inner volume of the housing (Figure 2, numeral 9.1, 9.2, and 9.3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a movable window as taught by LV et al., since LV et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would prevent the solid granule deposited urea crystal and engine exhaust.
Regarding Claim 20, Pei et al. reference discloses the method according to claim 19 except for the kit of parts further includes at least one window module provided with a movable window element, and wherein the method further comprises a step of arranging and mounting the at least one window module the circumferential direction for forming the annular shaped plate structure of the housing. LV et al. discloses at least one of the plate element defines a window module having a movable window (Figure 2, numerals 13, 13.1, 14, and 15) which allows catalysts and other parts to be loaded into the inner volume of the housing (Figure 2, numeral 9.1, 9.2, and 9.3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a movable window as taught by LV et al., since LV et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would prevent the solid granule deposited urea crystal and engine exhaust.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUY TRAM NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1774