DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/26/2022, 02/16/2022 and 06/25/2020 have been considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
The response and amendment filed 07/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, and 16-26 are pending.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 16-26 in the reply filed on 07/16/026 is acknowledged.
Claim 1 has been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/16/2026.
Claims 16-26 are treated on the merits in this action.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. Rejections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 17 includes acronyms, i.e., PCA in line 12; as well as ABS and PF in line 14; and EDTA in the second to last line. The meaning of the acronym should be included in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 18 includes acronyms, i.e., PCA in line 12; as well as ABS and PF in line 14; and EDTA in the second to last line. The meaning of the acronym should be included in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 17 and 18 include the limitation of ABS comfrey extract PF. It is not clear what the abbreviations mean. It is not clear if this limitation was intended to refer to a brand of comfrey extract, a particular comfrey abstract, or a blend including comfrey abstract. Consequently, one skilled in the art cannot reasonably determine the scope for which applicant is claiming protection.
Clarification is required.
For the purposes of this action, the limitation is interpreted to refer to a comfrey extract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saxena, US 20140228291 A1.
Saxena teaches compositions for skin comprising an oligopeptide blend in an amount of 3% and antioxidant in an amount of 1%. See Saxena, e.g., 0054. This meets the limitations of claim 16. Saxena teaches the composition further comprising sodium hyaluronate as a named emollient (Saxena, e.g., 0033).
Saxena anticipates the subject matter of instant claim 16.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hantash, US 7902329 B2.
Hantash teaches compositions comprising ethyl ascorbate (antioxidant in an amount ranging from 1-5%, sodium hyaluronate, and decapeptide-12 (oligopeptide). See Hantash, e.g., table bridging c17-18. Hantash teaches the concentration of peptide may be from about 1% to about 40% (Hantash, e.g., c18:c2:10-31). The amount in Hantash for oligopeptide and antioxidant are entirely within the claimed ranges.
Hantash anticipates the subject matter of instant claims 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 19-22 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirt, WO 2012131623 A2 in view of Saxena, US 20140228291.
Hirt teaches a sheet in the form of a mask comprising biocellulose, the mask including cosmetic compositions comprising cosmetically active ingredients, such as antioxidants in an amount of 10-20% which is within the claimed range (Hirt, e.g., example 1, pg. 28:14-22). Alternative, or additional, cosmetically active agents include e.g., resveratrol, antioxidants, regenerative active agents (Hirt, e.g., claims 6 and 7). Hirt suggests compositions may include oligopeptides (Hirt, e.g., pg. 13:1-15). The mask, in the shape of a face and in hydrated form, may be sterile (Hirt, e.g., pg. 27:10-11). Applicable to claims 24-25: Hirt teaches the mask comprising active agents including antioxidant polyphenols (Hirt, e.g., ppg. 11-12), e.g., resveratrol (Hirt, e.g., pg. 19:21-27 and example 3, pp. 29-30 and claim 7). Applicable to claim 26, the biocellulose may be in the form of fibers (Hirt, e.g., pg. 6, and pg. 8:11-13).
Hirt does not expressly teach wherein the oligopeptide is at least 0.0001% w/w on an active basis.
Saxena cures this defect. Saxena teaches similar cosmetic compositions having regenerative properties and effective for decreasing the time for recovery of the skin after resurfacing procedures (Saxena, e.g., 0001 and 0009-0010). Compositions include acylated peptides of 3-10 amino acids in length (oligopeptides) in an amount ranging from 0.05 to 12% (Saxana, e.g., claim 1). Applicable to claim 22: Saxena taches sodium hyaluronate as a benefit agent in an amount of from about 1 to about 10% (Saxena, e.g., 0021) which is within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the presently claimed invention, to optimize amounts of oligopeptide in the compositions in the mask of Hirt using the effective range suggested in Saxena with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so since Saxena teaches effective amounts of oligopeptides for decreasing recovery time of skin after treatments discussed in Hirt. Thus, the teachings of Saxena provide a means to improve skin and facilitate the objectives in Hirt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the presently claimed invention, to optimize amounts of sodium hyaluronate in the compositions in the mask of Hirt using the effective range suggested in Saxena with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so since Saxena teaches effective amounts of sodium hyaluronate for moisturizing skin contemporaneously with treatments discussed in Hirt. Thus, the teachings of Saxena provide a means to improve skin and facilitate the objectives in Hirt.
Accordingly, the subject matter of instant claims 16 and 19-22 and 24-26 would have been obvious before the filing date of the presently claimed invention absent evidence to the contrary.
Claims 19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirt, WO 2012131623 A2 in view of Saxena, US 20140228291 as applied to claims 16 and 19-22 and 24-26 above and further in view of Black, US 9820953.
The teachings of Hirt and Saxena as applied to claim 19 are enumerated above.
The combined teachings of Hirt and Saxena teach a sheet according to claim 19, wherein the sheet comprises a composition comprising an oligopeptide in the claimed range. The combined teachings of Hirt and Saxena do not expressly teach the oligopeptide palmitoyl sh-tripeptide-4 amide.
Black teaches compositions for regeneration comprising bioactive peptides (Black, e.g., claim 1), wherein the bioactive peptide is palmitoyl sh-tripeptide-4 amide (Black, e.g., claim 13), and suitable for topical application (Black, e.g., claim 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to modify compositions in a sheet suggested by the combined teachings of Hirt and Saxena with the known palmitoyl sh-tripeptide-4 amide with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the regenerative properties of the cosmetic composition. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Hirt and Saxena teach compositions comprising acylated peptides of 3 to 10 amino acids in length comprising at least one lipid moiety at a concentration of from 0.05% to 12% and Black teaches palmitoyl sh-tripeptide-4 amide oligopeptide - which is within the genus of Saxena’s oligopeptides - for skin regenerative compositions.
Accordingly, the subject matter of instant claims 19 and 23 would have been obvious at the time the presently claimed invention was made absent evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 2 of prior U.S. Patent No. US 11433006. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Both claims recite a composition having the same components in the same amounts.
Both claims are directed to the same invention.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim(s) 16 and 19-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-11 of US 12064494 in view of Hirt, WO 2012131623 A2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: The reference claims teach:
1. A method for therapeutic treatment of skin in dermatological procedures, comprising topically applying to skin selected for a dermatological procedure a therapeutically effective amount of a formulation comprising an oligopeptide and one or more antioxidants, wherein the oligopeptide is 0.0001%-10% w/w on an active basis and the one or more antioxidant is 0.1%-10% w/w, wherein the oligopeptide is palmitoyl sh-tripeptide-4 amide, and wherein the one or more antioxidant consists of Camellia sinensis leaf extract, resveratrol, ectoin, Cucumis sativus fruit extract, ergothioneine, Phyllanthus emblica fruit extract, and a combination thereof, and applying a microneedling procedure to the skin, wherein the formulation further comprises 0.001%-10% w/w sodium hyaluronte. 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the dermatological procedure affects the skin's barrier. 3. The method of claim 1, further comprising topically applying the formulation before the microneedling procedure. 4. The method of claim 1, further comprising topically applying the formulation after the microneedling procedure.5. The method of claim 1, wherein the formulation is effective in one or more of healing, reducing symptoms associated with dermatological procedures, soothing the skin, enhancing treatment outcome. 6. The method of claim 1, further comprising applying a biocellulose mask to the skin selected for a dermatological procedure, wherein the biocellulose mask is pre-moistened with the formulation. 7. The method of claim 1, wherein the skin is dry human skin. 8. The method of claim 1, wherein the formulation further comprises one or more of purified water, hydrolyzed sodium hyaluronate, bisabolol, or caffeine. 9. The method of claim 1, wherein the formulation is sterile. 10. The method of claim 1, wherein the dermatological procedure is an at-home skin practice or regimen. 11. The method of claim 1, wherein the dermatological procedure is a cosmetic procedure performed by a physician, esthetician, skincare practitioner, or home user.
The claims are not identical because the amounts recited in the present claims for oligopeptide and antioxidant are broader than those recited in the reference claims. However, the ranges of the reference claims are entirely within the presently claimed range.
The reference claims do not expressly teach biocellulose fibers. However, Hirt cures this defect as enumerated above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to utilize biocellulose fibers for the biocellulose material of the reference claims with a reasonable expectation of success. Biocellulose appears to necessarily be a fiber material according to Hirt. However, to the extent that biocellulose is not necessarily in the form of fibers, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to utilize biocellulose fibers for the cicatrizing properties in the same way reported by Hirtz. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Hirt also teaches applying the biocellulose fibers to skin in the form of a sheet shaped like a mask in the cosmetic field.
The presently claimed invention is an obvious variant of the invention of the reference claims.
Claim(s) 16-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-7 of US 11433006 in view of Hirt, WO 2012131623 A2.
1. A topical formulation for therapeutic treatment of skin in dermatological procedures, comprising (% w/w): 0.001%-10% sodium hyaluronate, an oligopeptide, wherein the oligopeptide is 0.0001%-10% palmitoyl sh-tripeptide-4 amide on an active basis, one or more antioxidants, wherein the one or more antioxidants is between 0.1%-10% w/w and comprises one or more of Camellia sinensis leaf extract, resveratrol, ectoin, Cucumis satvius fruit extract, ergothioneine, Phyllanthus emblica fruit extract, 10%-99% purified water; 0.001%-75% hydrolyzed sodium hyaluronate; 0.001%-99% Camellia sinensis leaf extract; 0.001%-5.0% resveratrol; 0.001%-5% ectoin; 0.001%-5% ergothioneine; 0.001%-5% bisabolol; 0.001%-99% Cucumis satvius fruit extract; 0.001%-99% sodium pyrrolidone carboxylic acid (PCA); 0.001%-99% Chamomila recutita flower extract; 0.001%-99% comfrey extract; 0.001%-99% yucca glauca root extract; 0.001%-5% Phyllanthus emblica fruit extract; 0.001%-5% caffeine; 0%-2% sodium phosphate; 0%-0.5% potassium hydroxide; 0.0%-3.5% phenylcarbinol; 0.0%-0.5% sodium benzoate; 0.0%-0.3% disodium Ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA); and 0.01%-10% polysorbate 20. 2. The formulation of claim 1, comprising (% w/w): 82.41% purified water; 1.00% hydrolyzed sodium hyaluronate; 0.10% sodium hyaluronate; 0.01% Camellia sinensis leaf extract; 0.01% resveratrol; 4.00% palmitoyl sh-tripeptide-4 amide; 0.01% ectoin; 0.01% ergothioneine; 0.20% bisabolol; 0.01% Cucumis satvius fruit extract; 0.01% sodium pyrrolidone carboxylic acid (PCA); 0.01% Chamomila recutita flower extract; 0.01% comfrey extract (Symphytum officinale leaf extract, Leuconostoc/radish root ferment filtrate); 0.01% yucca glauca root extract; 0.10% Phyllanthus emblica fruit extract; 0.01% caffeine; 0.638% sodium phosphate; 0.226% potassium hydroxide; 0.20% phenylcarbinol; 0.05% sodium benzoate; 0.05% disodium Ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA); and 0.70% polysorbate 20. 3. A sheet for therapeutic treatment of skin in dermatological procedures, comprising the sheet structured for topical application to skin selected for a dermatological procedure, the sheet being pre-moistened with a therapeutically effective amount of a formulation of claim 1. 4. The sheet of claim 3, wherein the sheet is a biocellulose sheet and is structured as a facial mask. 5. The sheet of claim 3, wherein the formulation and/or sheet pre-moistened with the formulation is sterilized. 6. The topical formulation of claim 1, wherein the formulation is sterile. 7. The topical formulation of claim 1, wherein the formulation is a sheet.
The claims are not identical at least in part because the amounts recited in the present claims for oligopeptide and antioxidant are broader than those recited in the reference claims. However, the ranges of the reference claims are entirely within the presently claimed range.
The reference claims do not expressly teach biocellulose fibers. However, Hirt cures this defect as enumerated above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to utilize biocellulose fibers for the biocellulose material of the reference claims with a reasonable expectation of success. Biocellulose appears to necessarily be a fiber material according to Hirt. However, to the extent that biocellulose is not necessarily in the form of fibers, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to utilize biocellulose fibers for the cicatrizing properties in the same way reported by Hirtz. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Hirt also teaches applying the biocellulose fibers to skin in the form of a sheet shaped like a mask in the cosmetic field.
The presently claimed invention is an obvious variant of the invention of the reference claims.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/WILLIAM CRAIGO/Examiner, Art Unit 1615