DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119 as follows: A certified copy of case JP2023-128301 has not been received. However, a certified copy of case JP2024-117455 has been received (i.e., associated with date July 23, 2024).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertin & Ferrarotti (US 20090213195 A1; herein referred to as “Albertin”) in view of Tomioka et al. (JP 2007038673 A; herein referred to as “Tomioka”).
With respect to Claim 1, Albertin teaches an ink jet recording method (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) using an ink jet recording apparatus (i.e., “ink-jet printers”; Albertin: ¶0002), the ink jet recording apparatus comprising:
an ink comprising a pigment (i.e., “inks of different colors”; Albertin: ¶0061)
an ink storage portion which is configured to store the ink (i.e., “cartridge body” aka “body”; Albertin: ¶0102, ¶0055, and Fig. 1, element “1”), and is formed from a thermoplastic resin composition (i.e., “a thermoplastic polymeric compound” such as “polyphenylene ether (PPE)”; Albertin: ¶0110) comprising a filler material (i.e., “glass fibre reinforcement” as a filler in a “modified PPE resin”; Albertin: ¶0110); and
a recording head (i.e., “printhead”; Albertin: ¶0055-0056 and Fig. 1, element “5”) to be bonded to the ink storage portion (i.e., “adhesive laid between the printhead and the body”; Albertin: ¶0059), the recording head having formed therein an ejection orifice (i.e., “ink delivery slots”; Albertin: ¶0055 and Fig. 1, element “6”) configured to eject the ink supplied from the ink storage portion (Albertin: ¶0059),
the ink jet recording method (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) comprising recording an image by applying the ink ejected from the ejection orifice (i.e., “nozzle arrays” used to eject ink through “slots of the printhead”; Albertin: ¶0002-0004 and ¶0059) to a recording medium (i.e., “printing medium”; Albertin: ¶0002-0004),
wherein the ink storage portion comprises three or more storage parts divided independently of each other (i.e., “ink chambers”; Albertin: ¶0022 and Fig. 1, elements “11a”-“11c”), and the three or more storage parts are arrayed in one predetermined direction (Albertin: Fig. 1, elements “1”, “10”, and “11a”-“11c”).
Albertin is silent on the ink jet recording apparatus comprising:
an aqueous ink (as stated in the limitations below):
an aqueous ink comprising a pigment;
an ink storage portion which is configured to store the aqueous ink
the recording head having formed therein an ejection orifice configured to eject the aqueous ink supplied from the ink storage portion
applying the aqueous ink ejected from the ejection orifice
the recording head having formed therein an ejection orifice configured to eject the aqueous ink supplied from the ink storage portion by an action of thermal energy
wherein the aqueous ink comprises a yellow ink comprising C.I. Pigment Yellow 74, and
wherein the yellow ink is stored in a corresponding one of the three or more storage parts arranged on an inner side.
Tomioka teaches the ink jet recording apparatus (Tomioka: Abstract) comprising:
an aqueous ink (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.9 of English copy)
the recording head having formed therein an ejection orifice configured to eject the aqueous ink supplied from the ink storage portion by an action of thermal energy (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.10 of English copy)
wherein the aqueous ink comprises a yellow ink comprising C.I. Pigment Yellow 74 (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.6 of English copy), and
wherein the yellow ink (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.6 of English copy) is stored in a corresponding one of the three or more storage parts arranged on an inner side (Tomioka: see highlighted sections of p.5 of English copy & inner side storage part depicted in Fig. 10b). Tomioka teaches an ink storage portion (i.e., “ink cartridge”; Tomioka: see highlighted sections of p.5 of English copy) which “is configured to store a plurality of different inks in each of the plurality of liquid chambers” with “no particular limitation on the combination of ink colors” which can be stored in the corresponding storage parts (i.e., the three storage parts arrayed in one predetermined direction shown in Tomioka Fig. 10b; Also see Tomioka: highlighted sections of p.5 of English copy). Therefore, Tomioka teaches the yellow ink can be stored in a storage part arranged on an inner side. Moreover, Tomioka teaches that the combination of ink stored within the storage portion can be optimized based on “the relationship between the initial state and the ink density of the ink after evaporation” and that this “may vary depending on what kind of ink is used in combination” (Tomioka: see highlighted sections of p.5 of English copy). As stated above, depending on the kind of ink used in combination, an ink set can be optimized to include a yellow ink stored in a corresponding one of the three or more storage parts arranged on an inner side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ink jet recording method taught by Albertin (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) to use the aqueous ink taught by Tomioka (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.9 of English copy), because this ink is optimized for an ink jet recording apparatus which ejects ink by an action of thermal energy (see highlighted section of p.10 of English copy), which is a specific ink jet process that requires ink to form bubbles upon heating (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.11 of English copy). Moreover, aqueous inks (i.e., inks that are water-based) are utilizing water, which is non-toxic and inexpensive, as a component in the ink rather than a more toxic and/or more expensive chemical compound.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ink jet recording method taught by Albertin (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) with a recording head that operated by an action of thermal energy (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.9 of English copy), because this form of ink jet recording head can take up less space (i.e., be smaller) given it does not require a piezoelectric element to be affixed to it, whereas a piezo-electric ink jet recording head would require this additional element. Moreover, the lack of piezoelectric element in a thermal ink jet recording head allows it to be manufactured more cheaply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ink jet recording method taught by Albertin (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) with a yellow ink comprising C.I. Pigment Yellow 74 (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.6 of English copy) as the type of “inks of different colors” taught in Albertin (Albertin: ¶0061) being stored in the multiple storage parts (i.e., “ink chambers”; Albertin: ¶0022 and Fig. 1, elements “11a”-“11c”), because this would enable the printing apparatus to print yellow-containing images.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the colored inks selected to be stored within with the storage portion (such as within the storage part arranged on an inner side) taught in Albertin (i.e., “ink chambers”; Albertin: ¶0022 and Fig. 1, elements “11a”-“11c”) to improve print quality using the teachings of Tomioka (Tomioka: see highlighted sections of p. 2 & 5 of English copy). Tomioka teaches that the color set used within the storage parts (including the inner storage part depicted in Tomioka Fig. 10b) can be optimized, based on the relationship between “the initial state and the ink density of the ink after evaporation” as well as “what kind of ink is used in combination”, to enable the production of “a stable image with little change in color balance” even if stored/held for a long time (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.2 of English copy). Therefore, it would have been obvious to utilize the optimization strategy taught in Tomioka when selecting which ink to place in the inner storage part of the storage portion taught by Albertin.
With respect to Claim 10, Albertin in view of Tomioka teaches the ink jet recording method (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) according to claim 1, wherein the ink storage portion (i.e., “cartridge body” aka “cartridge”; Albertin: ¶0102, ¶0055, ¶0005, and Fig. 1, element “1”) is replaced with another ink storage portion after the aqueous ink stored therein has been consumed (Albertin: ¶0005).
With respect to Claim 12, Albertin teaches an ink jet recording apparatus (i.e., “ink-jet printers”; Albertin: ¶0002) comprising:
an ink comprising a pigment (i.e., “inks of different colors”; Albertin: ¶0061)
an ink storage portion which is configured to store the ink (i.e., “cartridge body” aka “body”; Albertin: ¶0102, ¶0055, and Fig. 1, element “1”), and is formed from a thermoplastic resin composition (i.e., “a thermoplastic polymeric compound” such as “polyphenylene ether (PPE)”; Albertin: ¶0110) comprising a filler material (i.e., “glass fibre reinforcement” as a filler in a “modified PPE resin”; Albertin: ¶0110); and
a recording head (i.e., “printhead”; Albertin: ¶0055-0056 and Fig. 1, element “5”) to be bonded to the ink storage portion (i.e., “adhesive laid between the printhead and the body”; Albertin: ¶0059), the recording head having formed therein an ejection orifice (i.e., “ink delivery slots”; Albertin: ¶0055 and Fig. 1, element “6”) configured to eject the ink supplied from the ink storage portion (Albertin: ¶0059),
wherein the ink storage portion comprises three or more storage parts divided independently of each other (i.e., “ink chambers”; Albertin: ¶0022 and Fig. 1, elements “11a”-“11c”), and the three or more storage parts are arrayed in one predetermined direction (Albertin: Fig. 1, elements “1”, “10”, and “11a”-“11c”).
Albertin is silent on the ink jet recording apparatus comprising:
an aqueous ink (as stated in the limitations below):
an aqueous ink comprising a pigment;
an ink storage portion which is configured to store the aqueous ink
the recording head having formed therein an ejection orifice configured to eject the aqueous ink supplied from the ink storage portion
the recording head having formed therein an ejection orifice configured to eject the aqueous ink supplied from the ink storage portion by an action of thermal energy
wherein the aqueous ink comprises a yellow ink comprising C.I. Pigment Yellow 74, and
wherein the yellow ink is stored in a corresponding one of the three or more storage parts arranged on an inner side.
Tomioka teaches the ink jet recording apparatus (Tomioka: Abstract) comprising:
an aqueous ink (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.9 of English copy)
the recording head having formed therein an ejection orifice configured to eject the aqueous ink supplied from the ink storage portion by an action of thermal energy (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.10 of English copy)
wherein the aqueous ink comprises a yellow ink comprising C.I. Pigment Yellow 74 (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.6 of English copy), and
wherein the yellow ink (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.6 of English copy) is stored in a corresponding one of the three or more storage parts arranged on an inner side (Tomioka: see highlighted sections of p.5 of English copy & Fig. 10b). Tomioka teaches an ink storage portion (i.e., “ink cartridge”; Tomioka: see highlighted sections of p.5 of English copy) which “is configured to store a plurality of different inks in each of the plurality of liquid chambers” with “no particular limitation on the combination of ink colors” which can be stored in the corresponding storage parts (i.e., the three storage parts arrayed in one predetermined direction shown in Tomioka Fig. 10b; Also see Tomioka: highlighted sections of p.5 of English copy). Therefore, Tomioka teaches the yellow ink can be stored in a storage part arranged on an inner side. Moreover, Tomioka teaches that the combination of ink stored within the storage portion can be optimized based on “the relationship between the initial state and the ink density of the ink after evaporation” and that this “may vary depending on what kind of ink is used in combination” (Tomioka: see highlighted sections of p.5 of English copy). As stated above, depending on the kind of ink used in combination, an ink set can be optimized to include a yellow ink stored in a corresponding one of the three or more storage parts arranged on an inner side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ink jet recording apparatus taught by Albertin (i.e., “ink-jet printers”; Albertin: ¶0002) by using an aqueous ink, because this ink is optimized for an ink jet recording apparatus which ejects ink by an action of thermal energy (see highlighted section of p.10 of English copy), which is a specific ink jet process that requires ink to form bubbles upon heating (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.11 of English copy). Moreover, aqueous inks (i.e., inks that are water-based) are utilizing water, which is non-toxic and inexpensive, as a component in the ink rather than a more toxic and/or more expensive chemical compound.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ink jet recording apparatus taught by Albertin (i.e., “ink-jet printers”; Albertin: ¶0002) with a recording head that operated by an action of thermal energy (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.9 of English copy), because this form of ink jet recording head can take up less space (i.e., be smaller) given it does not require a piezoelectric element to be affixed to it, whereas a piezo-electric ink jet recording head would require this additional element. Moreover, the lack of piezoelectric element in a thermal ink jet recording head allows it to be manufactured more cheaply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ink jet recording apparatus taught by Albertin (i.e., “ink-jet printers”; Albertin: ¶0002) with a yellow ink comprising C.I. Pigment Yellow 74 (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.6 of English copy) as the type of “inks of different colors” taught in Albertin (Albertin: ¶0061) being stored in the multiple storage parts (i.e., “ink chambers”; Albertin: ¶0022 and Fig. 1, elements “11a”-“11c”), because this would enable the printing apparatus to print yellow-containing images.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the colored inks selected to be stored within with the storage portion (such as within the storage part arranged on an inner side) taught in Albertin (i.e., “ink chambers”; Albertin: ¶0022 and Fig. 1, elements “11a”-“11c”) to improve print quality using the teachings of Tomioka (Tomioka: see highlighted sections of p. 2 & 5 of English copy). Tomioka teaches that the color set used within the storage parts (including the inner storage part depicted in Tomioka Fig. 10b) can be optimized, based on the relationship between “the initial state and the ink density of the ink after evaporation” as well as “what kind of ink is used in combination”, to enable the production of “a stable image with little change in color balance” even if stored/held for a long time (Tomioka: see highlighted section of p.2 of English copy). Therefore, it would have been obvious to utilize the optimization strategy taught in Tomioka when selecting which ink to place in the inner storage part of the storage portion taught by Albertin.
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertin in view of Tomioka further in view of Mori & Yamashita (US 20130027476 A1; herein referred to as “Mori”).
With respect to Claim 2, Albertin in view of Tomioka teaches the ink jet recording method (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) according to claim 1, including a yellow ink.
Albertin is silent on wherein
the yellow ink further comprises a first water-soluble organic solvent having a relative dielectric constant of 37.0 or more,
and a content (% by mass) of the first water-soluble organic solvent in the yellow ink is 1.2 times or more to 2.0 times or less in terms of a mass ratio with respect to a content (% by mass) of the C.I. Pigment Yellow 74.
Mori teaches wherein
the yellow ink further comprises a first water-soluble organic solvent having a relative dielectric constant of 37.0 or more (i.e., ethylene urea; Mori: ¶0073). Applicant acknowledges ethylene urea has a dielectric constant greater than 37.0 in their disclosure in ¶0062.
and a content (% by mass) of the first water-soluble organic solvent (i.e., ethylene urea at 0.01-3.0%; Mori: ¶0073) in the yellow ink is 1.2 times or more to 2.0 times or less in terms of a mass ratio with respect to a content (% by mass) of the C.I. Pigment Yellow 74 (i.e., C.I. Pigment Yellow 74 at 2.5-10.0%; Mori: ¶0048). For example, 3.0% by mass first water-soluble organic solvent divided by 2.5% by mass C.I. Pigment Yellow 74 equals a mass ratio of 1.2, which falls within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the yellow ink used in the ink jet recording method taught in Albertin in view of Tomioka by using the ink composition of the yellow-pigmented ink taught by Mori, because this ink has “high durability” (Mori: ¶0007) when used in a thermal printer and “can stably record an image high in color developability” (Mori: ¶0008). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a content (% by mass) of the first water-soluble organic solvent in the yellow ink is 1.2 times or more to 2.0 times or less in terms of a mass ratio with respect to a content (% by mass) of the C.I. Pigment Yellow 74, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (in re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
With respect to Claim 3, Albertin in view of Tomioka teaches the ink jet recording method (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) according to claim 1, including a yellow ink.
Albertin is silent on the yellow ink further comprises a water-soluble resin comprising a unit derived from styrene.
Mori teaches the yellow ink further comprises a water-soluble resin comprising a unit derived from styrene (i.e., “a water-soluble resin having…a unit derived from at least one monomer of styrene”; Mori: ¶0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the yellow ink used in the ink jet recording method taught in Albertin in view of Tomioka by using the ink composition of the yellow-pigmented ink taught by Mori, because this ink has “high durability” (Mori: ¶0007) when used in a thermal printer and “can stably record an image high in color developability” (Mori: ¶0008).
With respect to Claim 4, Albertin in view of Tomioka teaches the ink jet recording method (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) according to claim 3, including a yellow ink.
Albertin is silent on wherein, a content (% by mass) of the unit derived from the styrene in the water-soluble resin is 10.00% by mass or more with respect to a total mass of the water-soluble resin.
Mori teaches wherein, a content (% by mass) of the unit derived from the styrene in the water-soluble resin (i.e., “a water-soluble resin having…a unit derived from at least one monomer of styrene”; Mori: ¶0059) is 10.00% by mass or more with respect to a total mass of the water-soluble resin (Mori: ¶0080-0081; Table 1, Col: Resins A-F, Row: Styrene). Mori teaches water-soluble resins with styrene at 42-67% with respect to a total mass of the water-soluble resin, which falls within the claimed range (Mori: ¶0080-0081; Table 1, Col: Resins A-F, Row: Styrene).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the yellow ink used in the ink jet recording method taught in Albertin in view of Tomioka by using the ink composition of the yellow-pigmented ink taught by Mori, because this ink has “high durability” (Mori: ¶0007) when used in a thermal printer and “can stably record an image high in color developability” (Mori: ¶0008). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a content (% by mass) of the unit derived from the styrene in the water-soluble resin is 10.00% by mass or more with respect to a total mass of the water-soluble resin, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (in re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
With respect to Claim 5, Albertin in view of Tomioka teaches the ink jet recording method (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) according to claim 1, including a yellow ink.
Albertin is silent on wherein
the yellow ink further comprises an acetylene glycol-based surfactant, and
a content (% by mass) of the acetylene glycol-based surfactant in the yellow ink is 1.50% by mass or more to 2.50% by mass or less with respect to a total mass of the yellow ink.
Mori teaches wherein
the yellow ink further comprises an acetylene glycol-based surfactant (i.e., “surfactant include…oxide adducts of acetylene glycol”; Mori: ¶0073), and
a content (% by mass) of the acetylene glycol-based surfactant in the yellow ink is 1.50% by mass or more to 2.50% by mass or less with respect to a total mass of the yellow ink (i.e., “surfactant include…oxide adducts of acetylene glycol” at 0.01-3.0%; Mori: ¶0073). The range taught by Mori overlaps the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the yellow ink used in the ink jet recording method taught in Albertin in view of Tomioka by using the ink composition of the yellow-pigmented ink taught by Mori, because this ink has “high durability” (Mori: ¶0007) when used in a thermal printer and “can stably record an image high in color developability” (Mori: ¶0008). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a content (% by mass) of the acetylene glycol-based surfactant in the yellow ink is 1.50% by mass or more to 2.50% by mass or less with respect to a total mass of the yellow ink, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (in re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
With respect to Claim 6, Albertin in view of Tomioka teaches the ink jet recording method (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) according to claim 5, including a yellow ink.
Albertin is silent on wherein the content (% by mass) of the acetylene glycol-based surfactant in the yellow ink is 0.3 times or more to 0.6 times or less in terms of a mass ratio with respect to a content (% by mass) of the C.I. Pigment Yellow 74.
Mori teaches wherein the content (% by mass) of the acetylene glycol-based surfactant (i.e., “surfactant include…oxide adducts of acetylene glycol” at 0.01-3.0%; Mori: ¶0073) in the yellow ink is 0.3 times or more to 0.6 times or less in terms of a mass ratio with respect to a content (% by mass) of the C.I. Pigment Yellow 74 (i.e., C.I. Pigment Yellow 74 at 2.5-10.0%; Mori: ¶0048). For example, 3.0% by mass acetylene glycol-based surfactant divided by 6.0% by mass C.I. Pigment Yellow 74 equals a mass ratio of 0.5, which falls within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the yellow ink used in the ink jet recording method taught in Albertin in view of Tomioka by using the ink composition of the yellow-pigmented ink taught by Mori, because this ink has “high durability” (Mori: ¶0007) when used in a thermal printer and “can stably record an image high in color developability” (Mori: ¶0008). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the content (% by mass) of the acetylene glycol-based surfactant in the yellow ink is 0.3 times or more to 0.6 times or less in terms of a mass ratio with respect to a content (% by mass) of the C.I. Pigment Yellow 74, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (in re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
With respect to Claim 7, Albertin in view of Tomioka teaches the ink jet recording method (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) according to claim 1, including a yellow ink.
Albertin is silent on wherein
the yellow ink further comprises a compound expressed by the following general formula (1), and
a content (% by mass) of the compound expressed by the following general formula (1) in the yellow ink is 0.80% by mass or more to 1.20% by mass or less with respect to a total mass of the yellow ink:
in the general formula (1), "p+r" represents a number of 3.0 or more to 27.0 or less, and "q" represents a number of 16.0 or more to 31.0 or less.
Mori teaches wherein
the yellow ink further comprises a compound expressed by the following general formula (1) (i.e., the “Pluronic type surfactant” as shown in formula (1) for Mori encapsulates the claimed formula (1); Mori: ¶0063-0064). Mori notes that their “formula (1)” represents a surfactant structural formula where “the ethylene oxide group (--CH.sub.2--CH.sub.2--O--) and the propylene oxide group (--CH.sub.2--CH(CH.sub.3)--O--) may be arranged in any order (emphasis added; Mori: ¶0063) and can have one or more of each group (i.e., n is 1.0 or more and m is 1.0 or more; Mori: ¶0063-0064). Therefore, Mori’s formula (1) encapsulates the claimed formula (1).
a content (% by mass) of the compound expressed by the following general formula (1) in the yellow ink is 0.80% by mass or more to 1.20% by mass or less with respect to a total mass of the yellow ink (i.e., 0.05%-5.0%; Mori: ¶0064):
Mori teaches a range which overlaps with the claimed range.
in the general formula (1), "p+r" represents a number of 3.0 or more to 27.0 or less, and "q" represents a number of 16.0 or more to 31.0 or less (i.e., the “Pluronic type surfactant” as shown in formula (1) for Mori encapsulates the claimed formula (1) where n is 1.0 or more and m is 1.0 or more; Mori: ¶0063-0064). In Mori, n is equivalent to “p+r” (i.e., the ethylene oxide groups) and q is equivalent to m (i.e., the propylene oxide groups). The specified number of ethylene oxide groups (i.e., “p+r” in the claim set; n in Mori ¶0063-0064) and propylene oxide groups (i.e., “q” in the claim set; m in Mori ¶0063-0064) taught in Mori encapsulate those claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the yellow ink used in the ink jet recording method taught in Albertin in view of Tomioka by using the ink composition of the yellow-pigmented ink taught by Mori, because this ink has “high durability” (Mori: ¶0007) when used in a thermal printer and “can stably record an image high in color developability” (Mori: ¶0008). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a content (% by mass) of the compound expressed by the following general formula (1) in the yellow ink is 0.80% by mass or more to 1.20% by mass or less with respect to a total mass of the yellow ink, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (in re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
With respect to Claim 8, Albertin in view of Tomioka teaches the ink jet recording method (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) according to claim 7.
Albertin is silent on wherein the content (% by mass) of the compound expressed by the general formula (1) in the yellow ink is 0.1 times or more to 0.3 times or less in terms of a mass ratio with respect to a content (% by mass) of the C.I. Pigment Yellow 74.
Mori teaches wherein the content (% by mass) of the compound expressed by the general formula (1) (i.e., the “Pluronic type surfactant” as shown in formula (1) for Mori encapsulates the claimed formula (1) at 0.05%-5.0%; Mori: ¶0063-0064) in the yellow ink is 0.1 times or more to 0.3 times or less in terms of a mass ratio with respect to a content (% by mass) of the C.I. Pigment Yellow 74 (i.e., C.I. Pigment Yellow 74 at 2.5-10.0%; Mori: ¶0048). For example, 0.5% by mass formula (1) divided by 5.0% by mass C.I. Pigment Yellow 74 equals a mass ratio of 0.1, which falls within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the yellow ink used in the ink jet recording method taught in Albertin in view of Tomioka by using the ink composition of the yellow-pigmented ink taught by Mori, because this ink has “high durability” (Mori: ¶0007) when used in a thermal printer and “can stably record an image high in color developability” (Mori: ¶0008). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the content (% by mass) of the compound expressed by the general formula (1) in the yellow ink is 0.1 times or more to 0.3 times or less in terms of a mass ratio with respect to a content (% by mass) of the C.I. Pigment Yellow 74, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (in re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertin in view of Tomioka and further in view of O'Reilly et al. (US 20160332454 A1; herein referred to as “O'Reilly”).
With respect to Claim 9, Albertin in view of Tomioka teaches the ink jet recording method (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) according to claim 1, wherein the recording head (i.e., “printhead”; Albertin: ¶0056 and Fig. 1, element “5”) has formed therein an ejection orifice array (i.e., “arrays of ejecting nozzles”; nozzles are also referred to as “slots of printhead 5”; Albertin: ¶0055, ¶0058, and Fig. 1) in which a plurality of the ejection orifices is arrayed in parallel to a longitudinal direction of the ink storage portion (Albertin: ¶0058 and Fig. 1). Note that the array of nozzles (i.e., the “slots of printhead 5”) are arranged to be above the “ink delivery slots 6”, which are shown to be arrayed in parallel to a longitudinal direction of the ink storage portions as shown in Albertin Fig. 1 (Albertin: ¶0058 and Fig. 1)
Albertin is silent on the ink storage portion has a ratio (A/B) of a length A in the longitudinal direction to a length B in a transverse direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction, the ratio (A/B) being 2.0 times or more to 4.0 times or less.
O'Reilly teaches the ink storage portion (i.e., “housing”; O'Reilly: ¶0016 and Fig. 4-5, element “107”) has a ratio (A/B) of a length A in the longitudinal direction (i.e., “length Lh of the housing”, such as 66 mm; O'Reilly: ¶0016 and Fig. 5, element “Lh”) to a length B in a transverse direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction (i.e., “total width of the housing”, such as 32 mm; O'Reilly: ¶0018 and Fig. 4, element “Wh”), the ratio (A/B) being 2.0 times or more to 4.0 times or less (i.e., 66 mm ÷ 32 mm = 2.1, which is within the claimed range; O'Reilly: ¶0016 and ¶0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to design the dimensions of the outer structure of the ink storage portion (i.e., the body taught in Albertin) using the housing dimension ratio taught in O’Reilly. O’Reilly teaches the dimensions specified above cause the housing of their ink storage portion to have “a relatively long body” which enables the overall structure is intended to “hold relatively large volumes of ink” (¶0016 and Fig. 4-5, element “107”). This decreases the frequency required by a user to replenish the ink within the printer.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as being unpatentable over Albertin in view of Tomioka and further in view of William et al. (US 20020027580 A1; herein referred to as “William”).
With respect to Claim 11, Albertin in view of Tomioka teaches the ink jet recording method (Albertin: ¶0002-0004) according to claim 1.
Albertin is silent on wherein the ink jet recording apparatus further comprises:
a second ink storage portion having a capacity larger than a capacity of the ink storage portion; and
a tube through which the aqueous ink flows between the second ink storage portion and the ink storage portion.
William teaches an inkjet recording apparatus further comprising:
a second ink storage portion (William: ¶0016; Fig. 1a and 1b, element “10”) having a capacity larger than a capacity of the ink storage portion (Williams: ¶0025; Fig. 3, element “120”); and
a tube (William: ¶0025; Fig. 1, element “115”) through which the aqueous ink flows between the second ink storage portion and the ink storage portion (William: ¶0025, Fig. 3, elements “120”, “137”, and “132”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the inkjet recording apparatus taught in Albertin with an “ink supply system” taught in William, given the second ink storage portion (i.e., the “reservoirs” of ink) provide a continuous supply of ink to the ink storage portion (i.e., the “ink cartridges”) in a printer (Williams: ¶0015). This decreases the frequency of replacing the ink being used by the printer.
Conclusion
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/SHLOMIT CHELST/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853