DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on March 20, 2026 in response to the previous Office Action (10/21/2025) is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 6 – 7, 10, 12 – 13 and 17 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanimoto (JP 2007-248904 A machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claim 1, Tanimoto discloses an imaging system comprising: an image sensor (115) (fig. 8; ¶22); an aperture shifter (fig. 2; ¶12); a strip (5a) with a plurality of apertures (11/12/13) coupled with the aperture shifter (fig. 1-2; ¶12), a portion of the strip located along an optical pathway (7), the optical pathway to pass light from an external environment through an aperture of the plurality of apertures to the image sensor (fig. 2; ¶22), wherein the aperture of the plurality of apertures is downstream of the external environment along the optical pathway and upstream of the image sensor along the optical pathway (figs. 1-2, 6); and a controller coupled with the image sensor and the aperture shifter, the controller identifying an amount of light for the image sensor and transmitting signals to the aperture shifter to align one of the apertures of the strip with the optical pathway (¶20-22; cl.4).
Regarding claim 2, Tanimoto discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tanimoto also teaches wherein the aperture shifter is configured to slide the portion of the strip in a direction substantially perpendicular to the optical pathway (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Tanimoto discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tanimoto also teaches wherein each aperture of the strip has a different shape, a different size, a different optical filter, or some combination thereof relative to each of the other apertures (fig. 2; ¶12).
Regarding claim 7, Tanimoto discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tanimoto also teaches wherein edges of the apertures of the strip are spaced apart from each other by at least a threshold distance (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Tanimoto discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tanimoto also teaches wherein at least one of the apertures of the strip is nonsymmetrical (fig. 2).
Claim 12 – 13 and 17 – 18 are rejected as applied to claims 1 – 2, above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Tanimoto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 – 5, 14 – 16 and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto in view of Zeng (CN 2337583 Y).
Regarding claim 3, Tanimoto discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tanimoto fails to explicitly disclose wherein the aperture shifter includes: a first spool (33a) on a first side of the optical pathway, wherein at least a first subset of the strip is wound around the first spool; and a second spool on a second side of the optical pathway, wherein at least a second subset of the strip is wound around the second spool.
In a similar field of endeavor, Zeng teaches an improved mechanism for switching the camera lens aperture, wherein a linear diaphragm film 40 is wound around tumblers 43 and an adjusting knob 10 (cl.2-3; fig. 1). In light of the teaching of Zeng, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Zeng’s teaching in Tanimoto’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in low-cost reconfigurable aperture imaging system with simple structure and easy operation.
Regarding claim 4, Tanimoto in view of Zeng discloses the limitations of claim 3. Zeng also teaches wherein the second side of the optical pathway is on the opposite side of the first side (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Tanimoto in view of Zeng discloses the limitations of claim 3. Zeng also teaches wherein, to move the strip relative to the optical pathway, the aperture shifter is configured to rotate the first spool and/or the second spool (cl. 4: a rotatable adjusting knob that can make a drive rack of a gear, in order to spur a diaphragm slice and move).
Claim 14 – 16 rejected as applied to claims 3 – 5, above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Tanimoto in view of Zeng.
Claim 19 – 20 rejected as applied to claims 3 – 4, above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Tanimoto in view of Zeng.
Claim(s) 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto In view of Liang et al. (US 2022/0268632).
Regarding claim 8, Tanimoto discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tanimoto fails to explicitly disclose wherein a first aperture of the strip includes an optical filter.
In a similar field of endeavor, Liang teaches a polarization imaging system that includes a spectral-polarization filter comprising an array of multiple spectral filters and an array of multiple polarizers that are positioned in cascade to modify both spectral content and polarization of the light that enters the spectral-polarization filter; wherein the light that exits the spectral-polarization filter is directed to a sensor positioned to detect filtered light from the spectral-polarization filter at an image plane of the polarization imaging system (cl.1). In light of the teaching of Liang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Liang’s teaching in Tanimoto’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in ow-cost reconfigurable polarization imaging system with improved spatial resolution.
Regarding claim 9, Tanimoto in view of Liang et al. discloses the limitations of claim 8. Liang also teaches wherein the first aperture of the strip includes at least one of: a vertical polarizer, a horizontal polarizer, a circular polarizer, an apodization filter, neutral density filter, a linear gradient filter, or a radial gradient filter (figs. 1; ¶22-23: circular, linear polarizers).
Claim(s) 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto in view of Hyundai (KR 95-0019878A).
Regarding claim 11, Tanimoto discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tanimoto fails to explicitly disclose wherein, to move the strip, the aperture shifter includes at least one of: a rotary motor or a linear actuator.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hyundai a shutter that can be applied to various cameras, including a shutter having a motor driving a belt formed with two transparent parts (cl.1; fig. 1). In light of the teaching of Hyundai, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Hyundai’s teaching in Tanimoto’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in a shutter with a new structure that can reduce the manufacturing cost and reduce the manufacturing cost.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639