DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to U.S. Patent Application No. 18/796,774, filed August 7, 2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) for U.S. Patent Application No. 63/519,674, filed on August 15, 2023, is acknowledged and accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 7, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFT 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 13, 15 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the vehicular speed;” however, this passage lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 9 recites “the driver;” however, this passage lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 13 recites “the vehicle odometer;” however, this passage lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 15 recites “the vehicle speed;” however, this passage lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 19 recites “the vehicle speed;” however, this passage lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a vehicle controller” and “a control unit” in claims 1, 15 and 19.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In looking at Fig. 1, and para 0029, of the present Specification, the “vehicle controller” comprises a push device for activating vehicle functions, and “a control unit” comprises a processor for processing received signal and generating command signals, as indicated in at least Fig. 1, and para 0011.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0406931, to Ide et al. (hereinafter Ide), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0174682, to Bowden et al. (hereinafter Bowden), and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 8,892,302, to McDonald.
As per Claim 1, Ide discloses a vehicular speedometer and operating system (e.g. see Figs. 1 and 3, Abstract, and paras 0049-0050, wherein an automatic driving vehicle 10 is provided for controlling vehicle speed, including a display 36 that displays the vehicle speed) comprising: a display unit (e.g. see Fig. 3 and para 0050, wherein the display 36 is provided); a vehicle controller (e.g. see Fig. 3 and paras 0049-0050, wherein a touch panel 28 is provided to control the vehicle speed); and a control unit (e.g. see Fig. 7, and paras 0067-0069, wherein the vehicle includes an interface processing device 82, a driving control device 84 and preliminary driving control device 86 (i.e. control unit));…; wherein said…display unit having a vehicular speed indicator (e.g. see para 0047, 0050, wherein the display displays vehicle speed); wherein said vehicle controller having at least two signal indicator buttons (e.g. see Fig. 4, and para 0055, wherein the touch panel includes two turn lamp buttons 50) at least two headlamp adjusting buttons (e.g. see Fig. 4, and para 0055, wherein the touch panel includes three light buttons 56), a brake button (e.g. see Fig. 4, and para 0055, wherein the touch panel includes parking brake button 48), and a horn button for managing a corresponding functionality of a vehicle (e.g. see Fig. 4, and para 0055, wherein the touch panel includes horn button 54); wherein each of said at least two signal indicator buttons, said at least two headlamp adjusting buttons, said brake button, and said horn button independently actuated for activating the corresponding functionality of the vehicle (e.g. the Office notes that each button is independently actuatable to activate a corresponding function); wherein said control unit actuates the corresponding functionality of the vehicle based on an input received from said vehicle controller (e.g. see Fig. 7, and para 0068, wherein the driving control device 84 inputs operation signals from the touch panel); wherein said control unit having a speedometer interface for tracking the vehicular speed (e.g. see para 0050, wherein the display displays the vehicle speed; the Office further notes that the display would be controlled by the Interface processing device (e.g. see Fig. 7) meaning that the interface processing device would have to have an interface for tracking the vehicle speed for display thereof)….
Ide fails to disclose wherein said display unit is a touch display unit; wherein said touch display unit having a display selected from the group consisting of an LED, an LCD, and an OLED. However, Bowden teaches a vehicle displays 24, 113, configured for displaying vehicle speed, wherein the displays are formed of LEDs and configured for touch input (e.g. see Figs. 2 and 9, and paras 0035, 0055-0056). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the displays of Ide to include a touch-based LED screen for the purpose of adding function to the display for further control by a viewer.
Ide fails to disclose further wherein said control unit having a 12V connector for connecting said control unit to a 12V power source of the vehicle. However, McDonald teaches a vehicle control unit 820 powered by a 12-volt power input 840 (e.g. see Fig. 14, and col. 25, lines 5-18). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the display system of Ide to include a 12-volt connector for a control unit as a matter of designer’s choice for powering the control unit.
As per Claim 2, Ide, as modified by Bowden and McDonald, teaches the features of claim 1, and Ide further discloses wherein said vehicle controller buttons are physical buttons (e.g. see Fig. 4, para 0057 0018, wherein Ide discloses a touch panel that includes both physical buttons (e.g. emergency stop 34) and touch buttons (e.g. buttons 40-56)).
As per Claim 3, Ide, as modified by Bowden and McDonald, teaches the features of claim 1, and Ide further discloses wherein said vehicle controller buttons are touch buttons (e.g. see Fig. 4, para 0057 0018, wherein Ide discloses a touch panel that includes both physical buttons (e.g. emergency stop 34) and touch buttons (e.g. buttons 40-56)).
As per Claim 4, Ide, as modified by Bowden and McDonald, teaches the features of claim 2, and Ide further discloses wherein said vehicle controller having a rechargeable battery (e.g. the Office notes that the accessory battery 90, which powers controllers 82, 84 and 86, would have to be recharged, likely by a vehicle battery/alternator configuration, otherwise it would be continually replaced).
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0406931, to Ide et al. (hereinafter Ide), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0174682, to Bowden et al. (hereinafter Bowden), in further view of U.S. Patent No. 8,892,302, to McDonald, and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0148498, to Heaney.
As per Claim 5, Ide, as modified by Bowden and McDonald, teaches the features of claim 4, but fails to disclose wherein said vehicle controller chargeable with a 5V port of the vehicle. However, Heaney teaches a rechargeable battery 40, providing power to control electronics 22, wherein the rechargeable battery is charge in the range of 0-5v and/or 0-6v (e.g. see Fig. 1 and para 0058). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the display system of Ide to include utilizing a 5v power source for charging a rechargeable battery as a matter of designer’s choice for charging a battery.
As per Claim 6, Ide, as modified by Bowden, McDonald and Heaney, teaches the features of claim 5, and Heaney further teaches wherein said control unit receiving Bluetooth signals from said vehicle controller and transmits corresponding signals to the corresponding functionality of the vehicle (e.g. see Fig. 1 and paras 0040 and 0054, wherein the motor control 36 and control electronics 22 are configured for Bluetooth communications). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the display system of Ide to include utilizing wireless communications for the purpose of reducing communication complexity of the system.
As per Claim 7, Ide, as modified by Bowden, McDonald and Heaney, teaches the features of claim 6, and Ide further discloses wherein said control unit having a first pair of relay elements corresponding to said signal indicator buttons, a second pair of relay elements corresponding to said headlamp adjusting buttons, a third relay element corresponding to said brake button, and a fourth relay element corresponding to said horn button (e.g. see Fig. 4, wherein the Office notes that there would have to be some sort of relay components to effectuate the commands issued through the buttons 40-56 of the touch panel 28).
As per Claim 8, Ide, as modified by Bowden, McDonald and Heaney, teaches the features of claim 7, and Ide further discloses wherein said control unit transmits information of a vehicle’s signal activation to said touch display unit (e.g. see Fig. 4, wherein a battery charge level is displayed on the touch panel).
As per Claim 9, Ide, as modified by Bowden, McDonald and Heaney, teaches the features of claim 8, and Ide further discloses wherein said touch display unit having a visual indicator of said vehicle’s signal to the driver (e.g. see Fig. 4, wherein a battery charge level is displayed on the touch panel).
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0406931, to Ide et al. (hereinafter Ide), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0174682, to Bowden et al. (hereinafter Bowden), in further view of U.S. Patent No. 8,892,302, to McDonald, in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0148498, to Heaney, and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0414404, to Park et al. (hereinafter Park).
As per Claim 10, Ide, as modified by Bowden, McDonald and Heaney, teaches the features of claim 9, but fails to teach wherein said vehicle controller transmits a Bluetooth signal to said control unit including an encoded input from said vehicle controller. However, Park teaches a remote control device 200 (i.e. vehicle controller) transmitting, via Bluetooth, input, which would be encoded, to a controller 170 (i.e. control unit) of the vehicle (e.g. see Fig. 1, and para 0046). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the display system of Ide to include utilizing wireless communications for the purpose of reducing communication complexity of the system.
As per Claim 11, Ide, as modified by Bowden, McDonald and Heaney, teaches the features of claim 10, and Bowden further teaches wherein said touch display unit having a speedometer display for indicating a speed of the vehicle (e.g. see Bowden, which teaches a vehicle displays 24, 113, configured for displaying vehicle speed, wherein the displays are formed of LEDs and configured for touch input (e.g. see Figs. 2 and 9, and paras 0035, 0055-0056). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the displays of Ide to include a touch-based LED screen for the purpose of adding function to the display for further control by a viewer.
As per Claim 12, Ide, as modified by Bowden, McDonald and Heaney, teaches the features of claim 11, and Bowden further teaches wherein said touch display unit having a GPS tracker (e.g. see Fig. 5, and para 0044, wherein Bowden teaches display of navigation information from a navigation system 65 on the touch screen, the Office further notes that vehicle navigation systems utilize and display GPS information). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the displays of Ide to include display of navigation information for the driver to make appropriate driving decisions.
As per Claim 13, Ide, as modified by Bowden, McDonald and Heaney, teaches the features of claim 12, and Bowden further teaches wherein said control unit having a mileage tracker interface for tracking the vehicle odometer (e.g. see Fig. 2, and para 0028, wherein Bowden teaches display of odometer information which would be supplied by the control unit of Ide). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the displays of Ide to include display of odometer information for the driver to make appropriate driving maintenance decisions.
As per Claim 14, Ide, as modified by Bowden, McDonald and Heaney, teaches the features of claim 13, and McDonald further teaches wherein said control unit selectively detachable from the 12V power source of the vehicle for portability (e.g. see Fig. 14, and col. 25, lines 5-18, wherein the vehicle control unit 820 powered by a 12-volt power input 840, which is configured for removable attachment, via a male end 845 of an insertable power connection). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the display system of Ide to include a 12-volt connector for a control unit, which is removable, as a matter of designer’s choice for powering the control unit.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0406931, to Ide et al. (hereinafter Ide), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0174682, to Bowden et al. (hereinafter Bowden), in further view of U.S. Patent No. 8,892,302, to McDonald, and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0414404, to Park et al. (hereinafter Park).
As per Claim 15, Ide discloses a vehicular speedometer and operating system (e.g. see Figs. 1 and 3, Abstract, and paras 0049-0050, wherein an automatic driving vehicle 10 is provided for controlling vehicle speed, including a display 36 that displays the vehicle speed) comprising: a display unit (e.g. see Fig. 3 and para 0050, wherein the display 36 is provided); a vehicle controller (e.g. see Fig. 3 and paras 0049-0050, wherein a touch panel 28 is provided to control the vehicle speed); and a control unit (e.g. see Fig. 7, and paras 0067-0069, wherein the vehicle includes an interface processing device 82, a driving control device 84 and preliminary driving control device 86 (i.e. control unit));…wherein said touch display unit having a vehicular speed indicator (e.g. see para 0047, wherein the display displays vehicle speed); wherein said vehicle controller having at least two signal indicator buttons (e.g. see Fig. 4, and para 0055, wherein the touch panel includes two turn lamp buttons 50), at least two headlamp adjusting buttons (e.g. see Fig. 4, and para 0055, wherein the touch panel includes three light buttons 56), and a horn button for managing a corresponding functionality of a vehicle (e.g. see Fig. 4, and para 0055, wherein the touch panel includes horn button 54); wherein each of said at least two signal indicator buttons, said at least two headlamp adjusting buttons, and said horn button independently actuated for activating the corresponding functionality of the vehicle (e.g. the Office notes that each button is independently actuatable to activate a corresponding function); wherein said control unit actuates the corresponding functionality of the vehicle based on an input received from said vehicle controller (e.g. see Fig. 7, and para 0068, wherein the driving control device 84 inputs operation signals from the touch panel); wherein said control unit having a speedometer interface for tracking the vehicular speed (e.g. see para 0050, wherein the display displays the vehicle speed; the Office further notes that the display would be controlled by the Interface processing device (e.g. see Fig. 7) meaning that the interface processing device would have to have an interface for tracking the vehicle speed for display thereof);…
Ide fails to disclose wherein said display unit is a touch display unit; wherein said touch display unit having a display selected from the group consisting of an LED, an LCD, and an OLED. However, Bowden teaches a vehicle displays 24, 113, configured for displaying vehicle speed, wherein the displays are formed of LEDs and configured for touch input (e.g. see Figs. 2 and 9, and paras 0035, 0055-0056). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the displays of Ide to include a touch-based LED screen for the purpose of adding function to the display for further control by a viewer.
Ide fails to disclose further wherein said control unit having a 12V connector for connecting said control unit to a 12V power source of the vehicle. However, McDonald teaches a vehicle control unit 820 powered by a 12-volt power input 840 (e.g. see Fig. 14, and col. 25, lines 5-18). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the display system of Ide to include a 12-volt connector for a control unit as a matter of designer’s choice for powering the control unit.
Ide fails to disclose further wherein said control unit receiving Bluetooth signals from said vehicle controller and transmits corresponding signals to the corresponding functionality of the vehicle. However, Park teaches a remote control device 200 (i.e. vehicle controller) transmitting, via Bluetooth, input, which would be encoded, to a controller 170 (i.e. control unit) of the vehicle (e.g. see Fig. 1, and para 0046). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the display system of Ide to include utilizing wireless communications for the purpose of reducing communication complexity of the system.
As per Claim 17, Ide, as modified by Bowden, McDonald and Park, teaches the features of claim 15, and Ide further discloses wherein said control unit having a first pair of relay elements corresponding to said signal indicator buttons, a second pair of relay elements corresponding to said headlamp adjusting buttons, and a third relay element corresponding to said horn button (e.g. see Fig. 4, wherein the Office notes that there would have to be some sort of relay components to effectuate the commands issued through the buttons 40-56 of the touch panel 28).
As per Claim 18, Ide, as modified by Bowden, McDonald and Park, teaches the features of claim 15, and Ide further discloses wherein said control unit transmits information of a vehicle’s signal activation to said touch display (e.g. see Fig. 4, wherein a battery charge level is displayed on the touch panel).
As per Claim 19, Ide discloses a vehicular speedometer and operating system (e.g. see Figs. 1 and 3, Abstract, and paras 0049-0050, wherein an automatic driving vehicle 10 is provided for controlling vehicle speed, including a display 36 that displays the vehicle speed) comprising: a display unit (e.g. see Fig. 3 and para 0050, wherein the display 36 is provided); a vehicle controller (e.g. see Fig. 3 and paras 0049-0050, wherein a touch panel 28 is provided to control the vehicle speed); and a control unit (e.g. see Fig. 7, and paras 0067-0069, wherein the vehicle includes an interface processing device 82, a driving control device 84 and preliminary driving control device 86 (i.e. control unit)); …wherein said vehicle controller having at least two signal indicator buttons (e.g. see Fig. 4, and para 0055, wherein the touch panel includes two turn lamp buttons 50), at least two headlamp adjusting buttons (e.g. see Fig. 4, and para 0055, wherein the touch panel includes three light buttons 56), and a horn button for managing a corresponding functionality of a vehicle (e.g. see Fig. 4, and para 0055, wherein the touch panel includes horn button 54); wherein each of said at least two signal indicator buttons, said at least two headlamp adjusting buttons, and said horn button independently actuated for activating the corresponding functionality of the vehicle (e.g. the Office notes that each button is independently actuatable to activate a corresponding function); wherein said control unit actuates the corresponding functionality of the vehicle based on an input received from said vehicle controller (e.g. see Fig. 7, and para 0068, wherein the driving control device 84 inputs operation signals from the touch panel); wherein said control unit having a speedometer interface for tracking the vehicular speed (e.g. see para 0050, wherein the display displays the vehicle speed; the Office further notes that the display would be controlled by the Interface processing device (e.g. see Fig. 7) meaning that the interface processing device would have to have an interface for tracking the vehicle speed for display thereof)…
Ide fails to disclose wherein said display unit is a touch display unit; wherein said touch display unit having a display selected from the group consisting of an LED, an LCD, and an OLED. However, Bowden teaches a vehicle displays 24, 113, configured for displaying vehicle speed, wherein the displays are formed of LEDs and configured for touch input (e.g. see Figs. 2 and 9, and paras 0035, 0055-0056). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the displays of Ide to include a touch-based LED screen for the purpose of adding function to the display for further control by a viewer.
Ide fails to disclose further wherein said control unit having a 12V connector for connecting said control unit to a 12V power source of the vehicle. However, McDonald teaches a vehicle control unit 820 powered by a 12-volt power input 840 (e.g. see Fig. 14, and col. 25, lines 5-18). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the display system of Ide to include a 12-volt connector for a control unit as a matter of designer’s choice for powering the control unit.
Ide fails to disclose further wherein said control unit receiving Bluetooth signals from said vehicle controller and transmits corresponding signals to the corresponding functionality of the vehicle. However, Park teaches a remote control device 200 (i.e. vehicle controller) transmitting, via Bluetooth, input, which would be encoded, to a controller 170 (i.e. control unit) of the vehicle (e.g. see Fig. 1, and para 0046). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the display system of Ide to include utilizing wireless communications for the purpose of reducing communication complexity of the system.
Ide fails to disclose further wherein said touch display unit having a speedometer display for indicating a speed of the vehicle. However, Bowden further teaches a vehicle displays 24, 113, configured for displaying vehicle speed, wherein the displays are formed of LEDs and configured for touch input (e.g. see Figs. 2 and 9, and paras 0035, 0055-0056). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the displays of Ide to include a touch-based LED screen for the purpose of adding function to the display for further control by a viewer.
As per Claim 20, Ide, as modified by Bowden, McDonald and Park, teaches the features of claim 19, and Bowden further teaches wherein said touch display unit having a GPS tracker (e.g. see Fig. 5, and para 0044, wherein Bowden teaches display of navigation information from a navigation system 65 on the touch screen, the Office further notes that vehicle navigation systems utilize and display GPS information). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the displays of Ide to include display of navigation information for the driver to make appropriate driving decisions.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0406931, to Ide et al. (hereinafter Ide), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0174682, to Bowden et al. (hereinafter Bowden), in further view of U.S. Patent No. 8,892,302, to McDonald, in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0414404, to Park et al. (hereinafter Park), and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0148498, to Heaney,
As per Claim 16, Ide, as modified by Bowden, McDonald and Park, teaches the features of claim 15, but fails to teach wherein said vehicle controller chargeable with a 5V port of the vehicle. However, Heaney teaches a rechargeable battery 40, providing power to control electronics 22, wherein the rechargeable battery is charge in the range of 0-5v and/or 0-6v (e.g. see Fig. 1 and para 0058). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the display system of Ide to include utilizing a 5v power source for charging a rechargeable battery as a matter of designer’s choice for charging a battery.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to James M. McPherson whose telephone number is (313) 446-6543. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30 AM - 5PM Mon-Fri Eastern Alt Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abby Flynn can be reached on 571 272-9855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMES M MCPHERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663B