Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: (1) “a first storage” in claims 9 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3, 6-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0081139 (Yaginuma et al.) (hereinafter “Yaginuma”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0283196 (Hashimoto et al.) (hereinafter “Hashimoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1-13 of Yaginuma show a sheet stacking apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of storages (210 and 210) configured to store sheets;
a plurality of feeding portions (22 and 22), which are provided above the sheets stored in the plurality of storages (210 and 210), respectively, and are configured to convey the sheets in a conveyance direction (upward); and
a main body frame (including 1) including a plurality of opening portions (unnumbered opening portions in Figs. 5B and 11C), the main body frame (including 1) being configured to hold the plurality of storages (210 and 210) so that each of the plurality of storages (210 and 210) is movable through a corresponding one of the plurality of opening portions (unnumbered opening portions in Figs. 5B and 11C) between a closed position (Fig. 2A) in which the sheets are allowed to be conveyed and a pullout position (Figs. 4B and 7) in which the sheets are allowed to be stacked,
wherein the plurality of storages (210 and 210) include a plurality of exterior covers (213 and 213), respectively, each of the plurality of exterior covers (213 and 213) being larger than a corresponding one of the plurality of opening portions (unnumbered opening portions in Figs. 5B and 11C) so as to cover the corresponding one of the plurality of opening portions (unnumbered opening portions in Figs. 5B and 11C),
wherein the plurality of storages (210 and 210) are arranged so that the plurality of exterior covers (213 and 213) are aligned in a vertical direction. Yaginuma teaches all of the limitations of this claim, except for among the plurality of feeding portions, a feeding portion, which conveys the sheets stored in a lower storage, among the plurality of storages, overlapping an exterior cover, among the plurality of exterior covers, of a storage, among the plurality of storages, one above the lower storage in the vertical direction as viewed in a horizontal direction, as claimed.
Hashimoto shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a sheet stacking apparatus (Fig. 1) with a feeding portion (including 33 and 34), which conveys sheets stored in a lower storage (31) of a plurality of storages (7 and 31), that overlaps an exterior cover (“Exterior cover” in annotated Fig. 2 above) of a storage (7) one above the lower storage (31) in the vertical direction as viewed in a horizontal direction, for the purpose of aligning the conveyance portion (including 33 and 34) of the lower storage with a feeding portion (including 11 and 12) of the upper storage (7) to thereby smoothly convey sheets from the lower storage to the upper storage, as shown in Fig. 1 of Hashimoto. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the Yaginuma apparatus with aligned feeding portions, for the purpose of aligning feeding portions of lower and upper storages to thereby smoothly convey sheets from the lower storage to the upper storage, as shown in Fig. 1 of Hashimoto. As such, Yaginuma in view of Hashimoto teaches among the plurality of feeding portions, a feeding portion, which conveys the sheets stored in a lower storage, among the plurality of storages, overlaps an exterior cover, among the plurality of exterior covers, of a storage, among the plurality of storages, one above the lower storage in the vertical direction as viewed in a horizontal direction, as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Figs. 1-6B of Yaginuma show that each storage (210) of the plurality of storages (210 and 210) includes a second positioning member (including 110 and 113) configured to be engaged with a first positioning member (including 101), which is provided to the main body frame (including 1), so as to position the storage (210) with respect to the main body frame (including 1).
Regarding claim 3, Figs. 1-6B of Yaginuma show that the main body frame (including 1) includes a plurality of first sealing surfaces (surfaces of elements 101a and 101a),
the plurality of storages (210 and 210) include a plurality of second sealing surfaces (back surfaces of elements 213 and 213) arranged so as to be opposed to the plurality of first sealing surfaces (surfaces of elements 101a and 101a), respectively, and
the sheet stacking apparatus includes a plurality of seal members (113 and 113) arranged between the plurality of first sealing surfaces (surfaces of elements 101a and 101a) and the plurality of second sealing surfaces (back surfaces of elements 213 and 213), respectively.
Regarding claim 6, Figs. 1-6B of Yaginuma show that the plurality of seal members (113 and 113) have elasticity. Absent any guidance as to any degree of elasticity, the examiner takes the position that all materials including the material of elements 113 and 113 have a certain amount of elasticity.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Figs. 1-6 of Hashimoto show that at least a part (33) of the feeding portion (including 33 and 34) provided to the lower storage (31) is arranged so as to project upward beyond a top surface of an exterior cover (“Exterior cover” in annotated Fig. 2) of the lower storage (31), and
the storage (7) one above the lower storage (31) includes a space into which at least the part (33) of the feeding portion is inserted. This same arrangement would be provided on the Yaginuma apparatus according to the teachings of Hashimoto.
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 2 of Hashimoto shows that each storage among the plurality of storages (31 and 7) includes:
a lower plate (7B) including a protruded portion (vertical wall); and
an upper plate (9A) including a protruded portion into which at least a part (upper roller 11 or upper roller 33) of the feeding portion is inserted. This same arrangement would be provided on the Yaginuma apparatus according to the teachings of Hashimoto.
Regarding claim 9, Figs. 1-13 of Yaginuma show a sheet stacking apparatus comprising:
a first storage (lower element 210) configured to store sheets;
a first feeding portion (22) configured to convey the sheets stored in the first storage (lower element 210);
a second storage (next element 210), disposed above the first storage (lower element 210), configured to store sheets above the sheets stored in the first storage (lower element 210);
a second feeding portion (22) configured to convey the sheets stored in the second storage (next element 210); and
a main body frame (including 1) including a first opening portion (unnumbered opening portion in Fig. 11C) and a second opening portion (unnumbered opening portion in Fig. 5B), the main body frame (including 1) being configured to hold:
the first storage (lower element 210) so that the first storage (lower element 210) is movable through the first opening portion (unnumbered opening portion in Fig. 11C) between a closed position (Fig. 2A) in which the sheets are allowed to be conveyed and a pullout position (Figs. 3A and 7) in which the sheets are allowed to be stacked; and
the second storage (next element 210) so that the second storage (next element 210) is movable through the second opening portion (unnumbered opening portion in Fig. 5B) between a closed position (Fig. 2) in which the sheets are allowed to be conveyed and a pullout position (Figs. 3A and 7) in which the sheets are allowed to be stacked,
wherein the second storage (next element 210) includes an exterior cover (213) that is larger than the second opening portion (unnumbered opening portion in Fig. 5B) so as to cover the second opening portion (unnumbered opening portion in Fig. 5B) in a state where the second storage (next element 210) is located in the closed position (Fig. 2A),
wherein the first feeding portion (22) includes a rotary member (22A) configured to rotate and contact the sheet stored in the first storage (lower element 210) to feed the sheet. Yaginuma teaches all of the limitations of this claim, except for the rotary member overlapping the exterior cover of the second storage in a vertical direction as viewed in a horizontal direction, as claimed.
Hashimoto shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a sheet stacking apparatus (Fig. 1) with a feeding portion (including 33 and 34), which conveys sheets stored in a first storage (31) of a plurality of storages (7 and 31), that overlaps an exterior cover (“Exterior cover” in annotated Fig. 2 above) of a second storage (7) in the vertical direction as viewed in a horizontal direction, for the purpose of aligning the feeding portion (including 33 and 34) of first storage with a feeding portion (including 11 and 12) of the second storage (7) to thereby smoothly convey sheets from the first storage to the second storage, as shown in Fig. 1 of Hashimoto. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the Yaginuma apparatus with aligned feeding portions, for the purpose of aligning feeding portions of first and second storages to thereby smoothly convey sheets from the first storage to the second storage, as shown in Fig. 1 of Hashimoto.
Regarding claim 10, Figs. 1-6B of Yaginuma show that each of the first storage (lower element 210) and the second storage (next element 210) includes a second positioning member (including 110 and 113) configured to be engaged with a first positioning member (including 101), which is provided to the main body frame (including 1), so as to position a corresponding one of the first storage (lower element 210) or the second storage (next element 210) with respect to the main body frame (including 1).
Regarding claim 11, Figs. 1-6B of Yaginuma show that the main body frame (including 1) including a first sealing surface (surface of element 101a),
the second storage (next element 210) includes a second sealing surface (back surface of element 213) arranged so as to be opposed to the first sealing surface (surface of element 101a), and
the sheet stacking apparatus includes a seal member (113) arranged between the first sealing surface (surface of element 101a) and the second sealing surface (back surface of element 213).
Regarding claim 12, Figs. 1-6B of Yaginuma show that the seal member (113) is attached to one of the first sealing surface (surface of element 101a) or the second sealing surface (back surface of element 213), and
in the state where the second storage (next element 210) is located in the closed position (Fig. 2A), the seal member (113) is in contact with the other of the first sealing surface (surface of element 101a) or the second sealing surface (back surface of 213).
Regarding claim 14, Figs. 1-6B of Yaginuma show that the seal member (113) has elasticity. Absent any guidance as to any degree of elasticity, the examiner takes the position that all materials including the material of element 113 has a certain amount of elasticity.
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Figs. 1-6 of Hashimoto show that at least a part (33) of the first feeding portion (including 33 and 34) provided to the first storage (31) projects upward beyond a top surface of an exterior cover (“Exterior cover” in annotated Fig. 2 above) of the first storage (31), and
the second storage (7) includes a space into which at least the part (33) of the first feeding portion is inserted.
Regarding claim 16, Fig. 2 of Hashimoto shows that the second storage (7) includes a lower plate (7B) including a protruded portion (vertical wall) projecting upward.
Regarding claim 17, Figs. 1-13 of Yaginuma show an image forming apparatus comprising:
a sheet stacking apparatus (including 1, 210 and 210); and
an image forming portion (including 30, 40 and 50) configured to form an image on a sheet stacked in the sheet stacking apparatus (including 1, 210 and 210),
wherein the sheet stacking apparatus (including 1, 210 and 210) comprises:
a plurality of storages (210 and 210) configured to store sheets;
a plurality of feeding portions (22 and 22), which are provided above the sheets stored in the plurality of storages (210 and 210), respectively, and are configured to convey the sheets in a conveyance direction (upward); and
a main body frame (including 1) including a plurality of opening portions (unnumbered opening portions in Figs. 5B and 11C), the main body frame (including 1) being configured to hold the plurality of storages (210 and 210) so that each of the plurality of storages (210 and 210) is movable through a corresponding one of the plurality of opening portions (unnumbered opening portions in Figs. 5B and 11C) between a closed position (Fig. 2A) in which the sheets are allowed to be conveyed and a pullout position (Figs. 3A and 7) in which the sheets are allowed to be stacked,
wherein the plurality of storages (210 and 210) include a plurality of exterior covers (213 and 213), respectively, each of the plurality of exterior covers (213) being larger than a corresponding one of the plurality of opening portions (unnumbered opening portions in Figs. 5B and 11C) so as to cover the corresponding one of the plurality of opening portions (unnumbered opening portions in Figs. 5B and 11C),
wherein the plurality of storages (210 and 210) are arranged so that the plurality of exterior covers (213 and 213) are aligned in a vertical direction. Yaginuma teaches all of the limitations of this claim, except for a conveyance portion, which conveys sheets stored in a lower storage of a plurality of storages, overlapping an exterior cover of a storage one above the lower storage in a vertical direction when viewed in a horizontal direction, as claimed.
Hashimoto shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a sheet stacking apparatus (Fig. 1) with a feeding portion (including 33 and 34), which conveys sheets stored in a lower storage (31) of a plurality of storages (7 and 31), overlaps an exterior cover (“Exterior cover” in annotated Fig. 2 above) of a storage (7) one above the lower storage (31) in the vertical direction when viewed in a horizontal direction, for the purpose of aligning the feeding portion (including 33 and 34) of the lower storage with a feeding portion (including 11 and 12) of the upper storage (7) to thereby smoothly convey sheets from the lower storage to the upper storage, as shown in Fig. 1 of Hashimoto. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the Yaginuma apparatus with aligned feeding portions, for the purpose of aligning feeding portions of lower and upper storages to thereby smoothly convey sheets from the lower storage to the upper storage, as shown in Fig. 1 of Hashimoto. As such, Yaginuma in view of Hashimoto teaches among the plurality of feeding portions, a feeding portion, which conveys the sheets stored in a lower storage, among the plurality of storages, overlaps an exterior cover, among the plurality of exterior covers, of a storage, among the plurality of storages, one above the lower storage in the vertical direction as viewed in a horizontal direction, as claimed.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues.
Notable features of independent claims 1 and 17 include:
(A) a main body frame (e.g., 1200) including a plurality of opening portions (e.g., 1210a), and configured to hold a plurality of storages (e.g., 1100a, 1100b, 1100c) so that each of the plurality of storages is movable through a corresponding one of the plurality of opening portions between a closed position in which the sheets are
allowed to be conveyed and a pullout position in which the sheets are allowed to be stacked;
(B) wherein the plurality of storages include a plurality of exterior covers (e.g., 1153a, 1153b, 1153c), each respectively larger than a corresponding one of the plurality of opening portions so as to cover the corresponding one of the plurality of opening
portions;
(C) wherein the plurality of storages are arranged so that the plurality of exterior covers are aligned in a vertical direction; and
(D) wherein among the plurality of feeding portions, a feeding portion (e.g., 1102c (see Fig. 11A)), which conveys the sheets stored in a lower storage (e.g., 1100b or 1100c), among the plurality of storages, overlaps an exterior cover (e.g., 1153a or 1153b), among the plurality of exterior covers, of a storage (e.g., 1100a or 1100b),
among the plurality of storages, one above the lower storage (e.g., 1100b or 1100c) in the vertical direction as viewed in a horizontal direction.
Notable features of independent claim 9 include:
(A') a main body frame (e.g., 1200) including first and second opening portions (e.g., 1210a), and configured to hold a first storage (e.g., 1100b or 1100c) and a second
storage (e.g., 1100a or 1100b) disposed above the first storage, so that:
(1) the first storage is movable through the first opening portion between a closed
position in which the sheets are allowed to be conveyed and a pullout position in
which the sheets are allowed to be stacked; and
(2) the second storage is movable through the second opening portion between
a closed position in which the sheets are allowed to be conveyed and a pullout
position in which the sheets are allowed to be stacked;
(B') wherein the second storage includes an exterior cover (e.g., 1153a or 1153b) larger than the second opening portion so as to cover the second opening portion in a state where the second storage is located in the closed position;
(D') wherein the first conveyance portion (e.g., 1102b or 1102c) includes a rotary member (e.g., 1103) configured to rotate and contact the sheet stored in the first storage to feed the sheet, wherein:
(1) the rotary member overlaps the exterior cover of the second storage in a
vertical direction as viewed in a horizontal direction.
Applicant submits that the applied references would not have disclosed or taught at least the claimed features (D) and (D') above.
The examiner contends that Yaginuma would have disclosed all of the claimed features of independent claims 1, 9, and 17 except for the original claimed features corresponding to the claimed features (D) and (D') above. The examiner relied on Hashimoto for the teaching of these missing features.
But in contrast to the examiner's assertions, Hashimoto's Fig. 1 clearly shows that the lower sheet supply apparatus 30 corresponding to the claimed first storage does not overlap with an upper sheet supply apparatus 1 provided above the lower sheet supply apparatus. Hashimoto's sheet supply arrangement would correspond more closely to the sheet supply arrangement illustrated in present Fig. 12A, and would not have taught the sheet supply arrangement illustrated in present Fig. 12B, which reflects independent claims 1, 9, and 17.
Specifically, referring to present Figs. 11 B & 12B, the feeding portion 1102c of the lower storage 1100c is disposed overlapping with the exterior cover 1153b of the storage 1100b one above the lower storage. In contrast, Hashimoto's feeding rollers 32, 33 as clearly illustrated in Fig. 1 is disposed within the lower sheet supply apparatus 30 that includes a sheet supply tray 31. In this respect, Hashimoto would not have taught disposing Yaginuma's sheet feeder 22 of the lower sheet feeding device 20 to extend to overlap with the exterior cover 213 of a sheet feeding device 20 disposed one above the lower sheet feeding device.
The examiner disagrees with this argument. Yaginuma teaches the plurality of storages (210 and 210), the plurality of feeding portions (22 and 22), the main body frame (including 1) with the plurality of opening portions (unnumbered opening portions in Figs. 5B and 11C) and the plurality of exterior covers (213 and 213), but does not explicitly show that among the plurality of feeding portions (22 and 22), a feeding portion, which conveys the sheets stored in a lower storage, among the plurality of storages, overlaps an exterior cover, among the plurality of exterior covers, of a storage, among the plurality of storages, one above the lower storage in the vertical direction as viewed in a horizontal direction, as claimed.
Hashimoto shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a sheet stacking apparatus (Fig. 1) with a feeding portion (including 33 and 34), which conveys sheets stored in a lower storage (31) of a plurality of storages (7 and 31), overlaps an exterior cover (“Exterior cover” in annotated Fig. 2 above) of a storage (7) one above the lower storage (31) in the vertical direction when viewed in a horizontal direction, for the purpose of aligning the feeding portion (including 33 and 34) of the lower storage with a feeding portion (including 11 and 12) of the upper storage (7) to thereby smoothly convey sheets from the lower storage to the upper storage, as shown in Fig. 1 of Hashimoto. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the Yaginuma apparatus with aligned feeding portions that overlap the upper exterior cover, for the purpose of aligning feeding portions of lower and upper storages to thereby smoothly convey sheets from the lower storage to the upper storage, as shown in Fig. 1 of Hashimoto.
With regard to Hashimoto, Figs. 1-2 and 4 show the plurality of feeding portions (i.e., feeding portion (11 and 12) and feeding portion (33 and 34)), and show that feeding portion (33 and 34) conveys sheets stored in the lower storage (31), among the plurality of storages (7 and 31). Also, annotated Fig. 2 above shows the “Exterior cover” and Figs. 2 and 4 both show that feeding portion (11 and 12) overlaps this “Exterior cover”. Also, numbered paragraph [0036] states that “The separation roller 32, the feed roller 33 and the pinch roller 34 are identical in function to the separation roller 8, the feed roller 11, and the pinch roller 12, respectively”. (emphasis added). Moreover, Fig. 1 explicitly shows that feeding portion (33 and 34) is located directly below feeding portion (11 and 12). Since feeding portion (11 and 12) overlaps the “Exterior cover” in Fig. 2 and feeding portion (33 and 34) is identical in function and located directly below feeding portion (11 and 12), feeding portion (33 and 34) of lower storage (31) likewise overlaps the “Exterior cover” of the storage (7), which is one above lower storage (31) in the vertical direction as viewed in the horizontal direction (into the page in Fig. 1). As such, Yaginuma in view of Hashimoto teaches among the plurality of feeding portions, a feeding portion, which conveys the sheets stored in a lower storage, among the plurality of storages, overlaps an exterior cover, among the plurality of exterior covers, of a storage, among the plurality of storages, one above the lower storage in the vertical direction as viewed in a horizontal direction, as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 4-5 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS A MORRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653