DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17, 19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 44, 47, 68, 69, 81, 93 and 120 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Invention of Group I, claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17, 19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 44, 47, 68, 69, 81, and 120, drawn to a formulation, and the species of:
a. phosphatidylcholine;
b. isopropyl palmitate;
c. long-chain fatty acid derived from safflower oil;
d. the presence of poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, and polyglyceryl-4-laurate; and
e. calcium carbonate,
in the reply filed on 7/27/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 93 is withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17, 19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 44, 47, 68, 69, 81, and 120 are under consideration to the extent that the formulation comprises the elected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/24/25 and 4/16/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 11, 12, 17, 19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 44, 47, 68, 69, 81, and 120 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “low molecular weight” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what the molecular weight cutoff is to meet the claimed limitation of “low. Claims 1, 2, 5, 11, 12, 17, 19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 47, 68, 69, 81, and 120 are rejected as depending from and not clarifying claim 1.
Claims 36 and 44 contain the trademark/trade name “span”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe sorbitan monostearate and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Regarding claim 44, the inclusion of parentheses and the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 68, the inclusion of parentheses and the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17, 19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 44, 47, 68, 69, 81, and 120 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitzsimmons et al. (WO 2020/257537; cited in IDS) as evidenced by Millipore Sigma (“Pluronic F-127”; 2026) and Stephenson Personal Care (“Durosoft PK-SG”; 2016).
Fitzsimmons et al. teach a transdermal delivery formulation for transdermal delivery of an active agent through the skin, nail or hair follicle of a subject (e.g. abstract).
Fitzsimmons et al. teach the formulations comprise:
a phospholipid, comprising phosphatidylcholine (e.g. paragraph 0039, Claim 10);
a fatty acid ester formed from a low molecular weight alcohol, comprising isopropyl palmitate (e.g. paragraph 0046, Claim 4);
long-chain fatty acids, comprising those from safflower oil (e.g. paragraph 0043, Claim 19);
a viscosity-improving agent, comprising Pluronic F127 (i.e. poloxamer 407, as evidenced by Millipore Sigma, page 4)(e.g. paragraph 0076, Claim 28);
a penetration enhancer, comprising benzyl alcohol (e.g. paragraph 0041; Claim 2); and
an emulsifier, including Durosoft PK-SG (i.e. polyglyceryl-4 laurate, as evidenced by Stephenson Personal Care) (e.g. paragraph 0089, 0091; Claims 35 and 42);
wherein the formulation lacks a natural lecithin and lacks glucose (e.g. paragraphs 0005 and 0040); and
wherein the medicament is selected from a therapeutic buffering agent, including calcium carbonate (e.g. paragraphs 0139, 0141).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 8, 12, 19, 27, 36, 44, 68, 81, and 120, while there is not a single example comprising each of the claimed components, the ingredients are included among a short list of preferred ingredients. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding Claims 5, 11, 17, 26, 34, 39, and 47, Fitzsimmons et al. teach that the formulations comprise:
10-40 wt% phosphatidylcholine (e.g. paragraph 0039);
10-75 wt% isopropyl palmitate (e.g. paragraph 0046);
1-20 wt% safflower oil (e.g. paragraph 0043);
3-15 wt% Pluronic F127 (e.g. paragraph 0076);
0.25-5 wt% benzyl alcohol (e.g. paragraph 0041);
1.04 wt% Durosoft PK-SG (e.g. paragraph 0091); and
15-65 wt%, or up to 77 wt% water (e.g. paragraphs 0141 and 0143).
Which are all within or overlap the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding Claim 69, Fitzsimmons et al. teach that the transdermal delivery provides systemic administration of the medicament (e.g. paragraph 0092, 00168.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17, 19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 44, 47, 68, 69, 81, and 120 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 77 and 102 of copending Application No. 18/826,042.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant and copending claims require a formulation for transdermal delivery of a medicament, wherein the medicament is a buffering agent, through the skin of a subject, the formulation comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a buffering agent, a phospholipid, a fatty acid ester formed from a low molecular weight alcohol, long-chain fatty acids, and, optionally, one or more of a viscosity-improving agent (i.e. poloxamer), a penetration enhancer (i.e. benzyl alcohol), and an emulsifier (i.e. polyglyceryl-4 laurate).
Copending ‘042 claim 77 does not include a natural lecithin or glucose.
Claim 102 of copending ‘042 recites concentrations for the ingredients which are within the ranges of claims 5, 11, 17, 26, 34, 39, and 47.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17, 19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 44, 47, 68, 69, 81, and 120 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 77 and 102 of commonly assigned 18/826,042. Specifically, see above.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned 18/826,042 discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17, 19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 44, 47, 68, 69, 81, and 120 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 47, 49, 65, 67, 68, 78 and 79 of copending Application No. 18/351,192.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant and copending claims require a formulation for transdermal delivery of a medicament, wherein the medicament is calcium carbonate, through the skin of a subject, the formulation comprising a therapeutically effective amount of medicament, a phospholipid, a fatty acid ester formed from a low molecular weight alcohol, long-chain fatty acids, and, optionally, one or more of a viscosity-improving agent (i.e. poloxamer), a penetration enhancer (i.e. benzyl alcohol), and an emulsifier (i.e. polyglyceryl-4 laurate).
Copending ‘192 claim 1 lacks a natural lecithin or glucose.
Claims 5, 11, 26, 34, 39, 47 and 49 of copending ‘192 recite concentrations for the ingredients which are within the ranges of claims 5, 11, 17, 26, 34, 39, and 47.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17, 19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 44, 47, 68, 69, 81, and 120 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 47, 49, 65, 67, 68, 78 and 79 of commonly assigned 18/351,192. Specifically, see above.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned 18/351,192, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/NICOLE P BABSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619