Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed July 13th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application as well as the addition of new pending claims 11-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al (Japanese Patent Application JP2020123756A, hereinafter “Kobayashi”) in view of Kimura (WIPO Application WO2018105391A1). Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi teaches an image pickup unit comprising:
an image pickup device (figure 2 element 2) having a light receiving surface (figure 2 element 26 as shown by the left arrow below) and a back surface (figure 2 element 32 as shown by the right arrow below) on an opposite side to the light receiving surface
a first substrate having a first main surface (figure 2 element 40 as shown by the left arrow below), a second main surface (figure 2 element 48 as shown by the right arrow below) on an opposite side to the first main surface, and at least four side surfaces (figure 7 elements 56a-d) covering an area including a periphery of the first main surface and the second main surface
the first substrate comprising a stacked substrate including a plurality of internal wirings (figure 7 elements 20 as seen below) used for conduction during a plating process (see Response to Arguments section of document below)
an electrode (figure 2 element 8 the left arrow below) on the back surface of the image pickup device and an electrode (figure 2 element 12 the right arrow below) on the first main surface of the first substrate are bonded to each other
a plurality of end portions of the internal wirings are, of the four side surfaces of the first substrate, not exposed on a first side surface and a second side surface on an opposite side to the first side surface, and exposed on a third side surface and a fourth side surface orthogonal to the first side surface and the second side surface (figure 7 the wiring ends (element 20) are only exposed on side 56a and 56c as seen below)
the exposed end portions of the internal wirings are diced ends of the internal wirings (see Response to Arguments section below)
However, Kobayashi fails to teach an image pickup unit comprising:
a second substrate having a third main surface, a fourth main surface on an opposite side to the third main surface, and at least four side surfaces covering an area including a periphery of the third main surface and the fourth main surface
an electrode on the second main surface of the first substrate and an electrode on the third main surface of the second substrate are bonded to each other
Kimura teaches an image pickup unit comprising:
a second substrate having a third main surface, a fourth main surface on an opposite side to the third main surface, and at least four side surfaces covering an area including a periphery of the third main surface and the fourth main surface (figure 8 element 130 as seen below)
an electrode on the second main surface of the first substrate (figure 8 element 122 seen below) and an electrode on the third main surface of the second substrate (figure 8 element 123 seen below) are bonded to each other
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the image pickup unit of Kobayashi with the second substrate disclosed within Kimura in order to reduce an arrangement spacing of connection lands and maintain connection reliability regardless of the skill of an operator, as stated in the abstract of Kimura.
In regards to claim 3, Kobayashi and Kimura combined teach the limitations of claim 1, and Kimura further teaches an image pickup unit wherein the first and second main surfaces and the third and fourth main surfaces are parallel to each other (figure 8 seen below the four surfaces pointed to with arrows). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the image pickup unit of Kobayashi with the second substrate disclosed within Kimura in order to reduce an arrangement spacing of connection lands and maintain connection reliability regardless of the skill of an operator, as stated in the abstract of Kimura.
In regards to claim 11, Kobayashi and Kimura combined teach the limitations of claim 1, and Kobayashi further teaches an image pickup unit wherein the diced ends are arranged only in a single layer of the stacked substrate of the first substrate (figure 8 the wiring ends are arranged in one single later of the substrate as seen below).
In regards to claim 4, Kobayashi teaches an image pickup unit comprising:
an image pickup device (figure 2 element 2) having a light receiving surface (figure 2 element 26 as shown by the left arrow below) and a back surface (figure 2 element 32 as shown by the right arrow below) on an opposite side to the light receiving surface
a first substrate having a first main surface (figure 2 element 40 as shown by the left arrow below), a second main surface (figure 2 element 48 as shown by the right arrow below) on an opposite side to the first main surface, and at least four side surfaces (figure 7 elements 56a-d) covering an area including a periphery of the first main surface and the second main surface
the first substrate comprising a stacked substrate including a plurality of internal wirings (figure 7 elements 20 as seen below) used for conduction during a plating process (see Response to Arguments section below)
an electrode (figure 2 element 8 the left arrow below) on the back surface of the image pickup device and an electrode (figure 2 element 12 the right arrow below) on the first main surface of the first substrate are bonded to each other
a plurality of end portions of the internal wirings are, of the four side surfaces of the first substrate, not exposed on a first side surface and a second side surface on an opposite side to the first side surface, and exposed on a third side surface and a fourth side surface orthogonal to the first side surface and the second side surface (figure 7 the wiring ends (element 20) are only exposed on side 56a and 56c as seen below)
a plurality of exposed end portions of the internal wirings are diced ends of the internal wirings (see Response to Arguments section below).
However, Kobayashi fails to teach an image pickup unit comprising:
a second substrate having a third main surface, a fourth main surface on an opposite side to the third main surface, and at least four side surfaces covering an area including a periphery of the third main surface and the fourth main surface
an electrode on the second main surface of the first substrate and an electrode on the third main surface of the second substrate are bonded to each other
Kimura teaches an image pickup unit comprising:
a second substrate having a third main surface, a fourth main surface on an opposite side to the third main surface, and at least four side surfaces covering an area including a periphery of the third main surface and the fourth main surface (figure 8 element 130 as seen below)
an electrode on the second main surface of the first substrate (figure 8 element 122 seen below) and an electrode on the third main surface of the second substrate (figure 8 element 123 seen below) are bonded to each other
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the image pickup unit of Kobayashi with the second substrate disclosed within Kimura in order to reduce an arrangement spacing of connection lands and maintain connection reliability regardless of the skill of an operator, as stated in the abstract of Kimura.
In regards to claim 12, Kobayashi and Kimura combined teach the limitations of claim 4, and Kobayashi further teaches an image pickup unit wherein the diced ends are arranged at positions that do not overlap with each other in a stacking direction (figures 7 the wiring ends are arranged parallel to the stacking direction y, and so do not overlap as seen below).
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi teaches an image pickup unit comprising:
an image pickup device (figure 2 element 2) having a light receiving surface (figure 2 element 26 as shown by the left arrow below) and a back surface (figure 2 element 32 as shown by the right arrow below) on an opposite side to the light receiving surface
a first substrate having a first main surface (figure 2 element 40 as shown by the left arrow below), a second main surface (figure 2 element 48 as shown by the right arrow below) on an opposite side to the first main surface, and at least four side surfaces (figure 7 elements 56a-d) covering an area including a periphery of the first main surface and the second main surface
the first substrate comprising a stacked substrate including a plurality of internal wirings (figure 7 elements 20 as seen below) used for conduction during a plating process (see Response to Arguments section below)
an electrode (figure 2 element 8 the left arrow below) on the back surface of the image pickup device and an electrode (figure 2 element 12 the right arrow below) on the first main surface of the first substrate are bonded to each other
a plurality of end portions of the internal wirings are, of the four side surfaces of the first substrate, not exposed on a first side surface and a second side surface on an opposite side to the first side surface, and exposed on a third side surface and a fourth side surface orthogonal to the first side surface and the second side surface (figure 7 the wiring ends (element 20) are only exposed on side 56a and 56c as seen below)
the exposed end portions of the internal wirings are diced ends of the internal wirings (see Reponse to Arguments section below)
However, Kobayashi fails to teach an endoscope comprising an insertion portion to be inserted into a subject and an image pickup unit provided at a distal end of the insertion unit, the image pickup unit comprising:
a second substrate having a third main surface, a fourth main surface on an opposite side to the third main surface, and at least four side surfaces covering an area including a periphery of the third main surface and the fourth main surface
an electrode on the second main surface of the first substrate and an electrode on the third main surface of the second substrate are bonded to each other
Kimura teaches an endoscope (figure 1 element 2) comprising an insertion portion (figure 1 element 4) to be inserted into a subject and an image pickup unit provided at a distal end of the insertion unit (“the insertion portion 4 includes a distal end portion 31 where the imaging device 35 is provided” page 3 paragraph 6 of the attached translation document), the image pickup unit comprising:
a second substrate having a third main surface, a fourth main surface on an opposite side to the third main surface, and at least four side surfaces covering an area including a periphery of the third main surface and the fourth main surface (figure 8 element 130 as seen below)
an electrode on the second main surface of the first substrate (figure 8 element 122 seen below) and an electrode on the third main surface of the second substrate (figure 8 element 123 seen below) are bonded to each other
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the image pickup unit of Kobayashi with attachment to the distal end of an endoscope in order to allow for closeup in-body imaging in surgical procedures, and to add the second substrate disclosed within Kimura in order to reduce an arrangement spacing of connection lands and maintain connection reliability regardless of the skill of an operator, as stated in the abstract of Kimura.
In regards to claim 13, Kobayashi and Kimura combined teach the limitations of claim 10, and Kobayashi further teaches an image pickup unit wherein the diced ends are arranged only in a single layer of the stacked substrate of the first substrate (figure 8 the wiring ends are arranged in one single later of the substrate as seen below).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi and Kimura in view of Yoneta et al (U.S. Patent 10,825,730, hereinafter “Yoneta”). While Kobayashi and Kimura combined teach the limitations of claim 1, they fail to teach an image pickup unit wherein an electrode on the first main surface of the first substrate, an electrode on the second main surface, and an electrode on the third main surface of the second substrate comprise a plurality of electrodes coated with plating. Yoneta teaches an imaging device comprising an electrode coated with plating (paragraph 12 “the electrode may be formed with a plating film”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the image pickup units of Kobayashi and Kimura with plated electrodes in order to create more secure connections between electrodes and joined members, as stated in paragraph 12 of Yoneta (“In this case, the ball-shaped member is connected more securely to the electrode through the plating film”).
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi and Kimura in view of Miyahara et al (U.S. Patent Application 2019/0261842, hereinafter “Miyahara”). Kobayashi and Kimura combined teach the elements of claim 1, but fail to teach an image pickup unit wherein the second substrate comprises a bonding electrode to which a cable is to be bonded, on at least one of a fifth side surface parallel to the first and second side surfaces and a sixth side surface on an opposite side to the fifth side surface. Miyahara teaches an image pickup unit wherein the second substrate (figure 1 element 25a) comprises a bonding electrode (figure 1 element 21) to which a cable (figure 1 element 60) is to be bonded, on at least one of a fifth side surface parallel to the first and second side surfaces and a sixth side surface on an opposite side to the fifth side surface (see surfaces pointed to in the image below, and see circled portion for the substrate/electrode/cable configuration). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the image pickup unit of Kobayashi and Kimura with the electrode and attached cable configuration of Miyahara in order to incorporate a fiber optics image delivery method instead of electrical signal transmission by metal wire (fiber optics handles a larger signal amount and allow for a larger number of pixels transmitted, as stated in paragraph 4 of Miyahara).
Regarding claim 6, Kimura teaches an image pickup unit wherein the second substrate comprises a stacked substrate including an internal wiring (figure 8 element 148a “core wire”), and an end portion (figure 8 element 148a circled below) of the internal wirings is exposed on a seventh side surface (pointed to with the downwards arrow below) orthogonal to the fifth (pointed to with the upwards arrow below) and sixth side surfaces (on the opposite side of the fifth surface, hidden by the view orientation), and on an eighth side surface on an opposite side to the seventh side surface (features are repeated symmetrically on the opposite, unseen side of the image below). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the image pickup unit of Kobayashi with the second substrate and arrangement of the exposed end portions of internal wirings disclosed within Kimura in order to reduce an arrangement spacing of connection lands and maintain connection reliability regardless of the skill of an operator, as stated in the abstract of Kimura.
Regarding claim 7, Kimura teaches an image pickup unit wherein in the second substrate, the plurality of exposed end portions of the internal wirings are arranged side by side in a direction orthogonal to a stacking direction (see drawn coordinate system below, the wirings are arranged side by side in the z direction, and the stacking direction is parallel to the x direction).
Regarding claim 8, Kimura teaches an image pickup unit wherein the plurality of exposed end portions of the internal wirings are arranged at positions that do not overlap with each other in a stacking direction (as seen in the image above, the position of the end portions are arranged side by side in the z direction, and so do not overlap in the stacking direction x).
Regarding claim 9, Kimura teaches an image pickup unit wherein the plurality of exposed end portions of the first and second substrates are arranged side by side in a direction orthogonal to a stacking direction (see drawn coordinate system in image above, the wirings are arranged side by side in the z direction, and the stacking direction is parallel to the x direction), and are arranged at positions that do not overlap with each other in a stacking direction (as seen in the image above, the position of the end portions are arranged side by side in the z direction, and so do not overlap in the stacking direction x).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the addition of the limitations “used for conduction during a plating process” and “diced ends of the internal wirings” distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art used in the examiner’s rejections. The first addition “used for conduction during a plating process” is not found to further limit the claim, as this language is consistent with intended use of the device, and does not impart structural limitations to the claim. The second addition “diced ends of the internal wirings” is found to be a product by process limitation, and as the structure of the limitation is taught by the examiner’s prior art, the specific process used to produce that structure does not carry patentable weight. It is for this reason that the examiner’s original rejection stands for amended claims 1, 4, and 10. As for newly added claims 11-13, they incorporate the same product by process limitation into their claim language, and therefore are not distinguishable from the examiner’s prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAYTON HYUN JIN BARKER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795