DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 1-3 of claim 12 recite, inter alia, “wherein the circuitry is configured to control the image forming unit to form the multiple patterns are formed downstream of the multiple toner patches” (emphasis added). Examiner suggests deleting the words “are formed” in order for the claim to be grammatically correct.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 9, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US 2006/0024076; “Kato”) in view of Tsuboi et al. (US 2007/0217801; “Tsuboi”).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses an image forming apparatus 100 (Fig. 1 [0047]) comprising:
an image forming unit 20/30/40 to form a toner image (Fig. 1 [0049-0051]);
an image bearer 11 contacting the image forming unit to bear the toner image (Fig. 1 [0048]), the image bearer 11 movable in a moving direction A1 (Fig. 1 [0048]);
a transferor 5 contacting the image bearer 11 to transfer the toner image from the image bearer 11 to a recording medium S (Fig. 1 [0048]);
a cleaner 13 contacting the image bearer 11 to clean a surface of the image bearer 11 (Fig. 1 [0062]);
a sensor 111 (Fig. 1 [0064]); and
circuitry (within control unit 110; Fig. 3) configured to:
control the image forming unit (in step S4 of Fig. 8; [0089]) to form multiple toner patches (see annotated partial Fig. 9 below) arranged at a first interval on the image bearer in an orthogonal direction (left/right in Fig. 9) orthogonal to the moving direction A1 ([0094]) (also note that the arrangement of pattern images in Fig. 9 is a variation of the arrangement of pattern images in Fig. 4; [0094-0095]);
control the sensor 111 to detect the multiple toner patches (step S7 in Fig. 8 [0091, 0095]);
adjust the image forming unit based on a detection of the multiple toner patches by the sensor as an adjustment operation (i.e., process control; [0065, 0089]) (step S8 in Fig. 8 [0091]);
separate the transferor 5 from the image bearer 11 during the adjustment operation (step S6 in Fig. 8 [0090, 0096-0097]);
control the image forming unit (in step S4 of Fig. 8; [0089]) to form multiple patterns (see annotated partial Fig. 9 below) arranged at a second interval in the moving direction each of the multiple patterns has a band shape that extends in both the orthogonal and moving directions; see Fig. 9);
maintain the transferor separate from the image bearer based on the multiple toner patches passing through a transfer position and the multiple patterns passing through the transfer position after the multiple toner patches (transferor remains separated until all images are detected; steps S6-S9 in Fig. 8); and
control the image forming unit to cause the multiple patterns to continuously pass through the transfer position after the multiple toner patterns pass through the transfer position while the transferor is separated from the image bearer (see annotated partial Fig. 9 below and steps S6-S9 in Fig. 8).
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Multiple patterns)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Multiple toner patches)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow]
Kato fails to disclose controlling the image forming unit to form the multiple patterns arranged at a second interval in the moving direction based on the transferor being separated from the image bearer.
Tsuboi teaches printing multiple patterns TP on an image bearer 23 (Fig. 4), detecting the multiple patterns with sensors 33 (Fig. 4), and controlling image forming conditions based on the detected multiple patterns (0045-0047]). Further, the multiple patterns are formed based on a transferor 28 being separated from the image bearer 23 (“In accordance with the detection signal S4, a sequence of image formation, image adjustment or the like is performed”) (Figs. 2-3 [0061-0064]).
Based on the teachings of Tsuboi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus to control the image forming unit to form the multiple patterns arranged at a second interval in the moving direction based on the transferor being separated from the image bearer. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In this instance, the predictable results would be the successful formation and detection of the multiple patterns on the image bearer.
Regarding claim 3, modified Kato teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising (see Kato) multiple image forming units (black and yellow) including the image forming unit (see Fig. 1), the multiple image forming units arranged in the moving direction A1 (Fig. 1 [0048]), the multiple image forming units containing different color toners ([0048]), wherein the circuitry is further configured to control the multiple image forming units to form the multiple patterns having different colors (Fig. 9 [0094]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kato teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, wherein (see Kato) the circuitry is further configured to control the multiple image forming units to form the multiple patterns having colors arranged from downstream to upstream (from black to yellow) in a first order in the moving direction (see Fig. 9), and the different color toners in the multiple image forming units are arranged from downstream to upstream (from black to yellow) in a second order that coincides with the first order in the moving direction (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kato teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein (see Kato) the circuitry is further configured to control the image forming unit to form the multiple patterns following the multiple toner patches on the image bearer. (See [0065], the patterns and patches are performed when a predetermined time duration after switching on a main power supply and when a predetermined number of sheets are printed out. As such, a subsequent set of multiple patterns will be formed following a previous set of multiple toner patches.)
Regarding claim 11, modified Kato teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to control the cleaner to input the multiple toner patches at a first time and input the multiple patterns at a second time after the first time. (See Kato annotated Fig. 9 above and Fig. 1. As the image bearer travels in direction A1, the multiple toner patches will reach and be input to the cleaner 13 at a first time before the multiple patterns reach and are input to the cleaner at a second time after the first time.)
Regarding claim 13, modified Kato teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to control the image forming unit to continuously input the multiple patterns to the cleaner after the multiple toner patches are input to the cleaner. (See Kato annotated Fig. 9 above and Fig. 1. As the image bearer travels in direction A1, the multiple patterns will be continuously input (i.e., one after the other) to the cleaner 13 after the multiple toner patches are input to the cleaner.)
Claim(s) 2, 5-8, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (US 2006/0024076) in view of Tsuboi (US 2007/0217801) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Koide et al. (US 2009/0087206; “Koide”).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kato discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the multiple patterns has a length longer than a length of each of the multiple toner patches in the moving direction.
Koide teaches forming multiple patterns (toner bands/cleaning images CI; Figs. 1A, 8) arranged at a second interval in a moving direction (process direction) of an image bearer/intermediate transfer belt 1 (note that a formation interval of the toner band may be adjusted; [0075]), each of the multiple patterns having a band shape extending in an orthogonal direction to the moving direction (Fig. 8 [0027]). The multiple patterns are used to clean a cleaning member 5 (Fig. 1 [0022-0023]).
Further, it is desired that each of the multiple patterns has a size of 50 mm in the moving/process direction ([0085-0088]).
Based on the teachings of Koide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Kato to include the toner bands/cleaning images as the multiple patterns, and to include the control necessary to properly utilize the multiple patterns. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to clean the cleaning member (Koide [0022-0023]) (also note that Kato’s cleaner also includes a blade).
In making this modification, each of the multiple patterns has a length (50 mm; Koide [0088]) longer than a length of each of the multiple toner patches (15 mm; Kato [0070]) in the moving direction.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kato discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the second interval between the multiple patterns is longer than a length of each of the multiple patterns in the moving direction.
Koide teaches forming multiple patterns (toner bands/cleaning images CI; Figs. 1A, 8) arranged at a second interval in a moving direction (process direction) of an image bearer/intermediate transfer belt 1 (note that a formation interval of the toner band may be adjusted; [0075]), each of the multiple patterns having a band shape extending in an orthogonal direction to the moving direction (Fig. 8 [0027]). The multiple patterns are used to clean a cleaning member 5 (Fig. 1 [0022-0023]).
Based on the teachings of Koide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Kato to include the toner bands/cleaning images as the multiple patterns, and to include the control necessary to properly utilize the multiple patterns. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to clean the cleaning member (Koide [0022-0023]) (also note that Kato’s cleaner also includes a blade).
In making this modification, the second interval between the multiple patterns would clearly be longer than a length of each of the multiple patterns in the moving direction, because the second interval would span a following image formation cycle (see Kato Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kato discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the circuitry is further configured to control the image forming unit to change an image density of each of the multiple patterns.
Koide teaches forming multiple patterns (toner bands/cleaning images CI; Figs. 1A, 8) arranged at a second interval in a moving direction (process direction) of an image bearer/intermediate transfer belt 1 (note that a formation interval of the toner band may be adjusted; [0075]), each of the multiple patterns having a band shape extending in an orthogonal direction to the moving direction (Fig. 8 [0027]). The multiple patterns are used to clean a cleaning member 5 (Fig. 1 [0022-0023]). Further, circuitry is configured to control the image forming unit to change an image density of each of the multiple patterns ([0039]).
Based on the teachings of Koide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Kato to include the toner bands/cleaning images as the multiple patterns, and to include the control necessary to properly utilize the multiple patterns. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to clean the cleaning member (Koide [0022-0023]) (also note that Kato’s cleaner also includes a blade).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kato discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the multiple patterns has a length equal to or longer than the maximum width of recording media usable in the image forming apparatus in the orthogonal direction.
Koide teaches forming multiple patterns (toner bands/cleaning images CI; Figs. 1A, 8) arranged at a second interval in a moving direction (process direction) of an image bearer/intermediate transfer belt 1 (note that a formation interval of the toner band may be adjusted; [0075]), each of the multiple patterns having a band shape extending in an orthogonal direction to the moving direction (Fig. 8 [0027]). The multiple patterns are used to clean a cleaning member 5 (Fig. 1 [0022-0023]).
Based on the teachings of Koide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Kato to include the toner bands/cleaning images as the multiple patterns, and to include the control necessary to properly utilize the multiple patterns. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to clean the cleaning member (Koide [0022-0023]) (also note that Kato’s cleaner also includes a blade).
In making this modification, each of the multiple patterns would have a length equal to or longer than the maximum width of recording media usable in the image forming apparatus in the orthogonal direction, as each pattern would cover a range in which the cleaning member comes into contact with the image holding body (Koide [0027]). Surely the cleaning member would have a length at least equal to the maximum width of recording media, in order for the apparatus to function as intended and clean the image holding body appropriately.
Regarding claim 8, modified Kato discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising two sensors including the sensor, the two sensors disposed to face both ends of the image bearer in the orthogonal direction, (see Kato Fig. 9 [0094]).
Modified Kato fails to disclose wherein a first length of each of the multiple patterns is equal to or longer than a second length between the two sensors in the orthogonal direction.
Koide teaches forming multiple patterns (toner bands/cleaning images CI; Figs. 1A, 8) arranged at a second interval in a moving direction (process direction) of an image bearer/intermediate transfer belt 1 (note that a formation interval of the toner band may be adjusted; [0075]), each of the multiple patterns having a band shape extending in an orthogonal direction to the moving direction (Fig. 8 [0027]). The multiple patterns are used to clean a cleaning member 5 (Fig. 1 [0022-0023]).
Based on the teachings of Koide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Kato to include the toner bands/cleaning images as the multiple patterns, and to include the control necessary to properly utilize the multiple patterns. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to clean the cleaning member (Koide [0022-0023]).
In making this modification, a first length of each of the multiple patterns would be equal to or longer than a second length between the two sensors in the orthogonal direction, as each pattern would cover a range in which the cleaning member comes into contact with the image holding body (Koide [0027]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kato discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein an amount of toner adhering to a unit area of each of the multiple patterns is larger than an amount of toner adhering to a unit area of a monochrome solid image.
Koide teaches forming multiple patterns (toner bands/cleaning images CI; Figs. 1A, 8) arranged at a second interval in a moving direction (process direction) of an image bearer/intermediate transfer belt 1 (note that a formation interval of the toner band may be adjusted; [0075]), each of the multiple patterns having a band shape extending in an orthogonal direction to the moving direction (Fig. 8 [0027]). The multiple patterns are used to clean a cleaning member 5 (Fig. 1 [0022-0023]).
Based on the teachings of Koide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Kato to include the toner bands/cleaning images as the multiple patterns, and to include the control necessary to properly utilize the multiple patterns. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to clean the cleaning member (Koide [0022-0023]).
Koide further teaches that the density of the multiple patterns/toner bands may be increased to increase the toner moving amount from the cleaning blade ([0075]). As such, the density of the multiple patterns is recognized as a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the density/toner adhering to a unit area of each of the multiple patterns, including that which results in the density being larger than an amount of toner adhering to a unit area of a monochrome solid image, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, modified Kato discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the circuitry is configured to control the image forming unit to form the multiple patterns See Kato annotated Fig. 9 above and Fig. 1. As the image bearer travels in direction A1, the multiple patterns are formed downstream of the multiple toner patches, and each of the multiple patterns is formed in a different color.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112 (f), Applicant argues that “At least upon reviewing the representative figures, a person of ordinary skill in the art would immediately afford structure to the claimed” terms invoking 35 U.S.C. 112 (f) in the previous Office action. Applicant contends that “disclosing the above and modes of operation on its face is a sufficient disclosure of the recited features such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to immediately afford structure to the claimed features.” (See the paragraph spanning pages 6-7 of the arguments.)
The Office respectfully disagrees that Applicant’s reasoning precludes the terms from being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112 (f).
For example, “an image bearer contacting the image forming unit to bear the toner image, the image bearer movable in a moving direction” could reasonably be interpreted to be either a photosensitive drum, an intermediate transfer belt, or a sheet of paper, depending on what structure is considered to be “an image forming unit to form a toner image”. Without any structure explicitly claimed, one has to look to the disclosure in order to determine what structure corresponds to the functions of the claimed limitations, which is the basis of interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112 (f). As such, those claim limitations are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof, as outlined in the previous Office action.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Prior Art
Attention is directed to Sato et al. (US 2007/0122210) and Kobayashi et al. (US 2007/0116483), both cited in the previous Office action, for teaching forming toner bands immediately following toner patches.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852