DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election with traverse of Group II (claims 9-20) filed on 08/27/2026 has been acknowledged and considered.
The traverse is on the ground(s) that the Restriction Requirement does not identify any materially different product that the method of claim 1 could be used to make, and
does not identify any materially different process by which the device of claim 9 or claim 19 could be made.
The traverse has been persuasive and therefore, the restriction mailed on 10/25/2019 has been withdrawn.
This is and therefore, the restriction mailed on 07/27/2026 has been
withdrawn and all of claims 1-20 will be examined.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Oath/Declaration
3. The oath/declaration filed on 08/07/2024 is acceptable.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an application filed on 10/25/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the application 10-2023-0144179 as required by 35 U.S.C. 119(b), see Failure Status report mailed on 03/25/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 08/07/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over YOON S (CN-114678353-A) in view of JOURDAIN M (EP-3651188-A1).
Regarding claim 1, YOON S discloses a method of manufacturing an integrated circuit device, the method comprising:
providing a substrate (100A) comprising a base substrate layer (101), an insulating substrate layer (102), and a cover substrate layer (103) that are sequentially stacked in a vertical direction (Z-direction);
forming, on the substrate (100A), a stacked structure comprising a plurality of sacrificial semiconductor layers (106S) and a plurality of nanosheet semiconductor layers (NSS) that are alternately stacked one layer at a time; and
forming a plurality of trench regions (openings between the stacked structure) to define a plurality of fin-type active regions (FAA/FAB) by etching the stacked structure and the substrate (100A) (Fig. 6 and English Text).
YOON S discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the forming of the plurality of trench regions comprises, by using the insulating substrate layer as an etch stop layer, etching portions of the stacked structure and the cover substrate layer in the vertical direction up to an upper surface of the insulating substrate layer.
JOURDAIN M, however, discloses a method for producing an integrated circuit chip on a semiconductor device wafer comprising an insulator layer (refers as the insulating substrate layer) acting as the etch stop layer (see English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of YOON S to provide an insulator layer acting as the etch stop layer as taught by JOURDAIN M for a purpose of stopping etching the stacked structure at the upper surface of the insulating substrate layer.
Then, the forming of the plurality of trench regions comprises, by using the insulating substrate layer (102) as an etch stop layer, etching portions of the stacked structure and the cover substrate layer (103) in the vertical direction (Z-direction) up to an upper surface of the insulating substrate layer (102) as claimed.
Regarding claim 3, YOON S and JOURDAIN M (citations to YOON S unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the insulating substrate layer (102) comprises silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SIN), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 4, YOON S and JOURDAIN M (citations to YOON S unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the cover substrate layer (103) comprises a semiconductor material (Si and Ge, or a compound semiconductor material such as SiGe, SiC, GaAs, InAs, and InP) (Fig. 6), but does not disclose the base substrate layer comprises a semiconductor material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to form the base substrate layer comprises a semiconductor material as cited in the claims above to improve the method of manufacturing an integrated circuit, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, YOON S (CN-114678353-A) discloses an integrated circuit device comprising: a substrate (100A) comprising a base substrate layer (101) and an insulating substrate layer (102); a plurality of fin-type active regions (FAA/FAB) protruding from a frontside surface of the substrate (100A) in a vertical direction (Z-direction) and extending long in a first horizontal direction (X-direction) to define a trench region on the substrate (100A); a plurality of source/drain regions (160A/160B) on the plurality of fin-type active regions (FAA/FAB) (Fig. 6).
KIM (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0138505 A1) discloses an integrated circuit device comprising a device isolation layer ((102) on a sidewall of each of the plurality of fin-type active regions (103) in the trench region (Fig. 2A and para [0021]).
JOURDAIN M (EP-3651188-A1), however, discloses a method for producing an integrated circuit chip on a semiconductor device wafer comprising an insulator layer (refers as the insulating substrate layer) acting as the etch stop layer (see English Text). Then, the lower surface of the trench region and an upper surface of the insulating substrate layer will be obviously provided at the same vertical level.
YOON S, KIM and JOURDAIN M, however, either alone or together in any combination, do not disclose, teach, or otherwise suggest a feature of “a via power rail between the plurality of fin-type active regions, between the plurality of source/drain regions and penetrating the device isolation layer in the vertical direction; and a backside power rail penetrating the substrate in the vertical direction from a backside surface of the substrate to contact an end of the via power rail” as cited in the independent claim 9.
Claims 10-18 are directly or indirectly dependent on the independent claim 9, then, they are also being allowed.
Regarding claim 19, YOON S (CN-114678353-A) discloses an integrated circuit device comprising: a substrate (100A) comprising a base substrate layer (101) comprising a semiconductor material and an insulating substrate layer (102), the insulating substrate layer (102) comprising silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SIN), or a combination thereof; wherein each of the plurality of cells comprises: a fin-type active region (FAA/FAB) protruding from a frontside surface of the substrate (100A) in the vertical direction (Z-direction) and extending long in the first horizontal direction (X-direction) to define a trench region on the substrate (100A); at least one nanosheet (NSS) provided on the fin-type active region (FAA/FAB); and a gate line (150) surrounding the at least one nanosheet (NSS) and extending long in the second horizontal direction (Y-direction) (Figs. 6 and 14).
HAN Y (KR-20040070628-A) discloses an integrated circuit device comprising a plurality of cell regions (102) spaced apart from each other on the substrate in a first horizontal direction (X-direction) and each comprising a plurality of cells (102); an inter-cell separation region (104) on the substrate between the plurality of cell regions (102), and extending long in a second horizontal direction (Y-direction) crossing the first horizontal direction (X-direction) (Fig. 3b).
KIM (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0138505 A1) discloses an integrated circuit device comprising a device isolation layer ((102) on a sidewall of each of the plurality of fin-type active regions (103) in the trench region (Fig. 2A and para [0021]).
JOURDAIN M (EP-3651188-A1) discloses a method for producing an integrated circuit chip on a semiconductor device wafer comprising an insulator layer (refers as the insulating substrate layer) acting as the etch stop layer (see English Text). Then, the lower surface of the trench region and a vertical level of an upper surface of the insulating substrate layer will be obviously provided at the same vertical level.
YOON S, HAN Y, KIM and JOURDAIN M, however, either alone or together in any combination, do not disclose, teach, or otherwise suggest a feature of “a plurality of via power rails in the inter-cell separation region; and a backside power rail penetrating the substrate in a vertical direction from the backside surface of the substrate to contact an end of each of the plurality of via power rails” as cited in the independent claim 19.
Claim 20 is directly dependent on the independent claim 19, then, it is also being allowed.
Claims 2 and 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Arts
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Huang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0202385 A1) discloses a semiconductor structure comprising the method 200 proceeds to an operation 204 by forming isolation features, such as shallow trench isolation (STI) features 104 on the semiconductor substrate 102, thereby defining active regions 106 separated and isolated from each other by the isolation features. In FIG. 4 and some following figures, the embedded semiconductor layer 102A is not illustrated for simplicity but it is understood that the semiconductor layer 102A is present as a part of the semiconductor substrate 102 (Figs. 2-4 and para [0023]).
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897