Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: the meaning of the following is unclear: “containing a/the conductor”, “containing an/the insulator”. These terms are found in various ones of the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
35 USC 103 Rejections
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyawaki et al 8834201.
Regarding claim 1, Miyawaki et al (Figure 2) substantially discloses the claimed invention, including a coaxial cable connector comprising a connector for relaying a cable 2, the connector comprising: a contact 3 containing a conductor; an insulator body 4 containing an insulator and supporting the contact; and an impedance adjuster 46,35 having a part 46 incorporated into the insulator body and containing the conductor. It would have been an obvious matter of design to extend the extend the core wire 21 such that the impedance adjuster covers an exposed part of the core wire of the cable connected to the contact, the exposed part being exposed from the insulator body, as this would not substantially affect the function thereof.
Regarding claim 2, Miyawaki et al discloses the connector further comprises a GND shell 5 containing the conductor, the contact 3, the insulator body 4, and the impedance adjuster 46,35 are disposed inside the GND shell, and the impedance adjuster is disposed in a spatial layer formed between the exposed part and the GND shell.
Regarding claim 8, Miyawaki et al discloses the impedance adjuster 46 is electrically isolated from the GND shell 5, the contact 3, and the core wire 21.
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 3-7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches the impedance adjuster having a tube shape; nor the impedance adjuster being incorporated into the insulator body by insert molding; nor the impedance adjuster being incorporated into the insulator body by being press-fit to the insulator body; nor the impedance adjuster being electrically connected to the GND shell; nor the second connector having the impedance adjuster; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834