Claims 1-15 filed 08/07/2024 are pending.
Receipt is acknowledged for substitute specification filed 11/26/2024.
Priority
This application is a Continuation of 16698245 filed November 27, 2019, now US 12109324 B2, which is a Continuation of 15/256,362, filed September 2, 2016, now abandoned, which is a continuation of PCT/US2015/055522, filed October 14, 2015, and which claims benefit of 62/063,793 filed on October 14, 2014.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
Application Serial number 16698245 filed November 27, 2019, is patent no. US 12109324 B2. Application serial number 15256362 filed September 2, 2016 is now abandoned. The cross reference section in paragraph [0001] of the instant specification does not acknowledge the abandonment of 15256362 and the patent derived from 16698252.
The examiner suggest that the cross reference section indicate that 16698252 is now US 12109324 B2 and 15256362 now abandoned. Correction is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “rhPDGF pm” and it is unclear what the “pm” is and thus what “rhPDGF pm” is.
Correction/explanation is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al., (US 20080027470 A1).
For claim 1, Hart discloses composition comprising solution of platelet derived growth factor (PDGF) dispersed in biocompatible matrix, and the PDGF is present at from about 0.01 mg/ml to about 10 mg/ml, or from about 0.05 mg/ml to about 5 mg/ml or from about 0.1 mg/ml to about 1.0 mg/ml (see the whole document with emphasis on paragraphs [0010], [0036], claims 16, 17). The PDGF is PDGF-BB or recombinant human PDGF-BB (rhPDGF-BB) (paragraphs [0011], [0012]). In one embodiment, the biocompatible matrix is a scaffolding material or biocompatible binder (paragraph [0014]) and the biocompatible binder is collagen or collagen patch (paragraphs [0015], [0073], [0084]) and the collagen patch is porous (paragraphs [0056], [0085]); the collagen binder has pores having dimeters in the range of 1 mm to 1 mm (1000 mm) (paragraphs [0085]) which meets the limitation of the pore size distribution of claim 1 c); the collage binder is in amount of from about 5 wt% to about 50 wt% or from about 10 wt% to about 40 wt% of the biocompatible matrix (paragraph [0087]). The solution holding PDGF-BB contain buffer such as phosphate buffered saline, HEPES, MOPS and Tris (paragraphs [0046], [0047], [0050], [0108], [0149]) and the composition is lyophilized (paragraph [0047]) which the recitation that the composition in claim 1 is lyophilized. The rhPDGF-BB solution in buffer in amounts of from about 0.05 mg/ml to about 5 mg/ml (claim 1 a)) dispersed in porous biocompatible collagen (claim 1 b)).
The rhPDGF-BB is present 0.05 mg/ml to about 5 mg/ml and the collagen is present from about 10 wt% to about 40 wt% of the biocompatible matrix (paragraph [0087]). Hart differs from claim 1 because Hart does not expressly teach ratio of rhPDGF solution to matrix is between about 0.05 ml/cm3 to about 5 ml/cm3. However, Hart teaches application of 150 mL of rhPDGF-BB solution (0.3 mg/ml, 1.0 mg/ml or 3.0 mg/ml) to hydrate/saturate collagen matrix patch having a size of 1 cm2 (Example 6, paragraphs [0158]-[0168]). Thus, given that the level of skill in this art is very high, and that optimizing parameters such as the amount of a growth factor incorporated in a biocompatible matrix or carrier in a therapeutic composition would be routine, optimizing the amount of PDGF applied to a volume of biocompatible matrix or carrier to the recited range would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success,
absent evidence of unexpected results. As was found in In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456,
105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
The composition of Hart is therapeutic as it is used to close/heal wound (paragraph [0119], [0150], [0167]). The recitation “for treating wounds” is the intended use of the claimed composition. In the instant case, the body of the claim defines the structure of the composition and the “for treating wounds” is the intended purpose of the composition (see Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999), Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997)).
For claim 2, Hart teaches rhPDGF-BB (paragraphs [0011], [0012]).
For claims 3 and 4, the lyophilized composition of Hart having 0.05 mg/ml to about 5 mg/ml rhPDGF would inherently retain the claimed bioactivity (claim 3) and Hart does not teach that the rhPDGF is clipped thereby meeting the requirement that the rhPDGF is unclipped (claim 4).
For claim 5, the solution containing rhPDGF is buffer.
For claim 6, Hart teaches collagen patch that is capable of absorbing water up to 15x the mass of the collagen patch (paragraph [0056]) indicating that the collagen matrix having utility in wound healing is insoluble.
For claim 7, the “wherein the rh-PDGF is produced through and E.coli expression system” is the source of the rh-PDGF or process of producing the rh-PDGF. There is no demonstration that the source of the rh-PDGF or how the rh-PDGF is produced provides unexpected results.
For claim 8, the pores in Hart are interconnected (paragraph [0063]).
For claim 9, the collagen matric binder has pores having dimeters in the range of 1 mm to 1 mm (1000 mm) (paragraphs [0085]) meeting the requirement of the claim.
For claim 10, Hart teaches an embodiment in which the pore diameter is 100 mm to about 400 mm (paragraph [0085]) which is a species range within the claimed range of 100 mm to about 500 mm.
For claims 11-15, The rhPDGF-BB is present 0.05 mg/ml to about 5 mg/ml and the collagen is present from about 10 wt% to about 40 wt% of the biocompatible matrix (paragraph [0087]). Hart differs from claims 11-15 because Hart does not expressly teach ratio of rhPDGF solution to matrix as claimed in claims 11-15. However, Hart teaches application of 150 mL of rhPDGF-BB solution (0.3 mg/ml, 1.0 mg/ml or 3.0 mg/ml) to hydrate/saturate collagen matrix patch having a size of 1 cm2 (Example 6, paragraphs [0158]-[0168]). Thus, given that the level of skill in this art is very high, and that optimizing parameters such as the amount of a growth factor incorporated in a biocompatible matrix or carrier in a therapeutic composition would be routine, optimizing the amount of PDGF applied to a volume of biocompatible matrix or carrier to the recited range would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success,
absent evidence of unexpected results. As was found in In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456,
105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Therefore, Hart renders claims 1-15 prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 15, 16, 18-28, 30 and 34-37; 1, 7-10, 13-24 and 27; 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 13-15, 17 and 20-22; 1-5, 7-10, 14-17, 19, 22, 24 and 25; 1, 3-7, 14-17 and 22-25; 1-5, 7, 8, 10, 14-17, 19, 22, 24, 25; and 1-9 of U.S. Patent Nos. 9642891 B2; 10456450 B2; 10556039 B2; 8870954 B2; 10071182 B2; 11135341 B2 and 12109324 B2 respectively.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
US 9642891 B2, The issued method treats damaged or injured tendon in an individual by providing a composition containing PDGF solution disposed in a
biocompatible matrix, wherein the biocompatible matrix is selected from the group consisting
of: a biocompatible matrix consisting of collagen, and a biocompatible matrix consisting of
collagen and a polysaccharide, wherein the PDGF solution consists of PDGF in a buffer,
wherein the PDGF solution has a concentration of PDGF of about 0.05 mg/ml to about 5
mg/ml, and wherein the biocompatible matrix has a porosity greater than about 25%, and b)
applying the composition in vivo to the damaged or injured tendon."
US 10456450 B2, the issued method for treating damaged or injured tissue comprises providing a composition consisting essentially of a scaffolding material having a solution consisting essentially of platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF) and a buffer disposed therein, the scaffolding material consisting essentially of i) collagen or ii) collagen and a biocompatible binder, the scaffolding material having a porosity of at least 25%, and the solution having a PDGF concentration ranging from about 0.05 to about 5.0 mg/mL, and applying the composition to the damaged or injured tissue.
US 10556039 B2, the issued method attaches a ligament to a bone in an individual comprising administering at an interface between the tendon and the bone or the ligament and the bone an effective amount of a composition comprising: a solution of platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF) at a concentration of 0.1 to 2.0 mg/mL disposed in a biocompatible collagen matrix, wherein the biocompatible collagen matrix has a porosity of at least 80%, and wherein at least about 50% of the PDGF is released within about 24 hours.
US 8870954 B2, the issued method treats ligament injury not involving a bone in an individual comprising administering to an affected site of the injury of the individual an effective amount of a composition comprising at the time of administration: a solution of platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF) at a concentration of 0.1 to 2.0 mg/mL disposed in a biocompatible collagen matrix, wherein the biocompatible matrix comprises pores, wherein the biocompatible matrix has a porosity of at least 80%, and wherein at least 50% of the PDGF is released within 24 hours.
US 10071182 B2, the issued method treats chronic ulcer wound by debriding the wound to remove necrotic or infected tissue; forming a therapeutic composition consisting essentially of sterile recombinant human PDGF-BB (rhPDGF-BB) in a physiologic solution and a sterile porous biocompatible carrier, wherein the porous biocompatible carrier is a collagen sponge or collagen wound dressing, and said therapeutic composition is free from an enzyme inhibitor; applying the therapeutic composition to the wound surface in an amount that is at least about 10 mg rhPDGF-BB per cm2 of treated wound surface area, wherein the carrier provides a substrate for cell attachment and vascular ingrowth as the wound heals; (4) covering the wound with a dressing; and monitoring the healing of the wound during a treatment period and repeating the above steps to treat the wound at treatment intervals of 7 or more days; wherein the wound is retreated from 2 to 20 times, and wherein each retreatment comprises applying the therapeutic composition to the wound surface in an amount that is at least 10 mg rhPDGF-BB/cm2 treated wound surface area up to 100 mg rhPDGF-BB/cm2 treated wound surface area.
US 11135341 B2, the issued method treats tendon injury or a ligament injury not involving a bone in an individual comprising administering to an affected site of the injury of the individual an effective amount of a composition comprising a biocompatible matrix and platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF), wherein the biocompatible matrix comprises pores, wherein the biocompatible matrix has a porosity of at least about 80%, and wherein at least about 50% of the PDGF is released within about 24 hours.
US 12109324 B2, the issued composition is directed to lyophilized composition comprising rhPDGF-BB in biocompatible porous alginate or collagen or fibrin or gelatin of cellulose or chitosan or fibronectin matrix having open porous structure having pore size distribution between 50 mm and 1000 mm, the pores entrapping at least 50% of rhPDGF-BB and having ratio of rhPDGF-BB solution to the matrix is between about 0.05 ml/cm3 to about 5 ml/cm3 and the lyophilized therapeutic composition is wetted with physiological solution.
Prior art of Interest: KESTLER et al. (US 20100247651 A1) teaches composition comprising lyophilized composition rhPDGF-BB, porous collagen matrix and buffer, having pore area size of 4500 mm2 to about 20000 mm2 (see the whole document with emphasis on paragraphs [0027], [0032], [0033], [0095], [0097][0099], [0122], [0226], [0227], 0195], [0185], [0232], [0234], [0242], [0243], [0315], [0322]).
No claim is allowed.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Conclusion
/BLESSING M FUBARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613