DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114889831 (Hu) in view of EP 2130766 (Annati).
For claim 1, Hu teaches an adaptive navigation light system for a rotary wing air vehicle (figure 1) including at least a main body and a plurality of arms (machine arms 11), the main body including a front end (machine head 3) and a tail end (machine tail 4) disposed opposite the front end, each arm of the plurality of arms extending from the main body, the adaptive navigation light system comprising:
a plurality of circular light arrays (see specification, the navigation lamp system), each circular light array operable to emit light of a plurality of different colors (each lamp is able to change color to adhere to the "left red and right green lighting rule"), each circular light array including a plurality of individual light sources (rotor lamps 7), each individual light source operable, upon being energized, to emit light of one of the plurality of different colors (see specification, red or green), the plurality of circular light arrays including at least a plurality of arm light arrays, each arm light array adapted to be mounted, one each, on a different one of the plurality of arms (see figure 5); and
a processing system (navigation light control system) adapted to receive track error data representative of a track error of the rotary wing air vehicle, the processing system configured to process the track error data to thereby (i) determine which one of the plurality of different colors each circular light array should emit, (ii) determine which of the individual light sources in each in each circular light array should be energized, and (iii) energize the individual light sources that are determined should be energized
(see, specification, "A navigation light control system, for controlling the navigation light of the rotary wing aircraft, when the rotary wing aircraft is in the second state, the central line of the machine head of the rotary wing aircraft to the machine tail is collinear with the air direction line of the rotary wing aircraft, the control system is used for controlling the rotary wing lamp lighting, the auxiliary lamp is lightened or extinguished; and/or, when the rotorcraft is in the first state, the aircraft head of the rotorcraft head to the tail of the central line and the rotorcraft has an included angle, along the direction vertical to the course line, the left side navigation lamp assembly and the right navigation lamp assembly has a distance; the control system is used for controlling the corresponding two first navigation lamps at the maximum distance position to light."),
wherein the track error of the rotary wing air vehicle is a difference between heading and flight path of the rotary wing air vehicle (see, e.g., specification, " two first navigation lights of the lighting rule follows the navigation light standard, namely is left red and right green, lighting the two first navigation light of the connecting line, and the direction are vertical to each other, at the same time, located at the position of the maximum distance, so it can ensure two first navigation lamps respectively located at two sides of the flight direction line, the opposite plane can judge the flight direction of the aircraft is forward or backward according to the rule of left red and right green; at the same time, the vertical line direction of the two first navigation light connecting line is the course of the aircraft, according to the other aircraft in the preset range of the same airspace, or the ground staff can accurately obtain the course of the aircraft, avoid impact.").
However, Hu does not explicitly talk about having a front and tail light on its drone.
Nevertheless, Annati teaches a drone having a front end light array that is adapted to be mounted on the front end, a tail end light array that is adapted to be mounted on the tail end (see, e.g., para [0015], "In yet another embodiment multiple lights can be paired such as white, red and green, then depending on the direction of travel, white lights will be activated in the front and rear, green on the right and red on the left.").
Given Annati, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have a head light and a tail light on the drone in Hu for the purpose of more clearly showing the orientation of the craft.
However, Hu does not explicitly teach having its lights have an orientation/ direction with its lighting.
Nevertheless, Annati teaches having drone lights that have a light distribution range which includes the claimed range of 110 to 140 degrees of illumination about an axis that is perpendicular to a flight path of the rotary wing air vehicle (see figures 4-1 where the lights illuminate in a range beyond 180 degrees, and figure 3 showing a range less than 90 degrees; also, lights 452 and 456 are shown to be radiating light in a field perpendicular to the drone's flight path).
Given Annati, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to limit the lights in Hu to a field of illumination from 110 to 140 degrees for the purpose of more clearly showing the orientation of the craft to an observer. For example, only those in front of the drone could see the headlight, while only those behind it can see the taillight.
For claim 2, Annati further teaches the plurality of different colors includes white, red, and green (ibid).
For claim 4, Hu figure 5 further teaches for one or more predetermined track errors, when the individual light sources of two adjacent circular light arrays are energized, the light emitted by the adjacent circular light arrays will provide at least 140- degrees of illumination about an axis that is perpendicular to, and disposed at a location behind a direction of, the flight path of the rotary wing air vehicle (figure 5 shows the lights providing 360 degrees of illumination).
For claim 5, Hu further teaches a track error data source configured to supply the track error data to the processing system (see, e.g., specification, "In order to solve at least one of the above technical problem, the present invention provides a navigation light system for rotorcraft, the navigation light system comprises a left side navigation light assembly and the left side navigation light assembly opposite to the right navigation light assembly; along the direction of the machine head of the rotary wing aircraft to the machine tail, the left side navigation lamp assembly, the right side navigation lamp assembly comprises a plurality of navigation lamps; when the rotorcraft is in the first state, the aircraft head of the rotorcraft head to the tail of the central line and the rotorcraft has an included angle, along the direction vertical to the course line,
the left side navigation lamp assembly and the right navigation lamp assembly has a distance; The corresponding two first navigation lights at the position of the maximum distance are lightened.").
For claim 6, Hu further teaches the track error data source comprises: a vehicle heading data source configured to determine the heading of the rotary wing aircraft and supply heading data representative thereof;
a vehicle flight path data source configured to determine the flight path of the rotary wing air vehicle and supply flight path data representative thereof; and a processor coupled to receive the heading data and the flight path data and configured, upon receipt thereof, to determine the track error of the rotary wing air vehicle and generate and supply the track error data (ibid).
For claim 7, Hu figure 1 teaches a rotary wing air vehicle, comprising:
a main body including a front end (machine head 3) and a tail end (machine tail 4) disposed opposite the front end;
a plurality of arms (machine arms 11), each arm of the plurality of arms extending from the main body; and
an adaptive navigation light system (see specification, the navigation lamp system) coupled to the main body, the adaptive navigation light system comprising:
a plurality of circular light arrays, each circular light array operable to emit light of a plurality of different colors (each lamp is able to change color to adhere to the "left red and right green lighting rule"), each circular light array including a plurality of individual light sources (rotor lamps 7), each individual light source operable, upon being
energized, to emit light of one of the plurality of different colors (see specification, red or green), the plurality of circular light arrays including at least a plurality of arm light arrays, each arm light array adapted mounted, one each, on a different one of the plurality of arms (see figure 5); and
a processing system (navigation light control system) adapted to receive track error data representative of a track error of the rotary wing air vehicle, the processing system configured to process the track error data to thereby (i) determine which one of the plurality of different colors each circular light array should emit, (ii) determine which of the individual light sources in each in each circular light array should be energized, and (iii) energize the individual light sources that are determined should be energized (see, specification, "A navigation light control system, for controlling the navigation light of the rotary wing aircraft, when the rotary wing aircraft is in the second state, the central line of the machine head of the rotary wing aircraft to the machine tail is collinear with the air direction line of the rotary wing aircraft, the control system is used for controlling the rotary wing lamp lighting, the auxiliary lamp is lightened or extinguished;
and/or, when the rotorcraft is in the first state, the aircraft head of the rotorcraft head to the tail of the central line and the rotorcraft has an included angle, along the direction vertical to the course line, the left side navigation lamp assembly and the right navigation lamp assembly has a distance; the control system is used for controlling the corresponding two first navigation lamps at the maximum distance position to light."),
wherein the track error of the rotary wing air vehicle is a difference between heading and flight path of the rotary wing air vehicle (see, e.g., specification, two first navigation lights of the lighting rule follows the navigation light standard, namely is left red and right green, lighting the two first navigation light of the connecting line, and the direction are vertical to each other, at the same time, located at the position of the maximum distance, so it can ensure two first navigation lamps respectively located at two sides of the flight direction line, the opposite plane can judge the flight direction of the aircraft is forward or backward according to the rule of left red and right green; at the same time, the vertical line direction of the two first navigation light connecting line is the course of the aircraft, according to the other aircraft in the preset range of the same airspace, or the ground staff can accurately obtain the course of the aircraft, avoid impact.").
However, Hu does not explicitly talk about having a front and tail light on its drone. Nevertheless, Annati teaches a drone having a front end light array that is adapted to be mounted on the front end, a tail end light array that is adapted to be mounted on the tail end (see, e.g., para [0015], "In yet another embodiment multiple lights can be paired such as white, red and green, then depending on the direction of travel, white lights will be activated in the front and rear, green on the right and red on the left.").
Given Annati, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have a head light and a tail light on the drone in Hu for the purpose of more clearly showing the orientation of the craft.
However, Hu does not explicitly teach having its lights have an orientation/ direction with its lighting.
Nevertheless, Annati teaches having drone lights that have a light distribution range which includes the claimed range of 110 to 140 degrees of illumination about an axis that is perpendicular to a flight path of the rotary wing air vehicle (see figures 4-1 where the lights illuminate in a range beyond 180 degrees, and figure 3 showing a range less than 90 degrees; also, lights 452 and 456 are shown to be radiating light in a field perpendicular to the drone's flight path).
Given Annati, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to limit the lights in Hu to a field of illumination from 110 to 140 degrees for the purpose of more clearly showing the orientation of the craft to an observer. For example, only those in front of the drone could see the headlight, while only those behind it can see the taillight.
For claim 8, Annati further teaches the plurality of different colors includes white, red, and green (ibid).
For claim 10, Hu figure 5 further teaches for one or more predetermined track errors, when the individual light sources of two adjacent circular light arrays are energized, the light emitted by the adjacent circular light arrays will provide at least 140- degrees of illumination about an axis that is perpendicular to, and disposed at a location behind a direction of, the flight path of the rotary wing aircraft (figure 5 shows the lights providing 360 degrees of illumination).
For claim 11, Hu further teaches a track error data source configured to supply the track error data to the processing system (see, e.g., specification, "In order to solve at least one of the above technical problem, the present invention provides a navigation light system for rotorcraft, the navigation light system comprises a left side navigation light assembly and the left side navigation light assembly opposite to the right navigation light assembly; along the direction of the machine head of the rotary wing aircraft to the machine tail, the left side navigation lamp assembly, the right side navigation lamp assembly comprises a plurality of navigation lamps; when the rotorcraft is in the first state, the aircraft head of the rotorcraft head to the tail of the central line and the rotorcraft has an included angle, along the direction vertical to the course line, the left side navigation lamp assembly and the right navigation lamp assembly has a distance; The corresponding two first navigation lights at the position of the maximum distance are lightened.").
For claim 12, Hu further teaches the track error data source comprises:
a vehicle heading data source configured to determine the heading of the rotary wing aircraft and supply heading data representative thereof;
a vehicle flight path data source configured to determine the flight path of the rotary wing air vehicle and supply flight path data representative thereof; and
a processor coupled to receive the heading data and the flight path data and configured, upon receipt thereof, to determine the track error of the rotary wing air vehicle and generate and supply the track error data (ibid).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s argument that Annati fails to teach having its lights distribute across a range of angles, it should be noted that Annati establishes the same function or property as what is claimed (how the drone appears to an observer), and there is no showing of criticality regarding the range of illumination provided by the lights. Applicant argues that one can not determine any kind of range of light distribution given that the drawings are not drawn to scale, nor is a value ever given to the angles depicted. However, figure 4-1 clears show a distribution beyond 180 degrees, that patter goes beyond a straight line. For figure 3, that distribution clearly shows a pattern that is less than 90 degrees. Just because figures aren’t drawn to scale doesn't mean they don't show what they show. One can determine that an angle is generally less than 90 or greater than 180 just by looking at them. Thus the rejection still stands.
Conclusion
/ADAM D HOUSTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836