DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II and Species F in the reply filed on 06/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 45-47 are objected to because of the following informalities:
i. Regarding Claims 45-47, the claims are objected to as there is no Claim 44 listed, so the claims should be Claims 44-46 respectively. For clarity of current examination, the Examiner is referring to the currently listed claim/claim number combinations, but they should be adjusted moving forward.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 47, the limitation “comprises delivering cardiac pacing energy via the plurality of electrodes to stimulate an HIS bundle pacing” is indefinite as to what a “HIS bundle pacing” is or how it is stimulated. The Examiner is interpreting for the purpose of examination that the word “pacing” is duplicated, and the stimulation is to stimulate a HIS bundle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 37-43 and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication 20090018599 awarded to Hastings et al (cited on the IDS dated 08/07/2024).
Regarding Claim 37, Hastings teaches a method of implanting a stimulation assembly at a target site of a septal wall of a heart of a patient (Para. 0039), the method comprising: positioning the stimulation assembly in a first ventricle of the heart (Para. 0039, “For example, the transmitter 20 may abut a septal wall 40 of the right ventricle 23, and the wireless seed assembly 26 may be placed on the septum of the left ventricle parallel to the septal wall 40 of the right ventricle 23”), wherein the stimulation assembly comprises a body (body 140), an anchor coupled to the body (Fig. 4, fixation elements 138), and circuitry positioned at least partially within the body, the circuitry being configured to receive acoustic energy from an external source and convert the acoustic energy to electrical energy (Para. 0058, “Similarly, a wireless electrode assembly (seed) 250 includes two conductors or wires 252, 254, each connected to one end of another ultrasonic transducer 256. Wires 252 and 254 also are connected to a seed circuit 216 within the seed 250, which may include capability for charge storage, electrical stimulation (pace) delivery, electrical sense, and information transmit, receive and storage. Seed 250 may correspond to any of the seeds shown in FIGS. 1-4 and described above. Ultrasonic coupling may provide an efficiency advantage because the beam produced upon transducer excitation may be more directed, permitting reduced loss when the receiving transducer is appropriately oriented relative to the transmitting transducer. Conversely, if the transmitted ultrasound beam only partially intersects receiver 256, the received energy may become too small to pace the tissue. The ultrasound energy transmission of FIG. 6A may thus be more orientation-dependent than the magnetic energy transmission of FIG. 5”); penetrating the septal wall of the heart with a distal tip portion of the anchor (Fig. 4, Para. 0039), wherein the stimulation assembly includes a plurality of electrodes positioned along the anchor between the distal tip portion and a proximal portion of the anchor (Fig. 4, electrodes 142 and 144); securing the anchor to the septal wall such that the body is positioned within the first ventricle and the plurality of electrodes contact tissue of the septal wall (Fig. 4, Para. 0050); and delivering electrical energy to the septal wall via the plurality of electrodes (Para. 0047).
Regarding Claim 38, Hastings teaches the method of claim 37, further comprising selectively delivering, via the circuitry, portions of the electrical energy to the plurality of electrodes according to a selected stimulation pattern (Para. 0085, “The controller may be programmed to deliver pacing pulses to leads in the ventricles at specific time delays relative to the sensed sinus beat (usually somewhat more than 100 msec, and may be a function of exertion sensed by an embedded accelerometer). Ventricle leads may be instructed to pace simultaneously or sequentially in a pattern that has been found to optimize cardiac hemodynamics”).
Regarding Claim 39, Hastings teaches the method of claim 37 wherein securing the anchor to the septal wall comprises deploying anchor members coupled to the anchor into tissue of the septal wall, wherein the anchor members are positioned distal to the plurality of electrodes Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 40, Hastings teaches the method of claim 37 wherein securing the anchor to the septal wall comprises deploying anchor members coupled to the anchor into tissue of the septal wall, wherein the anchor members are positioned between a distal portion of the anchor and a distalmost one of the plurality of electrodes (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 41, Hastings teaches the method of claim 37 wherein the plurality of electrodes comprises a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode is a cathode electrode and wherein the second electrode is an anode configured to electrically communicate with the first electrode (Para. 0050, “The assemblies 26 may each include two or more stimulation electrodes for providing electrical stimulation to cardiac tissue, and in some implementations may include two or more sense electrodes for sensing cardiac signals local to their implantation environment. In some implementations, the seeds 26 may measure voltages, for example, such as voltages associated with the heart's native conduction cycles or voltages associated with delivered pacing stimuli. In some implementations, the seeds 26 may contain a pressure sensor for measurement of blood pressure in the heart chamber. As described above, in some implementations the seeds 26 may include storage space for storing sensed or measured information and may further include a transmitter for wirelessly transmitting the information for use by the pacing controller 10. The assemblies 26 shown in FIG. 4 are exemplary, and variations are possible. For example, alternative fixation devices may be used, such as different hook, tine or screw arrangements”).
Regarding Claim 42, Hastings teaches the method of claim 37 wherein securing the anchor to the septal wall further comprises positioning a distal surface of the body adjacent to the septal wall, wherein the plurality of electrodes are first electrodes, and wherein the stimulation assembly further comprises a second electrode carried by a proximal surface (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 43, Hastings teaches the method of claim 42 wherein the first electrodes are cathode electrodes and wherein the second electrode is an anode configured to electrically communicate with the first electrodes (Para. 0050, “The assemblies 26 may each include two or more stimulation electrodes for providing electrical stimulation to cardiac tissue, and in some implementations may include two or more sense electrodes for sensing cardiac signals local to their implantation environment. In some implementations, the seeds 26 may measure voltages, for example, such as voltages associated with the heart's native conduction cycles or voltages associated with delivered pacing stimuli. In some implementations, the seeds 26 may contain a pressure sensor for measurement of blood pressure in the heart chamber. As described above, in some implementations the seeds 26 may include storage space for storing sensed or measured information and may further include a transmitter for wirelessly transmitting the information for use by the pacing controller 10. The assemblies 26 shown in FIG. 4 are exemplary, and variations are possible. For example, alternative fixation devices may be used, such as different hook, tine or screw arrangements”).
Regarding Claim 45, Hastings teaches the method of claim 37 wherein penetrating the septal wall comprises penetrating a needle into the septal wall, wherein the plurality of electrodes are positioned linearly along the needle (Para. 0070).
Regarding Claim 46, Hastings teaches method of claim 37 wherein positioning the stimulation assembly in the first ventricle comprises positioning the stimulation assembly in a left ventricle (Para. 0039, “For example, the transmitter 20 may abut a septal wall 40 of the right ventricle 23, and the wireless seed assembly 26 may be placed on the septum of the left ventricle parallel to the septal wall 40 of the right ventricle 23”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hastings as applied to Claim 37 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 20190083800 awarded to Yang (cited on the IDS dated 08/07/2024).
Regarding Claim 47, Hastings teaches the method of Claim 37. Hastings does not teach wherein delivering electrical energy to the septal wall via the plurality of electrodes comprises delivering cardiac pacing energy via the plurality of electrodes to stimulate an HIS bundle pacing, but does teach the need for resynchronization therapy (Paras. 0006-0007).
However, in the art of cardiac stimulation (abstract), Yang teaches using a leadless stimulator to stimulate/pace the HIS bundle (Para. 0033) for the purpose of promoting AV synchrony (Para. 0003-0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hastings by Yang, i.e. by positioning the device of Hastings as in Yang, for the predictable purpose of improving the device of Hastings by performing further synchronization therapy, the need of which is set forth in Hastings and Yang above.
Conclusion
/JLM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796