DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The claims filed 08/07/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-19 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second fluid flow path described in Claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The specification fails to described a second fluid flow path at all. While paragraph 0026 and paragraph 0031 describe two different embodiments of a first fluid flow path, there is no description of a second fluid flow path in either embodiment or how the second fluid flow path relates to the first fluid flow path.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-10, 1-12, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leeflang (US 2018/0304041).
Regarding Claim 1, Leeflang discloses a hemostasis valve device (Device of Fig 7), comprising: a body member (531, Fig 7) comprising a body bore (536, Fig 7) extending therethrough, wherein the body bore comprises a distal bore portion (536c, Fig 7) and a proximal bore portion (536b, Fig 7); a side-arm (540, Fig 7) extending radially outward from the body member and comprising a side-arm bore (546, Fig 7) extending therethrough and in fluid communication with the proximal bore portion; and a valve member (550, Fig 7) disposed within the body bore proximally of the side-arm and configured to selectively restrict fluid flow through the body bore, wherein the proximal bore portion comprises a first fluid flow path configured to flush air bubbles from the proximal bore portion (Para 005-0056).
Regarding Claim 2, Leeflang discloses the first fluid flow path is configured to flush air bubbles from a distal surface of the valve member (Para 0056).
Regarding Claim 3, Leeflang discloses a fluid flow insert (512, Fig 7) co-axially disposed within the proximal bore portion distally of the valve member (See Fig 7).
Regarding Claim 8, Leeflang discloses the side-arm (540, Fig 7) is offset from a vertical plane (plane aligned with axis 518, Fig 7) aligned with a longitudinal axis of the body member (See Fig 7 wherein the side-arm is laterally and angularly offset from the vertical plan ).
Regarding Claim 9, Leeflang discloses the side-arm bore (546, Fig 7) comprises a side-arm bore outlet (outlet of bore 546 near region 536b, Fig7) in fluid communication with the proximal bore portion and disposed offset from the vertical plane (Para 0055, See Fig 7).
Regarding Claim 10, Leeflang discloses a second fluid flow path comprising: a second side-arm bore segment extending through the side-arm bore (Para 0055, lines 9-10); a side-arm bore outlet segment extending through the side-arm bore outlet (Para 0055, lines 10-11); and a second proximal bore segment comprising a second circular or spiral or swirl shape path (Para 0055, lines 12-14).
Regarding Claim 11, Leeflang discloses a hemostasis valve device (Device of Fig 7), comprising: a body member (531, Fig 7) comprising a body bore (536, Fig 7) extending therethrough, wherein the body bore comprises a distal bore portion (536c, Fig 7) and a proximal bore portion (536b, Fig 7); a side-arm (540, Fig 7) extending radially outward from the body member and comprising a side-arm bore (546, Fig 7) extending therethrough and in fluid communication with the proximal bore portion; a valve member (550, Fig 7) disposed within the body bore proximally of the proximal bore portion and configured to selectively restrict fluid flow through the body bore; and a fluid flow insert (512, Fig 7) co-axially disposed within the body bore distally of the valve member, wherein the fluid flow insert is configured to direct a fluid flowing within the proximal bore portion in a circular flow path to flush air bubbles from the proximal bore portion (Para 0055-0056).
Regarding Claim 12, Leeflang discloses the fluid flow insert (512, Fig 7) is configured to direct the fluid flowing within the proximal bore portion in a circular or spiral or swirling shape flow path to flush air bubbles from a distal surface of the valve member (Para 0055-0056).
Regarding Claim 17, Leeflang discloses a method of removing air bubbles from a medical device, comprising: injecting fluid through a side-arm bore (546, Fig 7) of the medical device into a proximal body bore portion (536b, Fig 7) of the medical device, wherein the proximal body bore portion includes a circular, spiral, or swirling shape flow path (Para 0055).
Regarding Claim 19, Leeflang discloses injecting fluid through the side-arm bore (546, Fig 7) of the medical device into the proximal body bore portion of the medical device comprises injecting the fluid through a side-arm bore outlet disposed offset from a vertical plane (plane aligned with axis 518, Fig 7) aligned with a longitudinal axis of the proximal bore portion (See Fig 7 wherein the side-arm is laterally and angularly offset from the vertical plan).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 13-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leeflang (US 2018/0304041) in view of McKinnon (US 2010/0204660).
Regarding Claim 4, Leeflang discloses the fluid flow insert (512, Fig 7) comprises: a flow channel (flow channel formed between the hub passage 536 and insert 512, Fig 7), however, is silent regarding the fluid flow insert comprises a flow channel comprising: an inlet portion in fluid communication with the side-arm bore; an outlet portion in fluid communication with the proximal bore portion; and a flow channel having a spiral shape and extending between and in fluid communication with the inlet portion and the outlet portion.
McKinnon teaches an analogous hub (Device of Fig 8) comprising a body member (41, Fig 5) comprising a body bore (42, Fig 5) extending therethrough, wherein the body bore comprises a distal bore portion and a proximal bore portion; a fluid flow inserts (74, Fig 7) co-axially disposed within the proximal bore portion (See Fig 8), wherein the proximal bore portion comprises a first fluid flow path configured to flush air bubbles from the proximal bore portion (Para 0009-0010, 0048); the fluid flow insert comprises: a flow channel (80, Fig 7) comprising: an inlet portion (portion of channel near proximal end 76); an outlet portion (portion of channel near numeral 54) in fluid communication with the proximal bore portion; and a flow channel having a spiral shape and extending between and in fluid communication with the inlet portion and the outlet portion (Para 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid flow insert to comprise a helical flow channel as taught by McKinnon in order to cause causes a faster flow rate and a more turbulent flow to eliminate, prevent, or limit regions of stagnant flow to provide better flush properties (Para 0010, 0048).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified invention of Leeflang and McKinnon discloses the fluid flow insert further comprises a protrusion (79, Fig 7 -McKinnon) at least partially surrounding the inlet portion and configured to be at least partially disposed within a distal portion of the side-arm bore (The proximal end of insert 512 in Leeflang is partially disposed within an outlet portion of the side arm bore 546. Thus, the modified insert would have the protrusion 79 on the proximal end partially disposed within an outlet portion of the side arm bore).
Regarding Claim 6, the modified invention of Leeflang and McKinnon discloses a first fluid flow path comprising: a first side-arm bore segment extending through the side-arm bore (Para 0055, lines 9-10 -Leeflang); an inlet segment extending through the inlet portion (Flow into the helical channel 80, Para 0048 - McKinnon); a channel segment extending through the flow channel (Flow through the helical channel 80, Para 0048 - McKinnon); an outlet segment extending through the outlet portion (Flow out of the helical channel 80, Para 0048 - McKinnon); and a first proximal bore segment comprising a first circular or spiral or swirl shape path (Para 0055, lines 13-14 -Leeflang).
Regarding Claim 7, the modified invention of Leeflang and McKinnon discloses the fluid flow insert comprises an insert bore (516, Fig 7 -Leeflang) extending through the fluid flow insert and in communication with the proximal bore portion and the distal bore portion (Para 0055 -Leeflang).
Regarding Claim 13, Leeflang discloses the fluid flow insert (512, Fig 7) comprises: a flow channel (flow channel formed between the hub passage 536 and insert 512, Fig 7), however, is silent regarding the fluid flow insert comprises a flow channel comprising: an inlet portion in fluid communication with the side-arm bore; an outlet portion in fluid communication with the proximal bore portion; and a flow channel having a spiral shape and extending between and in fluid communication with the inlet portion and the outlet portion.
McKinnon teaches an analogous hub (Device of Fig 8) comprising a body member (41, Fig 5) comprising a body bore (42, Fig 5) extending therethrough, wherein the body bore comprises a distal bore portion and a proximal bore portion; a fluid flow inserts (74, Fig 7) co-axially disposed within the proximal bore portion (See Fig 8), wherein the proximal bore portion comprises a first fluid flow path configured to flush air bubbles from the proximal bore portion (Para 0009-0010, 0048); the fluid flow insert comprises: a flow channel (80, Fig 7) comprising: an inlet portion (portion of channel near proximal end 76); an outlet portion (portion of channel near numeral 54) in fluid communication with the proximal bore portion; and a flow channel having a spiral shape and extending between and in fluid communication with the inlet portion and the outlet portion (Para 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid flow insert to comprise a helical flow channel as taught by McKinnon in order to cause causes a faster flow rate and a more turbulent flow to eliminate, prevent, or limit regions of stagnant flow to provide better flush properties (Para 0010, 0048).
Regarding Claim 14, the modified invention of Leeflang and McKinnon discloses the fluid flow insert further comprises a protrusion (79, Fig 7 -McKinnon) at least partially surrounding the inlet portion and configured to be at least partially disposed within a distal portion of the side-arm bore (The proximal end of insert 512 in Leeflang is partially disposed within an outlet portion of the side arm bore 546. Thus, the modified insert would have the protrusion 79 on the proximal end partially disposed within an outlet portion of the side arm bore).
Regarding Claim 15, the modified invention of Leeflang and McKinnon discloses a first fluid flow path comprising: a first side-arm bore segment extending through the side-arm bore (Para 0055, lines 9-10 -Leeflang); an inlet segment extending through the inlet portion (Flow into the helical channel 80, Para 0048 - McKinnon); a channel segment extending through the flow channel (Flow through the helical channel 80, Para 0048 - McKinnon); an outlet segment extending through the outlet portion (Flow out of the helical channel 80, Para 0048 - McKinnon); and a first proximal bore segment comprising a first circular or spiral or swirl shape path (Para 0055, lines 13-14 -Leeflang).
Regarding Claim 16, the modified invention of Leeflang and McKinnon discloses the fluid flow insert comprises an insert bore (516, Fig 7 -Leeflang) extending through the fluid flow insert and in communication with the proximal bore portion and the distal bore portion (Para 0055 -Leeflang).
Regarding Claim 18, Leeflang discloses injecting fluid the through the side-arm bore of the medical device into the proximal body bore portion of the medical device comprises injecting the fluid through a fluid flow channel of a fluid flow insert (512, Fig 7) (Para 0055-0056), however, is silent regarding the fluid flow channel comprises a spiral shape.
McKinnon teaches an analogous hub (Device of Fig 8) comprising a body member (41, Fig 5) comprising a body bore (42, Fig 5) extending therethrough, wherein the body bore comprises a distal bore portion and a proximal bore portion; a fluid flow inserts (74, Fig 7) co-axially disposed within the proximal bore portion (See Fig 8), wherein the proximal bore portion comprises a first fluid flow path configured to flush air bubbles from the proximal bore portion (Para 0009-0010, 0048); the fluid flow insert comprises: a flow channel (80, Fig 7) comprising: an inlet portion (portion of channel near proximal end 76); an outlet portion (portion of channel near numeral 54) in fluid communication with the proximal bore portion; and a flow channel having a spiral shape and extending between and in fluid communication with the inlet portion and the outlet portion (Para 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid flow insert to comprise a helical flow channel as taught by McKinnon in order to cause causes a faster flow rate and a more turbulent flow to eliminate, prevent, or limit regions of stagnant flow to provide better flush properties (Para 0010, 0048).
Conclusion
/ANTARIUS S DANIEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783