DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55, application number. KR10-2023-0105137 filed 08/10/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 21. 2024 (both IDS) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 23.700-60 V18.0.0, (2022-12), pp 266 (hereinafter referred as 3GPP) in view of Lenovo et al., "PDU SET HANDLING SUPPORT INDICATOR", S2-2305200, 3GPP TSG-SA2 Meeting #156e, April 17-21, 2023, 20 pages (hereinafter referred as Lenovo).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP discloses A method of a session management function (SMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receive, from a target base station, a first message for a handover (see section 6.69.3.2; and figure 6.69.3.2-1, page 246 discloses SMF receives a request from target radio node and SMF determined whether the PDU set handling capability has been changed from the source RAN to target RAN node), identify whether the first message includes a first indication indicating a protocol data unit (PDU) set-based handling support of the target base station (see section 6.69.3.2; and figure 6.69.3.2-1, page 246 discloses SMF receives a request from target radio node and SMF determined whether the PDU set handling capability has been changed from the source RAN to target RAN node. Further SMF triggers session modification procedure from case 1-case 3, specifically Case 2: for mobility from PSH non-supporting NG-RAN node to PSH-supporting NG-RAN node, SMF infers from the presence of the "PSH-support" indicator in the Path Switch Request message that PDU set handling UPF shall be activated. SMF triggers UPF to perform PDU set handling. Case 3: PDU set handling capability does not change from source RAN node to target RAN node. The PDU set handing remains the same in UPF. For NG based handover, SMF infers from the presence/absence of the "PSH-support" indicator in Handover Request Acknowledge message and informs UPF to activate/deactivate PDU set handling accordingly).
3GPP does not specifically disclose transmit, to the target base station, at least one PDU set quality of service (QoS) parameter based on the first indication.
In analogous art, Lenovo discloses transmit, to the target base station, at least one PDU set quality of service (QoS) parameter based on the first indication (see section 4.9.1.3.2: "SMF infers whether target NG-RAN supports PDU set handling or not from the presence/absence of a "PSHsupport" indication in the N2 SM information provided by the Target NG- RAN node" and "When UE moves from non-supporting source NG-RAN to supporting NG-RAN, SMF triggers Nsmf_PDUSessionUpdate procedure to provide PDU session modification message towards target NG-RAN, in order to provide PDU set QoS parameters". The SMF sends the Alternative QoS Profiles to the Target NG-RAN on a per QoS Flow basis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Lenovo to the system of 3GPP to provide a mechanism of SMF support to provide QoS profiles to the target base station (Page 1, Lenovo).
Regarding claim 8, 3GPP discloses a method of a target base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a session management function (SMF) entity, a first message for a handover (see section 6.69.3.2; and figure 6.69.3.2-1, page 246 discloses SMF receives a request from target radio node and SMF determined whether the PDU set handling capability has been changed from the source RAN to target RAN node), includes a first indication indicating a protocol data unit (PDU) set-based handling support of the target base station (see section 6.69.3.2; and figure 6.69.3.2-1, page 246 discloses SMF receives a request from target radio node and SMF determined whether the PDU set handling capability has been changed from the source RAN to target RAN node. Further SMF triggers session modification procedure from case 1-case 3, specifically Case 2: for mobility from PSH non-supporting NG-RAN node to PSH-supporting NG-RAN node, SMF infers from the presence of the "PSH-support" indicator in the Path Switch Request message that PDU set handling UPF shall be activated. SMF triggers UPF to perform PDU set handling. Case 3: PDU set handling capability does not change from source RAN node to target RAN node. The PDU set handing remains the same in UPF. For NG based handover, SMF infers from the presence/absence of the "PSH-support" indicator in Handover Request Acknowledge message and informs UPF to activate/deactivate PDU set handling accordingly).
3GPP does not specifically disclose receiving, from the SMF entity, at least one PDU set quality of service (QoS) parameter.
In analogous art, Lenovo discloses receiving, from the SMF entity, at least one PDU set quality of service (QoS) parameter (see section 4.9.1.3.2: "SMF infers whether target NG-RAN supports PDU set handling or not from the presence/absence of a "PSHsupport" indication in the N2 SM information provided by the Target NG- RAN node" and "When UE moves from non-supporting source NG-RAN to supporting NG-RAN, SMF triggers Nsmf_PDUSessionUpdate procedure to provide PDU session modification message towards target NG-RAN, in order to provide PDU set QoS parameters". The SMF sends the Alternative QoS Profiles to the Target NG-RAN on a per QoS Flow basis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Lenovo to the system of 3GPP to provide a mechanism of SMF support to provide QoS profiles to the target base station (Page 1, Lenovo).
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP discloses wherein transmitting the at least one PDU set QoS parameter includes: transmitting, to the target base station, the at least one PDU set QoS parameter, in case that the first indication indicates the PDU set-based handling support and indicates that at least one PDU set-based QoS parameter received from a source base station is unavailable for the target base station (see section 6.69.3.1; and figure 6.69.3.1-1: transmitting N2 SM information to the SMF by the RAN node, wherein the N2 SM information includes the PDU set handling (PSH) support indicator; obtaining PDU set-based QoS parameters by the SMF based on whether the N2 SM information includes the PSH-support indicator during the PDU session establishment procedure. Further SMF triggers session modification procedure from case 1-case 3, specifically Case 2: for mobility from PSH non-supporting NG-RAN node to PSH-supporting NG-RAN node, SMF infers from the presence of the "PSH-support" indicator in the Path Switch Request message that PDU set handling UPF shall be activated. SMF triggers UPF to perform PDU set handling. Case 3: PDU set handling capability does not change from source RAN node to target RAN node. The PDU set handing remains the same in UPF. For NG based handover, SMF infers from the presence/absence of the "PSH-support" indicator in Handover Request Acknowledge message and informs UPF to activate/deactivate PDU set handling accordingly).
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP discloses further comprising: in case that the first indication is not included in the first message, deactivating PDU set identification related to a user plane function (UPF) entity (see section 6.69.3.1: "for mobility from an PSH-supporting NG-RAN node to an PSH non-supporting NG-RAN node, the SMF infers from the absence of an "PSH-support" indication in the Path Switch Request that PDU set handling will not be performed by target RAN node. SMF shall inform UPF not to perform PDU set identification and marking for the target NG-RAN node" and "For NG based handover, SMF infers from the presence/absence of the "PSH-support" indicator in Handover Request Acknowledge message and informs UPF to activate/ deactivate PDU set handling accordingly").
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP discloses wherein the first indication indicates whether the target base station receives the at least one PDU set-based QoS parameter from a source base station related to the handover and whether the target base station is able to use the at least one PDU set-based QoS parameter or accepts use of the at least one PDU set-based QoS parameter (see section
6.5.3.1: "[N2 SM information] (PDU Session ID, QFI(s), QoS Profile(s), QoS Monitoring configuration)" and see section 6.69.3.1 and figure 6.69.3.1- transmitting N2 SM information to the SMF by the RAN node, wherein the N2 SM information includes the PDU set handling (PSH) support indicator; obtaining PDU set-based QoS parameters by the SMF based on whether the N2 SM information includes the PSH-support indicator during the PDU session establishment procedure).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, 3GPP discloses wherein the first indication is included in an N2 session management (SM) container in the first message (see section 6.5.3.1: "[N2 SM information] (PDU Session ID, QFI(s), QoS Profile(s), QoS Monitoring configuration)" and see section 6.69.3.1 and figure 6.69.3.1- transmitting N2 SM information to the SMF by the RAN node, wherein the N2 SM information includes the PDU set handling (PSH) support indicator; obtaining PDU set-based QoS parameters by the SMF based on whether the N2 SM information includes the PSH-support indicator during the PDU session establishment procedure).
Regarding claims 7 and 10, 3GPP discloses wherein the at least one PDU set QoS parameter is included in an N2 session management (SM) container (see section 6.5.3.1: "[N2 SM information] (PDU Session ID, QFI(s), QoS Profile(s), QoS Monitoring configuration)" and see section 6.69.3.1 and figure 6.69.3.1- transmitting N2 SM information to the SMF by the RAN node, wherein the N2 SM information includes the PDU set handling (PSH) support indicator; obtaining PDU set-based QoS parameters by the SMF based on whether the N2 SM information includes the PSH-support indicator during the PDU session establishment procedure).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Lenovo et al. and further in view of Huh et al. (US 2026/0031918 A1).
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP discloses wherein deactivating the PDU set identification includes requesting the UPF to deactivate the PDU set identification in case that the first indication is not included in the message (see section 6.69.3.2: For NG based handover, SMF infers from the presence/absence of the "PSH-support" indicator in Handover Request Acknowledge message and informs UPF to activate/deactivate PDU set handling accordingly. Configure UPF to activate/deactivate PDU set handling based on the presence/absence of "PSH-support" indicator in Path Switch Request (Xn handover) or Handover Request Acknowledge message (NG handover) if the PDU set handing capabilty has been changed).
3GPP and Lenovo do not specifically disclose location information about the UE indicates a location outside a predetermined area.
In an analogous art, Huh discloses location information about the UE indicates a location outside a predetermined area (Paragraph 0203 discloses when the SMF determines that the UE is located in the LADN available area, the SMF may check a UPF selection criterion based on the location information received from the AMF and determine to perform one of the following operations: [0204] The SMF accepts the activation of the UP connection and may continue to use the current UPF; [0205] When the UE moves outside the service area of the UPF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Huh to the modified system of 3GPP and Lenovo to provide location information of the UE based on different measurement information (Abstract).
Claim 11-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 23.700-60 V18.0.0, (2022-12), pp 266 (hereinafter referred as 3GPP) in view of Lenovo et al., "PDU SET HANDLING SUPPORT INDICATOR", S2-2305200, 3GPP TSG-SA2 Meeting #156e, April 17-21, 2023, 20 pages (hereinafter referred as Lenovo) and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2022/0150991 A1)
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP discloses receive, from a target base station, a first message for a handover (see section 6.69.3.2; and figure 6.69.3.2-1, page 246 discloses SMF receives a request from target radio node and SMF determined whether the PDU set handling capability has been changed from the source RAN to target RAN node), identify whether the first message includes a first indication indicating a protocol data unit (PDU) set-based handling support of the target base station (see section 6.69.3.2; and figure 6.69.3.2-1, page 246 discloses SMF receives a request from target radio node and SMF determined whether the PDU set handling capability has been changed from the source RAN to target RAN node. Further SMF triggers session modification procedure from case 1-case 3, specifically Case 2: for mobility from PSH non-supporting NG-RAN node to PSH-supporting NG-RAN node, SMF infers from the presence of the "PSH-support" indicator in the Path Switch Request message that PDU set handling UPF shall be activated. SMF triggers UPF to perform PDU set handling. Case 3: PDU set handling capability does not change from source RAN node to target RAN node. The PDU set handing remains the same in UPF. For NG based handover, SMF infers from the presence/absence of the "PSH-support" indicator in Handover Request Acknowledge message and informs UPF to activate/deactivate PDU set handling accordingly).
3GPP does not specifically disclose transmit, to the target base station, at least one PDU set quality of service (QoS) parameter based on the first indication.
In analogous art, Lenovo discloses transmit, to the target base station, at least one PDU set quality of service (QoS) parameter based on the first indication (see section 4.9.1.3.2: "SMF infers whether target NG-RAN supports PDU set handling or not from the presence/absence of a "PSHsupport" indication in the N2 SM information provided by the Target NG- RAN node" and "When UE moves from non-supporting source NG-RAN to supporting NG-RAN, SMF triggers Nsmf_PDUSessionUpdate procedure to provide PDU session modification message towards target NG-RAN, in order to provide PDU set QoS parameters". The SMF sends the Alternative QoS Profiles to the Target NG-RAN on a per QoS Flow basis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Lenovo to the system of 3GPP to provide a mechanism of SMF support to provide QoS profiles to the target base station (Page 1, Lenovo).
3GPP and Lenovo do not specifically disclose structure of SMF.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses a session management function (SMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the SMF entity comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to (Paragraphs 0205-0206 disclose an SMF entity, which includes a processor and a memory configured to store a computer program executable by the processor. The processor is configured to run the computer program to execute the steps of the session verification method executed by an SMF entity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yang to the modified system of 3GPP and Lenovo to provide SMF entity configured to verify whether a PDU session establishment requested by the UE or data transmitted through the PDU session is correct (Paragraph 0073, Yang).
Regarding claim 18, 3GPP discloses transmitting, to a session management function (SMF) entity, a first message for a handover (see section 6.69.3.2; and figure 6.69.3.2-1, page 246 discloses SMF receives a request from target radio node and SMF determined whether the PDU set handling capability has been changed from the source RAN to target RAN node), includes a first indication indicating a protocol data unit (PDU) set-based handling support of the target base station (see section 6.69.3.2; and figure 6.69.3.2-1, page 246 discloses SMF receives a request from target radio node and SMF determined whether the PDU set handling capability has been changed from the source RAN to target RAN node. Further SMF triggers session modification procedure from case 1-case 3, specifically Case 2: for mobility from PSH non-supporting NG-RAN node to PSH-supporting NG-RAN node, SMF infers from the presence of the "PSH-support" indicator in the Path Switch Request message that PDU set handling UPF shall be activated. SMF triggers UPF to perform PDU set handling. Case 3: PDU set handling capability does not change from source RAN node to target RAN node. The PDU set handing remains the same in UPF. For NG based handover, SMF infers from the presence/absence of the "PSH-support" indicator in Handover Request Acknowledge message and informs UPF to activate/deactivate PDU set handling accordingly).
3GPP does not specifically disclose receiving, from the SMF entity, at least one PDU set quality of service (QoS) parameter.
In analogous art, Lenovo discloses receiving, from the SMF entity, at least one PDU set quality of service (QoS) parameter (see section 4.9.1.3.2: "SMF infers whether target NG-RAN supports PDU set handling or not from the presence/absence of a "PSHsupport" indication in the N2 SM information provided by the Target NG- RAN node" and "When UE moves from non-supporting source NG-RAN to supporting NG-RAN, SMF triggers Nsmf_PDUSessionUpdate procedure to provide PDU session modification message towards target NG-RAN, in order to provide PDU set QoS parameters". The SMF sends the Alternative QoS Profiles to the Target NG-RAN on a per QoS Flow basis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Lenovo to the system of 3GPP to provide a mechanism of SMF support to provide QoS profiles to the target base station (Page 1, Lenovo).
3GPP and Lenovo do not specifically disclose structure of a base station.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses target base station in a wireless communication system, the target base station comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to (Paragraphs 0205-0206 disclose a network entity, which includes a processor and a memory configured to store a computer program executable by the processor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yang to the modified system of 3GPP and Lenovo to provide SMF entity configured to verify whether a PDU session establishment requested by the UE or data transmitted through the PDU session is correct (Paragraph 0073, Yang).
Regarding claim 12, 3GPP discloses wherein transmitting the at least one PDU set QoS parameter includes: transmitting, to the target base station, the at least one PDU set QoS parameter, in case that the first indication indicates the PDU set-based handling support and indicates that at least one PDU set-based QoS parameter received from a source base station is unavailable for the target base station (see section 6.69.3.1; and figure 6.69.3.1-1: transmitting N2 SM information to the SMF by the RAN node, wherein the N2 SM information includes the PDU set handling (PSH) support indicator; obtaining PDU set-based QoS parameters by the SMF based on whether the N2 SM information includes the PSH-support indicator during the PDU session establishment procedure. Further SMF triggers session modification procedure from case 1-case 3, specifically Case 2: for mobility from PSH non-supporting NG-RAN node to PSH-supporting NG-RAN node, SMF infers from the presence of the "PSH-support" indicator in the Path Switch Request message that PDU set handling UPF shall be activated. SMF triggers UPF to perform PDU set handling. Case 3: PDU set handling capability does not change from source RAN node to target RAN node. The PDU set handing remains the same in UPF. For NG based handover, SMF infers from the presence/absence of the "PSH-support" indicator in Handover Request Acknowledge message and informs UPF to activate/deactivate PDU set handling accordingly).
Regarding claim 13, 3GPP discloses further comprising: in case that the first indication is not included in the first message, deactivating PDU set identification related to a user plane function (UPF) entity (see section 6.69.3.1: "for mobility from an PSH-supporting NG-RAN node to an PSH non-supporting NG-RAN node, the SMF infers from the absence of an "PSH-support" indication in the Path Switch Request that PDU set handling will not be performed by target RAN node. SMF shall inform UPF not to perform PDU set identification and marking for the target NG-RAN node" and "For NG based handover, SMF infers from the presence/absence of the "PSH-support" indicator in Handover Request Acknowledge message and informs UPF to activate/ deactivate PDU set handling accordingly").
Regarding claim 15, 3GPP discloses wherein the first indication indicates whether the target base station receives the at least one PDU set-based QoS parameter from a source base station related to the handover and whether the target base station is able to use the at least one PDU set-based QoS parameter or accepts use of the at least one PDU set-based QoS parameter (see section
6.5.3.1: "[N2 SM information] (PDU Session ID, QFI(s), QoS Profile(s), QoS Monitoring configuration)" and see section 6.69.3.1 and figure 6.69.3.1- transmitting N2 SM information to the SMF by the RAN node, wherein the N2 SM information includes the PDU set handling (PSH) support indicator; obtaining PDU set-based QoS parameters by the SMF based on whether the N2 SM information includes the PSH-support indicator during the PDU session establishment procedure).
Regarding claims 16 and 19, 3GPP discloses wherein the first indication is included in an N2 session management (SM) container in the first message (see section 6.5.3.1: "[N2 SM information] (PDU Session ID, QFI(s), QoS Profile(s), QoS Monitoring configuration)" and see section 6.69.3.1 and figure 6.69.3.1- transmitting N2 SM information to the SMF by the RAN node, wherein the N2 SM information includes the PDU set handling (PSH) support indicator; obtaining PDU set-based QoS parameters by the SMF based on whether the N2 SM information includes the PSH-support indicator during the PDU session establishment procedure).
Regarding claims 17 and 20, 3GPP discloses wherein the at least one PDU set QoS parameter is included in an N2 session management (SM) container (see section 6.5.3.1: "[N2 SM information] (PDU Session ID, QFI(s), QoS Profile(s), QoS Monitoring configuration)" and see section 6.69.3.1 and figure 6.69.3.1- transmitting N2 SM information to the SMF by the RAN node, wherein the N2 SM information includes the PDU set handling (PSH) support indicator; obtaining PDU set-based QoS parameters by the SMF based on whether the N2 SM information includes the PSH-support indicator during the PDU session establishment procedure).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Lenovo et al. and further in view of Yang et al. and further in view of Huh et al. (US 2026/0031918 A1).
Regarding claim 14, 3GPP discloses wherein deactivating the PDU set identification includes requesting the UPF to deactivate the PDU set identification in case that the first indication is not included in the message (see section 6.69.3.2: For NG based handover, SMF infers from the presence/absence of the "PSH-support" indicator in Handover Request Acknowledge message and informs UPF to activate/deactivate PDU set handling accordingly. Configure UPF to activate/deactivate PDU set handling based on the presence/absence of "PSH-support" indicator in Path Switch Request (Xn handover) or Handover Request Acknowledge message (NG handover) if the PDU set handing capability has been changed).
3GPP, Lenovo and Yang do not specifically disclose location information about the UE indicates a location outside a predetermined area.
In an analogous art, Huh discloses location information about the UE indicates a location outside a predetermined area (Paragraph 0203 discloses when the SMF determines that the UE is located in the LADN available area, the SMF may check a UPF selection criterion based on the location information received from the AMF and determine to perform one of the following operations: [0204] The SMF accepts the activation of the UP connection and may continue to use the current UPF; [0205] When the UE moves outside the service area of the UPF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Huh to the modified system of 3GPP, Lenovo and Yang to provide location information of the UE based on different measurement information (Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen et al. (US 2022/0256427 A1) discloses a method includes performing, by a communication node, a handover procedure from a source base station to a target base station based on information associated with a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session. The information indicates that at least one tunnel in a list of tunnels that carry user data has a one-to-one correspondence with a Quality of Service (QoS) flow.
Hu et al. (US 2021/0219191 A1) discloses method comprises: receiving, by a target access network device after a mapping relationship between a quality of service (QoS) flow of a terminal device and a data radio bearer (DRB) changes, a handover request from a source access network device, wherein the handover request comprises indication information for requesting to establish a tunnel; and sending, by the target access network device to the source access network device, information about the tunnel for the target access network device to receive one or more data units from the source access network device after the mapping relationship between the QoS flow and the DRB changes
/ROMANI OHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413