Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-12 and 15-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,094,666. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite substantially the same invention with only insignificant differences in the claims drafting and organization.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shivell (US20170102493).
Regarding claim 1, Shivell teaches a control device 100 for controlling power delivered to an electrical load, the control device comprising: a faceplate subassembly (102, 104, 114, 112, 150, 136, 132, 130), comprising: a faceplate 102, wherein the faceplate comprises a front surface and an opposed rear surface (Fig. 3), and an opening 106 extending between the front surface and the rear surface, the opening defined by a sidewall (thickness of the faceplate); a button 112 disposed in the opening such that a gap exists between the button and the sidewall defining the opening (occupied by 114, 116); a local control module (150, 130, 132, 136) coupled to the faceplate, the local control module comprising: a circuit board 136 positioned adjacent to the rear surface of the faceplate, such that depression of the button actuates a contact 130 on the circuit board; and at least one light source 157 coupled to the circuit board and configured to (via 158, 114) illuminate the gap between the button and the sidewall defining the opening; a main control module subassembly 120 comprising a main control module 128 electrically connected to the local control module and configured to: cause power delivered to the electrical load to be adjusted in response to an actuation of the button (Fig. 14); and control the at least one light source to illuminate the gap between the button and the sidewall defining the opening (paragraph 58).
Regarding claim 17, Shivell teaches the control device wherein the main control module is configured to be connected to a power source 322 (paragraph 90) and to a wired digital communication link 484 (paragraph 109), the main control module assembly configured to transmit, via the wired digital communication link, a message indicated an actuation of a first actuator of the main control module assembly (paragraphs 91, 110).
Regarding claim 18, Shivell teaches the control device wherein the main control module is configured to be connected to the wired digital communication link, the main control module comprising the first actuator 112 and a visible indicator 149 that may be illuminated to provide feedback (paragraphs 52, 57, 88).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shivell in view of Mosebrook (US. Pat. 6,687,487).
Regarding claim 16, Shivell does not teach a cable coupled to the local control module and the main control module to electrically connect the local control module and the main control module. However, Mosebrook teaches a similar control device in which one control module 506 is connected to another control module 502 through a cable 516 (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the control modules in Shivell by using a cable as shown by Mosebrook provide a flexible connection between the electrical components.
Conclusion
/AHMED M SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831