DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20070047220) in view of Shin et al. (US 20090073109).
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses (Figs. 1-7) a display apparatus comprising: a liquid crystal panel (20); and a backlight unit configured to emit light to the liquid crystal panel, wherein the backlight unit (100) comprises: a bottom chassis (60); a first interface board (51) disposed on a front surface of the bottom chassis; a plurality of light source modules (52, 53) disposed on the front surface of the bottom chassis, arranged at predetermined intervals (Fig. 1), and each of the plurality of light source modules (52, 53) having one end connected to the first interface board; and a second interface board (80, 85) disposed on a rear surface of the bottom chassis and connected to the first interface board (Fig. 2).
Kang does not necessarily disclose each of the plurality of light source modules comprises: a substrate; a plurality of light sources mounted on the substrate in a first plurality of rows or a first plurality of columns; a plurality of dimming blocks formed to include at least one of the plurality of light sources; and a plurality of driving devices mounted on the substrate at the predetermined intervals and configured to control the at least one of the plurality of light sources included in each of the plurality of dimming blocks.
Shin discloses (Figs. 2-9) each of the plurality of light source modules comprises a substrate (81); a plurality of light sources (90-93) mounted on the substrate in a first plurality of rows or a first plurality of columns (Fig. 3); a plurality of dimming blocks (90-93) formed to include at least one of the plurality of light sources (section 0039, 0071-0072); and one or more driving devices (70, 120) mounted on the substrate at the predetermined intervals and configured to control the at least one of the plurality of light sources included in each of the plurality of dimming blocks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shin to control the dimming/luminance of the light sources.
Regarding claim 3, Kang does not necessarily disclose the plurality of dimming blocks are divided into a first group and a second group, wherein the plurality of driving devices comprises a first driving device and a second driving device, wherein the first driving device is configured to control first light sources included in dimming blocks of the first group, and wherein the second driving device is configured to control second light sources included in dimming blocks of the second group.
Shin discloses (Figs. 2-9) the plurality of dimming blocks are divided into a first group (90-93 in a light emitting area) and a second group (another 90-93 in another light emitting area), wherein the plurality of driving devices comprises a first driving device (70, 120) and a second driving device (70, 120), wherein the first driving device is configured to control first light sources included in dimming blocks of the first group, and wherein the second driving device is configured to control second light sources included in dimming blocks of the second group (sections 0039, 0047, 0049). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shin to control the dimming/luminance of the light sources.
Regarding claim 4, Kang does not necessarily disclose a dimming driver mounted on the first interface board or the second interface board, the dimming driver being configured to provide dimming signals to the plurality of driving devices based on dimming data transmitted from a processor.
Shin discloses (Figs. 2-9) a dimming driver (72) mounted on the first interface board (81) or the second interface board, the dimming driver being configured to provide dimming signals (Ds) to the plurality of driving devices based on dimming data transmitted from a processor (70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shin to control the dimming/luminance of the light sources.
Regarding claim 5, Kang does not necessarily disclose the dimming driver is configured to provide the dimming signals to the plurality of driving devices in an active matrix method.
Shin discloses (Figs. 2-9) the dimming driver (72) is configured to provide the dimming signals (Ds) to the plurality of driving devices (120) in an active matrix method (section 0039; Figs. 4-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shin to control the dimming/luminance of the light sources and to reduce the number of backlight unit drivers.
Regarding claim 6, Kang does not necessarily disclose the plurality of driving devices define a second plurality of rows and a second plurality of columns, and wherein the dimming driver is configured to provide a scan signal to the plurality of driving devices arranged in one of the second plurality of rows, and provide the dimming signals to the plurality of driving devices in the second plurality of columns.
Shin discloses (Figs. 2-9) the plurality of driving devices (120) define a second plurality of rows and a second plurality of columns (Figs. 3, 8), and wherein the dimming driver (72) is configured to provide a scan signal to the plurality of driving devices (120) arranged in one of the second plurality of rows, and provide the dimming signals to the plurality of driving devices (120) in the second plurality of columns (section 0039; Figs. 4-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shin to control the dimming/luminance of the light sources and to reduce the number of backlight unit drivers.
Regarding claim 7, Kang does not necessarily disclose the plurality of light sources are mounted on the substrate in predetermined arrangement, and wherein each of the plurality of dimming blocks comprises two or more neighboring light sources.
Shin discloses (Figs. 2-9) the plurality of light sources (90-93) are mounted on the substrate (81) in predetermined arrangement, and wherein each of the plurality of dimming blocks comprises two or more neighboring light sources (90-93). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shin to control the dimming/luminance of the light sources and to reduce the number of backlight unit drivers.
Regarding claim 9, Kang discloses (Figs. 1-7) each of the plurality of light source modules comprises a connector (71) arranged at the one end of the substrate to couple the substrate to the first interface board.
Regarding claim 10, Kang discloses (Figs. 1-7) a connection line (71) passing through the bottom chassis (via 61) and connecting between the first interface board (51) and the second interface board (80, 85).
Regarding claim 11, Kang discloses (Figs. 1-7) a backlight unit comprising: a bottom chassis (60); a first interface board (51) disposed on a front surface of the bottom chassis; a plurality of light source modules (52, 53) disposed on the front surface of the bottom chassis, arranged at predetermined intervals (Fig. 1), and each of the plurality of light source modules having one end connected to the first interface board; and a second interface board (80, 85) disposed on a rear surface of the bottom chassis and connected to the first interface board (Fig. 2).
Kang does not necessarily disclose each of the plurality of light source modules comprises: a substrate; a plurality of light sources that are mounted on the substrate in a first plurality of rows or a first plurality of columns; a plurality of dimming blocks formed to include at least one of the plurality of light sources; and a plurality of driving devices mounted on the substrate at the predetermined intervals and configured to control the at least one of the plurality of light sources included in each of the plurality of dimming blocks.
Shin discloses (Figs. 2-9) each of the plurality of light source modules comprises a substrate (81); a plurality of light sources (90-93) that are mounted on the substrate in a first plurality of rows or a first plurality of columns (Fig. 3); a plurality of dimming blocks (90-93) formed to include at least one of the plurality of light sources (section 0039, 0071-0072); and one or more driving devices (70, 120) mounted on the substrate at the predetermined intervals and configured to control the at least one of the plurality of light sources included in each of the plurality of dimming blocks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shin to control the dimming/luminance of the light sources.
Regarding claim 13, Kang does not necessarily disclose the plurality of dimming blocks are divided into a first group and a second group, wherein the plurality of driving devices comprises a first driving device and a second driving device, wherein the first driving device is configured to control first light sources included in dimming blocks of the first group, and wherein the second driving device is configured to control second light sources included in dimming blocks of the second group.
Shin discloses (Figs. 2-9) the plurality of dimming blocks are divided into a first group (90-93 in a light emitting area) and a second group (another 90-93 in another light emitting area), wherein the plurality of driving devices comprises a first driving device (70, 120) and a second driving device (70, 120), wherein the first driving device is configured to control first light sources included in dimming blocks of the first group, and wherein the second driving device is configured to control second light sources included in dimming blocks of the second group (sections 0039, 0047, 0049). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shin to control the dimming/luminance of the light sources.
Regarding claim 14, Kang does not necessarily disclose a dimming driver mounted on the first interface board or the second interface board, the dimming driver being configured to provide dimming signals to the plurality of driving devices based on dimming data transmitted from a processor.
Shin discloses (Figs. 2-9) a dimming driver (72) mounted on the first interface board (81) or the second interface board, the dimming driver being configured to provide dimming signals (Ds) to the plurality of driving devices based on dimming data transmitted from a processor (70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shin to control the dimming/luminance of the light sources.
Regarding claim 15, Kang does not necessarily disclose the dimming driver is configured to provide the dimming signals to the plurality of driving devices in an active matrix method.
Shin discloses (Figs. 2-9) the dimming driver (72) is configured to provide the dimming signals (Ds) to the plurality of driving devices (120) in an active matrix method (section 0039; Figs. 4-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shin to control the dimming/luminance of the light sources and to reduce the number of backlight unit drivers.
Regarding claim 16, Kang does not necessarily disclose the plurality of driving devices define a second plurality of rows and a second plurality of columns, and wherein the dimming driver is configured to provide a scan signal to the plurality of driving devices arranged in one of the second plurality of rows, and provide the dimming signals to the plurality of driving devices in the second plurality of columns.
Shin discloses (Figs. 2-9) the plurality of driving devices (120) define a second plurality of rows and a second plurality of columns (Figs. 3, 8), and wherein the dimming driver (72) is configured to provide a scan signal to the plurality of driving devices (120) arranged in one of the second plurality of rows, and provide the dimming signals to the plurality of driving devices (120) in the second plurality of columns (section 0039; Figs. 4-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shin to control the dimming/luminance of the light sources and to reduce the number of backlight unit drivers.
Regarding claim 17, Kang does not necessarily disclose the plurality of light sources are mounted on the substrate in predetermined arrangement, and wherein each of the plurality of dimming blocks comprises two or more neighboring light sources.
Shin discloses (Figs. 2-9) the plurality of light sources (90-93) are mounted on the substrate (81) in predetermined arrangement, and wherein each of the plurality of dimming blocks comprises two or more neighboring light sources (90-93). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shin to control the dimming/luminance of the light sources and to reduce the number of backlight unit drivers.
Regarding claim 19, Kang discloses (Figs. 1-7) each of the plurality of light source modules comprises a connector (71) arranged at the one end of the substrate to couple the substrate to the first interface board.
Regarding claim 20, Kang discloses (Figs. 1-7) a connection line (71) passing through the bottom chassis (via 61) and connecting between the first interface board (51) and the second interface board (80, 85).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang and Shin in view of Shimizu (US 20180045877).
Regarding claim 8, Kang discloses (Figs. 1-7) each of the plurality of light sources (52-53) comprises a light emitting diode (LED) contacting wiring on the substrate (section 0046).
Kang does not necessarily disclose an optical dome covering the LED.
Shimizu discloses (Figs. 1-12) an optical dome (342) covering the LED (341). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shimizu to diffuse light throughout the backlight.
Regarding claim 18, Kang discloses (Figs. 1-7) each of the plurality of light sources (52-53) comprises a light emitting diode (LED) contacting wiring on the substrate (section 0046).
Kang does not necessarily disclose an optical dome covering the LED.
Shimizu discloses (Figs. 1-12) an optical dome (342) covering the LED (341). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shimizu to diffuse light throughout the backlight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kang is silent with respect to “each of the plurality of light source modules comprises: a substrate; a plurality of light sources mounted on the substrate in a first plurality of rows or a first plurality of columns; a plurality of dimming blocks formed to include at least one of the plurality of light sources; and a plurality of driving devices mounted on the substrate at the predetermined intervals and configured to control the at least one of the plurality of light sources included in each of the plurality of dimming blocks” as claimed. As stated above, Kang does not necessarily disclose each of the plurality of light source modules comprises: a substrate; a plurality of light sources mounted on the substrate in a first plurality of rows or a first plurality of columns; a plurality of dimming blocks formed to include at least one of the plurality of light sources; and a plurality of driving devices mounted on the substrate at the predetermined intervals and configured to control the at least one of the plurality of light sources included in each of the plurality of dimming blocks. However, Shin discloses (Figs. 2-9) each of the plurality of light source modules comprises a substrate (81); a plurality of light sources (90-93) mounted on the substrate in a first plurality of rows or a first plurality of columns (Fig. 3); a plurality of dimming blocks (90-93) formed to include at least one of the plurality of light sources (section 0039, 0071-0072); and one or more driving devices (70, 120) mounted on the substrate at the predetermined intervals and configured to control the at least one of the plurality of light sources included in each of the plurality of dimming blocks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shin to control the dimming/luminance of the light sources.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES S CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871