DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3 and 9-14 are pending. Claim 3 is amended. Claims 4-8 are canceled and claims 13-14 are added. Claims 1-2 and 9-12 are withdrawn from consideration
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 3 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dekel et al. (US 20220365602 A1, hereinafter referenced as Dekel) in view of Blachly et al. (US 10503264 B1, hereinafter Blachy).
Regarding Claim 3, Dekel teaches an information processing system (see Fig. 1, para. [0004], para. [0022]-[0024]) comprising:
a coordinates detector which is configured to detect coordinates which correspond to a position of an operational object surface with which a pen-shaped input device is in contact (see Fig. 1, Figs. 4-7, para. [0021]-[0025], para. [0033]-[0034], para. [0044], para. [0046]. A capacitive link may be established between the capacitive transmitter and the touch-sensitive screen 106 having a capacitive touch sensor, for example. In some examples, the stylus 100 may include one or more electrostatic antenna configured to generate electrostatic field(s). Any suitable data may be transmitted to computing device 104 via the communication subsystem 107, including but not limited to indications of actuations at stylus 100 (e.g., depression of one or more buttons 110), data regarding the position of the stylus relative to the computing device (e.g., one or more coordinates). A digitizer in computing device 100 can receive electrostatic signals from one or more electrostatic transmitters in the stylus 100. The digitizer can interpret and utilize these signals to determine a rotational position of the stylus 100 relative to the touch-sensitive screen 106. In other examples, and in addition to or instead of electrostatic signal(s), one or more other signals from the stylus may be utilized by the digitizer to determine the stylus' rotational position. For example, a gyroscope 122 in stylus 100 may generate rotation data that is transmitted to computing device 100. A digitizer in computing device 100 may then utilize this data to determine the rotational position of stylus 100 relative to the touch-sensitive screen 106); and
a controller (see Fig. 2, processor 116, para. [0026]) which is configured to cause the pen-shaped input device to generate temporary vibrations when the coordinates detected by the coordinate detector satisfy a predetermined condition while the pen-shaped input device is moving in contact with the operational object surface (para. [0028], para. [0039]-[0040], Fig. 7. The processor 116 includes a haptic circuit 128 configured to execute a haptic driver 129 that controls activation of the haptic feedback component 130. In one example and with reference to FIG. 7, a user may use the stylus 100 to control the orientation and movement of an icon 150 displayed by the touch-sensitive screen 106. In this example, as the icon 150 traverses one or more displayed lines 152, the stylus 100 generates haptic output to simulate a tactile sensation of the icon traveling over one or more bumps. Using the locations of the lines 152 on the touch-sensitive screen 106, the stylus' rotational position data, and the stylus tip travel direction data, one or more characteristics of a drive signal to generate a desired haptic output can be determined based on the number of lines 152 the icon 150 is crossing), wherein
the predetermined condition includes crossing any of a plurality of boundary lines along a route of the pen-shaped input device while the pen-shaped input device is moving in contact with the operational object surface (see para. [0039]-[0040], Fig. 7. As the icon 150 traverses one or more displayed lines 152, the stylus 100 generates haptic output to simulate a tactile sensation of the icon traveling over one or more bumps. Using the locations of the lines 152 on the touch-sensitive screen 106, the stylus' rotational position data, and the stylus tip travel direction data, one or more characteristics of a drive signal to generate a desired haptic output can be determined based on the number of lines 152 the icon 150 is crossing), and
the plurality of boundary lines are at intervals (see Fig. 7, displayed lines 152).
Dekel does not explicitly disclose the plurality of boundary lines are at intervals of a unit moving distance along the route relative to a start point.
However, Blachly teaches the plurality of boundary lines are at intervals of a unit moving distance along the route relative to a start point (see Figs. 5-7, col. 7 lines 28-34, col. 7 lines 50-67, col. 9 lines 35-55, col. 10 lines 5-15, col 10 lines 35-63, col. 11 lines 32-77, col 12 lines 11-38. Concentric circles centered about the initial point can define boundaries for different ranges. The gesture module 230 detects an initial point or initial position from the user input data. The initial point is a spatial point corresponding to a beginning of the continuous physical user interaction or gesture. That is to say, the initial point is a starting point on the touchscreen of a particular user gesture. For example, the initial point is the location on the touchscreen display where the user starts the radial slide gesture. The action module 240 accesses a lookup table (stored locally at the user device or remotely at a server) that includes actions corresponding to particular radius distances and identifies the action for the radius distance by performing a lookup for a particular action using the determined radius distance. The concentric circles are the boundaries for the successive ranges. In some instances, the length of each of the successive ranges is uniform. In other embodiments, the length of each of the successive ranges is not necessarily uniform. For example, each range of the successive ranges may become larger, or smaller, (e.g., exponentially with respect to distance from the initial point) as the range becomes further away from the initial point (e.g., the widest range being furthest from the initial point). The touch data comprises coordinate data for points (e.g., x and y coordinates)).
Dekel and Blachly are related to input devices, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the interface disclosed by Dekel with Blachly’s teachings of providing plurality of boundary lines are at intervals of a unit moving distance along the route relative to a start point, since it would have further provided additional functionality and improved user experience (Blachly, col. 4 lines 25-28).)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dekel (US 20220365602 A1) in view of Blachly (US 10503264 B1), further in view of Park et al. (US 20160048209 A1, hereinafter referenced as Park).
Regarding Claim 13, Dekel and Blachly teach the information processing system according to claim 3.
Dekel further teaches wherein the information processing system displays a “screen” on the operational object surface while the pen-shaped input device is moving in contact with the operational object surface (see Fig. 7, para. [0039]-[0040]. with reference to FIG. 7, a user may use the stylus 100 to control the orientation and movement of an icon 150 displayed by the touch-sensitive screen 106. In this example, as the icon 150 traverses one or more displayed lines 152), and the information processing system displays a mark on the “screen” in coordination with the temporary vibrations when the pen-shaped input crosses any of the plurality of boundary lines along the route (see Fig. 7, para. [0039]-[0040]. With reference to FIG. 7, a user may use the stylus 100 to control the orientation and movement of an icon 150 displayed by the touch-sensitive screen 106. In this example, as the icon 150 traverses one or more displayed lines 152, the stylus 100 generates haptic output to simulate a tactile sensation of the icon traveling over one or more bumps. Using the locations of the lines 152 on the touch-sensitive screen 106, the stylus' rotational position data, and the stylus tip travel direction data, one or more characteristics of a drive signal to generate a desired haptic output can be determined based on the number of lines 152 the icon 150 is crossing. For example, each line 152 may correspond to a predetermined magnitude X of vibration to be generated by the haptic feedback component 130 when icon 150 traverses a line).
Dekel and Blachly do not explicitly disclose the display “screen” corresponds to a display map.
However, Park teaches the display “screen” corresponds to a display map (see Fig. 22A, para. [0183]-[0185]. Upon execution of the map application, the portable device 100 displays a map on the touch screen 190).
Dekel, Blachly and Park are related to input devices, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the interface disclosed by Dekel and Blachly with Park’s teachings of displaying a map, since it would have been obvious to try from a finite number of screen options know in the art that would have yield the same predictable result of displaying a screen related to an executed application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20160368141 A1 – Touma – Touch panel with boundary position setting. Boundary lines are set base on a start position at which a touch operation is started.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IM/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 2/23/26A