DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. The claimed invention is directed to the abstract concept of performing abstract steps without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the following abstract concepts in BOLD of
1. A method comprising:
determining, based on voltage information received from a voltage sensor integrated in the battery cell, a voltage drop across the battery cell;
determining, based on current information received from a current sensor integrated in the battery cell, a current output of the battery cell;
determining an internal cell resistance of a battery cell based on the voltage information and the current information;
storing, on a memory integrated in the battery cell, the internal cell resistance.
11. A system comprising:
a voltage sensor integrated in a battery cell;
a current sensor integrated in the battery cell;
control circuitry configured to:
receive voltage information from the voltage sensor;
receive current information from the current sensor;
determine, based on the voltage information, a voltage drop across the battery cell;
determine, based on the current information, a current output the battery cell;
determine an internal cell resistance of the battery cell based on the voltage information and the current information; and
memory integrated into a battery cell configured to store the internal cell resistance.
Under step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claims are considered to be in a statutory category.
Under Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitation the fall into/recite abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the grouping of subject matter that, when recited as such in a claim limitation, covers performing mathematics.
Next, under Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no improvement to another technology or technical field; improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; a particular machine; effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. Examiner notes that since the claimed methods and system are not tied to a particular machine or apparatus, they do not represent an improvement to another technology or technical field. Similarly there are no other meaningful limitations linking the use to a particular technological environment. Finally, there is nothing in the claims that indicates an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself or transform a particular article to a new state.
Finally, under Step 2B, we consider whether the additional elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Claims 1 and 11 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitations of Claims 1 and 11 of determining a voltage drop, determining a current output, receiving voltage information, and receiving current information, and the additional limitations of Claims 2-3 and 12-13 of applying a pulse discharge to determine voltage information is considered necessary data gathering. As recited in MPEP section 2106.05(g), necessary data gathering (i.e. measuring/determining voltage/current) is considered extra solution activity in light of Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015). The additional limitation of Claims 1 and 11 of the voltage sensor and the current sensor, and the temperature sensor of Claims 7 and 17 are considered to be well understood, routine, and conventional in the art, as evidenced by Nakamura (US20130325379) in Figure 1 and Schiffer (US20190379092) in [0024]. The additional limitations of Claims 1, 6-11, and 16-19 of the memory 8 is interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation to be a generic computer element. Generic computer elements are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As recited in the MPEP, 2106.05(b), merely adding a generic computer, generic computer components, or a programmed computer to perform generic computer functions does not automatically overcome an eligibility rejection. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1984 (2014). See also OIP Techs. v. Amazon.com, 788 F.3d 1359, 1364, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093-94. The additional limitation of Claims 10 and 20 of the transmission with an NFC transceiver is considered to be well understood, routine, and conventional in the art, as evidenced by Xu (WO2024138674) in [0084] and Dieck (US20250199074) in [0066].
Claims 2-10 and 11-20 further limit the abstract ideas without integrating the abstract concept into a practical application or including additional limitations that can be considered significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (US20130325379).
In regards to Claim 1, Nakamura teaches “determining, based on voltage information received from a voltage sensor integrated in the battery cell, a voltage drop across the battery cell (“Each CS includes a cell voltage measurement circuit 24 and a cell temperature measurement circuit 26 . The cell voltage measurement circuit 24 is connected across each cell 14 and configured to measure a voltage value V (V), which is a terminal voltage of the cell 14 , for every predetermined period. The cell temperature circuit 26 is configured to measure a temperature D (° C.) of the assembled battery 12 or each cell 14 with contact or non-contact for every predetermined period using the temperature sensor 16” – [0047]);
determining, based on current information received from a current sensor integrated in the battery cell, a current output of the battery cell (“The BM 62 includes a central processing unit (hereinafter referred to as the CPU) 70 and a current measurement circuit 66 . The current measurement circuit 66 is configured to measure a current value I (A) of a charge current fed to the cell 14 or a discharge current from the load 18 (hereinafter referred to as the charge/discharge current) for every predetermined period using the current sensor 64 . The CPU 70 is an example of a controller and a charge condition detection portion.” – [0043]);
determining an internal cell resistance of a battery cell based on the voltage information and the current information (“An internal resistance estimation process executed by the CPU 70 during charge of the assembled battery 12 (charge time) for estimating an internal resistance of each cell 14 will be explained with reference to FIGS. 3 to 6. A flowchart of the internal resistance estimation process executed by the CPU 70 is illustrated in FIG. 3. As illustrated in FIG. 4, the charge time includes a ramp region LA. In the ramp region LA, the current value I raises with a time variation ΔI. The current value I is regulated equal to or smaller than a certain reference value due to regulation of increase in current flowing into the assembled battery. The internal resistance R of each cell 14 is estimated based on a current value I and a voltage value V measured in the ramp region LA. Namely, the ramp region LA is a region in which the current value I has a gradient under regulation of the time variation described above” – [0050]; “The estimation of the internal resistance R of the cell 14 may be performed simultaneously for all cells 14 or for the specific cell 14 . In this embodiment, the estimation of the internal resistance R is performed for the cell 14 , the degradation speed of which is the fastest, that is, the measured voltage value V of which is the lowest among the cells 14 included in the assembled battery 12” – [0051]);
storing, on a memory integrated in the battery cell, the internal cell resistance (“If the degradation level Z is equal to or lower than the threshold KZ (YES in step S 14 ), the CPU 70 stores the internal resistance R estimated in step S 10 in the memory 74 together with the temperature D, the SOC, and the number of cycles of the cell 14 before the charge is started (S 16 ). Then, the CPU 70 terminates the internal resistance estimation process. After the internal resistance estimation process, the CPU 70 can execute other processes such as a process for informing the user of the degradation of the cell 14 using the internal resistance R stored in the memory 74” – [0070]).”
In regards to Claim 11, Nakamura teaches “a voltage sensor integrated in a battery cell (voltage measurement circuit 24 – [0047]);
a current sensor integrated in the battery cell (current sensor 64 – [0041]; current measurement circuit 66 – [0043]);
control circuitry configured to:
receive voltage information from the voltage sensor (“Each CS includes a cell voltage measurement circuit 24 and a cell temperature measurement circuit 26 . The cell voltage measurement circuit 24 is connected across each cell 14 and configured to measure a voltage value V (V), which is a terminal voltage of the cell 14 , for every predetermined period. The cell temperature circuit 26 is configured to measure a temperature D (° C.) of the assembled battery 12 or each cell 14 with contact or non-contact for every predetermined period using the temperature sensor 16” – [0047]);
receive current information from the current sensor (“The BM 62 includes a central processing unit (hereinafter referred to as the CPU) 70 and a current measurement circuit 66 . The current measurement circuit 66 is configured to measure a current value I (A) of a charge current fed to the cell 14 or a discharge current from the load 18 (hereinafter referred to as the charge/discharge current) for every predetermined period using the current sensor 64 . The CPU 70 is an example of a controller and a charge condition detection portion.” – [0043]);
determine, based on the voltage information, a voltage drop across the battery cell (“Each CS includes a cell voltage measurement circuit 24 and a cell temperature measurement circuit 26 . The cell voltage measurement circuit 24 is connected across each cell 14 and configured to measure a voltage value V (V), which is a terminal voltage of the cell 14 , for every predetermined period. The cell temperature circuit 26 is configured to measure a temperature D (° C.) of the assembled battery 12 or each cell 14 with contact or non-contact for every predetermined period using the temperature sensor 16” – [0047]);
determine, based on the current information, a current output the battery cell (“The BM 62 includes a central processing unit (hereinafter referred to as the CPU) 70 and a current measurement circuit 66 . The current measurement circuit 66 is configured to measure a current value I (A) of a charge current fed to the cell 14 or a discharge current from the load 18 (hereinafter referred to as the charge/discharge current) for every predetermined period using the current sensor 64 . The CPU 70 is an example of a controller and a charge condition detection portion.” – [0043]);
determine an internal cell resistance of the battery cell based on the voltage information and the current information (“An internal resistance estimation process executed by the CPU 70 during charge of the assembled battery 12 (charge time) for estimating an internal resistance of each cell 14 will be explained with reference to FIGS. 3 to 6. A flowchart of the internal resistance estimation process executed by the CPU 70 is illustrated in FIG. 3. As illustrated in FIG. 4, the charge time includes a ramp region LA. In the ramp region LA, the current value I raises with a time variation ΔI. The current value I is regulated equal to or smaller than a certain reference value due to regulation of increase in current flowing into the assembled battery. The internal resistance R of each cell 14 is estimated based on a current value I and a voltage value V measured in the ramp region LA. Namely, the ramp region LA is a region in which the current value I has a gradient under regulation of the time variation described above” – [0050]; “The estimation of the internal resistance R of the cell 14 may be performed simultaneously for all cells 14 or for the specific cell 14 . In this embodiment, the estimation of the internal resistance R is performed for the cell 14 , the degradation speed of which is the fastest, that is, the measured voltage value V of which is the lowest among the cells 14 included in the assembled battery 12” – [0051]); and
memory integrated into a battery cell configured to store the internal cell resistance (“If the degradation level Z is equal to or lower than the threshold KZ (YES in step S 14 ), the CPU 70 stores the internal resistance R estimated in step S 10 in the memory 74 together with the temperature D, the SOC, and the number of cycles of the cell 14 before the charge is started (S 16 ). Then, the CPU 70 terminates the internal resistance estimation process. After the internal resistance estimation process, the CPU 70 can execute other processes such as a process for informing the user of the degradation of the cell 14 using the internal resistance R stored in the memory 74” – [0070]).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Arumugam (US20160291089)
In regards to Claims 2 and 12, Nakamura discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Nakamura is silent with regards to the language of “wherein determining the internal resistance of the battery cell comprises: applying a pulse discharge to the battery cell, the pulse discharge comprising a voltage similar to a rated use voltage of the battery cell, wherein the voltage information relates to the pulse discharge applied to the battery cell.”
Arumugam teaches “wherein determining the internal resistance of the battery cell comprises: applying a pulse discharge to the battery cell, the pulse discharge comprising a voltage similar to a rated use voltage of the battery cell, wherein the voltage information relates to the pulse discharge applied to the battery cell (“In such applications, VRLA batteries typically will be left in an idle state for extended periods of time, subject to trickle and/or periodic charging and intermittent testing. As such batteries may degrade over time, they may fail to provide rated voltage and/or current when called upon to provide power. Accordingly, data center operations often include regular battery inspection and maintenance to identify dead batteries or batteries that are perilously close to the end of their useful life. Such preventive maintenance can be time-consuming and expensive” – [0003]; “As noted above, in some embodiments, the discharge pulse is sufficient to drive the battery out of the open-circuit equilibrium state. It will be appreciated that the discharge pulse may vary depending, for example, on the chemistry and rated capacity of the battery. A current IDP drawn from the battery during the discharge pulse is measured (block 230 ). After the discharge pulse ends by again open-circuiting the battery (block 240 ), a second open-circuit battery voltage Voc2 is measured (block 250 ). As noted above, the second open-circuit voltage may be measured at time after the battery reaches an equilibrium state.” – [0029]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura to incorporate the teaching of Arumugam to determine the internal resistance by applying a discharge pulse related to the rated capacity of the battery. By performing the measurements with the discharge pulse this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the accuracy of the determination of the internal resistance of the battery.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Arumugam as applied to claim 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Schiffer (US20190379092)
In regards to claims 3 and 13, Nakamura in view of Arumugam discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Nakamura is silent with regards to the language of “wherein the pulse discharge is discharged into a resistor of the battery cell.”
Schiffer teaches “wherein the pulse discharge is discharged into a resistor of the battery cell (“In some embodiments, in the equivalent circuit of FIG. 1, additional RC elements are connected in series to the ideal voltage source and the internal resistance RI . Therein, a first RC element RC1 comprises a first resistance R1 connected in parallel with a first capacitance C1 and a second RC element RC2 comprises a second resistance R2 connected in parallel with a second capacitance C2 . The values of the second resistance R2 and the second capacitance C2 are smaller than the values of the first resistance R1 and the first capacitance C1 , respectively. The RC elements RC1 and RC2 thus allow for a series expansion of the battery cell's impedance and thus can be a best fit of the equivalent circuit to even the non-linear performance characteristics of a real battery cell.” – [0035]; “In the above method, the internal resistance of a battery cell refers to the resistance of a virtual impedance which is considered to be connected in series with an ideal voltage source in an equivalent circuit model of the battery cell. The internal resistance of the at least one battery cell can be determined using any method known to the skilled person. In the above method, the internal resistance of at least one battery cell is determined by measuring a voltage drop of the battery cell during a charging or discharge pulse of the battery cell. While the battery cell delivers a current to a load, i.e., during a discharge pulse, or while a current is provided to the battery cell, i.e., during a charging pulse, a measured voltage output of the battery cell is less than the open-circuit voltage, OCV, of the battery cell. As this voltage drop is the product of internal resistance and the drawn or provided current, the internal resistance can be calculated using the known value of the drawn or provided current. In order to disregard the actual drop of the OCV due to discharge or charge of the battery cell, for example, a short discharge pulse or charge pulse is less than 30 s, for example, less than 20 s, 10 s, 5 s, or 1 s. Alternatively, the voltage drop of the battery cell is measured during a balancing current is drawn from or provided to the battery cell. Such balancing current may be usually a well-defined current” – [0053]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura in view of Arumugam to incorporate the teaching of Schiffer to apply the pulse discharge through a resistor in the battery. By applying the pulse discharge through a resistor in the battery, this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the measurement accuracy of the current and voltage that is utilized to determine the battery cell resistance.
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Takao (US20230396074)
In regards to Claims 4 and 14, Nakamura discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Nakamura is silent with regards to the language of “wherein determining the internal cell resistance of the battery cell is performed on a periodic basis.”
Takao teaches “wherein determining the internal cell resistance of the battery cell is performed on a periodic basis (“Control unit 24 periodically transmits monitoring data to management unit 30, where the monitoring data includes at least one of voltage, temperature, current, SOC, SOH, and the internal resistance of cells E1 through En contained in battery pack 20.” – [0041]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura to incorporate the teaching of Takao to perform and transmit the data periodically. By performing the process periodically, this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the evaluation of the state of health of the battery by ensuring the internal resistance is accurate.
In regards to Claims 5 and 15, Nakamura in view of Takao discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Nakamura is silent with regards to the language of “wherein the periodic basis is one or more of: once per a unit of time, once per every predetermined number of throughput watt-hours, or once per every predetermined number of discharge cycles.”
Takao further teaches “wherein the periodic basis is one or more of: once per a unit of time, once per every predetermined number of throughput watt-hours, or once per every predetermined number of discharge cycles (“Control unit 24 periodically transmits monitoring data to management unit 30, where the monitoring data includes at least one of voltage, temperature, current, SOC, SOH, and the internal resistance of cells E1 through En contained in battery pack 20.” – [0041]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura to incorporate the teaching of Takao to perform and transmit the data periodically. By performing the process periodically, this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the evaluation of the state of health of the battery by ensuring the internal resistance is accurate.
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Akatsu (EP3534168A1)
In regards to Claims 6 and 16, Nakamura discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Nakamura is silent with regards to the language of “storing, at the memory, the voltage information and the current information.”
Akatsu teaches “storing, at the memory, the voltage information and the current information (“As described above, battery characteristic information related to the internal resistance R and the polarization voltage Vp is stored in the memory unit 180 in advance. Further, the internal resistance R and the polarization voltage Vp vary depending on the charging states and the temperatures of the cell 111, the cell group 112, and the battery pack 110. Therefore, the battery information obtained from the measurement unit 120, the current detection unit 130, and the voltage detection unit 140 is input, and stored in the memory unit 180 as values individually corresponding to a combination of the charging state and the temperature” – [0028]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura to incorporate the teaching of Akatsu to store the current and voltage data. By storing the battery characteristics this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the evaluation of the state of charge and state of health of the battery by having the information utilized in the determination stored and available.
In regards to Claims 7 and 17, Nakamura discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Nakamura further teaches “receiving, from a temperature sensor, temperature information (“The internal resistance estimation device may further include a temperature measurement portion configured to measure a temperature of the electric storage device.” – [0027]).”
Nakamura is silent with regards to the language of “storing, at the memory, the temperature information”
Akatsu teaches “storing, at the memory, the temperature information (“As described above, battery characteristic information related to the internal resistance R and the polarization voltage Vp is stored in the memory unit 180 in advance. Further, the internal resistance R and the polarization voltage Vp vary depending on the charging states and the temperatures of the cell 111, the cell group 112, and the battery pack 110. Therefore, the battery information obtained from the measurement unit 120, the current detection unit 130, and the voltage detection unit 140 is input, and stored in the memory unit 180 as values individually corresponding to a combination of the charging state and the temperature” – [0028]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura to incorporate the teaching of Akatsu to store the temperature data. By storing the battery characteristics this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the evaluation of the state of charge and state of health of the battery by having the information utilized in the determination stored and available.
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Albat (DE102018106113A1)
In regards to Claims 8 and 18, Nakamura discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Nakamura is silent with regards to the language of “determining, based on at least one of the voltage information or the current information, a number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell; and storing, at the memory, the number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell at the memory.”
Albat teaches “determining, based on at least one of the voltage information or the current information, a number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell; and storing, at the memory, the number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell at the memory (For battery string monitoring, it can still prove advantageous if the monitoring is based not only on the currents flowing in the battery strings, but also with the aid of other data. The central unit may also include a storage device for querying and/or storing such battery data. Such additional battery data includes, for example, the battery voltage, the temperature in the room where the battery or batteries are located, battery wear in the form of completed charge and discharge cycles, battery wear in the form of previously achieved depths of discharge, wear in the form of previously achieved charging efficiencies, the age of the respective battery blocks/cells, and the like. - [0016]; In a functioning battery that has not aged or worn evenly, the total current of the battery is divided into the individual string currents proportionally, according to the respective internal resistances. These are determined firstly by the specific capacities of the individual battery blocks/cells, and secondly by corresponding wear and/or aging effects. – [0020]; Such data includes, in particular: battery voltage, voltage of each individual battery block/cell, temperature in the battery compartment, wear in the form of completed charging and discharging cycles, wear in the form of previously achieved depths of discharge during a discharge, wear in the form of previously achieved charging efficiencies during a charge, or the age of the respective battery blocks/cells. A corresponding software in a computer system or microcontroller of the central unit 2 evaluates the state of the battery strings on the basis of the measured currents and the additional data - [0045]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura to incorporate the teaching of Albat determine and store the amount of charge and discharge cycles completed. By storing the battery characteristics this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the evaluation of the state of charge and state of the battery by having the information utilized in the determination stored and available.
In regards to claims 9 and 19, Nakamura in view of Albat discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Nakamura is silent with regards to the language of “determining, for each charge-discharge cycle of the battery cell, a discharge depth of the battery cell; and
storing, at the memory, the discharge depth of the battery cell.”
Albat further teaches “determining, for each charge-discharge cycle of the battery cell, a discharge depth of the battery cell; and storing, at the memory, the discharge depth of the battery cell (For battery string monitoring, it can still prove advantageous if the monitoring is based not only on the currents flowing in the battery strings, but also with the aid of other data. The central unit may also include a storage device for querying and/or storing such battery data. Such additional battery data includes, for example, the battery voltage, the temperature in the room where the battery or batteries are located, battery wear in the form of completed charge and discharge cycles, battery wear in the form of previously achieved depths of discharge, wear in the form of previously achieved charging efficiencies, the age of the respective battery blocks/cells, and the like. - [0016]; In a functioning battery that has not aged or worn evenly, the total current of the battery is divided into the individual string currents proportionally, according to the respective internal resistances. These are determined firstly by the specific capacities of the individual battery blocks/cells, and secondly by corresponding wear and/or aging effects. – [0020]; Such data includes, in particular: battery voltage, voltage of each individual battery block/cell, temperature in the battery compartment, wear in the form of completed charging and discharging cycles, wear in the form of previously achieved depths of discharge during a discharge, wear in the form of previously achieved charging efficiencies during a charge, or the age of the respective battery blocks/cells. A corresponding software in a computer system or microcontroller of the central unit 2 evaluates the state of the battery strings on the basis of the measured currents and the additional data - [0045]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura to incorporate the teaching of Albat determine and store the amount of discharge depth. By storing the battery characteristics this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the evaluation of the state of charge and state of the battery by having the information utilized in the determination stored and available.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Xu (WO2024138674A1)
In regards to Claim 10 and 20, Nakamura discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Nakamura is silent with regards to the language of “determining an identification of the battery cell; and transmitting, via a near-field communication (NFC) transceiver configured to wirelessly transmit information to an external device, the identification of the battery cell and the internal cell resistance.”
Xu teaches “determining an identification of the battery cell; and transmitting, via a near-field communication (NFC) transceiver configured to wirelessly transmit information to an external device, the identification of the battery cell and the internal cell resistance (The wireless communication methods include one or more of the following: Bluetooth communication, Purple Bee, Wireless Fidelity, infrared, radio frequency, near field communication, ultra-wideband technology, wireless local area network, 60GHz first wireless communication technology, visible light communication technology, and self-organizing network technology. – [0084]; The initial acquisition strategy for the first slave device 21 to collect the first battery data can be provided by the master device 11. For example, the master device 11 can obtain the attribute information of the first battery from the first slave device 21 through the first wireless communication, and generate a control strategy corresponding to the first battery based on the attribute information. That is, for any attribute information, there is a corresponding control strategy. The master device 11 can send the control strategy to the first slave device 21 through the first wireless communication, and the first slave device can adjust its own acquisition strategy according to the control strategy. This attribute information may include at least one of the following: model, type, manufacturer, production date, lifespan, capacity, internal resistance, and identification. - [0085]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura to incorporate the teaching of Wu to utilize wireless transmission (NFC) of battery identification and attribute information including internal resistance to an external device. By transmitting the identification and attribute information to a remote device through wireless means, this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the accuracy of the determination of the state of the battery.
Examiner’s Note
The following prior art, while not utilized in a prior art rejection, are considered to be of interest to the application:
Ham (US20240063647) teaches a battery management apparatus to calculate the internal resistance of a battery from the voltage.
Akutsu (US20240429476) teaches a battery pack management system with wireless communication module to communicate between the battery pack and an external device.
Sankavaram (US20230133482) teaches a battery monitoring device with voltage measuring and current measuring circuits and storing the data in memory.
Conclusion
/YOSSEF KORANG-BEHESHTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857