Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mayer et al. (US RE44550 E).
Regarding claim 1, Mayer et al. discloses a method for model and simulation (M&S) of digital imagery and terrain data (method and device for the pictorial representation of space-related data, for example, geographical data of the earth, col. 1, lines 15-20), comprising:
receiving terrain and/or imagery files including geographic metadata (conduits 6 serve as a collecting network for transmitting data from the spatially distributed data sources 4, col. 6, lines 27-30);
extracting the geographic metadata of the received terrain and/or imagery files (spatially distributed raised and/or stored data of the spatially distributed data sources can be provided at the points of their raising and/or storage with references, which indicate the storage points for data of adjacent areas or further data on the same area. If such links (hyperlinks) of the spatially distributed data exist between one another, the central system requires no knowledge of the exact spatial storage points for all data of the object, col. 4, line 65 – col. 5, line 5); and
modifying the extracted geographic metadata to represent changes in the terrain or to add assets to the received terrain and/or imagery files (the data are converted to a new co-ordinate system with a new co-ordinate origin, col. 6, lines 18-19).
Regarding claim 2, Mayer et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein modifying the extracted metadata includes rewriting the metadata of the received terrain and/or imagery files to create altered terrain and/or imagery files (after an alteration in the location and of the angle of view of the observer, the data are converted to a new co-ordinate system with a new co-ordinate origin. During a continuous movement of the observer therefore the co-ordinates of the data are constantly subjected to co-ordinate transformation, col. 5, lines 16-22).
Regarding claim 3, Mayer et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the assets include buildings (CAD-models of buildings were available, which were inserted into the view, col. 7, lines 45-50), geographic features, or trees.
Regarding claim 4, Mayer et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the terrain and/or imagery files are geoTIFF files (space-related data, for example
topography, actual cloud distribution, configurations of roads, rivers or frontiers, satellite images, actual temperatures, historical views, CAD-models, actual camera shots, are called up, stored or generated in a spatially distributed fashion, see Abstract and figure 8. Examiner articulates that the space-related data reads on a geotiff file.).
Regarding claim 5, Mayer et al. discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving one or more object files (CAD models of buildings, or animated objects, col. 5, lines 33-34); and
parsing the one or more object files to extract boundary or elevation characteristics in the one or more object files (the field of view is divided into sections and an investigation is undertaken for each individual section, col. 2, lines 29-33);
wherein modifying the extracted geographic metadata to represent changes in the terrain or to add assets to the received terrain and/or imagery files further includes modifying the extracted geographic metadata based on the extracted boundary or elevation characteristics (field of view to be shown are called up from the spatially distributed data sources only in the accuracy necessary for representation of the field of view with the desired image resolution, i.e. for example with high spatial resolution for close areas of the field of view or in low spatial resolution in a view to the horizon of a spherical object, col. 3, lines 7-14).
Regarding claim 6, Mayer et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein modifying the extracted geographic metadata to represent changes in the terrain or add assets to the received terrain and/or imagery files is selectable by a user (spatially distributed data call-up and storage systems may be expanded or updated at will, without the central store and evaluation units taking knowledge of the alteration during each such alteration, col. 9, lines 37-40).
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Engstrom (US 20110191023 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Engstrom discloses a method for modifying terrain imagery files comprising:
receiving a terrain imagery file having embedded georeferencing metadata (golf course is mapped from the air with a plane to generate stereo (e.g., 80% to 60% overlap) imagery, i.e., image data. This stereo imagery is used to create a large, geo-referenced imagery map of the golf course, para. 0028, step 120);
extracting the georeferencing metadata from the terrain imagery file (From all of this acquired data, a 3-D geospatial model is built (georeferenced with X, Y, Z values of each feature) and then integrated into 3-D gaming and web mapping environments, para. 0010);
assigning latitude and longitude ranges to the terrain imagery file based on the extracted georeferencing metadata (the step of establishing a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) real time kinematic (RTK) ground control of the land area, para. 0012);
selecting boundary latitude, longitude, and altitude (LLA) points within the assigned latitude and longitude ranges for alteration using at least one object file (GNSS allows small electronic receivers to determine their location (longitude, latitude, and altitude) to within several meters, para. 0006);
computing one or more intersections to determine points on a map that are within the selected boundary LLA points (photogrammetric tie points are identified on each image. A line of sight (or ray) can be constructed from the camera location to the point on the object. It is the intersection of these rays (i.e., triangulation) that determines the three-dimensional location of the point, para. 0010);
assigning at least one of new elevations or new features to the terrain imagery file based on the determined points on the map (geospatial terrain data including elevation measurements, and (3) object data pertaining to trees, bushes, water hazards, buildings, and any other objects present (collectively referred to herein as "3-D golf course data"), para. 0025); and
generating a new terrain imagery file including the assigned at least one of new elevations or new features (geo-processed to predetermined mapping and geodetic standards, similar and abiding to the based mapping specifications as outlined by the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS), para. 0028).
Regarding claim 8, Engstrom discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the new features include buildings, geographic features, or trees (paras. 0010, 0025, 0028).
Regarding claim 9, Engstrom discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the terrain imagery file is a geoTIFF file (providing three-dimensional, topographic data (x,y,z), para. 0010).
Regarding claim 10, Engstrom discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving the one or more object files (step 140); and
parsing the one or more object files for assigning the latitude and longitude ranges to the terrain imagery file (geo-processing the image data, terrain data, and object data to produce geospatial, three-dimensional mapping data of the surface of the land area, para. 0012).
Regarding claim 11, Engstrom discloses the method of claim 7, wherein generating a new terrain imagery file including the assigned at least one of new elevations or new features is selectable by a user (a "true" golf course navigation device must calculate for the change in hypotenuse or change in elevation, topography or slope with respect to a calculated distance between point A and point B, para. 0009).
Regarding claim 12, Engstrom discloses the method of claim 7, wherein computing the one or more intersections includes determining intersection points between an object obtained from the at least one object file and a reference grid (triangulation, paras. 0010, 0016).
Regarding claim 13, Engstrom discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer executable code, wherein the code when executed by at least one processor causes the at least one processor to:
retrieve at least one GeoTIFF file (golf course is mapped from the air with a plane to generate stereo (e.g., 80% to 60% overlap) imagery, i.e., image data. This stereo imagery is used to create a large, geo-referenced imagery map of the golf course, para. 0028, step 120);
extract geographic metadata contained within the at least one GeoTIFF file (From all of this acquired data, a 3-D geospatial model is built (georeferenced with X, Y, Z values of each feature) and then integrated into 3-D gaming and web mapping environments, para. 0010);
modify the extracted geographic metadata to represent changes in the terrain or adding assets to the at least one GeoTIFF file (device may have network connectivity to update the locally stored 3-D golf course data, para. 0026); and
rewrite the at least one GeoTIFF file with the modified extracted geographic data (device may have network connectivity to update the locally stored 3-D golf course data, para. 0026).
Regarding claim 14, discloses an apparatus for modifying terrain imagery files comprising:
at least one processor (paras. 0015, 0029); and
at least one memory (data storage, para. 0029)in communication with the at least one processor containing computer readable instructions;
wherein the at least one processor running the computer readable instructions is configured to:
retrieve at least one GeoTIFF file (golf course is mapped from the air with a plane to generate stereo (e.g., 80% to 60% overlap) imagery, i.e., image data. This stereo imagery is used to create a large, geo-referenced imagery map of the golf course, para. 0028, step 120);
extract geographic metadata contained within the at least one GeoTIFF file (From all of this acquired data, a 3-D geospatial model is built (georeferenced with X, Y, Z values of each feature) and then integrated into 3-D gaming and web mapping environments, para. 0010);
modify the extracted geographic metadata to represent changes in the terrain or adding assets to the at least one GeoTIFF file (device may have network connectivity to update the locally stored 3-D golf course data, para. 0026); and
rewrite the at least one GeoTIFF file with the modified extracted geographic data (device may have network connectivity to update the locally stored 3-D golf course data, para. 0026).
Conclusion
/THOMAS J LETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611