Detailed Action
This action is responsive to the 8/14/2024 communication(s). As per the claims filed 08/07/2024:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 12, 20 is/are independent claim(s).
Note Regarding Prior Art
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Note Regarding AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, 12-16, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robert J. Kretschmann et al.(US PG Pub: 2015/0347161; Published: 12/03/2015)(hereinafter: Kretschmann).
Claim 1:
As per independent claim 1, Kretschmann discloses a controller device in a building system, the controller device comprising: a controller circuit board comprising a control processor configured to interface with a plurality of modules [[0015] Specifically, the control and monitoring system 10 is illustrated as including a human machine interface (HMI) 12 and an automation controller or control/monitoring device 14 adapted to interface with components of a process 16].
a first module, comprising a plurality of submodules, the first module configured to provide a message comprising information from the plurality of submodules [fig. 2, control/monitoring device 14 includes a plurality of submodules (element 22). [0022] FIG. 2 is a perspective view of a plurality of I/O devices 22 connected to an I/O adapter 24 in accordance with embodiments of the present techniques. The I/O adapter 24 is configured to provide system power to the I/O modules 22, as well as to enable conversion between the communications protocols of the I/O devices 22 and the control/monitoring device 14.]. IO adapter 24 is the first module, it enables communication between a plurality of submodules.
receive a second message from the control processor [[0018] The I/O devices 22 may transfer input and output signals between the control/monitoring device 14 and the controlled process 16.]
determine a target submodule of the plurality of submodules from the information in the second message; and provide a third message to the target submodule, responsive to the second message [[0019] the I/O devices 22 may convert between AC and DC analog signals used by devices on a controlled machine or process and DC signals used by the control/monitoring device 14. Additionally, some of the I/O devices 22 may provide digital signals to digital I/O devices and receive digital signals from digital I/O devices. Further, in some embodiments, the I/O devices 22 that are used to control machine devices or process control devices may include local microcomputing capability on an I/O module of the I/O devices 22. [0022] The I/O adapter 24 is configured to provide system power to the I/O modules 22, as well as to enable conversion between the communications protocols of the I/O devices 22 and the control/monitoring device 14.]. IO devices send digital signals (messages) and receive digital signals from other IO devices. The I/O adapter 24 is configured to enable communications between the different protocols of the I/O devices and the control/monitoring device. and
a second module communicably coupled to the control processor and the first module via the same data link [[0022] As illustrated, the I/O adapter 24 and the plurality of I/O devices 22 are mounted to a DIN rail 26, which is an industry standard support rail for mounting control equipment in racks and cabinets. As described in greater detail below, the plurality of I/O devices 22 are electrically coupled in series along the DIN rail 26 such that field power and system information and power may be communicated between the I/O devices 22, and back through the I/O adapter 24 to the control/monitoring device 14].
Claim 2:
As per claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Kretschmann discloses wherein the same data link uses at least one of: a universal serial bus protocol; a serial peripheral interface bus; a I2C bus; a controller area network bus; or near field communication [[0035] , the base 28 may include a set of one or more general functions (e.g., a functionality feature) for receiving signals from the field device(s) to which the I/O device 22 is connected, identifying other I/O devices 22 that are communicatively connected to the base 28 that should be notified of the signals received from the field device(s), transmitting the received signals to an automation controller (e.g., the control/monitoring device 14 of FIG. 1) and/or other I/O devices 22, receiving control signals from the automation controller and/or other I/O devices 22, transmitting the control signals to the field device(s), and performing certain basic processing operations (e.g., signal conditioning, and so forth) on all of the signals received and transmitted through the base 28.[0020] data may be communicated with remote modules over a common communication link, or network, wherein modules on the network communicate via a standard communications protocol. Many industrial controllers can communicate via network technologies such as Ethernet (e.g., IEEE802.3, TCP/IP, UDP, EtherNet/IP, and so forth),].
Claim 3:
As per claim 3, which depends on claim 1, Kretschmann discloses wherein the first module provides at least one of: a binary input communicable to the control processor; a binary output messaged from the control processor; an analog input communicable to the control processor; an analog output messaged from the control processor; wireless communication functionality; or wired communication functionality [[0019] the I/O devices 22 may convert between AC and DC analog signals used by devices on a controlled machine or process and DC signals used by the control/monitoring device 14. Additionally, some of the I/O devices 22 may provide digital signals to digital I/O devices and receive digital signals from digital I/O devices. Further, in some embodiments, the I/O devices 22 that are used to control machine devices or process control devices may include local microcomputing capability on an I/O module of the I/O devices 22.].
Claim 4:
As per claim 4, which depends on claim 1, Kretschmann discloses wherein the first module and the second module are mechanically coupled. [Fig.2 I/O devices 22 are mechanically coupled to the I/O adapter 24].
Claim 6:
As per claim 6, which depends on claim 1, Kretschmann discloses wherein the first module and the second module are connected to a DIN rail [[0022] . As illustrated, the I/O adapter 24 and the plurality of I/O devices 22 are mounted to a DIN rail 26, which is an industry standard support rail for mounting control equipment in racks and cabinets.].
Claim 7:
As per claim 7, which depends on claim 1, Kretschmann discloses wherein the first module comprises terminal blocks supporting at least one of: serial communication ports; BACnet/MSTP interfaces; BACnet/IP interfaces; ethernet ports; analog ports; or general purpose input/output points.[[0022] As illustrated, the I/O adapter 24 and the plurality of I/O devices 22 are mounted to a DIN rail 26, which is an industry standard support rail for mounting control equipment in racks and cabinets. As described in greater detail below, the plurality of I/O devices 22 are electrically coupled in series along the DIN rail 26 such that field power and system information and power may be communicated between the I/O devices 22, and back through the I/O adapter 24 to the control/monitoring device 14].
Claim 9:
As per claim 9, which depends on claim 1, Kretschmann disclose wherein a third module is automatically identified by the control processor when added to the same data link [[0021] As described in greater detail below, in certain embodiments, the I/O devices 22 may include individual components (e.g., bases, terminal blocks, I/O modules, and so forth) that include functionality sets that may be activated or disabled depending on the type of components that are connected together to form a particular I/O device 22. In addition, in certain embodiments, functionality activation keys may also be used to determine which functionality sets are activated or disabled in the components of the I/O devices 22. For example, the functionality activation keys may include physical key mechanisms (e.g., “hard keys”) that may be inserted into the components of the I/O devices 22, or electronic key mechanisms (e.g., “soft keys”), such as electronic keys, that may be saved in, or otherwise communicated to, the components of the I/O devices 22]. Additional modules are identified and activated.
Claim 12:
As per independent claim 12, Kretschmann discloses a controller device in a building system, the device comprising:
a first controller module [[0015] Specifically, the control and monitoring system 10 is illustrated as including a human machine interface (HMI) 12 and an automation controller or control/monitoring device 14 adapted to interface with components of a process 16].
a second module comprising a plurality of submodules the second module configured to: provide a message comprising an aggregation of signals from the plurality of submodules [fig. 2, control/monitoring device 14 includes a plurality of submodules (element 22). [0022] FIG. 2 is a perspective view of a plurality of I/O devices 22 connected to an I/O adapter 24 in accordance with embodiments of the present techniques. The I/O adapter 24 is configured to provide system power to the I/O modules 22, as well as to enable conversion between the communications protocols of the I/O devices 22 and the control/monitoring device 14.]. IO adapter 24 is the first module, it enables communication between a plurality of submodules.
provide a message to one of the plurality of submodules, responsive to a message received from the first controller module, wherein the message received from the first controller module does not directly address the one of the plurality of submodules[[0019] the I/O devices 22 may convert between AC and DC analog signals used by devices on a controlled machine or process and DC signals used by the control/monitoring device 14. Additionally, some of the I/O devices 22 may provide digital signals to digital I/O devices and receive digital signals from digital I/O devices. Further, in some embodiments, the I/O devices 22 that are used to control machine devices or process control devices may include local microcomputing capability on an I/O module of the I/O devices 22. [0022] The I/O adapter 24 is configured to provide system power to the I/O modules 22, as well as to enable conversion between the communications protocols of the I/O devices 22 and the control/monitoring device 14.]. IO devices send digital signals (messages) and receive digital signals from other IO devices. The I/O adapter 24 is configured to enable communications between the different protocols of the I/O devices and the control/monitoring device.; and
a third module communicatively coupled to each of the first controller module and the second module via a same data link [[0022] As illustrated, the I/O adapter 24 and the plurality of I/O devices 22 are mounted to a DIN rail 26, which is an industry standard support rail for mounting control equipment in racks and cabinets. As described in greater detail below, the plurality of I/O devices 22 are electrically coupled in series along the DIN rail 26 such that field power and system information and power may be communicated between the I/O devices 22, and back through the I/O adapter 24 to the control/monitoring device 14].
Claim 13:
As per claim 13, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 above.
Claim 14:
As per claim 14, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Claim 15:
As per claim 15, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 above.
Claim 16:
As per claim 16, which depends on claim 12, Kretschmann discloses wherein the first controller module, the second module, and the third module are connected to a same power bus[[0022] As illustrated, the I/O adapter 24 and the plurality of I/O devices 22 are mounted to a DIN rail 26, which is an industry standard support rail for mounting control equipment in racks and cabinets. As described in greater detail below, the plurality of I/O devices 22 are electrically coupled in series along the DIN rail 26 such that field power and system information and power may be communicated between the I/O devices 22, and back through the I/O adapter 24 to the control/monitoring device 14].
Claim 17:
As per claim 17, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9 above.
Claim 20:
As per independent claim 20, Kretschmann discloses a controller device in a building system, the device comprising:
a first controller module configured to interface with a plurality of other modules[[0015] Specifically, the control and monitoring system 10 is illustrated as including a human machine interface (HMI) 12 and an automation controller or control/monitoring device 14 adapted to interface with components of a process 16].
a second module comprising a plurality of submodules the second module configured to: provide a message comprising an aggregation of signals from the plurality of submodules [fig. 2, control/monitoring device 14 includes a plurality of submodules (element 22). [0022] FIG. 2 is a perspective view of a plurality of I/O devices 22 connected to an I/O adapter 24 in accordance with embodiments of the present techniques. The I/O adapter 24 is configured to provide system power to the I/O modules 22, as well as to enable conversion between the communications protocols of the I/O devices 22 and the control/monitoring device 14.]. IO adapter 24 is the first module, it enables communication between a plurality of submodules. and
provide a message to one of the plurality of submodules, responsive to a message received from the first controller module; [[0019] the I/O devices 22 may convert between AC and DC analog signals used by devices on a controlled machine or process and DC signals used by the control/monitoring device 14. Additionally, some of the I/O devices 22 may provide digital signals to digital I/O devices and receive digital signals from digital I/O devices. Further, in some embodiments, the I/O devices 22 that are used to control machine devices or process control devices may include local microcomputing capability on an I/O module of the I/O devices 22. [0022] The I/O adapter 24 is configured to provide system power to the I/O modules 22, as well as to enable conversion between the communications protocols of the I/O devices 22 and the control/monitoring device 14.]. IO devices send digital signals (messages) and receive digital signals from other IO devices. The I/O adapter 24 is configured to enable communications between the different protocols of the I/O devices and the control/monitoring device and
a third module communicatively coupled to each of the first controller module and the second module via a same data link, wherein the first controller module, the second module, and the third module are connected to a same rail that provides the same data link and a same power bus. [[0022] As illustrated, the I/O adapter 24 and the plurality of I/O devices 22 are mounted to a DIN rail 26, which is an industry standard support rail for mounting control equipment in racks and cabinets. As described in greater detail below, the plurality of I/O devices 22 are electrically coupled in series along the DIN rail 26 such that field power and system information and power may be communicated between the I/O devices 22, and back through the I/O adapter 24 to the control/monitoring device 14]..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kretschmann as applied to claim 4 above in view of Stephen S. Trundle (US Pat No. 9767680; Published: 09/19/2017)(hereinafter: Trundle).
Claim 5:
As per claim 5, which depends on claim 4, Kretschmann failed to specifically disclose, wherein the first module detects if the second module is installed improperly.
Trundle, in the same field of component installation discloses this limitation in that [[col 22, lines 60-67]the monitoring server 160 may determine whether an installation is likely being performed incorrectly based on comparing various types of detected information relating to installation events as described above (e.g., detecting the presence of newly installed components, the combinations of components installed, or order of connection events in relation to the installation being performed).].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the modular architecture of Kretschmann such that the first module detects if the second module is installed improperly as disclosed by Trundle. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce troubleshooting time by identifying improper installation early.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kretschmann as applied to claim 1 above in view of Urmas Tangsoo et al (US PG Pub No. 2010/0042230; Published: 02/18/2010)(hereinafter: Tangsoo).
Claim 8:
As per claim 8, which depends on claim 1, Kretschmann failed to specifically disclose, wherein the first module receives power from the controller circuit board inductively.
Tangsoo, in the same field of multiple controllers discloses this limitation in that [[0040] FIG. 3 depicts the actuator controller 2 with the main module being direct-connect modem 14 as does the programmable controller 1. It is practical to use the created inductive energy also as the power supply for the actuator controller 2.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the modular architecture of Kretschmann such that the first module receives power from the controller circuit board inductively as disclosed by Tangsoo. The motivation for doing so would have been to protect sensitive electronics by eliminating physical connectors.
Claim(s) 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kretschmann as applied to claim 1 above in view of Simon E. Mushi, (US PG Pub No. 2018/0216664; Published: 08/02/2018)(hereinafter: Mushi).
Claim 10:
As per claim 10, which depends on claim 1, Kretschmann failed to specifically disclose wherein the first module provides galvanic isolation for an input and/or an output.
Mushi, in the same field of modular control apparatus discloses this limitation in that [[0029] The computation module digital output interface [31] consists of circuitry to provide galvanic isolation of the digital outputs from the computation module destined for other components of the modular magnetic bearing control system, such as the power amplifier module].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the modular architecture of Kretschmann such that the first module provides galvanic isolation for an input and/or an output as disclosed by Mushi. The motivation for doing so would have been to protect sensitive electronics while still allowing power and data transfer.
Claim 18:
As per claim 18, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 10 above.
Claim(s) 11, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kretschmann as applied to claim 1 above in view of Brian Lee Counts et al, (US PG Pub No. 2019/0160316; Published: 05/30/2019)(hereinafter: Counts).
Claim 11:
As per claim 11, which depends on claim 1, Kretschmann failed to specifically disclose wherein the second module comprises a data logger.
Counts, in the same field of building management modules discloses this limitation in [[0016] The modules 14z of the user interface bus 20 provide and interconnect user displays, controls and/or ports for users to access the system 10 to program system operations, manually signal operation of the system 10 and/or access history logs and other data on the system 10.].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the modular architecture of Kretschmann such that the second module comprises a data logger as disclosed by Counts. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase data integrity by including a history log of data on the system.
Claim 19:
As per claim 19, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 11 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact
/HOWARD CORTES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118