Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kimishima et al. (US-20200088261).
Regarding claim 21, Kimishima et al. discloses a damper assembly (at least fig 1), comprising: a cylinder (1) defining a chamber (50/60); a body (3) supported by the cylinder and having a first surface (fig 51, upper surface of 3) and a second surface opposite the first surface (fig 1, lower surface of 3 at or near 3), the body defining a passage (3a/b/c) in fluid communication with the chamber, the passage (3a/b/c) extending from the first surface to the second surface (fig 1); a disc (at least 41) at the second surface of the body (fig 2), the disc being moveable away from the second surface to a first position and toward the second surface to a second position (at least [0040] and [0050-0057] wherein the outer peripheral portion of 41 elastically deforms/separates from the first seat 3f as pressure increases), the disc (41) in the second position covering the passage (3a/b/c) at the second surface to restrict flow through the passage at the second surface ([0056] wherein 41 remains seated against first and second seats a lower pressure and [0047] wherein 41 abuts 3f surrounding the first communication passage 3a and closes/restricts the passage); and a notch (3h, fig 3) in the second surface (fig 2, 3h at underside of 3), providing a bleed flow path ([0047], wherein hydraulic oil flows from the extension-side chamber 50 to the contraction-side chamber 60 via the notch 3h ) from the passage (3a) to the chamber (50/60), the notch (3h) extending between the body (3) and the disc (41) in the second position (figs 2-3 and [0047], wherein the notch 3h is formed in the piston seat surface and the leaf valve 41 is seated against that surface and hydraulic oil flows from the extension-side chamber 50 to the contraction-side chamber 60 via the notch 3h).
Regarding claim 22, Kimishima et al. discloses wherein the body (3) has an axis (fig 2, O) and the passage (3a) has a radially outer edge spaced from the axis (fig 2), and the notch (3h) extends radially outward from the radially outer edge of the passage (fig 2 and 3, radially outward from 3a).
Regarding claim 23, Kimishima et al. discloses wherein the body (3) includes a rib (3f) surrounding the passage (3a) about an axis of the passage (fig 6), and the notch (3h) extends through the rib (fig 3).
Regarding claim 24, Kimishima et al. discloses wherein the body (3) includes a rib (3f) surrounding the passage (3a) about an axis of the passage (fig 2-3), and the notch (3h) extends through the rib (fig 3).
Regarding claim 25, Kimishima et al. discloses wherein the disc (41) abuts the rib (3f) in the second position (figs 2-3 and [0047], wherein the notch 3h is formed in the piston seat surface and the leaf valve 41 is seated against that surface and hydraulic oil flows from the extension-side chamber 50 to the contraction-side chamber 60 via the notch 3h).
Regarding claim 26, Kimishima et al. discloses wherein the disc (41) abuts the second surface (bottom side of 3) in the second position (figs 2-3 and [0047], wherein the notch 3h is formed in the piston seat surface and the leaf valve 41 is seated against that surface and hydraulic oil flows from the extension-side chamber 50 to the contraction-side chamber 60 via the notch 3h).
Regarding claim 27, Kimishima et al. discloses a damper assembly (at least figs 1-3), comprising: a cylinder (1) defining a chamber (50/60); a body (piston 3) supported by the cylinder and dividing the chamber into a first sub-chamber (50) and a second sub-chamber (60), the body having a first surface (upper side of 3) in the first sub-chamber (50) and a second surface (lower side of 3) in the second sub-chamber (fig 1, 60), the body defining a passage (3a/b/c) extending through the first surface and the second surface (fig 1); a disc (41) in the second sub-chamber (fig 2), the disc being moveable away from the second surface to a first position and toward the second surface (seat 3f) to a second position (at least [0040] and [0050-0057] wherein the outer peripheral portion of 41 elastically deforms/separates from the first seat 3f as pressure increases), the disc (41) in the second restricting flow through the passage (3a) at the second surface ([0056] wherein 41 remains seated against first and second seats a lower pressure and [0047] wherein 41 abuts 3f surrounding the first communication passage 3a and closes/restricts the passage); and a notch (3h, fig 3) in the second surface (fig 2, 3h at underside of 3), providing a bleed flow path ([0047], wherein hydraulic oil flows from the extension-side chamber 50 to the contraction-side chamber 60 via the notch 3h) from the passage (3a) to the second sub-chamber (60) the notch (3h) extending between the body (3) and the disc (41) in the second position (figs 2-3 and [0047], wherein the notch 3h is formed in the piston seat surface and the leaf valve 41 is seated against that surface and hydraulic oil flows from the extension-side chamber 50 to the contraction-side chamber 60 via the notch 3h).
Regarding claim 28, Kimishima et al. discloses wherein the body (3) has an axis (fig 2, O) and the passage (3a) has a radially outer edge spaced from the axis (fig 2), and the notch (3h) extends radially outward from the radially outer edge of the passage (fig 2 and 3, radially outward from 3a).
Regarding claim 29, Kimishima et al. discloses wherein the body (3) includes a rib (3f) surrounding the passage (3a) about an axis of the passage (fig 6), and the notch (3h) extends through the rib (fig 3).
Regarding claim 30, Kimishima et al. discloses wherein the body (3) includes a rib (3f) surrounding the passage (3a) about an axis of the passage (fig 2-3), and the notch (3h) extends through the rib (fig 3).
Regarding claim 31, Kimishima et al. discloses wherein the disc (41) abuts the rib (3f) in the second position (figs 2-3 and [0047], wherein the notch 3h is formed in the piston seat surface and the leaf valve 41 is seated against that surface and hydraulic oil flows from the extension-side chamber 50 to the contraction-side chamber 60 via the notch 3h).
Regarding claim 32, Kimishima et al. discloses wherein the disc (41) abuts the second surface (bottom side of 3) in the second position (figs 2-3 and [0047], wherein the notch 3h is formed in the piston seat surface and the leaf valve 41 is seated against that surface and hydraulic oil flows from the extension-side chamber 50 to the contraction-side chamber 60 via the notch 3h).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 33-40 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art of record , Kimishima et al. discloses a cylinder (1) defining a chamber (50/60); a piston (3) slidable within the chamber and having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (fig 1), the piston defining a passage (3a/b/c) extending from the first surface to the second surface; a check disc (41)at the second surface of the piston(fig 1). As to claim 1, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein the check disc movable from an unflexed position spaced from the second surface to a flexed position; and a notch in the second surface, providing a bleed flow path from the passage to the chamber, the notch extending between the piston and the check disc in the flexed position. The check disc of Kimishima et al. in an unflexed position is seated against seats 3f and 3g and as pressure increases creates a gap between the piston the valve disc. The notch 3h is formed in the piston seat surface and the leaf valve 41 is seated against that surface and hydraulic oil flows from the extension-side chamber 50 to the contraction-side chamber 60 via the notch 3h. When the disc 41 is in a flexed position, fluid flows through the gap between the piston and the disc valve and notch 3h no longer acts as a bleed valve.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 33-39 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 33-39 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES K HSIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 3616