DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(a) as being anticipated by Riza (US 5,274,381).
Regarding claim 1, Riza discloses a method of angle and displacement compensation, in figure 2, comprising: emitting, toward a deflector plate (140), a source beam; deflecting the source beam (b), via the deflector plate (140), to generate a deflected source beam (b+1) toward an acousto-optic deflector (AOD)(142); and diffracting, via the AOD (142), the deflected source beam (b+1) to generate at least one diffracted beam (b-1) that is substantially collinear with the source beam (b)(figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Rita discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: deflecting the source beam (b) comprises generating the deflected source beam (b+1) at a first angle; and diffracting the deflected source beam comprises generating the at least one diffracted beam (b-1) at a second angle identical to the first angle (figure 2).
Regarding claim 3. The method of claim 1, wherein a first line associated with the source beam and a second line associated with the at least one diffracted beam are parallel and non-overlapping.
Regarding claim 4, Riza discloses an acousto-optic deflector (AOD) system, in figure 2, comprising:
a light source (132)(figure 2) configured to provide a source beam toward a deflector plate (140);
the deflector plate (140) configured to deflect the source beam to generate a deflected source beam toward an AOD (142); and
the AOD (142) configured to diffract the deflected source beam to generate at least one diffracted beam (b-1), wherein source beam (b) and the at least one diffracted beam (b-1) are substantially collinear (see figure 2)1.
Regarding claim 5, Riza discloses the AOD system of claim 4, wherein: the deflector plate (140) is further configured to generate the deflected source beam (b) at a first angle (b+1); and the AOD (142) is further configured to generate the at least one diffracted beam (b-1) at a second angle identical to the first angle (figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Riza discloses the AOD system of claim 4, wherein a first line (a line parallel to b) associated with the source beam (b) and a second line (a line parallel to b-1) associated with the at least one diffracted beam (b+1) are parallel and non-overlapping (figure 2).
Claims 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(a) as being anticipated by Kotler et al. (US 20220121082 hereafter Kotler).
Regarding claim 13, Kotler discloses acousto-optic deflector (AOD) system, in figure 1, comprising:
a light source (22) configured to emit, toward a first deflector plate (24), a source beam;
the first deflector plate (24) configured to deflect the source beam to generate a deflected source beam toward an diffractive element;
the diffractive element (30) configured to diffract the deflected source beam (from deflector 24) to generate at least one diffracted beam toward a second deflector plate (44); and
the second deflector plate (44) configured to deflect the at least one diffracted beam to generate a deflected diffraction light that is substantially collinear with the source beam (par.[0036]) (Kotler discloses diffractive element (30) instead of AOD. However, AOD and diffractive element (30) have the same functionality in the claim which is to diffract said deflected light from said first deflector).
Regarding claim 14, Kotler discloses the AOD system of claim 13, wherein a first line associated with the source beam and a second line associated with the deflected diffraction light are overlapping (see figure 1).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Kotler discloses the AOD system of claim 13, wherein the first deflector plate (24) is further configured to tilt (it is angled to the source beam); wherein the first deflector plate is further configured to tilt between −90° and 90° (figure 1).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Kotler discloses the AOD system of claim 13, wherein the second deflector plate is further configured to tilt ((it is perpendicular 90o to the source beam); wherein the second deflector plate is further configured to tilt between −90° and 90° (figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Kotler discloses apparatus and method thereof, in figure 1, comprising:
providing a diffractive element (30);
emitting, toward a first deflector plate (24), a source beam;
deflecting the source beam, via the first deflector plate (24), to generate a deflected source beam toward the diffractive element (30);
diffracting, via the diffractive element (30), the deflected source beam to generate at least one diffracted beam, toward a second deflector plate (44); and
deflecting the at least one diffracted beam, via the second deflector plate (44), to generate a deflected diffraction light that is substantially collinear with the source beam (par.[0036]) (Kotler discloses diffractive element (30) instead of AOD. However, AOD and diffractive element (30) have the same functionality in the claim which is to diffract said deflected light from said first deflector).
Regarding claim 8, Kotler discloses the AOD system of claim 7, wherein a first line associated with the source beam and a second line associated with the deflected diffraction light are overlapping (see figure 1).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Kotler discloses the AOD system of claim 7, wherein the first deflector plate (24) is further configured to tilt (it is angled to the source beam); wherein the first deflector plate is further configured to tilt between −90° and 90° (figure 1).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Kotler discloses the AOD system of claim 7, wherein the second deflector plate is further configured to tilt ((it is perpendicular 90o to the source beam); wherein the second deflector plate is further configured to tilt between −90° and 90° (figure 1).
Conclusion
/TUYEN TRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872