CTNF 18/797,297 CTNF 82202 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s1,3, 6, 11, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being disclosed by Yan US 2023/0086735 . Regarding claim1, Yan discloses a method comprising: identifying a media item to be shared with a plurality of users associated with a platform (fig. 5 step 502 obtain videos, [0089]) ; identifying, using an artificial intelligence (AI) model, a set of frames of the media item that include content of interest to the plurality of users ([0029], [0032], [0049], fig. 5 step 504, [0092], From each video, key frames are extracted, each key frame including a timestamp corresponding to an occurrence of the key frame within the video and a reference to the video including the key frame); determining, on a timeline associated with the media item, a time period that corresponds to at least one frame of the set of frames of the media item ([0092], From each video, key frames are extracted, each key frame including a timestamp corresponding to an occurrence of the key frame within the video and a reference to the video including the key frame) ; extracting a segment of the media item, wherein an initial frame of the extracted segment corresponds to at least one frame of the set of frames at the determined time period and a final frame of the extracted segment corresponds to a frame at a subsequent time period on the timeline of the media item (fig. 5 step 518, [0103], a set of videos are determined. Each of the set of videos includes at least one key frame corresponding to a scene graph of the identified scene graphs. [0104], the system stores multiple scene graph and the respective timestamps for each scene) ; and providing the extracted segment of the media item for presentation via a client device associated with a user of the plurality of users (fig. 5 step 520, [0104], provide the set of videos for display on a user device). Regarding claim3, the method of claim 1, wherein the media item is a long form media item comprising a music video ([0039], set of videos). Regarding claim6, the method of claim 3, wherein the extracted segment of the media item is provided for presentation as a short form music video (fig. 5 step 520, [0104], provide the set of videos for display on a user device) . Regarding claim11, Yan discloses a system (fig. 6) comprising: a memory device (fig. 6 memory system 612) ; and a processing device operatively coupled to the memory device (fig. 6 processor 602), [0107]) and configured to perform operations comprising: identifying a media item to be shared with a plurality of users associated with a platform (fig. 5 step 502 obtain videos, [0089]) ; identifying, using an artificial intelligence (AI) model, a set of frames of the media item that include content of interest to the plurality of users ([0029], [0032], [0049], fig. 5 step 504, [0092], From each video, key frames are extracted, each key frame including a timestamp corresponding to an occurrence of the key frame within the video and a reference to the video including the key frame) ; determining, on a timeline associated with the media item, a time period that corresponds to at least one frame of the set of frames of the media item ([0092], From each video, key frames are extracted, each key frame including a timestamp corresponding to an occurrence of the key frame within the video and a reference to the video including the key frame) ; extracting a segment of the media item, wherein an initial frame of the extracted segment corresponds to at least one frame of the set of frames at the determined time period and a final frame of the extracted segment corresponds to a frame at a subsequent time period on the timeline of the media item (fig. 5 step 518, [0103], a set of videos are determined. Each of the set of videos includes at least one key frame corresponding to a scene graph of the identified scene graphs. [0104], the system stores multiple scene graph and the respective timestamps for each scene) ; and providing the extracted segment of the media item for presentation via a client device associated with a user of the plurality of users (fig. 5 step 520, [0104], provide the set of videos for display on a user device) . Claim13 is rejected for similar reason as discussed in claim3 above. Claim17 is rejected for similar reason as discussed in claim11 above . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 7-9, 14-15, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan as applied to claim s 1,3,6,11,13,17 above, and further in view of Kim . Regarding claim7, Yan teaches all the limitations of claim1 but does not teach and Kim teaches the subsequent time period is determined according to a predefined time window ([0028], section in which the at least one of the extracted objects appears and then disappears may divide the video data into a plurality of frames having a preset(predetermined) time period(window)). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to divide the video data into a plurality of frames having preset/predetermined time period/window as in Kim in order to generate video summary efficiently. Regarding claim8, Yan teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but does not tach and Kim teaches the extracted segment of the media item is provided for vertical display via the client device (see fig. 5a). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display extracted media items vertically as in Kim in order to allow the user to preview the generated summaries. Regarding claim9, Yan teaches all the limitations of claim1 above but does not teach and Kim teaches providing the extracted segment of the media item for presentation via the client device further comprises dynamically adjusting frames of the extracted segment of the media item based on content depicted in the extracted segment of the media item ([0205], automatically detect additional images to generate a summary or decrease a playback speed of some sections to generate a summary). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to automatically detect additional images to generate a summary or decrease a playback speed as in Kim in order to allow the user conveniently edit previously generated summary. Claims 14, 18 is rejected for similar reason as discussed in claim7 above. Claims 15, 19 are rejected for similar reason as discussed in claim9 above . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 10,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan in view of Kim as applied to claim s 7-9, 14-15, 18-19 above, and further in view of Kauffmann et al US 2019/0130192(hereinafter Kauffmann) . Regarding claim10, Yan in view of Kim teaches all the limitations of claim9 above but does not teach and Kauffmann teaches identifying one or more objects depicted in content of each frame of the extracted segment ([0018], plurality of objects recognized in the plurality of images) ; determining a cropping window for each frame of the extracted segment of content, wherein the determined cropping window comprises the identified one or more objects and does not include other portions of content of a respective frame of the extracted segment of content ([0018], output object data that describes the respective locations(windows) of a plurality of objects recognized in the plurality of image frames) ; and modifying each frame of the extracted segment according to a respective determined cropping window ([0018], The systems and methods of the present disclosure can generate a plurality of image crops that respectively include the plurality of objects and can arrange two or more of the plurality of image crops to generate the storyboard) . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cropping images based on object of interest as in Kauffmann such that the system generates the summary of the images/video with respect to object of interest effectively. Claim16 is rejected for similar reason as discussed in claim10 above . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan as applied to claim s 1,3,6,11,13,17 above, and further in view of Kauffmann . Regarding claim20, Yan teaches all the limitations of claim17 above but does not teach and Kauffmann teaches wherein dynamically adjusting the frames of the extracted segment of the media item comprises: identifying one or more objects depicted in content of each frame of the extracted segment ([0018], plurality of objects recognized in the plurality of images) ; determining a cropping window for each frame of the extracted segment of content, wherein the determined cropping window comprises the identified one or more objects and does not include other portions of content of a respective frame of the extracted segment of content ([0018], output object data that describes the respective locations(windows) of a plurality of objects recognized in the plurality of image frames) ; and modifying each frame of the extracted segment according to a respective determined cropping window ([0018], The systems and methods of the present disclosure can generate a plurality of image crops that respectively include the plurality of objects and can arrange two or more of the plurality of image crops to generate the storyboard) . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cropping images based on object of interest as in Kauffmann such that the system generates the summary of the images/video with respect to object of interest effectively . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2, 4, 5, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GIRUMSEW WENDMAGEGN whose telephone number is (571)270-1118. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00-7:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thai Tran can be reached at (571) 272-7382. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. GIRUMSEW WENDMAGEGN Primary Examiner Art Unit 2484 /GIRUMSEW WENDMAGEGN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/797,297 Page 2 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/797,297 Page 3 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/797,297 Page 4 Art Unit: 2484