CTNF 18/797,318 CTNF 101709 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2024 and 12/30/2024 have been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-5, 8-12, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Fullett (US 2014/0229613 A1, hereinafter Fullett) . Regarding claim 1, Fullett teaches an apparatus for performing a network function ([Figure 2, 210] and [0058] Message Processing System (MPS) 210, MPS 210 read as apparatus, which is bidirectionally communicatively coupled to one or more networks) , the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory ([0243] describes "reference is now made to FIG. 7, which is an architecture diagram of an example data processing system 700, which in one example embodiment, can further represent individual ones of the components of FIGS. 1 and 2 (e.g., 150, 110, 114, 116, 118, 202, 209, 210, and host server(s)). Data processing system 700 includes a processor 702 coupled to a memory 704," and further "coupled to a communications device 714," i.e. FIG. 7 may represent MPS 210, which may contain processor 702, coupled with memory 704 and communications device 714) and configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a first device, a message ([Figure 6, 601] and [0172] "601. The subscriber 202 issues a file request, such as an HTTP request," i.e. the IEF 204 (which is included in MPS 210 according to FIG. 2) receives a message from the User Terminal 202) comprising: an indication identifying a service or an application ([Figure 6, 601] and [0172] "in this example a GET request, to the partner's server (e.g., to the server hosting that website)," i.e. the message described above may identify a service or an application request) ; and an indication identifying an analytics associated with the service or the application ([0178] referring to FIG. 6, "the ADBF 205 receives the message and stores the information for subsequent retrieval by the AEF 206 for derivation of analytics data," i.e. the message 601 will include indications of analytics associated with the service or an application) ; transmit, to a second device, a request for a subscription to the analytics ([Figure 6, 602] and [0173] "602. In this example embodiment, to reduce delay, the IEF 204 duplicates the traffic and then forwards the traffic towards its intended destination," i.e. the message containing a request for the analytics is transmitted to Servers 209, Servers 209 read as second device, furthermore according to [0065] "the IEF 204 recognizes that message as a HTTP request message (or other applicable type of message) and inserts into it a Cookie request header that uniquely, and anonymously, identifies the subscriber to a partner server 209, website, ad network, data exchange, or the like, and inserts a subscriber anonymous ID (SAID) into the request header," i.e. the request for analytics may be a subscription request to the analytics) ; receive, from the second device, a response associated with the analytics ([Figure 6, 612] and [0179] in operation 612 the server(s) 209 (e.g., a server in network 201) responds to the GET request to the IEF 204 (which is included in MPS 210 according to FIG. 2)) ; and transmit, to the first device, the response associated with the analytics ([Figure 6, 611] and [0180] in operation 611 the IEF 204 duplicates the response (operation 612 described above) and forwards it to the subscriber 202) . Regarding claim 2, Fullett teaches the message further comprises an indication identifying a configuration for a resource ([Figure 6, 601] the request message is a GET() request, wherein it requests website resources for Subscriber's User Agent 202) . Regarding claim 3, Fullett teaches the configuration for the resource comprises one or more parameters supported by a protocol ([0174] describes operation 603, "The IEF 204 inspects the traffic at predetermined layers (e.g., layers for IP, TCP, HTTP, and HTML, or other suitable layers), and extracts predetermined fields required to create a content record (see Table 4-3 below, for an example of content records and the source of the fields)," i.e. the configuration for the resource comprises a plurality of predetermined fields, predetermined fields read as parameters, in association with a protocol) . Regarding claim 4, Fullett teaches the protocol comprises: a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP); or a constrained application protocol (CoAP) ([0174] described in claim 3, the protocol may be HTTP, such as in FIG. 6 operation 601, "HTTP request, in this example a GET request," described in [0172]) . Regarding claim 5, Fullett teaches the second device comprises a network entity, a client device, or a combination thereof ([Figure 2, 210] and [0058] Message Processing System (MPS) 210, MPS 210 read as apparatus, which is bidirectionally communicatively coupled to one or more networks, i.e. network entity) . Regarding claim 8, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Regarding claim 9, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2. Regarding claim 10, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 3. Regarding claim 11, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 4. Regarding claim 12, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 5. Regarding claim 15, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, further in view of Fullett teaches - apparatus to: transmit- ([Figure 2, 210] and [0058] Message Processing System (MPS) 210, MPS 210 read as apparatus, which is bidirectionally communicatively coupled to one or more networks, wherein it may receive or transmit information to User Terminals 202 or Servers 209, wherein MPS 210 may perform the elements as described in claim 1). Regarding claim 16, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2. Regarding claim 17, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 3. Regarding claim 18, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 4. Regarding claim 20, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 15 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6, 7, 13, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fullett (US 2014/0229613 A1, hereinafter Fullett) in view of Pateromichelakis et al. (US 2025/0055902 A1, hereinafter Pateromichelakis) . Regarding claim 6, Fullett is not relied on for the claim language the first device comprises an analytics consumer. However, Pateromichelakis teaches a method [0002] to provide data and/or analytics to a UE, wherein the method includes a process to [0058] facilitate the collection of data from a user plane by a UE or a DN for performing application layer data analytics, using collected data and/or deriving application data analytics services at an analytics enabler layer and exposing them to a vertical device and/or ASP. Pateromichelakis also teaches the first device comprises an analytics consumer ([0068] FIG. 4 depicts the UE 402 includes a VAL client 410, an ADAEC 412, and a 3GPP UE 414, i.e. "application data analytics enabler client (“ADAEC”))," according to [0067], i.e. UE 402, UE 402 read as first device, comprises ADAEC 412, ADAEC 412 read as analytics consumer/client) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fullett to include the ability for the first device to comprise an analytics consumer, as taught by Pateromichelakis, in order to [0080] improve the analytics confidence level for a given analytics event ID, and aid in [0002] and [0036] implementing an application data analytics enabler client at the device wherein said data and/or analytics may be provided to said device. Regarding claim 7, Fullett is not relied on for the claim language the apparatus comprises an application data analytics enablement (ADAE) server performing the network function; and the second device comprises an application layer analytical data repository function (A-ADRF) or an ADAE client. However, Pateromichelakis teaches the apparatus comprises an application data analytics enablement (ADAE) server performing the network function ([0068] FIG. 4 depicts the DN 404, DN 404 read as apparatus, which includes a data producer and/or application data collection coordination function (“ADCCF”) 416, an ADAES 418, and one or more VAL servers 420) ; and the second device comprises an application layer analytical data repository function (A-ADRF) or an ADAE client ([0068] FIG. 4 depicts the 5G core network 408, network 408 read as second device, which includes an ADRF 422) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fullett to include the ability for the apparatus to comprise an ADAE, and the second device to comprise a A-ADRF, as taught by Pateromichelakis, in order to [0080] improve the analytics confidence level for a given analytics event ID, and aid in [0002] and [0036] implementing an application data analytics enabler client at the device wherein said data and/or analytics may be provided to said device. Regarding claim 13, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6. Regarding claim 14, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 7. Regarding claim 19, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6. References Cited Fullett, Kenneth D. (2014). Procedure, apparatus, system, and computer program for collecting data used for analytics (US 2014/0229613 A1). Filed 2014-02-11. Pateromichelakis, Emmanouil et al. (2025). Determining application data and/or analytics (US 2025/0055902 A1). Filed 2022-01-27. Other Pertinent References 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Delos Reyes, Emerando M. et al. (2014). Determining presence status based on user analytics data (US 2014/0040345 A1). Filed 2012-08-06. Discloses a method wherein a UE may determine user analytics data and provide said data to a network device. [0013] Feng, Zhao et al. (2026). Information transmission method and apparatus (US 2026/0012400 A1). Filed 2025-09-15. Discloses a data analytics function within an information transmission method. [0006] Pateromichelakis, Emmanouil et al. (2025). Performance data collection in a wireless communications network (US 2025/0024284 A1). Filed 2022-01-19. Discloses performance data collection in a wireless communications network. [0004] Park, Jungshin et al. (2023). Method and device for supporting mobility for collecting and analyzing network data in wireless communication network (US 2023/0239680 A1). Filed 2021-05-21. Discloses a method for mobility for a NWDAF in a wireless communication network, including subscription information related to analytics subscriptions. (abstract) Park, Jungshin et al. (2022). Method and apparatus for renewing subscription for network data analysis in wireless communication system (US 2022/0103644 A1). Filed 2021-09-29. Discloses a method for renewing a subscription for network data collection and analysis in a wireless communication system. (abstract) Kahn, Colin et al. (2026). Network data analytics profiling (US 12593229 B2). Filed 2023-03-27. Discloses a method for network data analytics profiling for a user equipment (UE). (abstract) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW JAMES DWYER whose telephone number is (571)272-5121. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 6 a.m. - 3 p.m. EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuwen Pan can be reached at (571) 272-7855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/797,318 Page 2 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/797,318 Page 3 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/797,318 Page 4 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/797,318 Page 5 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/797,318 Page 6 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/797,318 Page 7 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/797,318 Page 8 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/797,318 Page 9 Art Unit: 2649