DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 09/03/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US12070881 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Amendment
Applicant amendment filed 09/03/2026 has been entered and is currently under consideration. Claims 1-5, 7-10, 13-15, and 29-31 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houwink et al. (US2022/0168957 of record) hereinafter Houwink in view of Deal et al. (US2019/0210151 of record) hereinafter Deal.
Regarding claim 1, Houwink teaches:
A method of manufacturing an article, the method comprising:
producing a first portion of the article ([0116]);
producing a second portion of the article ([0116]);
applying pressure to both the first portion and the second portion ([0106, 0149-0162]);
removing the pressure from both the first portion and the second portion ([0173]; removing pressure is implied as the consolidated pieces must be removed from the pressure vessel).
Houwink does not teach:
applying pressure to the first portion;
removing the pressure from the first portion;
after removing the pressure from the first portion, applying pressure to both the first portion and the second portion.
However, Houwink teaches that the first portion and second portions can be made by additive manufacturing ([0116]).
In the same field of endeavor regarding consolidation of articles, Deal teaches a method of additive manufacturing comprising applying and removing pressure from an additively manufactured article for the motivation of reducing the cost to additively manufacture components and improving the quality of the additively manufactured components by reducing the frequency and magnitude of interactions between spatter formed during the additive manufacturing process and the plurality of particles on the build platform ([0023, 0044, 0047]; removing the pressure is implied as the article is removed from the pressure chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the production of the first portion as taught by Houwink with the pressurized consolidation as taught by Deal in order to reduce the cost to additively manufacture components and improve the quality of the additively manufactured components by reducing the frequency and magnitude of interactions between spatter formed during the additive manufacturing process and the plurality of particles on the build platform.
Regarding claim 2, Houwink in view of Deal teaches the method according to claim 1.
Houwink further teaches wherein producing the first portion of the article includes an additive manufacturing process ([0116]).
Regarding claim 3, Houwink in view of Deal teaches the method according to claim 2.
Houwink further teaches wherein producing the second portion of the article includes an additive manufacturing process ([0116]).
Regarding claim 4, Houwink in view of Deal teaches the method according to claim 1.
Houwink further teaches producing the second portion of the article includes performing the additive manufacturing process directly on the first portion ([0116]).
Regarding claim 13, Houwink in view of Deal teaches the method according to claim 1.
Houwink further teaches after removing the pressure from the first portion and applying pressure to both the first portion and the second portion, performing a surface treatment on a surface of the first portion ([0176]).
Regarding claim 14, Houwink in view of Deal teaches the method according to claim 13.
Houwink further teaches wherein the surface treatment includes one or more of: peening, texturing, finishing, and cleaning ([0176]).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houwink in view of Deal as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bracha et al. (US2020/0070415 of record) hereinafter Bracha.
Regarding claim 7, Houwink in view of Deal teaches the method according to claim 1.
Deal further teaches wherein applying pressure to the first portion includes submerging the first portion in a fluid ([0044])
Houwink in view of Deal does not teach the method further comprising: while applying pressure to the first portion, increasing temperature of the fluid to between about 150 degrees C and about 1000 degrees C; and preventing the temperature of the fluid from exceeding 1000 degrees C at any time before removing the pressure from the first portion.
However, Deal teaches that the fluid is argon ([0044]).
In the same field of endeavor regarding additive manufacturing, Bracha teaches forming articles in a heated argon environment at a temperature that overlaps with the claimed range for the motivation of avoiding cracks or breakages due to thermal stresses on the printed part ([0006, 0017, 0032]).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the producing of the first article as taught by Houwink in view of Deal with the heated argon environment as taught by Bracha in order to avoid cracks or breakages due to thermal stresses on the printed part.
Furthermore, since overlapping ranges are evidence of prima facie obviousness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen the portion of the temperature as taught by Bracha that overlaps with the claimed range.
Regarding claim 8, Houwink in view of Deal and Bracha teaches the method according to claim 7.
Bracha further teaches increasing temperature of the fluid to between about 400 degrees C and about 600 degrees C ([0017]; see art rejection of claim 7 above).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houwink in view of Deal as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Persaud et al. (US2016/0176078 of record) hereinafter Persaud.
Regarding claim 9, Houwink in view of Deal teaches the method according to claim 1.
Houwink further teaches wherein applying pressure to both the first portion and the second portion includes submerging both the first portion and the second portion in a curable fluid ([0140]), the method further comprising: while applying pressure to both the first portion and the second portion, increasing temperature of the cured fluid to between about 150 degrees C and about 1000 degrees C (Fig 8; [0159]); and preventing the temperature of the cured fluid from exceeding 1000 degrees C at any time before removing the pressure from both the first portion and the second portion (Fig 8; [0142, 0159]).
Houwink in view of Deal does not teach increasing temperature of the fluid. However, Houwink teaches that the cured fluid applies pressure to the first and second portions ([0154]).
In the same field of endeavor regarding consolidation of articles, Persaud teaches consolidating an article using pressure and heat applied by a pressurizing gas ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the cured fluid as taught by Houwink in view of Deal with the pressurizing gas as taught by Persaud and the results would have been predictable since the prior art teaches using both the cured fluid and pressurizing gas for applying heat and pressure to consolidate and article.
Regarding claim 10, Houwink in view of Deal and Persaud teaches the method according to claim 9.
Houwink in view of Deal and Persaud does not explicitly recite increasing temperature of the fluid in which both the first portion and the second portion are submerged to between about 400 degrees C and about 600 degrees C.
However, Houwink teaches a range of values for the temperature that overlaps with the claimed range ([0159]).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
Since overlapping ranges are evidence of prima facie obviousness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen the portion of the temperature as taught by Houwink that overlaps with the claimed range.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houwink in view of Deal as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kornilovich et al. (US2018/0264753 of record) hereinafter Kornilovich.
Regarding claim 15, Houwink in view of Deal teaches the method according to claim 14.
Houwink in view of Deal does not teach wherein the surface treatment is performed with a water jet.
However, Houwink teaches a surface treatment of cleaning ([0176]).
Houwink is silent as to the specific method of cleaning. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to other cleaning methods for cleaning an additively manufactured article.
In the same field of endeavor regarding additive manufacturing, Kornilovich teaches using water-jet cleaning to clean an additively manufactured article ([0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tried the water-jet cleaning as taught by Kornilovich for the cleaning as taught by Houwink and Deal and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success since the prior art teaches methods of cleaning additively manufactured articles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, Houwink in view of Deal teaches the method according to claim 1.
Houwink in view of Deal does not teach wherein applying pressure to the first portion includes applying pressure to the first portion greater than 30,000 psi.
The remaining prior art of record fails to teach of suggest wherein applying pressure to the first portion includes applying pressure to the first portion greater than 30,000 psi in combination with the remaining claimed subject matter.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest each and every limitation of the claim, the claim is indicated for allowable subject matter.
Claims 29-31 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 29, Houwink teaches:
A method of manufacturing an article, the method comprising:
producing a first portion of the article ([0116]);
producing a second portion of the article ([0116]);
applying pressure to both the first portion and the second portion ([0106, 0149-0162]);
removing the pressure from both the first portion and the second portion ([0173]; removing pressure is implied as the consolidated pieces must be removed from the pressure vessel).
Houwink does not teach:
applying pressure to the first portion;
removing the pressure from the first portion;
after removing the pressure from the first portion, applying pressure to both the first portion and the second portion.
However, Houwink teaches that the first portion and second portions can be made by additive manufacturing ([0116]).
In the same field of endeavor regarding consolidation of articles, Deal teaches a method of additive manufacturing comprising applying and removing pressure from an additively manufactured article for the motivation of reducing the cost to additively manufacture components and improving the quality of the additively manufactured components by reducing the frequency and magnitude of interactions between spatter formed during the additive manufacturing process and the plurality of particles on the build platform ([0023, 0044, 0047]; removing the pressure is implied as the article is removed from the pressure chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the production of the first portion as taught by Houwink with the pressurized consolidation as taught by Deal in order to reduce the cost to additively manufacture components and improve the quality of the additively manufactured components by reducing the frequency and magnitude of interactions between spatter formed during the additive manufacturing process and the plurality of particles on the build platform.
Houwink in view of Deal does not teach wherein applying pressure to the first portion includes applying pressure to the first portion greater than 100,000 psi.
The remaining prior art of record fails to teach of suggest wherein applying pressure to the first portion includes applying pressure to the first portion greater than 100,000 psi in combination with the remaining claimed subject matter.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest each and every limitation of the claim, the claim is allowed.
Regarding claim 30, Houwink teaches:
A method of manufacturing an article, the method comprising:
producing a first portion of the article ([0116]);
producing a second portion of the article ([0116]);
applying pressure to both the first portion and the second portion ([0106, 0149-0162]);
removing the pressure from both the first portion and the second portion ([0173]; removing pressure is implied as the consolidated pieces must be removed from the pressure vessel).
Houwink does not teach:
applying pressure to the first portion;
removing the pressure from the first portion;
after removing the pressure from the first portion, applying pressure to both the first portion and the second portion.
However, Houwink teaches that the first portion and second portions can be made by additive manufacturing ([0116]).
In the same field of endeavor regarding consolidation of articles, Deal teaches a method of additive manufacturing comprising applying and removing pressure from an additively manufactured article for the motivation of reducing the cost to additively manufacture components and improving the quality of the additively manufactured components by reducing the frequency and magnitude of interactions between spatter formed during the additive manufacturing process and the plurality of particles on the build platform ([0023, 0044, 0047]; removing the pressure is implied as the article is removed from the pressure chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the production of the first portion as taught by Houwink with the pressurized consolidation as taught by Deal in order to reduce the cost to additively manufacture components and improve the quality of the additively manufactured components by reducing the frequency and magnitude of interactions between spatter formed during the additive manufacturing process and the plurality of particles on the build platform.
Houwink in view of Deal does not teach after applying pressure to the first portion and before removing the pressure from the first portion, oscillating the pressure applied to the first portion.
The remaining prior art of record fails to teach of suggest after applying pressure to the first portion and before removing the pressure from the first portion, oscillating the pressure applied to the first portion in combination with the remaining claimed subject matter.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest each and every limitation of the claim, the claim is allowed.
Clam 31 is allowed due to dependency on claim 30.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Deal does not teach a portion of an article that is produced, pressurized, depressurized, combined with a second portion, and then pressurized again. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In summation of the art rejection of claim 1, Houwink teaches applying and removing pressure from a combination of parts. Houwink teaches that the parts can be formed with additive manufacture prior to the combination pressure step. Deal teaches applying and removing pressure from additively manufactured parts. Therefore a combination of the prior art teachings makes obvious the claimed method. Furthermore, the examiner notes that applicant has not addressed any of the teachings cited from the prior art and relied upon in the art rejection.
For at least the above reasons, the application is not in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
./ALEXANDER A WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741