DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the summary of the interview conducted August 13, 2026, Applicant suggests the examiner indicated reciting microcontroller operations. Actually, the examiner indicated using method or process claims to recite the inventive concept. Applicant has amended structural claims to recite the process.
Claim 1, is amended to recite “a microcontroller comprising a non-transitory memory having computer-executable instructions, wherein the instruction, when executed by the processor, cause the microcontroller to perform operations comprising:
receiving a signal from the camera;
receiving a signal from the timer;
receiving a signal from the therapeutic agent concentration sensor;
determining the surface area of the patient’s tear film that is exposed to the therapeutic agent based on the camera signal;
determining the length of time the patient’s tear film is exposed to the therapeutic agent based on the timer signal; and
determining the concentration of the therapeutic agent in vapor form in the vapor chamber based on the therapeutic agent sensor signal.
Applicant argues Berdahl does not teach or suggest at least these operations. For example, regarding the claimed operation of determining the surface area of a patient’s tear film that is exposed to a therapeutic agent based on a camera signal, Berdahl mentions a camera, but Berdahl does not teach or suggest using a camera signal to determine a surface area of a patient’s tear film, or a surface area of anything else. Berhdahl only mentions ‘surface area’ in the context of a surface area of a wicking gasket or a desiccant filter, and neither of these surface areas is described as being determined based on a camera signal. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Berhdahl teaches aspect 1 can include or use subject matters (such as an apparatus, a system, a device, a method, a means for performing acts, or a device readable medium including instructions that, when performed by the device, can cause the device to perform acts), such as an apparatus to maintain an environment over an anterior surface of a patient eye (para. 0009). It is old and well known that the anterior surface of the patient’s eye includes the tear film. Berhdahl teaches using sensors 130, i.e. digital cameras (para. 0089) to detect an indication of the therapeutic environment in the cavity, which includes the therapeutic fluid flow, humidity, pressure, temperature, or medicinal fluid concentration (para. 0092). In at least the measurement of therapeutic fluid flow, the camera signal detects the amount of fluid in the cavity which involves the amount of fluid on the anterior surface.
Applicant argues that as an initial matter, MPEP § 2115 (which is headed “Material or Article Worked Upon Does Not Limit Apparatus Claims”) explicitly states that, with regard to In re Otto and In re Casey, ‘this line of cases is limited to claims directed to machinery which works upon an article or material in its intended use”. Applicant argues these cases are therefore not relevant to the present method claims. Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims as the present claims are structural claims and not method claims.
Applicant further argues that Claim 1 explicitly recites that computer-executable instructions are stored on the memory of the microcontroller, when executed by the processor of the microcontroller, cause the microcontroller to perform particular operations. These computer-executable instructions are not merely descriptions of intended use, instead they represent actual differences in the design and functionality of the device. Applicant argues as programmed, the microcontroller is physically different than a microcontroller that is not programmed, or is programmed to do something else, and the microcontroller functions differently on this difference. To support the argument, Applicant cites MPEP § 2114(IV) (in determining whether a computer-implemented functional claim limitation is patentable over the prior art, “computer-implemented functional claim limitations may narrow the functionality of the device, by limiting the specific structure capable of performing the recited function”. Applicant argues that even if it were possible to program Berdahl’s system to perform all of the recited functions, a person of ordinary skill would not have apparent reason to program Berdahl’s device in such a way, so it would not have been obvious to do so. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, the reference to MPEP § 2114(IV) dictates the claims may narrow the functionality of the device by limiting the specific structure capable of performing the recited function. This does not apply to the present invention and the cited prior art Berdahl, as Berdahl teaches all of the claimed components of the present invention so the specific structure of Berdahl is capable of performing the recited functions. Secondly, Berdahl provides motivation to perform the functions based on the fact that Berdahl teaches a method and device for providing a therapeutic agent to an eye where the device also includes a microprocessor having computer-executable instructions stored on the memory of the microcontroller (para. 0165), when executed by the processor of the microcontroller, cause the microcontroller to perform particular operations (Berdahl paras. 0009, 0092, 0096, 0098-0099, 0102, 0122, 0137, 0139, 0147-0149, 0156). The aforementioned paragraphs of Berdahl are examples of the processor module 140 receiving signals from different sensors and performing particular operations based on instructions stored in the memory of the microcontroller (para. 0165). The treatment parameters are obvious in that the present invention and the invention of Berdahl are both concerned with treating eye disease by applying a therapeutic substance to the eye. The examiner maintains that Berhdahl teaches all of the components of the present invention and as such, is capable of meeting the claimed limitations directed to an intended use of the product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berdahl et al. US Patent Application Publication 2020/0397656.
As to claim 1, Berdahl teaches a therapeutic agent delivery device 100 comprising:
a vapor chamber 112A, 112B configured to be positioned about an eye of a patient (Fig. 1A; paras. 0064, 0068) and capable of delivering a therapeutic agent in vapor form to a tear film of a patient's eye, the vapor chamber 112A, 112B comprising:
a therapeutic agent concentration sensor 130 (para. 0063); and
a camera (paras. 0089-0092);
a therapeutic agent source 170 comprising a therapeutic agent in communication with the vapor chamber (para. 0064);
a heater (paras. 0081, 0099) and/or vacuum in communication with the vapor chamber and the therapeutic agent source, the heater and/or vacuum configured to convert the therapeutic agent in the therapeutic agent source into a vapor form; and
a controller compartment operably coupled to the vapor chamber comprising:
a timer – where Berdahl teaches varying the composition of the therapeutic fluid with a controller at predetermined times (para. 0120); and
a microcontroller 140 comprising a non-transitory memory having computer- executable instructions stored thereon and a processor to access the memory and execute the instructions (para. 0165),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the microcontroller to perform operations (para. 0009). Regarding the execution of instructions to receive a signal from the camera, receive a signal from the timer, receive a signal from the therapeutic agent concentration sensor – the limitations are directed to an intended use of the device. Intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim limitations. The invention of Berdahl meets the structural limitations of claim 1, in that the device comprises a microcontroller 140, a camera (para. 0089), a timer (paras. 0120,0135,0145), and a therapeutic agent concentration sensor 130 and a temperature sensor 130 (Fig. 1A; para. 0093), and a heater (para. 0099), which are capable of determining the surface area of a patient’s tear film that is exposed to the therapeutic agent based on the camera signal (paras. 0089, 0090-0093, 0121); determining the length of time the patient’s tear film is exposed to the therapeutic agent based on the timer signal; and determining the concentration of the therapeutic agent in vapor form in the vapor chamber based on the therapeutic agent sensor signal would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art given that Berdahl teaches the same structure and is used in the same environment of treating eye disease (Berdahl Figs. 1A-1B and 7; paras. 0067-0068, 0076, 0081,0083-0084, 0092-0093, 0097-0099, 0107, 0119-0121).
As to claim 2, Berdahl teaches the vapor chamber 112 (112A, 112B) further comprises an elastomeric seal to form an enclosed chamber between the patient's eye and the vapor chamber 112 – where Berdahl teaches a gasket 114 located around at least a portion of a perimeter of the enclosure 110. Berdahl teaches the gasket 114 can be located against the skin of the patient, such as to form a hermetic seal between the enclosure 110 and the skin, to isolate the cavity 112 from the surrounding environment (Fig. 1A; para. 0068).
As to claim 3, Berdahl teaches the therapeutic agent delivery device is a handheld device (Fig. 1A; paras. 0067-0068).
As to claim 4, Berdahl teaches the therapeutic agent source comprises: a reservoir 170 comprising a therapeutic agent or a cartridge comprising a therapeutic agent (Fig. 1A; para. 0084).
As to claim 5, Berdahl teaches the therapeutic agent in the therapeutic agent source 170 is in solid, semi-solid, or liquid form (paras. 0076, 0084).
As to claim 6, Berdahl teaches the delivery device 100 further comprising a pressure sensor, temperature sensor – where sensor 130 can sense a characteristic of the therapeutic fluid such as fluid flow, humidity, pressure, and temperature (para. 0092); a vent valve (para. 0083), or combinations thereof contained within the vapor chamber 112.
As to claim 7, Berdahl teaches the microcontroller and the timer are integrated on a circuit board – where Berdahl teaches the control circuit is programmed to initiate a preset pattern based on time of the day (Fig. 1A; paras. 0097,0107, 0120-121).
As to claim 8, Berdahl teaches the delivery device further comprising a battery, a charging part, button to start drug delivery, a buzzer/beeper/light emitting diode to indicate status, or combinations thereof contained on or within the controller compartment - where Berdahl teaches a battery in communication with the enclosure 120, sensor 130, and the processor module 140 (Fig. 1A; paras. 0104, 0136).
As to claim 9, Berdahl teaches the present invention substantially as claimed, but does not specifically teach the therapeutic agent concentration sensor is a spectrometer or an ammeter. Berdahl does teach the method and examples in his disclosure can be machine or computer-implemented including computer-readable medium or machine-readable medium encoded with instructions operable to configure an electronic device to perform methods as described in the disclosure of Berdahl (para. 0165). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to use a spectrometer or an ammeter to measure the therapeutic agent concentration since it is old and well known to use spectrometers to analyze ocular fluids.
As to claim 10, Berdahl teaches the sensor 130 can include a pressure sensor, such as a device to sense an indication of the pressure of the therapeutic fluid in the cavity 112. Berdahl also teaches the sensor 130 can include a thermometer, such as a device to sense an indication of the temperature of the therapeutic fluid in the cavity 112 (para. 0093).
As to claim 11, the temperature sensor is configured to measure the temperature of vapor in the vapor chamber to generate a temperature signal – where Berdahl teaches the sensor 130 can include a thermometer, such as a device to sense an indication of the temperature of the therapeutic fluid in the cavity 112 (para. 0093).
As to claim 12, Berdahl teaches the therapeutic agent delivery device of claim 11, the memory having further computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the microcontroller to perform further operations (paras. 0006 and 0165). The device of Berdahl comprises a temperature control device, such as to change the temperature of the therapeutic fluid in the enclosure from a first temperature to a second temperature (para. 0081). The limitations directed to the microcontroller receiving the temperature signal and modulating the heat generated by the heater, based on the temperature signal are directed to an intended use of the device. Intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim limitations. The invention of Berdahl meets the structural limitations of claims 1, 10, and 11 in that the device comprises a microcontroller 140 and a temperature sensor 130 (Fig. 1A; para. 0093), and a heater (paras. 0081, 0099). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modulate the heat and concentration of therapeutic agent delivered through the vapor chamber for the comfort of the user given that Berdahl teaches the same structure and is used in the same environment (para. 0081, 0099; Figs. 7, 9).
As to claim 13, the pressure sensor is configured to measure the pressure within the vacuum chamber to generate a pressure signal – where Berdahl teaches the sensor 130 can include a pressure sensor, such as a device to sense an indication of the pressure of the therapeutic fluid in the cavity 112 (para. 0093).
As to claim 14, Berdahl teaches the therapeutic agent delivery device of claim 13, the memory having further computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the microcontroller to perform further operations (paras. 0006 and 0165). Berdahl teaches the device has pressure sensors and the pressure is modulated by vacuum based on the pressure sensor (para. 0075). The limitations directed to the microcontroller receiving the pressure signal, modulating the pressure created by the vacuum are directed to an intended use of the device. Intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim limitations. The invention of Berdahl meets the structural limitations of claims 1, 10, and 13 in that the device comprises a microcontroller 140 and a pressure sensor 130 (Fig. 1A; para. 0093), and a vacuum pump 150 (Fig. 1A, para. 0073). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modulate the pressure of the therapeutic agent delivered through the vapor chamber for the comfort of the user given that Berdahl teaches the same structure and is used in the same environment (paras. 0100-0104).
As to claim 16, Berdahl teaches a therapeutic agent delivery device 100 of claim 1, further comprising:
a vent valve in the vapor chamber (para. 0083); and
computer-executable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor 140, cause the microcontroller to perform further operations (paras. 0009, 0165). Berdahl teaches varying the composition of the therapeutic fluid in response to receiving a feedback parameter, where a sensor 130, such as a digital camera, can sense a change in an indication of the eye (para. 0121). Berdahl teaches a manifold 149 comprising a vent 144 in fluid communication with the cavity 112 to adjust the gauge pressure within the enclosure 110, wherein the vent 144 can communicate with the processor module 140 to maintain a desired gauge pressure within the cavity (Figs. 1A, 1B; paras. 0093, 0100-0104). The limitations directed to the microcontroller receiving a signal from the camera; receiving the timer signal, the therapeutic agent concentration signal, a temperature signal, a pressure signal, or combinations thereof; and actuating the vent valve to allow the therapeutic agent to release from the vapor chamber once a desired amount of therapeutic agent has been delivered are all directed to an intended use of the device. Intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim limitations. The invention of Berdahl meets the structural limitations of claim 1 as the device comprises a microcontroller 140 and a camera, a timer signal, a therapeutic agent concentration sensor 130, a temperature sensor 130, a pressure sensor 130, or combinations thereof: (Fig. 1A; paras. 0093). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to use computer-executable instructions stored in memory receivable by the microcontroller from the camera, timer, and therapeutic agent concentration signal, temperature signal, pressure signal, and combinations thereof since Berdahl teaches the structural limitations of the claim and is used in the same environment – where Berdahl teaches varying the composition of the therapeutic fluid in response to receiving a feedback parameter, where a sensor 130, such as a digital camera, can sense a change in an indication of the eye (para. 0121). Berdahl teaches a manifold 149 comprising a vent 144 in fluid communication with the cavity 112 to adjust the gauge pressure within the enclosure 110, wherein the vent 144 can communicate with the processor module 140 to maintain a desired gauge pressure within the cavity (Figs. 1A, 1B; paras. 0093, 0100-0104).
As to claim 19, Berdahl teaches a therapeutic agent delivery device 100 comprising:
a vapor chamber 112A, 112B configured to be positioned about an eye of a patient (Fig. 1A; paras. 0064, 0068) and capable of delivering a therapeutic agent in vapor form to a tear film (anterior surface) of a patient's eye, the vapor chamber 112A, 112B comprising:
a therapeutic agent concentration sensor 130 (para. 0063); and
a camera (paras. 0089-0092);
a therapeutic agent source 170 comprising a therapeutic agent in communication with the vapor chamber (para. 0064);
a heater (paras. 0081, 0099) and/or vacuum in communication with the vapor chamber and the therapeutic agent source, the heater and/or vacuum configured to convert the therapeutic agent in the therapeutic agent source into a vapor form; and
a controller compartment operably coupled to the vapor chamber comprising:
a microcontroller 140 comprising a non-transitory memory having computer- executable instructions stored thereon and a processor to access the memory and execute the instructions (para. 0165),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the microcontroller to perform operations (para. 0009). Regarding the execution of instructions to receive a signal from the camera, receive a signal from the timer, receive a signal from the therapeutic agent concentration sensor and determining that a seal has been formed between the patient’s eye and the vapor chamber based on the camera signal– the limitations are directed to an intended use of the device. Intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim limitations. The invention of Berdahl meets the structural limitations of claim 1, in that the device comprises a microcontroller 140, a camera (para. 0089), a seal (para. 0068), a therapeutic agent concentration sensor 130 and a heater (para. 0081), which are capable of determining the therapeutic environment such as a characteristic of the therapeutic fluid in contact with the eye including therapeutic fluid flow. The indication of the therapeutic environment can be received by the processing module 140 to control the composition and pressure of the therapeutic fluid in the cavity 112 (para. 0092). It would have been obvious to determine if a seal has formed (by sensing pressure and/or therapeutic fluid flow) during operation before heating the therapeutic agent (para. 0081). Confirming the seal of the vapor chamber based on the camera sensor signal would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art given that Berdahl teaches the same structure and is used in the same environment of treating eye disease (Berdahl Figs. 1A-1B and 7; paras. 0067-0068, 0076, 0081,0083-0084, 0092-0093, 0097-0099, 0107, 0119-0121).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 18 are allowed. Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 17 and 20 require calculating a total dose of the therapeutic agent delivered to the tear film based at least in part on the surface area of the patient’s tear film that is exposed to the therapeutic agent, the length of time the patient’s tear film is exposed to the agent and the concentration of the therapeutic agent in vapor form in the vapor chamber. Berdahl teaches the present invention substantially as claimed, but does not teach or suggest a total dose of the therapeutic agent as claimed. The examiner has considered another reference, Gutierrez US Patent Application Publication 2020/0214886. Gutierrez teaches delivery of a therapeutic agent from an eye mounted device (Gutierrez para. 0002). Gutierrez teaches the system delivers therapeutic agents at programmed times or in response to sensed conditions. The system can deliver the agents on a schedule or use sensors to monitor eye-related conditions which initiates delivery. Gutierrez does not teach or suggest calculating a total dose of the therapeutic agent as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781